Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Martleaves Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Weymouth > Martleaves Farm Campsite Reviews

Martleaves Farm Campsite
South Road
Wyke Regis
Weymouth
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT4 9NR
Tel: 01305 819383  or  07785565059
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 40 Reviews
                7/10 from 40 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 04/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas and this may include toilet and shower facilities. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sailandboard 1 review from this member

 Stayed here after a terrible experience at another site. Site and staff very accommodating and helpful,

Nice quiet site with fab views across sea and very convenient to coastal path,

Large open fields and hardstanding pitches,

Good clean and well presented facilities and good all round value,

Short walk into town for pubs and shops and a short hop to Weymouth

I would stay here again 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Nikki17 2 reviews from this member

 The best part of this site was the incredible views of the lagoon and sea. Jayne was very accommodating in rearranging our dates for staying owing to bad weather conditions.

Facilities very clean and lovely warm showers.

The only downside was some dogs from other campers were left to roam free and one defecated outside our tent. I reported this to the management who said they would investigate.

On returning from our day out it was to find the mess not cleaned up. We therefore had to clean it up as our children played in the field along with other children. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Cclcfc 16 reviews from this member

 This was the third stop on a two week break we had in our campervan.

We stayed at Marleaves Farm for three nights over a weekend and if I was being completely honest we only booked it as it was the only site available in the area as the weather had improved dramatically and most places were full.

Iím torn about how to review this site. It really did serve a purpose for us and had everything we needed. The toilets and showers were plentiful Ė the showers themselves really great as they were individual wet rooms.

There is a lovely dog walk down to a beach in the lagoon. As you walk down towards the lagoon you can turn left or right and walk along the coast path. If you turn left you walk down to the start of the bridge across to Portland where you can join the cycle path to Weymouth or walk across to Portland.

The walk in to Weymouth took about an hour (which included a quick pitstop at a cafť at Sandsfoot Gardens as it was really hot that day and ourselves and the dog needed a bit of refreshment !). The walk is along a disused railway and is completely traffic free apart from some mad cyclists !

Once in to Weymouth the old port area is lovely and the beach itself is huge and has a dog friendly area at either end.

On another day we walked to Portland. The walk was nice (walk on the opposite side to Chisel Beach as there is a path alongside the water. There is a cafť on either side of the road if you wanted to have a stop. The marina area in Portland is lovely and from there you can get the boat over to Weymouth.

The bus service is also exceptional with buses starting very early and running very late so if you didnít want to walk or drive in to Portland to Weymouth then the bus is really easy to use.

Like I said Iím slightly torn on this site as it did the job but it wasnít quite somewhere Iíd like to spend a huge amount of time and in all fairness I think itís more geared to weekend travelers. The site entrance through a housing estate and in to the working farm area doesnít really sell it and you would need to me mindful of the pitch you choose as some are much better than others. It is also very exposed so if you are in a tent make sure itís pegged down well ! On the days we were there it wasnít very windy in Weymouth itself but back up at the site it was blowing a gale so thatís something to bear in mind.

All-in-all the site worked well for us, the facilities were very clean and we had a good pitch so it really did serve a purpose. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Greengrass43 8 reviews from this member

 On locating the site it its only a 4 minute walk to the main road, this is very convenient for the local shops and the local buses to get into Weymouth, especially as they run quite late in the evening, no taxi fares if you fancy a drink! Although not far to walk, it seems like you are miles away from the hustle and bustle of daily life.

On arriving at the site, I approached the farmhouse and was warmly welcomed. I paid my fee and had a large area in which to pitch my tent. Wow what a view! A large field high on the cliff gives stunning views out to sea, along Chesil beach and across the Isle of Purbeck. I chose to pitch by the fence next to the inquisitive, friendly Alpaca's.

The shower block was spotless and looked as if it had recently been refurbed. Large tiled shower cubicles with good pressure and hot water. There was even a large wet room to use.

There is a path which leads down to the South Coast path and further down to the sea.

Ideally situated for walking and connections to Weymouth, (Radipole lake RSPB reserve, is a gem) with great facilities and stunning views, I highly recommend this site 


Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sue Paul 78 reviews from this member

 After reading the previous reviews we decided it's was mainly due to busy periods, hence some poor reviews however.

As these reviews are about the sites not the location etc I will keep the two sides apart.

When you arrive there are signs everywhere yet none telling you where to check in, total farce.

The toilets were gross, the toilet brushes were black, the gents hadn't seen paint for eons and dirty bits on the floor were still there 4 days later.

The Ladies, on the second day my Wife noticed some coloured Mouth wash on the sink from the previous day, again 4 days later it was still there.

My wife telephoned to say the Toilets needed cleaning and toilet roll was needed, she was assured cleaners came twice weekly, no apology was made but toilet rolls and bleached toilets appeared shortly. Next day though all the dirty stuff was still there.

The site was a building site which we weren't warned about when enquiring with the owner who was on holiday, new shower blocks I think plus new pitches are in hand ( very narrow ones ).

Animal wise we didn't see any Pigs or Chickens just Sheep, Llamas and people's Horses.

The footpath to the cove is a public walkway and a Dog motorway as all the locality use it so the narrow path gets very busy with people and Dogs passing each other, it's very busy.

Walks to Weymouth are good and the Bus is only £6 return from a stop about 1/4 mile away near the pub, the pub mentioned in reviews which was just a miserable high street type nothing very nice.

In summary Weymouth was superb, the site location ok but a little seedy but the site is best avoided sadly. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aligar 4 reviews from this member

 The location of the site is stunning, overlooking Chesil Beach and the Fleet with animals in the surrounding fields. Unfortunately there were not enough facilities for the number of people at the site given that it was August, 3 women's and 3 men's showers, with 3 women's and 2 men's toilets (cubicles only). This made for quite painful queuing in the morning and the men's showers lacked locks!

The site and visitors were child friendly although there were no play facilities for children. The local pub is very welcoming and the food is delicious and worth a visit! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fluffiecaz 1 review from this member

 We arrived on site to what felt like a force 10 gale and rain and attempted to put up our awning. We were very fortunate that 2 other campers spotted us and took pity and assisted us - thank you! The wind coming in from the sea was an ongoing issue with the site, however, this was the only issue - not one the owners could do a great deal about and one to be put up with for the stunning sea view we had.

The toilets are probably the cleanest I have seen on a site and we have been to a fair few and the owners were super helpful and welcoming. On the 2nd day of our stay our children were invited into the gardens of the guest house to see the farm animals which was lovely and a nice touch.

A lovely campsite with fab views - would recommend! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mirabelle 37 reviews from this member

 This site really is a tale of two halves. They are fortunate enough to be based in a lovely location(once you get through the housing estate)overlooking the sea, so as you would expect the views on some of the pitches are stunning, in addition they have a field of grazing Alpaca's which adds to the views and are nice to see.

However, sadly the site itself is not so good. On arrival we were surprised by the general standard of the yard, it was run down and looked very uncared for and to be honest was not at all welcoming, we love natural farm sites and stay at them regularly so no issue there, but this just felt a bit grotty, in addition the lack of clear signage made it difficult to find where you had to book in which was frustrating.

Sadly there was also a problem with lack of communication between owners/staff. We were told they did not want a deposit (though we did offer to pay one) but on arrival it became clear our booking which had been specifically requested and okayed on the phone may not be honoured, and we were told they were 'not sure about that, have to see what we can do' which was not a great welcome. Then a day or so later having paid on arrival another gentleman came around and said 'had we paid' as the man who booked us in and took our money had not given us a tag to display it looked like we hadn't paid when we had, and l was told 'everyone who pays gets a tag', which made me feel very uncomfortable.

In addition the facilities were barely adequate in the ladies and not especially clean, but worse still my Husband really struggled to get a shower as there were so few and so many people, he gave up after going backwards and forwards 3 times one morning and used the washroom in the caravan.

The site got busy while we were there and they actually started putting units all over the place including in animal fields and on the dressage yard, also they started using splitters as there was not enough hook up points so there was wires trailing across fields etc.

It's a shame because in the right hands with a good re-organise and tidy up this could be a nice little site, but there are so many other better well run sites to stay in at Weymouth we won't be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Folky 1 review from this member

 Ispent 3 days here in early June and was very impressed. The view overlooking the coast is beautiful, and thankfully it was quiet at the time. The facilities tollets showers washing up area are fine and very clean. AsI was their for the Folk Festival weekend all the supplies anyone would need are available nearby. Their are sheep nearby, and Alpacas who were about to be sheered as I arrived!. I think the working farm aspect of the site benefits the visitors. I shall Return! 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ahparker 2 reviews from this member

 A lovely little site right next to Chesil Beach and the Fleet. It has everything you could possibly need and is only a stones throw from the village centre with shops, pub etc. The bus service into Weymouth is frequent so there are plenty of options even on a rainy day.

The ladies shower units were really nice and modern. I did, however, have to take a very cold shower as they seemed to have run out of hot water. The site was only half full so if they run out of hot water that quickly, I can see a potential problem in peak season. It may be that this was a one-off, but it certainly didn't make for a nice experience on a cold May morning!

Other than that I can only say good things about it and the cold shower won't stop us from visiting again. If they can sort out that bit, I'd give it 10 out of 10! 


Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Martleaves Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Martleaves Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Martleaves Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Weymouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3691 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020