Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hollands Wood Camping In The Forest Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Brockenhurst > Hollands Wood Camping In The Forest Site Reviews

Hollands Wood Camping In The Forest Site
New Forest
Lyndhurst Road
Brockenhurst
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO42 7QH
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 600
Open: 12/04/2021 to 27/09/2021
           01/04/2022 to 27/09/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 250 Reviews
                8/10 from 250 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  250 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Michp 2 reviews from this member

 Site was quiet in third week of September.

Loved it and would return.

Great cycling nearby and lots of places to eat in the brockenhurst which is a short walk away.

Showers toilets and washing facilities top notch.

We pitched away from the road and avoided the busiest area by the meadow so we could make the most of the tranquillity. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Whimp 4 reviews from this member

 The campsite itself is in a nice location, but with one big exception.

It runs parallel to the A337, a very busy road all day and most of the night. Apart from around 3 AM when you can hear the woods come to life, with screech owls and the answering screams of children amidst the sounds of alarm calls from various wildlife.

We went for a walk and the road noise was quite evident for 2/3 across the campsite, until you get to the furthest away from the road and have the screening of the trees and tents. Even then there is a constant drone of racing traffic. You would have thought that being the new forest, the road would at least be restricted to 30mph but is is not.

The campsite has two utility blocks of toilets and washing facilities that I found quite unsuitable given the narrow passage to either side and my partner just could not cope with a gaggle of females putting their makeup on each morning blocking these narrow passages to the toilets. Certainly no social distancing could ever occur.

The water taps were hard to locate at first, as they were few and far between. It really would not take a lot of work to extend the watering network to make is at least semi easy to find and use.

Despite numerous signs up asking people to mask up in the toilet blocks, this was only evident with a small minority.

This is a mass campsite that is more interested in packing people in and giving little else.

I would go again if I could guarantee that I could get a pitch far away from the road, but given this is a free for all find a spot and pitch, I would not chance going there again. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Chrisj 1 review from this member

 This being our fifth visit to Hollandís Wood but our first time with our two young children. What an amazing time we all had.

The campsite staff are friendly and all very helpful.

Toilet facilities, cleaning stations and Laundry was all very clean.

Loved our stay and was all sad to go home. See you again next year. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: VWBus 72 reviews from this member

 Had two nights at this lovely site in mid September, so it was reasonably quiet. Hadn't been to the New Forest for ages, and in fact hadn't been to this particular site since the 90s so it was great to be back

Love the location, it's a short walk along the main road into Brockenhurst village itself, where you'll find a good selection of pubs / eateries and general shops. Of course walking away from the road you have literally hundreds of miles of walking all over the New Forest - I did a couple of great walks through the woods and moors.

Back to the site, you can pitch where you like once you've checked in with the super friendly reception staff. The site is huge, and you could spend far too long deciding where to go, there's a lot of choice, and lovely little clearings in amongst the trees. Bear in mind if you pitch on the "top" of the site near the main A337 which runs alongside the site, it may be noisy as it's a busy road.

Facilities were really good, clean and all working. There are three blocks but it's a huge site, so you may have a bit of walk depending where you pitch.

I would probably come back, although probably not in high season as it can get rather busy, but that's the New Forest for you! 


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Ratty 259 reviews from this member

 The site is easy to find just outside of Brockenhurst off the A337. Being right off the main A337 I did not even notice any road noise or traffic, the trees seem to be a good barrier, however it could depend when you pitch I suppose.

Check in was quick and friendly and you have two lanes, one for pre-booked guests and one for those who are booking in on arrival.

You can pitch where you like, as long as you stay a safe distance from others and there are three large facilities blocks on site. They have 6 showers and toilets in each and plenty of sinks. There is washing up, laundry, recycling, etc.

The facilities were clean and well maintained, however shower curtains would have been nice as my shoes got wet, but we did visit at the end of the season so they may have been in place at the beginning and during summer.

Ponies and cows are free to wander the site, so watch what food you leave out. They didn't bother us at all, and it was fun to watch them mooching around. Because of this dogs obviously have to be on a lead.

Walking is plentiful in the area and I was only there one night so didn't venture on walks, but the New Forest is full of them.

Plenty to see in the area and all of what the New Forest has to offer is on your doorstep.

Brockenhurst is not far to walk, I did not go there but my friend did who stayed an extra night and he had a lovely pint or two and meal in The Snakecatcher.

I would come back to this site if in the area, however there are lots to choose from, so it has a tough fight on it's hands, depending on my requirements at the time of visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Squilly 9 reviews from this member

 The campsite is lovely and and are staff really helpful. The bike and walking trails go straight from the campsite.

A short drive to Beaulieau and a great pub a short walk away.

A stream and picnic area just down the road too. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Doctor 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely wooded site with ponies grazing. Welcoming staff. A few disadvantages:

It was the August bank hol weekend and I have never ever seen a campsite so rammed full in a completely chaotic and unpleasant way. The campsite had 300 pitches and the 6 m rule es impossible to follow so people were pitched absolutely everywhere apart from groups who might have pitched tents in a circle. Our tent had to be so close to our neighbours that the guy ropes were overlapping. The campsite would have taken £45, 000 this weekend and I think it was greedy of them to fill the campsite to this extent.

Every toilet, shower and washing up visit involved a queue. And the noise with kids riding around on bikes behaving like menaces as well as whinging toddlers up at 6 or 7 was just not pleasant.

The pick your own pitch results in a free for all chaos. The ponies can also be overly bold.

The toilet blocks also closed for 2 hour periods. I would return if it was less busy. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bbrooker 2 reviews from this member

 Great campsite, with clean toilets and showers. The reception staff were helpful.

You can pick where you want to pitch up a tent. The campsite leads straight out onto the Forest. The wild horses come right into the campsite.

Pubs serving good food and drinks within walking distance.

Only negative point was No fire pits unfortunately. Apart from that a great all round campsite. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kinnin 1 review from this member

 Lovely site nice and close to everything good showers and toilets.

Just be very choosy of where you put your tent to the groups around you, no consideration for anyone else partying till gone 1 in the morning 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: JGBE 4 reviews from this member

 A beautiful campsite situated in the heart of the New Forest National Park - a 20-minute walk from Brockenhurst Village where you can find several lovely forest pubs, a selection of restaurants and takeaways (chip shop, bakery for fresh bread and pastry's, Chinese, Indian, Thai, Italian and several cafes and sandwich bars).

There is also a Tesco Express and a small Sainsburys to grab some bits to take back to the site. It is possible to walk out onto the forest and join on to some enclosure walks from the campsite and horses often visit throughout the day and evening! There are plenty of pitches, many under large tree's for shade.

The facilities are standard - plenty of loo's and showers, could be cleaner but fine for a forest campsite! Very dark so bring a tourch and plenty of padding as the forest floor is very bumpy with roots. Family friendly and staff are very friendly and helpful!

Not too loud considering the campsite is off of the main road. An okay price. 


Previous     250 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hollands Wood Camping In The Forest Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hollands Wood Camping In The Forest Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Hollands Wood Camping In The Forest Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brockenhurst      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2802 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement