Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Chichester Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Southbourne > Chichester Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Chichester Camping And Caravanning Club Site
345 Main Road
Southbourne
Hampshire   (Browse area)
PO10 8JH
Tel: 01243 373202
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 01/02 To 18/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 59 Reviews
                8/10 from 59 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Louise8382 1 review from this member

There are comprehensive reviews already which outline the services and features of this site, therefore I wonít repeat this information. We stayed for a total of 11 nights as we wanted to be near our daughter and her family as they moved to live in the area.

It seemed that the site appealed to many retired couples looking for a quiet break away, there was no space for a play area or space suitable for children or dog walking. As we were sited near to the service block we did not find the road noise or building work intrusive however those closer to the perimeters of the site may have found it more of a disturbance.

There seemed to be a high number of camper vans and caravans who used the site for a short stay before/ after using the local ferry services in Portsmouth, which may explain why the site is always booked up in advance. We saw the numerous change overs on a daily basis.

The site wardens were approachable regularly on hand to impart advice and local information, they were meticulous in preparing each pitch, grass cutting, marking pitches etc the attention to detail commendable as they ran a very efficient service in maintaining the all the facilities the site did provide. We observed good site management in all these areas and also in ensuring site rules were observed.

We would not hesitate to return as we found it a very pleasant and relaxing break in a beautiful part of the UK with lots of transport options to visit Chichester, Portsmouth, Bognor Regis and surrounding areas.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 220 reviews from this member

To Find Site:- Leave the A27 near Havant and take A259 towards Chichester. Continue through Southbourne passing the Travellers Joy pub on left and just ahead watch out for left turn into the site near to the 40 MPH sign. The site entrance is quite tight so make sure you donít arrive before 1. 00pm.

This is a small campsite situated in a semi urban environment about halfway between Havant and Chichester on the A259 and is open to non-members. There are 58 pitches some totally on grass and others of an implanted plastic mesh which they class as a hardstanding. The idea of the latter is that the grass grows through but during our visit there was not much sign of grass! The site roads are gravelled rather than tarmac. Given the size of the site only units up to 8 metres long are accepted and there is no provision for visitor car parking or second vehicles. For those pitches with electrics the CEE17 blue connectors are rated at 16 amps and are convenient to the pitches. There is one central amenity building which houses reception, toilets, showers and a small enclosed washing up area and laundry. The toilet/showers look as if they have been refurbished in the recent past and are of a nice quality. The only water and waste point is situated in front of the toilet block. There is no dedicated motorhome water/waste point on this site. There is site wide Wife and time can be purchased online. It performed reasonably well. I also found the 4G phone signal to be reasonable. There are no play provision for children. Given the sites proximity to the A259 there will be some traffic noise especially for those pitches nearer to reception. This site is very popular and really needs to be booked in advance or at the very least phone ahead. The reason for this is that there is no room to turn at the entrance so units will have to reverse back to the main road.

June 2018. There is currently building work underway adjacent to the campsite where they are building a housing estate. For most of the length of the campsite the work is essentially complete but there may be residual noise from the rest of the development.

This campsite is ideally situated for exploring the Portsmouth the Brighton corridor with good access to both bus and rail transport. The 700 Coastliner bus runs between the two cities and is handy for visiting the likes of Chichester. Southbourne railway station is about a ten walk from the site. The Roman Palace at Fishbourne is only a short bus ride from the site. The Travellers Joy pub/restaurant is only a couple of minutesí walk from the site. For shopping there is a Co-Op local store in the village. For larger food shops there are a variety of larger supermarkets in both Chichester and Havant, about equal distance from the site. Within walking distance is Chichester Caravans.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Plantpat 4 reviews from this member

We spent 5 nights at this small site. Very clean and tidy, lovely helpful wardens and our allotted pitch was ideally located away from any road noise.

The pub, almost next door offers decent food and beers whilst the farm shop a little further along the road supplied us with good quality bbq materials.

Altogether a good package in a great part of the world.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jadsett 45 reviews from this member

We spent 3 nights on this site, not having visited for over 5 years. The club 'blurb' warns about being next door to a building site, but that was only active between 8am and 5pm and we didn't notice any intrusive noise. Having visited previously we were careful to choose a pitch away from the main road.

This is a relatively small site with a mixture of grass and hard standing. It is evidently very popular with those using the Portsmouth ferries, which are only about 15 minutes away

The staff are very welcoming and helpful. The facilities are kept spotless and if I have a gripe it is that there's only one potable water point

We used the adjacent bus stops for visits to Portsmouth and Chichester but the same service links Emsworth, Havant and Bognor

The local pub, the Traveller's Joy, is a very short walk and offers good food and service at competitive prices. I can recommend the 'Moules frites' which comes in 2 sizes - half kilo and kilo portions.

We'll be going back, if only for the mussels

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Marguerite100 1 review from this member

Just spent four nights on this lovely site. The site staff were friendly and very knowledgeable about the surrounding area. We used the very convenient bus service to visit Havant, Portsmouth and Bognor Regis. Lots to do in the area. We will certainly make a return visit.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: JainEm 8 reviews from this member

This site was was a little hard to find, we drove past it twice before we noticed the sign behind a hedge! It's directly opposite a big woodburner shop if you have any difficulty. The site was well kept and the toilet/shower block was clean and spacious. I've put 7 out of 10 for facilities, as although the toilet/shower block was immaculate there were no other facilities. It was a bit noisy being on a main road and the pitch we had was just inside the hedge adjoining the road. It's also quite small and very popular due to its location. We spoke to another camper and she said she'd been trying to book for quite a while, but it was always full. There's a nice pub the Travellers Joy about 10 mins walk along the road where they do good food. We got a bus from the stop opposite and went into Portsmouth. We would definitely visit again, hopefully getting a pitch a little further in next time.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jenmikeh 10 reviews from this member

This site is ideally placed to explore the local area. The wardens are friendly and helpful. Frequent buses and trains are nearby, as are shops. Despite being very busy, and on a main road, the site itself manages to retain a peaceful atmosphere. Pitches, although not large, are adequate. Families and those with dogs need to be aware that there is no childrenís playground or dog walking area.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Caravan-tenter 1 review from this member

I've visited this campsite several times over the past few years. It's in a great location for visiting Chichester/Portsmouth and as a result is extremely popular, especially for those with motor homes and caravans.

However, there are several drawbacks. The site is very close to a busy road and a railway line which can be a problem if you are a light sleeper. Also, partly due to the close proximity of the pitches, the wardens often find it difficult to maintain the correct distance between each unit. Some people may struggle to fit in a larger awning or even a large tent.

The site maintenance team changed last year and this year we noticed a tightening up on the rules which might not be a bad thing. Unfortunately we didn't appreciate the wardens walking around the campsite with a tape measure in the evening nor did we like the way we were reprimanded for slight rule infringements. A little more tact might be needed.

Overall though a nice little site, which is well run with free apples in the autumn! ☺

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gainfield 14 reviews from this member

A very tidy and well maintained site, very close to many and varied amenities, Excellent bus service runs along the coast from Portsmouth to Brighton every 20mins. Only gripe is, on a site where the majority of units were Motor-homes, there is no motorhome service point, apart from that an excellent site we will return to I am sure.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Purplebean 19 reviews from this member

We found the site easily having looked on google maps beforehand. The location was perfect as we wanted to visit several historical sites around Portsmouth.

Was surprised on arrival to find that the pitches are far smaller than the normal C&CC pitch size. We had taken our smaller tent and this fitted OK but our bigger tent and awning would not have done. We had asked for a pitch by the egde and were offered a corner pitch at the back of the site which suited us.

Facilities were the usual C&CC standard, clean and warm. Never had to wait more than a few mins to wash up.

The site is very popular with caravans and campervans, just three tents when we were there. The site was fairly full and there is not much room, luckily we were so busy every day that after we had eaten and washed up we went to bed. Otherwise our son would have been bored.

I have one main criticism of this site and it is the reason we will not return. It is incredibly noisy. Not sure if you are more insulated in a van (most reviews on here say noise not a problem but most are vans) but in a tent the noise levels are awful. Dogs barking in nearby houses, motorbikes on the roads until the early hours, trains from about 5am and the dawn chorus. Had it just been the birds no problem, we expect to hear those but we could not sleep for the noise.

We will be revisiting this area but not this site.

Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4309 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019