Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Chichester Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > New Forest & Hampshire > Southbourne > Chichester Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Chichester Camping And Caravanning Club Site
345 Main Road
Southbourne
Hampshire   (Browse area)
PO10 8JH
Tel: 01243 373202
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 55
Open: 07/02/2024 to 16/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 66 Reviews
                8/10 from 66 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  66 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Camelsoutback 35 reviews from this member

 Friendly site, as expected from the CCC, we only stayed because we wanted to go to Portchester castle EH, a great place to visit.

Quite by accident to visited Emsworth, a quaint little fishing town close to the campsite, a lovely stroll around the historic docks and very tame swans! 


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Henners1 4 reviews from this member

 Neat and compact campsite in an easily accessed location off the main road to Chichester.

The staff were friendly and welcoming and the facilities clean and well maintained. Standard hardstanding pitch with parking on grass adjacent (there are no additional parking facilities).

Perfect as a base for a short break. Frequent bus service to Portsmouth and Chichester just outside site and places of interest within a short drive.

Farm shop, pub and small co op just a short walk away. Housing estate around site does not impact the campsite - some road noise at busy times of day but general peaceful atmosphere on site.

We will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Davesharon 25 reviews from this member

 We have never been to this campsite before so were a bit wary but it was in a really good location.

The staff were really friendly and helpful. We cycle a lot so itís very good for visiting various places.

The Witterings is so lovely and we cycled through and stopped for food. We also went to Bosham, Hayling Island, Emsworth and Havant.

We ate at the pub next to the campsite where the food was really good.

Unfortunately we have one issue and that was that was the toilets were really problematic with flushing. Showers worked fine and these are separate from the toilets which did seem a bit odd as normally these would be in the same block. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Booketta 55 reviews from this member

 The site is on a busy road and in the middle of a housing estate. Not sure if the campsite will be there after the next 3 years.

We were offered a handful of pitches either right in front of the facilities or next to the road and backing onto the housing estate. We opted for one of the latter 3 pitches away from the outer hedge.

We were overlooked but this wasn't a problem. We got used to the road noise which quietened after 11 pm until around 5am. Lots of mosquitos or midges around.

On our first morning the hot water wasn't working but this was fixed by the same afternoon and the showers were effective from then on.

There was a problem with drain flies in the facilities after rainy days but measures were taken such as switching off lights and closing doors to attempt at discouraging them.

Very handy for Chichester and Portsmouth with some wonderful places nearby.

However there isn't a beach nearby. You can walk to inlets but they are not beaches and you are not directly on the coast. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 125 reviews from this member

 This site is so convenient for the 700 Coastliner bus which takes you to a whole range of resorts from just outside the gate.

The site itself is well kept and the wardens are very friendly and helpful. We were on a pitch at the front but the daytime road noise was not oppressive (apart from the odd motorbike) and we had no problem at night as the road quietened down.

Facilities were spotless. £36 pn after two discounts!

We ate at the Travellers Joy pub just along the road. The food was good but the service was amateurish and not up to scratch perhaps because they were so busy.

I would strongly recommend booking. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Danny2 1 review from this member

 Owner was ok but site was very disappointing more like a car park than caravan park ! Too close to other units and no facilities.

I paid for two nights but only stayed 1night Ď and never going back ! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Leejam 1 review from this member

 Absolutely loved this place.

Staff were so friendly and helpful and the entire site was spotless and very presentable.

Canít wait to come back - my whole family will be talking about this for a while yet! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Louise8382 1 review from this member

 There are comprehensive reviews already which outline the services and features of this site, therefore I wonít repeat this information. We stayed for a total of 11 nights as we wanted to be near our daughter and her family as they moved to live in the area.

It seemed that the site appealed to many retired couples looking for a quiet break away, there was no space for a play area or space suitable for children or dog walking. As we were sited near to the service block we did not find the road noise or building work intrusive however those closer to the perimeters of the site may have found it more of a disturbance.

There seemed to be a high number of camper vans and caravans who used the site for a short stay before/ after using the local ferry services in Portsmouth, which may explain why the site is always booked up in advance. We saw the numerous change overs on a daily basis.

The site wardens were approachable regularly on hand to impart advice and local information, they were meticulous in preparing each pitch, grass cutting, marking pitches etc the attention to detail commendable as they ran a very efficient service in maintaining the all the facilities the site did provide. We observed good site management in all these areas and also in ensuring site rules were observed.

We would not hesitate to return as we found it a very pleasant and relaxing break in a beautiful part of the UK with lots of transport options to visit Chichester, Portsmouth, Bognor Regis and surrounding areas. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: David Klyne 257 reviews from this member

 To Find Site:- Leave the A27 near Havant and take A259 towards Chichester. Continue through Southbourne passing the Travellers Joy pub on left and just ahead watch out for left turn into the site near to the 40 MPH sign. The site entrance is quite tight so make sure you donít arrive before 1. 00pm.

This is a small campsite situated in a semi urban environment about halfway between Havant and Chichester on the A259 and is open to non-members. There are 58 pitches some totally on grass and others of an implanted plastic mesh which they class as a hardstanding. The idea of the latter is that the grass grows through but during our visit there was not much sign of grass! The site roads are gravelled rather than tarmac. Given the size of the site only units up to 8 metres long are accepted and there is no provision for visitor car parking or second vehicles. For those pitches with electrics the CEE17 blue connectors are rated at 16 amps and are convenient to the pitches. There is one central amenity building which houses reception, toilets, showers and a small enclosed washing up area and laundry. The toilet/showers look as if they have been refurbished in the recent past and are of a nice quality. The only water and waste point is situated in front of the toilet block. There is no dedicated motorhome water/waste point on this site. There is site wide Wife and time can be purchased online. It performed reasonably well. I also found the 4G phone signal to be reasonable. There are no play provision for children. Given the sites proximity to the A259 there will be some traffic noise especially for those pitches nearer to reception. This site is very popular and really needs to be booked in advance or at the very least phone ahead. The reason for this is that there is no room to turn at the entrance so units will have to reverse back to the main road.

June 2018. There is currently building work underway adjacent to the campsite where they are building a housing estate. For most of the length of the campsite the work is essentially complete but there may be residual noise from the rest of the development.

This campsite is ideally situated for exploring the Portsmouth the Brighton corridor with good access to both bus and rail transport. The 700 Coastliner bus runs between the two cities and is handy for visiting the likes of Chichester. Southbourne railway station is about a ten walk from the site. The Roman Palace at Fishbourne is only a short bus ride from the site. The Travellers Joy pub/restaurant is only a couple of minutesí walk from the site. For shopping there is a Co-Op local store in the village. For larger food shops there are a variety of larger supermarkets in both Chichester and Havant, about equal distance from the site. Within walking distance is Chichester Caravans. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Plantpat 4 reviews from this member

 We spent 5 nights at this small site. Very clean and tidy, lovely helpful wardens and our allotted pitch was ideally located away from any road noise.

The pub, almost next door offers decent food and beers whilst the farm shop a little further along the road supplied us with good quality bbq materials.

Altogether a good package in a great part of the world. 


Previous     66 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Chichester Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Chichester Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Southbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


58861 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement