Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Upper Hurst Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Buxton > Upper Hurst Farm Reviews

Upper Hurst Farm
Hartington
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 0HH
Tel: 01298 687273
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 129 Reviews
                9/10 from 129 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  129 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Booyaa 8 reviews from this member

Excellent site!

A lovely area with beautiful views across the surrounding countryside. Clean, well maintained and in excellent condition this is one of the best sites I've stayed on.

The owner was great when were asking a thousand question during the booking and Sue managed to swap around some pitches to suit us. The wardens were incredibly helpful on arrival and throughout our stay and nothing seemed to be too much bother.

This is a great site for kids with plenty of space for them to mess around in, even though the site seemed full and there were loads of kids it never felt busy or over laden.

The toilet block was so clean and everything worked as it should, the showers are a god send without those daft push buttons, to have a proper tap to turn on is brilliant.

Overall, this is one of the best sites I've stayed on in the UK, perfect for a weekend away, nice sights, nice views and great staff. We will be back.

Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tripeaker 23 reviews from this member

A great little campsite tucked away on the border of Staffordshire and Derbyshire. The welcome from the on-site wardens was really nice and they showed us around the immaculate facilities before leading us to our pitch. The showers and toilets were always clean and warm and the wardens rightly take a pride in their campsite. The pitches all offer lovely views and are reasonably level and well kept with water and drainage points on the hard standings. There is a grassed area for pitching tents.

We did not eat in the nearest pub The Manifold Inn at Hulme End but we had a couple of drinks there, the food looked good and it was nice, warm and friendly. Nearby Hartington has a few shops, a great cheese shop and a couple of options of places to eat and drink. Sunday lunch there was very nice.

The site provides the option to have a log fire by your unit for an added cost. They provide the wood and everything you need to enjoy an evening under the stars with a roaring fire, all very comforting.

Our friends had children with them and they were able to help out in the mornings with mucking out and feeding the Ponies, very much enjoyed by those that took part.

The area is really good for walking, the nearby Dales of Wolfescote and Berrisford are stunning. Dotted around, are lots of remains of the old copper mines, often with a plaque to explain their former use, we found them fascinating. The Manifold trail is nearby and offers safe off road cycling.

Whilst we were there a Yurt was being erected in a quiet part of the site, this looks like it will provide an excellent opportunity for 'Glamping' it is fitted with a log burner and the views from the Yurt are lovely. We are already making plans to return to this lovely site.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Arabscot 6 reviews from this member

We had two tents in adjoining pitches for 5 nights in this wonderfully situated campsite. Can only agree with the mass of positive comments on the toilets/shower/washing up block. A microwave might be a useful additional feature, but can't complain.

The local pub has a good selection of beers, and great food - but suggest going for the 'light bites' unless you have a big appetite!

There are so many places to visit, things to do and see in and around the Peak District it is quite amazing. We shall return (probably several times).

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Moobus 1 review from this member

This is a lovely campsite with stunning views and excellent facilities which are kept pristine by Yvonne and Paul. It has a very relaxed feel and Yvonne and Paul couldn't have been more helpful. There is a good pub within walking distance and lots of good walks nearby. We came here before many years ago and we were not disappointed this time. Highly recommended!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Jonnmedds 69 reviews from this member

Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly lady who showed us to our pitch. The pitches are large, with a hardstanding area for the car on one side and a grass area for the awning on the other. There was plenty of space between pitches. The pitch had drainage and water. One minor gripe, which wasn't worth dropping a star for, our pitch sloped a lot from front to back, some form of rereading to reduce this would be nice.

Facilities were great, toilets and showers always clean and adequate for the site.

The views from the site were amazing.

We will, be back.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TheBigPL 2 reviews from this member

Lovely, well looked after small site. Top class wardens, showers/toilets are great. Kids loved tending to the ponies in the morning and watching the peacock on an evening. Caravans situated along the perimeter with tents pitched on the grass square in the middle leaving room for kids to run around in the centre.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Debbie Randell 2 reviews from this member

Stayed for a week here Site was quiet, well maintained. A lot of people moaning about dogs barking and kids playing even had someone complain that a Peacock was walking about, unfortunately dogs bark kids play and birds fly. Too many rules for me you are escorted to your pitch in military fashion and given a lecture on do's and don'ts. Seems very commercially minded with lots of campers crammed in.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Silverfishywish 2 reviews from this member

Thank you so much for having such a lovely campsite! We have just spent 5 nights camping at Upper Hurst Farm and had a thoroughly fantastic stay. The pitches are nice and big and being able able to choose which way you face was nice. The shower and loo facilities are the best we have encountered in 6 years of camping. Children are well catered for with a playing field away from the tents and for younger ones, there is a big safe space in the middle of the tent site. The wardens were very friendly and helpful and even phoned the Devonshire Arms in Hartington on our first night to book a table- was a Saturday evening on a BH weekend so we were very lucky! Highly recommend the aforementioned pub too. Wash up facilities, freezer and washer and dryer all available and well kept. We couldn’t fault this sight other than it is four hours drive from where we live. Thanks again

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Simonanddeb 9 reviews from this member

Great location for walking especially on the Manifold trail, fully serviced pitches available with really friendly staff, very clean and tidy generous sized pitches and excellent facilities not a lot for kids but us and the dogs loved it!

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Menyou 8 reviews from this member

It is a great site as others have already said but can get noisy if busy as tents in the central area are allowed to light fire pits and stay up all hours. Sadly once off season its just far too expensive, £31 a night for two adults and an 8 year old versus plenty of good CL, s, in the area with facilities for £12 a night. For me not sure at this price point I would return.

Previous     129 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6306 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019