Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Packhorse Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Belper > Packhorse Caravan Park Reviews

Packhorse Caravan Park
Belper Road
Alderwasley
Belper
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE56 2RD
Tel: 01773 852367  or  07790 607168
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 10
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 11 Reviews
                9/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Timandkath 3 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a 3 night last minute breat at Packhorse campsite. We followed the satnav and ended up driving up a very narrow hilly lane with passing places, not for the faint hearted.

Once there, we were given a hardstanding pitch with electric, close to a water tap, all for 20. The site has a very basic loo and no shower, so be prepared to use your own facilities.

There is a well-stocked fishing pond, which my husband loved, and a wooded walk which the dogs loved.

The owners also sell eggs, lamb, goat and burgers.

All in all, a peaceful, laid back place to spend a few days. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sandwichman1 1 review from this member

 From the minute we arrived on site we met Nick and Catherine who made us extremely welcome nick even levelled our van for us.

Our pitch was very spacious

The fishing was excellent and the wife and bell the collie loved the woodland walks

The only downside was that we only had 7 days. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Bcal 15 reviews from this member

 Price 12 without EHU

Price 20 with EHU

Adults only

Toilet :- Basic

Shower :- No

WiFi : No.

TV reception :- Excellent

View : No

Washing machine : No

Drier : No

Spacing : More than 6 metres.

Helpful staff : Yes

Traffic noise :- Low

Night hours :- Very low

Park & Ride :- None

Other : Fishing lake.

Main attractions :-

Heights of Abraham

Crich Tramway museum

Midland railway 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: The Drings 14 reviews from this member

 From the moment we arrived to the time we left we felt at home. We were met by a lovely and friendly couple.

As you drive into the park there are goats on either side. We drove into a fair size field and we were told we could go anywhere we wanted.

The campsite has a lovely feel to it. There are toilets. A field next to the site had sheep and horses in. There was a gateway in the corner of the camping field which led to an amazing walk through the woods. There is a lodge (bear lodge) which can be booked it sits right on the fishing pond with lovely views. We walked around the pond and came across three lovely pigs. My husband fished the pond and caught five really good sized carp.

We found all the other campers friendly and helpful.

We really enjoyed and relaxed at this campsite. I would thoroughly recommend to anyone who wants a nice and relaxing break.

We could not fault this site or the owners at all. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 2435mark 1 review from this member

 Nick and Catherine make every effort to make your stay trouble free. The pitches are excellent the large rally field is great if you want to get away and near to the exit into shining wood with its hidden suprises. Our visits here over the years have all been outstanding and the improvements and kindness of the owners has enhanced our hollidays each time we come. Also our jack russell "Archie" loves the place. A certain place for those who want to get away be treated nicely and get value for money.

We will continue to visit this happy place for as long as possible. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Daletracey 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a 5 night stay at the packhorse. What a wonderful place. What a lovely couple Nick and Catherine are. Beautiful clean and well maintained site Basic toilet facilities but this is explained on web site. Lovely fishing lake adjacent to park, we caught wide variety of fish including trout. Large rally field, hard standing areas well maintained, Nick has just finished building a holiday bungalow, looks lovely. Definitely be returning again 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: M1cxf 2 reviews from this member

 The owners of this site are welcoming, friendly and helpful. The site is very well maintained. The adjacent 650 acre Shining Cliff Woods (Forestry Commission owned) is ideal for dog walking and is a SSSI so is great for exploring and has incredible history.

This site is well worth a visit to enjoy the local area and peace and quiet.

We will definitely be visiting this very friendly place again.

Supplies excellent fresh eggs too.

Very fair priced and laid back which makes a refreshing change these days.

We originally booked three nights but stayed for five, would have stayed longer if we didn't have prior commitments, our only sad point was leaving to come home. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Babyhippokerry 2 reviews from this member

 I stayed at this site for two nights. There is only one male and one female toilet which were dirty and no shower (although I was told this when I booked) There is no hot water and no way of having a wash in the smallest basin. The location is very hard to find even with a sat nav, a cyclist helped us find it when we arrived then we went out and it took us three hours of driving to find it again. There is the bear hotel a five minute walk which does nice food (this is also hard to find with a sat nav). The owner is very hard to find, a cat had been using the area at the back of our tent and I needed a shovel to clear it I couldn't find the owner although I did find a shovel. This site is more suited for people who have there own toilet and shower and know the area. I would not stay again. 


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bri444 2 reviews from this member

 This is an adults only cs site that has only got a few (about 8) hard standing pitches, all with electric. But it has a large rally field with a few electric hook ups. The owner (Nick) is at present extending the cs side to include more hard standing pitches. The site has two toilets with wash basins, a chemical disposal point and water point. The site is lovely and quiet, it has its own fishing lake and is ideally placed for the peak district. We go to this site quite often during the season and have done so for a few years now as we like the peace and quiet and for 13-00 P N with electric we think its well worth-it. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hollieberry 10 reviews from this member

 Stayed one night at this site in a motorhome. The site has electric hook-ups and a few hardstanding pitches available though we were on the grass with no hookup. Site is slightly sloping but this was no problem. Owners were very pleasant and helpful. You could purchase eggs on site. There was a gents and ladies toilet on site. Prices were very reasonable at 8 without electric and 12 with electric. Would definitely go back to this site again. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Packhorse Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Packhorse Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Packhorse Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Belper      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3579 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement