Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hollands Wood Camping in the New Forest

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > New Forest & Hampshire > Brockenhurst > Hollands Wood Camping in the New Forest > Reviews

Hollands Wood Camping in the New Forest
New Forest
Lyndhurst Road
Brockenhurst
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO42 7QH
Tel: 01590 622967
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 600
Open: 07/04/2024 to 26/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 256 Reviews
                8/10 from 256 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  256 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hilly V 6 reviews from this member

 We had driven past Hollands Wood campsite for many years visiting relatives and always wondered if the pitches were too close to the road and not near any facilities but we finally booked to stay in September and couldn't have been more wrong.

It's a huge site but there are three facility blocks, so no matter where you pitch you can get to the toilets, showers and washing up buildings, which are kept spotless and we never had an issue waiting to use sinks or showers.

The pitches are all flat and you can pitch well away from the road, so they are quiet and everyone is advised to pitch 6m from any other tent, so are pretty private and you can overlook the field and woods so the vista is gorgeous.

There were always staff around to help with any issues and keep the site tidy and maintained.

Brockenhurst nearby has plenty of pubs and takeaways to serve food and you can walk from the site in any direction straight into the New Forest and the site office can provide maps and suggestions.

We couldn't have been more delighted with our stay and will return in the future! 


Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Raohno 4 reviews from this member

 Booked Hollands wood for 4 nights to attend an event on Sunday at Beaulieu, we arrived Thursday late afternoon and found a reasonable pitch not to far from a facility block which later we found out the pitch was next to a tree with a Hornets nest as well as a wasps nest!

That night I witnessed a dog attack and there were some other aggressive dogs around so didn't feel it was safe for families we kept our dog under close control and in the motorhome, I think these were reported by others as the next morning these campers were packing up and the dogs gone.

The facilities are basic/outdated but workable and the showers hot, plenty of waste, and water points, grey waste dump and black waste dump are open air but functional I didn't see or find a drive over waste point.

The ground was very dry and dusty but could see how muddy it would be if it rained for long periods.

There is ample places to walk, with large open area's adjacent, Brockenhurst a short walk away with a few shops. We eventually enjoyed our stay after the first night horror and left Monday Morning.

I am not sure how a pitch area could be reserved if you drove off as we did to Beaulieu on Sunday to find another camper pitched too close where we had left our stuff so we had to move to keep to the 6m rule 


Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Appsph 1 review from this member

 This site has got excellent facilities and laundry

The 6mtr rule is ideal

Very relaxing site

I will be returning for a longer period

The welcome I received on entering Hollands Wood was very welcoming 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Mmlhsm 1 review from this member

 Campsite was as we’d expected as we’ve stayed many times before. Staff were friendly enough on checking in.

However the toilet and shower cubicles could do with major updating. No shower curtains, now stool to avoid getting clothes wet, no shelf /soap dish available. Very crowded with narrow aisles in facilities!

Despite the above…If you want to escape to a relaxing campsite, then this is the place to go! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Thesmi 1 review from this member

 Beautiful site in the Forest, clean showers, lovely to be amongst all the wildlife.

Walking distance to Brockenhurst with some lovely pubs and cafes and a small Tesco's with all the essentials if needed.

Lovely walks and bike rides right on your doorstep and a bus stop right outside the campsite if you need it, 10 mins into Lyndhurst or Lymington.

Have been many times and will most definitely be going back again. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Sharon 1 review from this member

 Absolutely fantastic time

Clean facilities

Very friendly

In the perfect place perfect for any needs

Walking distance to brockenhurst and Lyndhurst

This is rural camping

Its a peace haven

Plenty of walks available 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Michp 2 reviews from this member

 Site was quiet in third week of September.

Loved it and would return.

Great cycling nearby and lots of places to eat in the brockenhurst which is a short walk away.

Showers toilets and washing facilities top notch.

We pitched away from the road and avoided the busiest area by the meadow so we could make the most of the tranquillity. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Whimp 4 reviews from this member

 The campsite itself is in a nice location, but with one big exception.

It runs parallel to the A337, a very busy road all day and most of the night. Apart from around 3 AM when you can hear the woods come to life, with screech owls and the answering screams of children amidst the sounds of alarm calls from various wildlife.

We went for a walk and the road noise was quite evident for 2/3 across the campsite, until you get to the furthest away from the road and have the screening of the trees and tents. Even then there is a constant drone of racing traffic. You would have thought that being the new forest, the road would at least be restricted to 30mph but is is not.

The campsite has two utility blocks of toilets and washing facilities that I found quite unsuitable given the narrow passage to either side and my partner just could not cope with a gaggle of females putting their makeup on each morning blocking these narrow passages to the toilets. Certainly no social distancing could ever occur.

The water taps were hard to locate at first, as they were few and far between. It really would not take a lot of work to extend the watering network to make is at least semi easy to find and use.

Despite numerous signs up asking people to mask up in the toilet blocks, this was only evident with a small minority.

This is a mass campsite that is more interested in packing people in and giving little else.

I would go again if I could guarantee that I could get a pitch far away from the road, but given this is a free for all find a spot and pitch, I would not chance going there again. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Chrisj 1 review from this member

 This being our fifth visit to Holland’s Wood but our first time with our two young children. What an amazing time we all had.

The campsite staff are friendly and all very helpful.

Toilet facilities, cleaning stations and Laundry was all very clean.

Loved our stay and was all sad to go home. See you again next year. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: VWBus 83 reviews from this member

 Had two nights at this lovely site in mid September, so it was reasonably quiet. Hadn't been to the New Forest for ages, and in fact hadn't been to this particular site since the 90s so it was great to be back

Love the location, it's a short walk along the main road into Brockenhurst village itself, where you'll find a good selection of pubs / eateries and general shops. Of course walking away from the road you have literally hundreds of miles of walking all over the New Forest - I did a couple of great walks through the woods and moors.

Back to the site, you can pitch where you like once you've checked in with the super friendly reception staff. The site is huge, and you could spend far too long deciding where to go, there's a lot of choice, and lovely little clearings in amongst the trees. Bear in mind if you pitch on the "top" of the site near the main A337 which runs alongside the site, it may be noisy as it's a busy road.

Facilities were really good, clean and all working. There are three blocks but it's a huge site, so you may have a bit of walk depending where you pitch.

I would probably come back, although probably not in high season as it can get rather busy, but that's the New Forest for you! 


Previous     256 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Hollands Wood Camping in the New Forest child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hollands Wood Camping in the New Forest?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Hollands Wood Camping in the New Forest dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brockenhurst      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet National Outdoor Expo 23/03 to 24/03
Held at the NEC in Birmingham, bringing outdoor enthusiasts all of the kit, tech, nutrition, activities and advice under one roof for a jam-packed weekend of outdoor inspiration Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6155 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement