Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hollands Wood Camping In The Forest Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Brockenhurst > Hollands Wood Camping In The Forest Site Reviews

Hollands Wood Camping In The Forest Site
New Forest
Lyndhurst Road
Brockenhurst
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO42 7QH
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 600
Open: 12/04/2021 to 27/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 247 Reviews
                8/10 from 247 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  247 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: VWBus 63 reviews from this member

 Had two nights at this lovely site in mid September, so it was reasonably quiet. Hadn't been to the New Forest for ages, and in fact hadn't been to this particular site since the 90s so it was great to be back

Love the location, it's a short walk along the main road into Brockenhurst village itself, where you'll find a good selection of pubs / eateries and general shops. Of course walking away from the road you have literally hundreds of miles of walking all over the New Forest - I did a couple of great walks through the woods and moors.

Back to the site, you can pitch where you like once you've checked in with the super friendly reception staff. The site is huge, and you could spend far too long deciding where to go, there's a lot of choice, and lovely little clearings in amongst the trees. Bear in mind if you pitch on the "top" of the site near the main A337 which runs alongside the site, it may be noisy as it's a busy road.

Facilities were really good, clean and all working. There are three blocks but it's a huge site, so you may have a bit of walk depending where you pitch.

I would probably come back, although probably not in high season as it can get rather busy, but that's the New Forest for you! 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Ratty 232 reviews from this member

 The site is easy to find just outside of Brockenhurst off the A337. Being right off the main A337 I did not even notice any road noise or traffic, the trees seem to be a good barrier, however it could depend when you pitch I suppose.

Check in was quick and friendly and you have two lanes, one for pre-booked guests and one for those who are booking in on arrival.

You can pitch where you like, as long as you stay a safe distance from others and there are three large facilities blocks on site. They have 6 showers and toilets in each and plenty of sinks. There is washing up, laundry, recycling, etc.

The facilities were clean and well maintained, however shower curtains would have been nice as my shoes got wet, but we did visit at the end of the season so they may have been in place at the beginning and during summer.

Ponies and cows are free to wander the site, so watch what food you leave out. They didn't bother us at all, and it was fun to watch them mooching around. Because of this dogs obviously have to be on a lead.

Walking is plentiful in the area and I was only there one night so didn't venture on walks, but the New Forest is full of them.

Plenty to see in the area and all of what the New Forest has to offer is on your doorstep.

Brockenhurst is not far to walk, I did not go there but my friend did who stayed an extra night and he had a lovely pint or two and meal in The Snakecatcher.

I would come back to this site if in the area, however there are lots to choose from, so it has a tough fight on it's hands, depending on my requirements at the time of visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Squilly 7 reviews from this member

 The campsite is lovely and and are staff really helpful. The bike and walking trails go straight from the campsite.

A short drive to Beaulieau and a great pub a short walk away.

A stream and picnic area just down the road too. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Doctor 1 review from this member

 Lovely wooded site with ponies grazing. Welcoming staff. A few disadvantages:

It was the August bank hol weekend and I have never ever seen a campsite so rammed full in a completely chaotic and unpleasant way. The campsite had 300 pitches and the 6 m rule es impossible to follow so people were pitched absolutely everywhere apart from groups who might have pitched tents in a circle. Our tent had to be so close to our neighbours that the guy ropes were overlapping. The campsite would have taken 45, 000 this weekend and I think it was greedy of them to fill the campsite to this extent.

Every toilet, shower and washing up visit involved a queue. And the noise with kids riding around on bikes behaving like menaces as well as whinging toddlers up at 6 or 7 was just not pleasant.

The pick your own pitch results in a free for all chaos. The ponies can also be overly bold.

The toilet blocks also closed for 2 hour periods. I would return if it was less busy. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bbrooker 2 reviews from this member

 Great campsite, with clean toilets and showers. The reception staff were helpful.

You can pick where you want to pitch up a tent. The campsite leads straight out onto the Forest. The wild horses come right into the campsite.

Pubs serving good food and drinks within walking distance.

Only negative point was No fire pits unfortunately. Apart from that a great all round campsite. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kinnin 1 review from this member

 Lovely site nice and close to everything good showers and toilets.

Just be very choosy of where you put your tent to the groups around you, no consideration for anyone else partying till gone 1 in the morning 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: JGBE 4 reviews from this member

 A beautiful campsite situated in the heart of the New Forest National Park - a 20-minute walk from Brockenhurst Village where you can find several lovely forest pubs, a selection of restaurants and takeaways (chip shop, bakery for fresh bread and pastry's, Chinese, Indian, Thai, Italian and several cafes and sandwich bars).

There is also a Tesco Express and a small Sainsburys to grab some bits to take back to the site. It is possible to walk out onto the forest and join on to some enclosure walks from the campsite and horses often visit throughout the day and evening! There are plenty of pitches, many under large tree's for shade.

The facilities are standard - plenty of loo's and showers, could be cleaner but fine for a forest campsite! Very dark so bring a tourch and plenty of padding as the forest floor is very bumpy with roots. Family friendly and staff are very friendly and helpful!

Not too loud considering the campsite is off of the main road. An okay price. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nipsy617 1 review from this member

 A lovely site amongst the trees in the New Forest where you should kick back and enjoy the wildlife. WARNING ! we stayed here over the august bank holiday weekend and this place was absolutely crammed !

The usual 6 metre rule was reduced to 3 metres with campers so close guy lines were overlapping in places.

This place was very noisy with kids, dogs, radios and loudmouths also a nightmare with queuing for loos and showers and kids on bikes everywhere seemingly oblivious to people and cars.

There were several large groups with one group of dozen or more adults plus several teenagers partying till gone 1am completely ignoring the 10:30 noise curfew, the wardens who are friendly and helpful seemed powerless to do anything even facing verbal abuse from said group.

The management here really do need to sort things out. Why set rules if they are not going to be enforced. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Sidneysideboard 3 reviews from this member

 Site was very pleasant with open access to the grasslands of the New Forest.

Inquisitive horses wander through the site regularly which fascinates the children.

Toilet and shower facilities could have done with an update. Noisy neighbours moved on very quickly.

I don't remember there being a playground for the children which is a shame. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Rhughes666 1 review from this member

 It was a last minute decision to use this site, phoned up to check whether space was available (it was 4pm and I was not expecting to be there until 6pm ) and was assured it wouldn't be a problem. Arrived, paid, given some good advice on where to pitch etc So a good start to my short break

There are no marked pitches, just need to be 6 meters away from anyone else. There's plenty of space to pitch up and you can go pretty where you like. There's no segregation of units so tents/motorhomes/caravans are all mixed together. There are a few tent only areas where there are more trees.

I'm quite a basic camper - it's just me, my small one person tent and a windbreak area for my table/chair etc so the lack of electric hook-up didn't concern me. There is a bit of road noise from the main road running nearby but I suspect if you were in a group or family you would not notice it during the daytime although it may be an issue at night if you're noise sensitive. I found it bearable with earplugs in at night and certainly did not prevent me sleeping.

There's an abundance of marked water taps, bins, fire points, chemical waste points etc so it's easy to do your camping chores.

There are 3 toilet/shower blocks each with a dishwashing area and one of them has washing machine facilities. None of them seemed particularly busy although I was there mid-week during term-time.

Toiler/shower facilities are a vast improvement on the ones encountered on my various climbing/walking/festival trips around the UK over the last 25 years. Using the gents without retching from the smell is a new experience! Anyway enough of the toilet talk suffice to say they're inspected/cleaned regularly. Showers were free and hot when I used them and again pretty clean so a big thumbs up from me.

Site is located a 10-15 minute walk from Brockenhurst which has a couple of small supermarkets, greengrocers etc so its adequate for most shopping needs although the campsite does stock milk if you need it which is handy. I believe Lyndhurst has a few more facilities although Southampton, Christchurch, Bournemouth and Ringwood are all within 20 miles (just!) so within travelling distance for a big food shop.

So you've pitched up, bought some food and used the facilities (I thought I said no more toilet talk) it's now time to just chill out watching the wildlife. No not the other campsite users but the horse/ cows/ ponies/ tree-rats (squirrels), various birds etc - they're pretty much left to get on with it and it's not unusual to have horses randomly 'visting' on the scrounge for food hence the various warnings about not leaving food in tents etc because they will sniff it out.

There's the obvious New Forest and area attractions around but to be honest I just found walking out the end of the campsite and disappearing into the adjoining forest for a few different walks the best way to experience what this place has to offer.

Definitely worth popping back sometime ! 


Previous     247 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hollands Wood Camping In The Forest Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hollands Wood Camping In The Forest Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Hollands Wood Camping In The Forest Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brockenhurst      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4283 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement