Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Holmsley Camping In The Forest Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Christchurch > Holmsley Camping In The Forest Site Reviews

Holmsley Camping In The Forest Site
New Forest, Forest Road
Thorney Hill
Bransgore
Christchurch
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH23 7EQ
Tel: 024 7642 3008  or  01425 674502
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 600
Open: 01/04/2021 to 01/11/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 207 Reviews
                7/10 from 207 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  207 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Susanj 18 reviews from this member

 I was rather worried about staying at this site due to some poor reviews. I neednít have worried! Unfortunately we can only stay one night, but we will be back.

Friendly and helpful wardens. Itís a lovely but unusual

Setting on an old airfield. It has a lovely feel about it. I much prefer it to the clinical and expensive MH&CC site weíve just been on (Black Knowl) which was soulless and just rows

Of mainly caravans, and £10 a night more expensive!

This site is open but next to forest and heath and great for wildlife. There are 3

Toilet blocks which were better than Iíd imagined. There is a large shop selling camping equipment, food, fresh bread, wine & beer AND it has a takeaway open from 8-5. 15 and 5 stars for food hygiene.

The ground was dry even after 24 hours of solid rain. Loved it! And if you think Iím easily pleased, you need to read my other reviews-I am rather picky! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Cassid 1 review from this member

 It was the first time camping for me, my 2 sons (age 3 and 6) and our camper van, we arrived and were directed in by a really helpful guy.

I had my reservations as its the August Bank Holiday, with the rarist of things, excellent weather, so thought it would be overcrowded etc etc. But I was surprised! There was still some good pitches left and in good positions.

We camped next to a tree to give us a bit of shade. We went exploring and bought some new forest ice creams from the well stocked and I have to say, not badly priced shop (compared to others I've witnessed) the people working in the shops are one of my main reasons for writing this review.

Everything they seemed to do was with a helpful smile, and that goes a long way for me.

Then there's the location. Incredible! Even the commute in through the new forest was spectacular and felt like we were somewhere special special.

In the campsite there are a few stiles around the circumference where you can easily hop the fence and BAM you're in the middle of the forest, surrounded by beautiful walks and much to my 3 Yr olds excitement a never ending supply of blackberry bushes.

I'm not one for going to the same place year in, year out, but I dare say youll be seeing us again Holmsley! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Mung 9 reviews from this member

 This is a spacious site with lots of facilities. Caravans park on the roads and there are green areas for tents. Staff are friendly and there's a well equipped shop.

The facilities are clean but run down. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Woodya10 8 reviews from this member

 Holmsley - What a site! and that's not necessarily a good thing. The welcome we received was faultless, very welcoming and full of lots of info - A great start. We were shown to our pitch (Pitch 77) which appeared to be flat and fairly well maintained. Firstly we noticed that there were no actual pitch markings, basically we could pitch where we wanted as long as we were in the general vicinity of the pitch marker. This was ok but as our 10 days progressed it would appear that the 3m rule does not apply. Tents were all over the place in no order what so ever.

Then it rained! be warned this site floods quickly and we had water running under our tent. What we thought were flat pitches ARE NOT! The hard standing area for mostly caravans resembled a travellers site complete with caravans, kids all over the place and yapping dogs. I'm sure that Holmsley was once a really good site but has now gone down hill rapidly. It's by far the biggest site I've been to and with 600 pitches it's no wonder it gone to rack and ruin. Not sure if C&CC rules about cleanliness, noise and safety actually apply here - but it does appear on their website.

On a plus side the shop was excellent. Our 10 day was good, but we will not be staying at Holmsley again and I cannot recommend it. In closing, Holmsley fall well short of what a C&CC site should by. A shame really because it's location is excellent. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: DJMotorhomer 46 reviews from this member

 Our first visit to a Camping in the Forest site. And our last. Terribly maintained. Hard standing pitches are simply on the road, it looked like a gypsy encampment more than a site.

As we have been site wardens for private sites we asked what time were the shower blocks closed for cleaning, the answer we received was 'whenever we get up'. That did not bode well with us.

Shower block is very dated and left in a disgusting state by other campers. Luckily we only spent 2 nights there and was glad to leave.

No wifi except for small area outside reception.

No phone coverage or 4G on 3 or Asda mobile. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daveandmitch 8 reviews from this member

 Our DofE group used Holmsley because our usual site at Avon Tyrrell was completely booked. So we had 28 teenagers and 5 leaders just staying the one night. Some sites would have said no but Holmsley were very accommodating allowing us a small field to ourselves.

So under the circumstances the site was adequate for our needs. However I think if I was camping for a week with my family I would think the site too big for a quiet getaway.

Showers were clean when cleaned but like a lot of busy sites quickly became wet and dirty. Why does that happen? There was a shop/takeaway on site but we never used it. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kentpingu 2 reviews from this member

 Have been visiting this site for many years and have to say the standard has changed considerably. Seasonal pitches now seem to dominate the site with their vans parked on the tarmac so close together around all the grassed edges, so your view from the grass where you pitch your tent is of backs of caravans or straight into people's awnings. Many have made wooden flooring for their awnings and are screwed to the tarmac.

At busy weekends it appears the six metre rule becomes non existent. Staff do not enforce this. The rule is also no open fires but evidence on the grass shows this is happening (again staff do not enforce this)and with so many units crammed in, it is a fire disaster waiting to happen.

The staff are pleasant but the standard of camper is changing. There are mops to rinse the showers when finished but these are rarely used leaving the cubicles uninviting and muddy. Teenagers are hanging out in the showers having toothpaste fights, breaking toilet seats and I have even seen fecaes placed on the toilet lids. The site needs more strict supervision at peak periods. It is like staying on a very bad council estate.

In fairness to the staff it is a very large site to cover but during busy periods they would benefit from some extra wardens walking the site? It is such a shame as this is a beautiful place in the forest and am afraid to say that it is now one I shall remove from my list until the Camping and Caravan Club up their game. The roads are full of deep potholes which cannot be good for touring caravans. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kateandjames 52 reviews from this member

 I camp quite a bit in the New Forest and its been several year since I last stayed at this site, it's not one I'll be going back to in a hurry.

Large groups of caravans and white vans parked nose to nose around the toilet blocks gave this site an appearance in places of a travellers site, not a camping in the forest site. What happened to the 6m rule!

Any peace and tranquillity was spoilt by loud club music (still playing at 11. 30) coming from one part of the site; road noise from the ever busy A35 and planes going into Bournemouth Airport.

Toilets however were reasonable given the large number of people camping, and the on-site shop sells food, drink, take-aways etc.

There is plenty of cycling a walking direct from the site.

Wardens were friendly and happy even when trying to unblock the smelly drains.

Enjoy Benidorm, then you'd probably enjoy this site! 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: JerAzel 1 review from this member

 Just had 3 nights here. Wardens were very friendly. We had hardstanding pitch & sun all day. Showers had loads of hot water & were very clean even on a busy weekend. Late booking so had no electric hook up, but no problem run fridge on Gas. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Thejackienixon@hotm 2 reviews from this member

 Just back from a Bank Holiday Weekend at this large Camping in the Forest site. It's a remote area, but the nearby village of Bransgove has a couple of good pubs and a few shops if you need them. It's a 15 minute cycle away. The site does have a well stocked shop and takeaway too.

We had to queue on Saturday morning to get in and choose our pitch. The gate staff were great, friendly and helpful. They needed to put a positive spin on what was by this time utter chaos! The place was heaving, really not relaxing in any way! The toilets, showers and washing up areas were in constant use and queuing was the only option to use them.

At any other time I'm sure this site would have a very different vibe, but the atmosphere was just not what I have ever experienced before on my hundreds of camping trips. There didn't seem to be anything laid back about the entire site! It seemed that London had emptied into the New Forest and bought with it the hustle and bustle! I won't be going again. 


Previous     207 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Holmsley Camping In The Forest Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Holmsley Camping In The Forest Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Holmsley Camping In The Forest Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Christchurch      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1772 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December