Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ellerslie House Camping And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > New Forest & Hampshire > Fareham > Ellerslie House Camping And Caravan Park > Reviews

Ellerslie House Camping And Caravan Park
Down End Road
Fareham
Hampshire   (Browse area)
PO16 8TS
Tel: 01329 822248
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 35
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 13 Reviews
                6/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Hazelg 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a night as it was the nearest site we could find to catch an early ferry from Portsmouth, but wouldn't repeat the experience. Site had a bit of a strange feel about it - lots of large tents / caravans which mostly looked quite established, but not much sign of people. Trod in dog poo when setting up :-(

Struggled to attract anyone's attention on arrival. The site was in a sloping orchard and it was a bit tricky to find a big enough gap in the trees to push up the roof of our small van.

Facilities were quite dire - 2 women's showers but only one loo, and very tired-looking. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Harris2051 2 reviews from this member

 Arriving on site I was told there were plenty of pitches when in fact there wasn't. There are a number caravan outfits that appear to have people staying all the year round. Converted horse lorry and a coach and caravans with wood burning stoves. The toilet and showers are in a bad condition so I used my own shower. The electricity supply only supports 6 amps and tripped if 1kw heating and microwave was on. I felt that 18 pounds per night was a lot for what was being offered.

Fortunately I was only there for one night and would not stay again.

A word of warning also is that the lane off the road is narrow with no passing places and by the hotel there is a tree in the middle, then a tight right hand turn into the uneven field. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Polemi2000 1 review from this member

 My wife and I recently purchased a caravan that was for sale in Fareham, we also booked into a caravan site in Fareham. On arrival at Ellerslie caravan and camping park we were about to hook up and journey another 8 miles to where our SatNav indicated our other stop to be. We were then approached by a young man who was very eager to help us as he could see we are obviously novices. He took a lot of time helping and advising us on the art of towing. It was a good job he turned up because as it turned out we were booked into his campsite (in the next field) so do not always trust a SatNav. We intended to stay 1 night but already we had made a friend with our neighbour. The next day we attempted to erect the awning and another couple offered their help with good advice. That was it for us we stayed another 2 days and cannot believe the friendship and help we received. We were told we could park anywhere we wanted facing any direction, there was very little noise on the site, maybe the odd train away in the distance. The M27 did not make any noise as there are roads nearer. The shower block was very clean as was all the facility's, yes I did have to push the button 2 or 3 times but I managed. We will definitely be visiting Ellerslie again and hopefully for a lot longer stay. It was a great beginning to our future caravanning career and if other camp sites are half as good as Ellerslie and half as friendly we will be very happy. Once again you know who you are a great big thankyou. See you soon. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sammie16 16 reviews from this member

 We used this site 4 years ago and it is excellent for those wanting everything on their doorstep. But when we visited before we thought the toilets/showers needed updating. Unfortunately even after all this time, this has still not been done. No toilet paper, no hand dryer, no soap. Very old. Cobwebs everywhere. Although hot enough water to shower with, literally 5 seconds (I counted) and the water goes of and you have to push the button again. I understand the need to save water but give at least 10 seconds guys! Needs pulling down and re-building. I notice that this complaint keeps popping up for this site.

I think the owners should definitely think about re-investing the money they get from camping into making this a more attractive site for campers otherwise they will get less and less campers - as decent toilet and shower facilities are an absolute must for some campers. We are now on a different site and the difference is amazing.

Nice and clean and pleasant to use. Come on Ellersley, buck your business ideas up! 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shiner123 2 reviews from this member

 We've just returned following a weeks stay at Ellerslie Camping & Caravan Park and thought we should update the reviews. Although it would be nice to say that the less positive aspects of the site which are noted within previous posts have been rectified. I'm sad to say they haven't. The location, however, is great.

The site isn't regimented so when we arrived, mid bank holiday, finding a spot was a bit tricky. We eventually found a space under the apple trees which turned out to be perfect. Others that arrived later were not so lucky and they had to squeeze between other units so they could access electric hookup. This caused problems as there are no identifiable roadways between the trees and its possible to get blocked in. We saw the owners on the first day, checking that we'd paid, otherwise they didn't seem to venture into the camping field. Identifying pitches would make things much simpler for everyone.

The site isn't too noisy, you could only hear the M27 very late at night. People on the site were good and everything went quiet by 10pm.

There are two mobile phone masts about 10 meters from the site boundary which are very ugly.

The toilet block is pretty grim. The worst we've experienced in our 18months caravanning! Although its obvious the owners have updated the mens with some new sinks and mirrors the rest (mens and womens) were beyond basic. There was only one toilet in the mens block which was always dirty and didn't seem to get from one day to the next. The showers were hot and there was plenty of water but the cubicles were painted breeze block and very tired. The other amenities, laundry, washing up were of a similar standard. Dirty and in need of some serious TLC.

The site had no playground facilities but the abundance of trees meant the kids had something to keep them amused.

The site is within 10 minutes drive of Gosport Ferry which will land you within a few yards of the Historic Dockyard (HMS Victory etc) and the new Gun Wharf Quay Shopping Center which is the home of the Spinnaker Tower. The dockyard was brilliant and both of our girls (4-6) loved exploring the old sailing ships and learning about how people lived and died in years gone by. The site location was also good for visits to Southampton.

Overall, we had an enjoyable week but it had everything to do with the weather and location and less to do with the site and its facilities. I'm afraid we won't return unless we see better write ups. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Blueveevoo 4 reviews from this member

 A very good camp site for those who don't like the regimented side by side forest of white boxes style camps. This camp site does not have pre defined pitches as such, you just have to fit your unit/tent in between the trees in the orchard or around the perimeter wherever it fits!.

The shower/toilet blocks are clean and there is loads of hot water, there is a mini laundry room and plenty of electric hookups dotted around the site.

It is a simple small site with all the basics you need. 10 minutes from the the sight is the local town with plenty of shops and restaurants there are also a couple of pubs nearby which serve good pub style food.

It is a good site to stop off at to break up a long journey, and it is very peaceful, I loved it and will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Bellisdaisy 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 5 day visit to this site and felt I had to leave a review.

The site is very friendly and well run, and the day after we arrived the owners walked round the site checking that everyone was ok.

There are a lot of trees providing shelter from the wind and the fields are slightly sloping though this was not a problem for us. Electric hook ups were a bit higglety piggelty, but we managed to connect as we have a long lead - if yours is short you may encounter problems. Each electric hook up stand also had it's own water supply. Another review stated that you could only have one thing connected at a time but we did not have this problem - quite often we had four things plugged in at a time as did my brother who pitched his tent next to ours.

The toilets and showers were better than we expected, with three rooms - ladies, gents and another - each with one toilet, two showers, and wash basins. The gents also had urinals. These were very clean and were stocked with toilet tissue and soap and hot water.

The site filled up a lot on the Friday with it being a bank holiday and although I never had to queue for a toilet or shower, I suffered a cold shower one morning as I was late going in and the hot water had all been used. However - get in early and you will be rewarded with a hot one! Showers are free and the type you find in swimming baths with a button that needs to be pushed regularly as it is on a timer. Take your clothes in a carrier bag though as although there is a stand and hooks for your clothes, they do get splashed!

The children found their own entertainment in the form of a very large conifer tree which was hollow inside which they made their 'den' - this kept them occupied for hours, as did the horses in the next field.

There is so much to see in the surrounding areas, though we were there soley to see Portsmouth which is just 8 miles away. On the final day we were also able to pack up our trailer tent and leave it in the car park on site so that we could enjoy another day in Portsmouth without having to worry about the trailer. We found a great PARK AND RIDE on the last day in North End which was just 2.50 for parking all day and the bus takes you to the city centre or the Hard which is a minute walk from Gunwharf and the Historic Dockyard. We wished we had found this sooner as we had been paying between 5 and 8 in the city centre. There is a fantastic Chinese in Gunwharf - upstairs right by the spinaker tower which offers an 'all you can eat' for 6.95 a head (3.50 for kids). This is well worth a visit as the food is fantastic. We will be returning to this place! The historic Dockyard also provides a great family day out which is excellent value for money and we were able to fill two days with this attraction - your ticket is valid for 1 year unlimited returns.

There are also many attractions in other surrounding areas that we simply did not have chance to visit. There is a cracking view of Portsmouth and the Solent just up the road from the site and this is well worth a visit as another reviewer also states.

We will definitely return to this site next year and my brother also agreed it was excellent.

My children have just thanked me for what they called 'the best holiday ever'. What more can you ask for as a parent? 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Jules1212 4 reviews from this member

 Well, we nicknamed this site: Planes, Trains & Automobiles!

Why? Because the M27 provided a constant backdrop, there was a railway line nearby which had the trains sounding their horns and the planes for Southampton airport went overhead, as well as numerous helicopters.

It is a secluded site consisting mostly of an orchard with very clean showers and toilets (just 2 toilets in the ladies though!). The showers barely got warmer than lukewarm and if nobody entered the block whilst you were showering, then all of the lights would go out!

We never saw the owners, were given no guidance as to where to pitch and had to chase someone to pay upon departure. On one night, another camper called the police as there were drunken men in a van with music blaring at 12:30am threatening to jump the fence and cause mayhem at what they perceived to be a gypsy camp! When we informed 'reception' a day later this was news to them.

We felt the 60 foot mobile telephone mast not to be the most eye catching delight we have ever slept under. The electric hook up was erratic to say the least! There is nothing here for children.

The area we pitched in was given over to long term elderly residents who appear to live there for 6 months per year. They seem to feel it is appropriate to appear in your awning whenever they feel like it and comment on your comings and goings ad infinitum!

At the end of the day, if you are just having an overnight stop en route to the ferries this could be fine. But at 19 a night,with the bare essentials in terms of facilities, we felt this was poor value for money.

Next time we will go to Hayling Island or Wittering to be a lot nearer the sea and all amenities that this area has to offer. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bigraeme 10 reviews from this member

 Well just got back from a week here.Sat nav missed entrance by 50 yrds so keep your eyes open,there is two drive ways one camp site one keep fit place,WARNING it is tight to get in you can see the scrapes on the wall it is also a little steep and because its under tree,s and wet when I turned up I got loads of wheel sin and that is not like me.Right then along the drive looks nice then wow big tree middle of the road keep right of it and head for the pot hole and kepp an eye on your van don't hit the tree or the small wall,turn right and park up next to the toilets. Walk back to the little hair dressers and next to it is the site office pay your money and find a pitch.

Now the site is 80% grass 20% hard think it was a old tenis court get in that nice and flat the rest of the site take your ramps you will need them. The power point are dotted about so long leads are needed and put tv on and your kettle and pop you need to reset. Mens toilets: one sit and go, three stand and do if you know what I mean. Two showers were ok but nowhere to put your cloths and water runs into the sit and go toilet wet bum, wet feet, wet trousers not good. While I was there two of the stand and do broke so out off order 4 days. sinks fantastic no problem. Ladies one toilet two showers same problem with water getting all over then there is a toilet and two showers next to the ladies think that is multi sex same problems with water getting all over.

There is a small washing area for pots pans etc an a little washing machine and dryer token meter 2,20 mins, drinking water outside and just round the side of the gents is your waste toilet place. If you go and you get on the old tennis court take your drill and hard ground pegs.

Apart from that its a nice place I liked it, the wife liked it, the kids slept. We went all over and drained them at night. The mozzies came out only got bit once and that was on my last day about ten mins before I left easy meat me so have a go see if you like it I did. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sammie16 16 reviews from this member

 Very friendly place. Excellent position to see Portsmouth and surrounding areas. Very quiet. Nothing for kids though. They have a laundry room. Toilets and showers okay but the water for showers was a bit luke warm and you couldn't alter the heat. Also we found that if we had two electric things on quite often it would overload so we had to switch off one electric appliance so we could have another on. But overall, good site. Sainsburys a short drive away. Very good town centre a few minutes drive away. M27 and A27 on the doorstep. 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Ellerslie House Camping And Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ellerslie House Camping And Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Ellerslie House Camping And Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fareham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2081 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement