Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Denny Wood & Matley Wood Camping In The Forest Sites

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Lyndhurst > Denny Wood & Matley Wood Camping In The Forest Sites Reviews

Denny Wood & Matley Wood Camping In The Forest Sites
Beaulieu Road
New Forest
Lyndhurst
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO43 7FZ
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 170 - Denny, 70 - Matley
Open: 12/04/2021 to 27/09/2021
           07/04/2022 to 26/09/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 22 Reviews
                8/10 from 22 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Minisharon 10 reviews from this member

 Stayed here over the Whitsun Bank Holiday weekend.

The site is perfect and so quiet with wildlife coming to visit.

Even though there are no facilities it was a perfect 'off grid' weekend.

Would certainly visit again and recommend this site for its peace and quiet 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Greatwhiterabbit 8 reviews from this member

 Denny Wood is our favourite 'Camping in the Forest' site!

It is in a great location for walking and cycling, with easy access to the New Forest trails, that are easy to follow thanks to numbered posts at junctions.

It was easy to find a quiet space to pitch. The 'pay only £3 for late departure' offer was helpful. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Ilusby 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Matley Wood as an overnight stop for part of a trip down to Dorset. Being a couple of days before the August Bank Holiday the site was very busy and as there are no designated pitches as such it was a little difficult to find a space without being on top of another unit. I did find a space after a little searching and was glad I'd got the levelling blocks in the camper as it was far from level!

This site doesn't have any toilets or showers etc on site but this didn't bother me as it was literally an overnighter as part of a longer road trip. The price was very reasonable and I believe reflects the level of facilities available. I would like to come back when it's not so busy to get a better spot to pitch, and take some walks or bike rides out into the surrounding New Forest area.

One point to note is that all of the customer service is done from the Denny Wood site down the road. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Peachy43 1 review from this member

 Even though this site was close to road it was so peaceful

You could pick where you wanted to park. Loads of walking to do and close to Lyndurst. But it was that nice we didn't even move from the campsite  


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sandra1948 1 review from this member

 Excellent site to visit you can either have peace and quiet or the site managers do a cheese and wine evening or similar first Saturday of each month the next event will be bring your own BBQ on 29th August which we will not miss and every Thursday its coffee morning where all campers are welcome

Its a fantastic site for wild life badgers deer and foxes come onto the site in the evening whilst you are sitting outside. There is some fabulous walks can walk to Lyndurst aabout 2 miles or Brockenhurst about 45 min walk

There is no facilities on this site so chemical toilet is essential 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dug1911 7 reviews from this member

 I spend most weekends at this site, its hard to fault it

There has been an ongoing problem with the water supply but with the site manager pressing the powers that be it seems finally to be solved

The manager organises coffee mornings fish and chip nights and many other gatherings to allow people to meet each other these are of course optional

The area is very quiet just the occasional motor bike and train noise to disturb the peace and tranquillity that this site has in shovel fulls

The only noise at night is from the owls

Wild deer foxes and badgers are to be seen most nights coming close to the units and are fairly used to the campers so they allow lights to be shone on them

This coupled with donkeys ponies and cows wandering free on the site makes for a real rustic feel

Informal camping at its best

Highly recommended 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: BonnieBonbon 5 reviews from this member

 This was my first experience of a Camping In The Forest site. I stayed for two nights and had booked using a 33% discount special offer.

If you are looking for a clean, quiet, basic site set in beautiful woodland then this is the place for you. I was met and given my permit by a very friendly lady warden who pointed out a couple of good places to set up but there are no designated pitches and you can camp where you like.

A young couple arrived after 9. 00pm and pitched their tent without a toilet and were asked to move on the following morning so don't try to camp without one!

The only negative for me was the constant traffic noise as the site is close to the busy B road. However, this was offset by ponies wandering around and doing their own thing and the lack of screaming kids. I did have big plans for walking and cycling but decided to lay down my pick nick blanket and soak up the peaceful vibe instead.

I enjoyed my stay but think it would be a bit expensive at full price for what's provided. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tidbolts 3 reviews from this member

 On the positive side this site is pretty & rural and in a nice location. However it is a very basic site with no hookups, loos or showers. Luckily we had onboard toilet etc. But this is not ideal with kids & lack of shower facilities meant that we only stayed a couple of nights.

There is a chemical waste disposal point but it was a bit of a hike across the site from where we were.

It is a nice site but lack of facilities means that it is only really suitable for an over night stay, if there was a bit of investment in better facilities it would be super. Pricey though for what is on offer. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Allanthetruck 1 review from this member

 This is the first camp site that we have ever stopped at, so bear in mind we have nothing to compare it with.

However, we stopped at Matley Wood with our two border collies. We chose a pitch looking straight out onto the forest which the two dogs loved.

The site is quiet and clean. The facilities ( water and disposal site only )were well maintained. The reception is up at Denny Wood site ( about 1.5 miles up the road ).

Lyndhurst is about 2. 5 miles away and has various restaurants and takeaways. The only drawback that we found was that the gate to the site closed at 10. 30pm. It would have been nice to have a couple of drinks after our meal but we would not have been back until 11pm

We will definitely be back hopefully when it doesn't rain nonstop! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gone for a p 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely little site. We decided to give this site a try after a long love affair with the New Forest. We normally stay at the Longbeech site but fancied a change and we wasn't disappointed.

Its very quiet although you can hear a busy road and trains going past but still peaceful all the same. Nice and clean and very basic with only your drinking water tap and the elson point to empty your chemical toilet down.

You must have a chemical toilet as there are no toilet facilities on site but if you are a regular at the New Forest you will be used to this anyway.

The man in charge of the site was very friendly and helpful and will always stop and have a chat whilst walking with his two dalmatians

I would recommend this site to anyone looking for peace and quiet. Its quite small with 70 pitches, it wasn't very busy while we were there but can imagine it might feel a bit crowded when full up.

Dogs are welcome at this site. Our dog loved every minute of it and we all enjoyed a cycle ride together at the back of the site on one of the cycle paths that run through the forest. You can also see the lovely animals just walking through the forest.

The site is about a mile away from local village (Lyndhurst) where there is a supermarket with a cashpoint and little souvenir shops and there is a camping shop there too for anything you have forgotten to pack. We had a lovely stay and fully intend to go back. 


Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Denny Wood & Matley Wood Camping In The Forest Sites child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Denny Wood & Matley Wood Camping In The Forest Sites?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Denny Wood & Matley Wood Camping In The Forest Sites dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lyndhurst      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3413 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder