Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Upper Hurst Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Buxton > Upper Hurst Farm Reviews

Upper Hurst Farm
Hartington
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 0HH
Tel: 01298 687273
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 138 Reviews
                9/10 from 138 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  138 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Olibobs1 1 review from this member

 We visited on a busy weekend just after lockdown for campsites had been lifted, the site seemed full and we felt rather hemmed in on the pitch we were allocated towards the bottom of the site. The pitch was gently slopping and big enough for our tent but due to a very large winnebago and numerous caravans and campervans surrounding us on all sides we were unable to see the beautiful views surrounding the site from our pitch. Such a shame.

It was a short walk uphill to the toilet and shower block that was kept spotlessly clean. The block is modern and done to a very high standard. My only negative here is that I felt the external doors to the block should have been propped open in the current Covid climate to prevent the need to touch the handles when entering and to help ventilation. The 3 ladies toilets did become busy in the mornings and were arguable too full to social distance properly.

The only tap was at the top of the field, a standpipe towards the bottom of the site would be a good addition as it became rather cumbersome walking backwards and forwards every time we wanted to boil a kettle. A communal fridge would also be useful for chilling drinks etc. The only facility for cooling was a small freezer that was strictly ice blocks only. This is the only site of this size we have ever been to that did not provide a fridge.

Unfortunately we had noise both nights until 1. 30 am from the surrounding tents who seemed to be having a birthday celebration, this was annoying particularly as we had chosen the site because they advertise themselves as a quite, peaceful site. This, along with the cramped feel to the site, did in all honesty spoil our stay and we would have appreciated a walk round from the owners about midnight to encourage campers to stop making noise.

Although the site is very well maintained and has super clean and modern facilities we would not return as we simply did not find it peaceful and restful as advertised. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Billandsuet 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely location with views. Very friendly staff.

Very clean facilities and big shower cubicles with plenty of hooks. Play field for children was much appreciated by our 2.

This is a well maintained site.

We have booked a return visit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Zoema57048cks 1 review from this member

 Beautiful site. Gorgeous views, great play area and the showers are the best we've seen which is pretty good as we've been regular campers over the last 15 years!

A bit uneven ground but not a problem.

Hartington is very close with good shops and lovely pubs.

We will be back in the summer. Thank you. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Tripeaker 24 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to this well run, friendly site and again we were not disappointed. The wardens were as before, welcoming and helpful. We were pleased to see that even in January, the facilities were clean, warm and well managed.

The closest pub, the Manifold has a great menu and the food was good. We found the locals to be friendly and we really enjoyed an evening there. The Devonshire in Hartington has recently been re-furbished and although we did not eat there this time, we were impressed with the ambience of the place. It is dog friendly, certainly in the small bar.

The walking around the area is lovely with walks to suit most levels. There are several 'Trails' within a short distance that can be enjoyed either on foot or by bicycle. The site has an excellent information area in the entrance to the shower/toilet block where options of places to explore in both wet or dry weather are plentiful.

There are areas to wash up both inside and out and the reception offers a few basic items for sale, which may just 'save the day'

This won't be the last time we visit this excellent site. 


Date of Visit: December 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Geoff42462pji 1 review from this member

 Nice site, we stayed over new year and the ground was very boggy from all the rain. Warm welcome.

One fault was the grey water drain had been installed incorrectly and we had to use our waste master.

Amenities warm dry and clean, site in a good location, good walking from site.

Will be back in the summer. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: November 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Runj6940417sgv 1 review from this member

 Very clean facilities and good pitches.

The dog-run field was a blessing as the area is surrounded by livestock fields.

A little more pricy than expected, but we usually use CLs 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Margew39261bpr 1 review from this member

 What an amazing site. Great location for walking, Buxton, Ashbourne and Matlock.

Yvonne and Paul the site managers are indispensable, they made our Halloween unforgettable.

Many thanks we will definitely return 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: PeterT118 1 review from this member

 Very peaceful well run site, great facilities, very friendly & helpful staff, ideally situated for exploring the beautiful countryside.

Will definitely be returning (maybe in one of the warmer months) 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Hillbilly78 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely clean and picturesque site with clean facilities.

The staff are friendly and helpful,

As expected in this great part of the country lots of outdoor activities and places to explore.

We will be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Booyaa 9 reviews from this member

 Excellent site!

A lovely area with beautiful views across the surrounding countryside. Clean, well maintained and in excellent condition this is one of the best sites I've stayed on.

The owner was great when were asking a thousand question during the booking and Sue managed to swap around some pitches to suit us. The wardens were incredibly helpful on arrival and throughout our stay and nothing seemed to be too much bother.

This is a great site for kids with plenty of space for them to mess around in, even though the site seemed full and there were loads of kids it never felt busy or over laden.

The toilet block was so clean and everything worked as it should, the showers are a god send without those daft push buttons, to have a proper tap to turn on is brilliant.

Overall, this is one of the best sites I've stayed on in the UK, perfect for a weekend away, nice sights, nice views and great staff. We will be back. 


Previous     138 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Upper Hurst Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Upper Hurst Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Upper Hurst Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Buxton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5865 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement