Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us


Reviews of La Grenouille Vacances

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Aquitaine > Hautefort > La Grenouille Vacances Reviews

La Grenouille Vacances
Aquitaine   (Browse area)
Tel: 0033 678910579  or  0033 553501171
Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 8
Open: 11/06/2021 to 15/09/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 19 Reviews
                9/10 from 19 Reviews

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
 No Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hywel and Carol 1 review from this member

 This is a beautiful, well kept campsite. The pool and surrounding area are absolutely lovely.

We were given a very warm welcome and given a choice of pitches - we chose one that benefited from

The sun all afternoon and evening but it did mean our tent was very hot and we struggled to keep cool. The adjoining pitch was in the shade so we will know where to go next time! It is an adults only site and that suited us fine.

It was very peaceful, and the other campers were very friendly. The toilet block is a little on the small side but it was spotlessly clean and all guidelines for dealing with hygiene during the pandemic were adhered to stringently.

We joined in the evening meal events, the food was very good and we really enjoyed having the opportunity to get to know the other campers.

The site benefits from being in good area for exploring. The owners pets are a delight.

This campsite is a gem and we would not hesitate to go back if we are in the area again. 
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: MilesandMilesaway 3 reviews from this member

 What a find! During Covid we did wonder whether to cancel but we are so glad we didnít!

Friendly welcome and a quick tour of the site- all so relaxed. And relaxed was the theme of the whole holiday. Theo and Yolander (a Dutch couple who speak perfect English) are friendly yet give you space-theyíre there if you need them and just a WhatsApp message away whether to order bread to be delivered to you in the morning (or to a table nearby) or whether to arrange a time to use the washing machine- Yolander also offered and cooked an amazing meal for 10 of us (outside seating and socially distanced) and served by her and Theo

The site is so lovely

Only 7(?) pitches all spaced out-we were the Only van in our field, on the left when you turn into the property-there were 2 camping pitches down hill but they were empty for most of our stay

There are bbq sites with benches nearby and picnic tables with sun umbrellas

The pool is lovely-6 comfy sunbeds (numbers reduced to Covid but we always got a bed) And a warm

Shower to use before a swim.

The shower/toilet block is lovely-scrupulously clean and always hot water.

Washing area outside although we didnít use this

Our Pitch was hard standing with white gravel but most Others were grass.

Ours was in the sun but the ones on the terraced area By the goats were shaded. The two overlooking the pool are mixed, I think?!

Several Dutch people staying and so friendly -but we all have each other space too!

The village of Cherviex-Cubas was approx 50 minute walk away- we walked once! Hautefort with its beautiful old Ch‚teau and the medieval type streets is just 5/10 minute drive. Small supermarket in Hautefort and Larger one just 15/20 mins away in Excideuil

Beautiful area with lots of amazing well signposted walks

Cycle along river to Pťrigueux was lovely

Highly recommend

The only negative is that it isnít nearer and that we need to quarantine but so, so worth it!

Hugely recommended

Thank you so much Theo and Yolander-we hope to be back! X 
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 13 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Dave+Sue 1 review from this member

 An amazing site, arrived to a very warm welcome by Jolanda &

Theo who gave us a full tour of there amazing site and facilities. Amazingly clean toilet & shower block, clean swimming pool and amazing land with fresh fruit trees and herbs.

Fresh bread was collected every morning by Theo when you placed your order the previous day, this was waiting for you in the communal area first thing in the morning.

WiFi Was free and accessible around the pool area and outside dinning area, meals were cooked twice a week for a very reasonable price.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we will be returning. Thanks again Jolanda & Theo.

Dave & Sue 
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: J and R 1 review from this member

 This site was probably one the best we have visited in France. Large spacious pitches, and spotless facilities made for a relaxing stay.

Theo & Yolanda made us very welcome and we particularly enjoyed the evening get togethers with the other guests.

Services like the daily bread orders helped to make our stay very enjoyable.

We plan to visit again! 

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: ClaireAndy 1 review from this member

 We booked La Grenouille for 08 nights in August and from the time we arrived to the day we left was fantastic. Jolanda and Theo are great hosts, very friendly and extremely helpful.

The peace and quiet was perfect and our tent pitch was wonderful with Leo and Pauletta, the goats being our neighbours.

The swimming pool was very welcome on the hot days and the two evening meals we had on site (cooked by Jolanda) were fab!

Can't wait to return, thanks again for a lovely stay and please give Pauletta a stroke for us! 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: AndyBev 1 review from this member

 We arrived at La Grenouille Vacances to a warm welcome from Jolanda & Theo, we were given a site tour before settling down to pitch our tent.

We were travelling with family members and requested two pitches next to each other, these were located on the forest side of the campsite and gave us more than adequate room for a large tent, a campervan plus an awning.

We had our own private BBQ area with picnic table, parasol and brick built BBQ which was great, also our own water tap and electricity supply, which meant we didnít have to walk far to fill the kettle for our morning cup of tea!

The campsite amenities were excellent, wonderful spacious pool with ample sunbeds, comfortable ones as well, washing and toilet block were well thought-out and always exceptionally clean.

We were grateful to have access to a communal fridge freezer, so we could keep our ice creams frozen! I could keep writing but limited space, overall wonderful campsite, relaxing holiday and will return again.

Huge thanks to Jolanda & Theo for their hospitality, great food and great memories. 

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Susanp63 1 review from this member

 We stayed on this amazing site for two weeks from the end of July to the middle of August.

We really cannot praise the owners Yolanda and Theo, the beautiful site and the fantastic pool enough.

Yolanda and Theo are excellent and friendly hosts and they welcomed us to their fabulous piece of heaven. Our pitch was really large and so peaceful and had everything we needed close by.

If you are looking for somewhere perfect to relax and unwind this is the site for you.

We loved this site so much that we hope and plan to go back next year. 

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: LillyP 1 review from this member

 We were greeted with a very warm welcome from Theo and Yolanda who gave us an immediate quick tour of all the campsite facilities surrounding their gorgeous home.

Their campsite is truly beautiful adorned with fruit trees, pretty flowers, herbs and shrubs. The pool was really refreshing and kept very clean, along with the small shower/loo block, also kept immaculately clean.

We were pitched on the large field and were very happy with our space as we had a large outfit. There was no wifi actually on our pitch as we were further away from the strongest signal but that didn't matter at all. We have never been on a rural campsite where there is a signal unless you're hovering next to it.

Nightime was extremely quiet with no light pollution either.

Hautefort is a quaint village with a decent supermarket and the magnificent Chateau which is well worth a visit for the small entrance fee.

Yolanda and Theo are so willing, helpful and informative. We will definitely be back. 

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Grzyb 1 6 reviews from this member

 This is one of the best adult only campsites we have visited, great facilities, great hosts, and the most superb salt water pool that Theo has built and didn't we need it with temperatures in the high thirties.

The pitches are excellent with everything provided, great food provided at communal BBQ
All in all this made our holiday so our thanks to you both. 
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ferhh 5 reviews from this member

 Sadly this did not live up to our expectations, having booked a year in advance we arrived to an abrupt welcome which made us feel very uncomfortable as we were told we were not allowed onto the main part of the site behind the fenced area as we had a dog with us. This is the area where the more level, well tended pitches were, and also the ďbistroĒwhere they did table díhote, swimming pool and showers. Our pitch was on a field outside the gated area which was a slope with just enough space at the bottom to be level for the caravan but our outside table or chairs.

We choose adult only for peace and quiet but the two Caravans at the top of the sloping field were on holiday together and from lunchtime onwards most days the drinking began and the volume increased with their music, shouts and games.

When we raised that we would prefer to be within the main campsite due to our disappointment with our pitch, it was made very clear that nothing would be done, we were told that dogs were not allowed on that side, and that some campers didnít like dogs, however this didnít make sense as the owners dog was wondering loose around the site each day, and also there was a camper on the gated side with a dog.

If we had known this beforehand we would not have booked and would have gone elsewhere where our dog was welcome.

WiFi was also promised as part of the cost sadly no WiFi at all on the sloping field perhaps this was again within the gated community.

The positive about the site was that the showers were always clean and tidy.

Would only recommend if you can guarantee you were on a pitch within the gated side, but for us it was a disappointment due to the pitch, the facilities we didnít have access to due to having a dog with us, and noise levels. 
Management response: Sadly this people didnít read the conditions for bringing the dog (and staying for free !); so they could have known beforehand. In the house-rules, which were send with the booking form, they could have read that dogs are only allowed on the pitch on a leash and if they didnít agree with that it was still possible to cancel the booking before paying the deposit. Our policy is that dogs are not allowed on the part of the campsite where swimming pool, bistro and sanitary block is. There are rules but as owners we have the right to make an exception. We want space for people with and without dogs.

All our pitches are levelled and well-tended. Also the pitch where these guests stayed near the forest (with a well for cooling off the dog).. The pitch is more than large enough to sit (levelled) in front of your caravan if you donít put the caravan in the middle of the pitch. We gave those guests a large pitch with a lot of shade for the dog !

We proposed, because we donít like disappointed guests, to bring the dog when we had a table díhote evening; they refused ! They could have gone to the pool 1 by 1 or leave the dog in the shade by the caravan where there is no danger at all. They refused all that which was their choice. They had access to all the facilities but not with the dog.

It is indeed peaceful and quiet here !! Also when we are fully booked. Everyone enjoys the holiday in his own way. The guests of the two caravans at the top of the field where having their holiday together and playing Ďjeu de boulesí. We have no house rules to forbid people to drink; we are an adult only campsite. Ö.
We had no complains about the people from the 2 caravans; they socialised very well.
Every evening at 10 pm. it was quiet.

WIFI is not part of the cost but FREE. We donít promise you can have it on the pitch; sometimes you can but we are not in a city but in the Dordogne where the landscaping can always disturb the signal.

Thanks for the only positive thing about the showers !

Surprising is that somebody of the Office de Tourisme told us that they tended to an activity where they told that they were happy at our campsiteÖÖÖ

We want everybody to be happy in our little bit of paradise but apparently this is impossible after reading this review.

Thanks to UK Campsite for the possibility to leave a Manager Response.

Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is La Grenouille Vacances child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Does La Grenouille Vacances have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to La Grenouille Vacances?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is La Grenouille Vacances dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities

Other Sites Near Hautefort      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Aquitaine

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

3244 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021