Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Upper Hurst Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Buxton > Upper Hurst Farm Reviews

Upper Hurst Farm
Hartington
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 0HH
Tel: 01298 687273
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 147 Reviews
                9/10 from 147 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  147 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Primar 1 review from this member

 One of the best! Fantastic welcome.

Lovely site with amazing views. Great clientele! Lots of young kids.

Everyone followed the 10pm curfew. The bathrooms were exceptional!

Only small gripe was we were quite close to the other tents. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Jacqui 1 review from this member

 Absolutely beautiful site really clean amazing facilities.

Owners were very friendly and welcoming and always on site.

Highly recommended if you like walking and peace 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Swelsh 1 review from this member

 Great location, helpful hard working farmerís wife.

Relaxed family site, handy cafe within walking distance.

1 ladies toilet and 2 menís but clean and kept tidy

Would go back again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Seanm3 1 review from this member

 A lovely campsite, clean and tidy. We were met on arrival and shown our pitch.

Owner was lovely and friendly and made a point that if we needed anything just to ask.

Will visit again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Chris and Ron 1 review from this member

 This was the second time we had visited this beautiful site. It is well maintained with superb views all around. We stayed mid-week and it was very quiet, which was an added bonus.

Pitches are fully-serviced which is great. The site is close to the lovely village of Hartington which has a few shops and two pubs plus cafes.

There are walks from the site or within a short drive. Dovedale is approximately 6 miles away and Bakewell about 8 miles. We did not visit any of the local inns as not all were open due to Covid.

We will definitely visit this site again - such a brilliant location. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Leeben 1 review from this member

 The site was excellent

Well kept and the facilities were spotless

Nice quiet location

Beautiful views

In walking distance to local village.

Very friendly owners on hand if needed.

Would certainly recommend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Sturnbull2285 1 review from this member

 We had a week with our tent at Upper Hurst Farm, our trip was delayed by two days by the site owners because of waterlogged ground after heavy rain (they are on clay). Great communication with Amy to explain that we couldn't travel until the pitch was ready.

It was clear that the heavy rain had meant some chaos moving arrivals around, and a pitch had not been identified for us. This was soon rectified and we were shown to a pitch with hook-up avoiding most of the muddy ground on the bottom field.

This was the first site we'd stayed at where pitches were not marked - I think this would be fine ordinarily but other tents arrived and were pitched very close to ours, meaning we didn't have much privacy and not great for 'peace and tranquility' as promised.

There was also unreasonable noise after 10pm, one night until 1am which kept us awake (group of girls on Friday night in the lodge near the bottom field where there's an outdoor hot tub) and no sign of a site warden to ask for quiet, despite info saying there was one.

The site appear to allow groups, which I don't think helps with creating a peaceful and tranquil environment when said groups drink / chat / sing all evening sat outside.

Lovely site, especially the facilities which are spotlessly clean and nice warm showers but be mindful of lack of privacy if in a tent, and noise. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Gonnate 18 reviews from this member

 A thoroughly enjoyable visit, and we hope to return.

We were at the bottom of the field, on a nice level pitch. Further up is more sloping, though probably has an even better view over the hedge towards the fields and hill beyond. As has been said, a very friendly welcome, and a card to identify pitch, with details of the site.

While we didn't use the facilities ourselves, we were told by others they were excellent and very well cleaned - the currently reduced staff are working all hours to keep the place to a high standard.

Our pitch had its own water supply, own drain for grey waste, and own EHU.

After the lockdown period, they're understandably taking all the bookings they can accept, but we didn't feel crowded. In general, people were respecting the social distancing rules, and with good humour too. It was a nice friendly site to be on, in a lovely area.

Those with children found the local ponies and other animals a great entertainment, along with the play area sensibly placed slightly away from the main camping area.

Wifi reception at the bottom of the field was distinctly variable, if that's important to you.

We will plan to return, and look forward to so doing. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Catth9 1 review from this member

 One of the best campsites I have ever stayed at. The whole place was immaculate, we were greeted on arrival and shown to our spot, given a card with our spot circled and all other necessary info.

Kitchen with washer, dryer, fridge and washing up facilities, info point with lots of local attractions, lovely little park for kids and ponies to stroke. Units all good distance apart.

Would definitely return and recommend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Olibobs1 1 review from this member

 We visited on a busy weekend just after lockdown for campsites had been lifted, the site seemed full and we felt rather hemmed in on the pitch we were allocated towards the bottom of the site. The pitch was gently slopping and big enough for our tent but due to a very large winnebago and numerous caravans and campervans surrounding us on all sides we were unable to see the beautiful views surrounding the site from our pitch. Such a shame.

It was a short walk uphill to the toilet and shower block that was kept spotlessly clean. The block is modern and done to a very high standard. My only negative here is that I felt the external doors to the block should have been propped open in the current Covid climate to prevent the need to touch the handles when entering and to help ventilation. The 3 ladies toilets did become busy in the mornings and were arguable too full to social distance properly.

The only tap was at the top of the field, a standpipe towards the bottom of the site would be a good addition as it became rather cumbersome walking backwards and forwards every time we wanted to boil a kettle. A communal fridge would also be useful for chilling drinks etc. The only facility for cooling was a small freezer that was strictly ice blocks only. This is the only site of this size we have ever been to that did not provide a fridge.

Unfortunately we had noise both nights until 1. 30 am from the surrounding tents who seemed to be having a birthday celebration, this was annoying particularly as we had chosen the site because they advertise themselves as a quite, peaceful site. This, along with the cramped feel to the site, did in all honesty spoil our stay and we would have appreciated a walk round from the owners about midnight to encourage campers to stop making noise.

Although the site is very well maintained and has super clean and modern facilities we would not return as we simply did not find it peaceful and restful as advertised. 


Previous     147 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Upper Hurst Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Upper Hurst Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Upper Hurst Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Buxton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3152 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement