Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Roundhill Camping In The Forest Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Brockenhurst > Roundhill Camping In The Forest Site Reviews

Roundhill Camping In The Forest Site
New Forest, Beaulieu Road
Brockenhurst
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO42 7QL
Tel: 024 7642 3008  or  01590 624344
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 500
Open: 01/04/2021 to 30/09/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 169 Reviews
                8/10 from 169 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  169 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is closed until 01/04/2021 because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking after 01/04/2021 or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Becksbee 4 reviews from this member

 We had a fabulous few days at this campsite, the location was perfect for the type of holiday that we wanted with nothing but the New Forest surrounding us, only a short drive to the nearest shop, and value for money (we were fortunate enough to be able to use a 15% off code that the website was offering at the time of our booking).

We stayed in a tent and whilst the idea of having to choose your own pitch was daunting at first - there are so many areas to choose from, we found a nice sheltered location. There is a lot of choice of differing pitches, whether you want under tree or a field location.

The only gripe I had for the whole time I was there was the toilet and shower blocks. Whilst they are functional and generally clean (with a master team of cleaners on rotation day and night it seemed), they are extremely dated and could do with a spruce up. But I never experienced any issue with hot water supply, and whilst they were busy during the normal periods, I either moved on to another block or waited my generally short turn.

CAUTION: due to the forest location, there are a lot of free roaming animals, as you'd expect in the new forest, so do heed the wardens warnings about food. We saw a few tents being invaded during our time and, whilst we did not have animals in our tent, when we were eating breakfast one morning a donkey came and took a plastic spoon from my daughters (frozen still with shock) hand.

I would have no hesitation of visiting again, and hope to do so soon. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Smg1 7 reviews from this member

 We have stayed a few times before for long weekends, . We think it is a great site, with lots of room so you do feel as if you are camping in the forest.

We like it because there are no club house or entertainment, you can just enjoy the forest. Great location for walking and cycling.

Staff are super friendly and help, a super good traditional campsite. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kiwi1Adventures 13 reviews from this member

 A group of us stayed here after attending an event at Beaulieu. This site is really convenient and the drive there from Tonbridge was pretty relaxed. Motorway signposting doesn't mention the New Forest just Southhampton and the Docks.

A New Forest sign eventually appears after a few minutes of arguing about being lost or not. I thought this site was pretty inexpensive although another reviewer said it was expensive. Reception was basic, the various toilet blocks were basic and I felt you got what you paid for. Whilst we got pretty average weather I could see why people who had been there in the rain were disappointed.

It was quite a windy site and we couldn't use the basic awning/tarp we brought and a swirling wind made the wind breaks pretty much useless. On the plus side it is really quite flat apart for some strange undulations in some of the fields but you don't have to camp there as you can choose to pitch where you like, obeying the 6m rule.

I really liked this site for its strategic location and would stay again however as with a lot of camping grounds it is not the only game in town and I would not choose to stay here for an extended holiday as I've now been here. The overall rating of a seven is based on getting what you pay for/value for money.

If the pitch fees were a few pounds more Roundhill would probably only receive a six. That said if the fees were more then it wouldn't be in keeping with the facilities and it is really nice to have a place to go in the New Forest that doesn't cost near 30 pounds a night. If you keep your expectations in line with what you are paying you should have no regrets staying here, assuming it hasn't been raining. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steel 1 review from this member

 Lovely site situated in the New Forest which is an ideal location as a base for cycling (road and off-road) and walking. The staff are very friendly.

Not much in the way of facilities on-site (only essentials such as toilets, showers, washing up, water and waste disposal), no electric and no activities for kids so bring your own entertainment.

Choose where you pitch as long as it's 6 metres away from other units. There are horses, donkeys and cows roaming through the site so if you don't like wild animals, this isn't the place for you.

Brokenhurst is about a mile away and has shops, bike hire, pubs etc.

Christchurch is 30 mins way and Bournemouth about 40 mins.

I will definitely stay here again as it's a lovely natural site and in an unspoiled location. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CERichardson 2 reviews from this member

 There is no denying that this is a large and beautiful site with lots of wildlife roaming around which is lovely to see. A choice of pitches whether you wish to be nestled in the trees and bushes or on the headland.

The reason for three stars is that this was a very expensive site to pitch at and by far the most expensive we have ever stayed at. I would not mind this if the facilities were up to scratch but they simply weren't. Three portable cabin style blocks for the site which are cramped and dirty. Entrance to them is a mud bath and wellies are a must. I appreciate we went during wet weather and that mud will occur but the ground approaching the blocks could not cope for this weather and had not been maintained suitably. Considering the price people are paying could they not at least lay some wood chippings or gravel to help the ground cope with wet weather/volume of visitors?? Better still, upgrade the cabins to a brick built structure. Wooden steps up to the cabin were also an accident waiting to happen.

Another niggle was the sheer amount of traffic driving around the site at all hours, mainly to stop at the toilet/shower cabins. People were actually driving from their tents to the blocks (even when the weather was dry!). This just made the roads a constant stream of traffic (which started as early as 6am) and a cause of constant concern with our young son.

Overall a nice site but would probably not return for current price until above issues have been addressed because it was not worth the price in our opinion. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kateandjames 52 reviews from this member

 So, maybe I'm a bit biased, as this site is only a few miles from home. But it makes a great get away, whether its for one night or several.

Loos, showers, dog wash. Pitch up where you like, on the heath, in dappled wooded glades, around the pond, or even the 'roundhill'!

Standard camping in the forest fare, but always a delight. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Familypitcher 3 reviews from this member

 This site felt like our family was going on a real adventure! We camped near trees where the children could be dens and enjoyed watching the animals roam wild across the site.

Plenty of choice of places to pitch and good facilities in the blocks. A convenient location for exploring the whole of the national forest, by car or by bike.

The welcome was friendly too. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Climbergirl 14 reviews from this member

 What a lovely campsite! Based in the forest the site is huge and you get to pick your own spot. Even in the middle of the summer holidays there was a huge amount of space and each unit could spread out. There are three toilet shower units and I never had to wait for a toilet or shower. They were kept clean but could do with a bit of updating. All the sinks were adult height and it would have been good to have some child friendly ones. I was impressed that there was even a dog cleaning room!

Wild horses, ponys, donkeys and cows roam the site and were even seen taking food out of tents. They are very friendly and my neice was so excited being able to stroke them.

The site had a wild feel to it with kids climbing trees and hiding in the undergrowth. It was a great place for children to play and explore! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scatcat40 1 review from this member

 Great site plenty for the children riding their bikes meeting new friends staff are friendly.

Toilet/shower block clean washing up facilities are great well worth the money two weeks next year

Brockenhurst is a few miles down the road with shops and camping supplies 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hiophiop 8 reviews from this member

 Just returned from Roundhill and me and the kids had a great weekend there.

Contrary to other reviews I read I found the staff very helpful and on-hand for guidance or just a friendly chat.

The site is large and rural, leaving you to decide where to pitch. There is certainly now crowding of pitches as there is so much space and the nearest tent to us was a good 30 or 40 metres away.

The site is typically New Forest with areas of grass, ferns bushes and trees to make the perfect backdrop.

Site facilities are good, but not excellent. 3 x toilet/shower blocks service the site. They are cleaned daily, but can be too busy at times for showering or using the washing up facilities. I think at peak times there just isn't enough showers for the amount of people and depending on what time you use them they can show signs of needing a clean up. On the Sunday morning I joined a queue of about 8 people in front of me for a shower, gave up and decided to do the washing up instead and joined a queue of people waiting to do that.

The location of the site is perfect for walking or cycling out from the site to the surrounding forest and maps are available from site reception.

Visited Brockenhurst which took approx. 30 minutes on a cycle track mostly route although it's quicker by road only. Nice village with some shops, pubs, restaurants and takeaways. We drank and ate in the Forresters pub and the food was very good and they serve real ale too.

My kids loved this site and the weekend we had together and we'll definitely return. 


Previous     169 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Roundhill Camping In The Forest Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Roundhill Camping In The Forest Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Roundhill Camping In The Forest Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brockenhurst      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1692 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement