Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of The Cross Keys Inn

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Somerton > The Cross Keys Inn Reviews

The Cross Keys Inn
Lydford On Fosse
Somerton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA11 7HA
Tel: 01963 240473
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 24
Open: 01/03/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 4 Reviews
                6/10 from 4 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Carolmc 1 review from this member

 Great site for a drinking weekend as pitches are basically in the pub overflow car park.

Extremely basic facilities and not very clean especially the gents, only 2 showers each sex for about 50 people, so expect a long wait at weekends.

No hot water for washing up and no freezer to freeze ice packs 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Countrycruisers 12 reviews from this member

 We have just returned home from 3 nights at the Cross Keys Pub campsite. We are very honest with this review. We arrived on the Friday night to find the site about half full of campers, One of the set ups included 6 adults and 8 children.

We explored the lovely walks from the site upon returning the first day we soon established the large set up were on site for the week and not travelling far from site, the children were back and fro to the toilet block on times abusing the facilities, we found the Ladies & Gents toilets blocked on several occasions, management soon came out to resolve.

Apart from the above details we would like to report the site as a reasonable place if the site has the normal sort of campers. The electric showers could do with a little upgrade but they worked fine, maybe a daily mop out of the toilets would help.

Worth the money we would go back. Pub food very good 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nomad66 15 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a couple of nights while visiting the RNAS Yeovilton Air Day. As per the previous review the facilities are still being built but suspect they've already got more of them completed.

In fairness, your not really paying for these either and they're working. But don't let this put you off because the pub is excellent. Premium local ales and ciders straight from the barrel and the food is very good.

Would we return. Definitely! It's location is ideal. Helpful staff/owners, great food and decent beer & local cider. What's not to like? 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dicamus 3 reviews from this member

 It could have been a great campsite. Booked in for five nights, decamped after three!

Pub has been refurbished and ales pulled direct from casks, a good selection and well kept. Excellent food is on offer, especially the goat curry. Within the pub the staff were fantastic but knowledge of the workings of the campsite appeared to be lacking.

Its downfall at present (I say at present because it's a 'work in progress') is the facilities.

We arrived on a Monday requiring a chem disposal. Staff on duty had no idea what we were asking for. I found a pit which had no access and it wasn't until the Wednesday when I spoke to the actual owner and conveyed our concerns to him that there was a possibility of any access to it on the Thursday.

The shower block as stated was 'work in progress. One gents shower worked fine but nowhere to hang or place clothing/towels etc. No mirror for shaving. The other shower did not work. The ladies showers were even worse in that one didn't work and in the other the shower head wasn't fitted properly and water sprayed from hose. Ladies used the Gents as well with our blessing.

Wednesday evening we took a rubbish bag to the 'recycle point' outside the shower block. Recycle Point consisted of three dustbins that were overflowing with rubbish and no clear identity as to which bin took what item. Rubbish bag was left by the bin. Early Thursday morning wifey walked over for a shower and found our rubbish strewn all over the car park along with other destroyed rubbish bags. Enough was enough for her and it was decided to move on immediately.

As I have said it is ‘work in progress’ and perhaps in a few months time all will be well.

There is a shop on the crossroads 20 yards up the road which sells virtually everything but closes Saturday afternoons. A petrol station is also close by.

Several National Trust places are close by plus Yeovilton Air Museum and for shopaholics Clarks Village at Street is a 30 minute drive. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Cross Keys Inn child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Cross Keys Inn?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Cross Keys Inn dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Somerton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


940 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December