Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Denny Wood Camping In The New Forest

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > New Forest & Hampshire > Lyndhurst > Denny Wood Camping In The New Forest > Reviews

Denny Wood Camping In The New Forest
Beaulieu Road
New Forest
Lyndhurst
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO43 7FZ
Tel: 02380 293144
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 170
Open: 07/04/2024 to 26/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 13 Reviews
                8/10 from 13 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Peachy43 1 review from this member

 Even though this site was close to road it was so peaceful

You could pick where you wanted to park. Loads of walking to do and close to Lyndurst. But it was that nice we didn't even move from the campsite 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Janetclayton 4 reviews from this member

 Absolutely brilliant site. Parked under the oak trees in the shade. Very quiet.

So many wonderful birds like, treecreepers, robins nuthatches and woodpeckers.

Across the field were deer and ponies that often came to have a look around.

Fabulous forest walks into Lyndhurst and surrounding areas.

Only facilities are water, elsen point and bins.

Perfect getaway. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Greatwhiterabbit 10 reviews from this member

 Denny Wood is our favourite 'Camping in the Forest' site!

It is in a great location for walking and cycling, with easy access to the New Forest trails, that are easy to follow thanks to numbered posts at junctions.

It was easy to find a quiet space to pitch. The 'pay only 3 for late departure' offer was helpful. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sandra1948 1 review from this member

 Excellent site to visit you can either have peace and quiet or the site managers do a cheese and wine evening or similar first Saturday of each month the next event will be bring your own BBQ on 29th August which we will not miss and every Thursday its coffee morning where all campers are welcome

Its a fantastic site for wild life badgers deer and foxes come onto the site in the evening whilst you are sitting outside. There is some fabulous walks can walk to Lyndurst aabout 2 miles or Brockenhurst about 45 min walk

There is no facilities on this site so chemical toilet is essential 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: BonnieBonbon 5 reviews from this member

 This was my first experience of a Camping In The Forest site. I stayed for two nights and had booked using a 33% discount special offer.

If you are looking for a clean, quiet, basic site set in beautiful woodland then this is the place for you. I was met and given my permit by a very friendly lady warden who pointed out a couple of good places to set up but there are no designated pitches and you can camp where you like.

A young couple arrived after 9. 00pm and pitched their tent without a toilet and were asked to move on the following morning so don't try to camp without one!

The only negative for me was the constant traffic noise as the site is close to the busy B road. However, this was offset by ponies wandering around and doing their own thing and the lack of screaming kids. I did have big plans for walking and cycling but decided to lay down my pick nick blanket and soak up the peaceful vibe instead.

I enjoyed my stay but think it would be a bit expensive at full price for what's provided. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tidbolts 3 reviews from this member

 On the positive side this site is pretty & rural and in a nice location. However it is a very basic site with no hookups, loos or showers. Luckily we had onboard toilet etc. But this is not ideal with kids & lack of shower facilities meant that we only stayed a couple of nights.

There is a chemical waste disposal point but it was a bit of a hike across the site from where we were.

It is a nice site but lack of facilities means that it is only really suitable for an over night stay, if there was a bit of investment in better facilities it would be super. Pricey though for what is on offer. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jenbee 2 reviews from this member

 Tried to stay at Denny Wood campsite a few weeks ago.

Arrived around 3. 00pm. Noone was around to 'greet us'. Information and check in kiosk was closed. So decided to drive on into the campsite, set up pitch then go and look for someone.

I cannot fault the grounds in anyway. Was very quiet when we visited. Lots of spaces to choose from.

Once pitched a warden came over to us. Now at this point, we knew there were no toilets on site and that a chemical toilet would be needed. We had however no bought a toilet with us, and instead had made arrangements with local family. However this didn't go down well with the warden and we were told to find somewhere else and he turned and walked away.

We are unfamiliar with the area so a little more help from the warden would have been appreciated! So we quickly packed up our tent and left. Would have been nice if the campsite had made their rules clearer before we arrived! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rachhum 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Denny Wood for a week at the end of August, leading into the bank holiday weekend. We booked the night before, but on arrival the site was around half full, so plenty of space to pitch. The campsite does not have marked pitches, and there is a lovely choice of places to pitch, either in the clearing or under the trees. We chose a pitch backing onto the forest, but with lots of space in front for our 2 year old to play.

This site has no facilities (only a toilet waste point), and in our opinion this added to the experience. We were a little apprehensive taking a 2 year old camping without showers to hose him down, but he found a washing up bowl a fun substitute. The lack of facilities meant that the site stayed quiet, and although busy over the bank holiday, other campers were quiet and considerate.

The campsite is in a fab location within the new forest, with walks in all directions, and ponies wandering past the tent. Would definitely recommend! 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Russsylv 14 reviews from this member

 We use this site regularly and love the peace and quiet and at approx 6. 50 per night for over 55's is reasonable value, bearing in mind that there are no facilities at Denny Wood (emptying point only) and the ponies keep the grass down, so very little maintenance.

However, be warned, that since becoming part of Forest Holidays, the Bank Holiday weekend stretches from Saturday to Sunday of the following week and there is no discount, as we found out last weekend. Also there is now a 1. 50 admin charge for a one night only stay, which the C&C club has passed to campers.

Still, this won't put us off, but think we should be informed of the hiked up prices in advance. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paulbambi 37 reviews from this member

 Just returned today from Denny Wood, What a lovely place, you wake up most mornings surrounded by the New Forest Ponies who are quite friendly. This site does not allow dogs at all (the sister site Matley Wood 1/2 a mile back towards Lyndhurst does) nor does it have a toilet or shower block or electric hook up, this only adds to it`s charm. There are no set pitches you just find a spot to nestle in within the woods.

We were there over the Bank Holiday and even though it was very busy you still managed to feel quite isolated! There was an extremely heavy downpour whilst we were there but the site drained very quickly.

There is a New forest tour bus that pulls into the site every 10 minutes that you can hop on and off all day for one price, (19 for a family of 3) or Lyndhurst is about a 10 minute bike ride along the road or 30 minutes via the forest cycle trail if you can find your way, be warned it`s not easy! Apparently the locals remove the signs for the cycle trails (so we were told by a local!)

If you want a no nonsense site with no entertainment besides nature then Denny wood is for you, if not steer clear. Good site to be central for lots of tourist attractions.

We loved it and will be returning, next month in fact! 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Denny Wood Camping In The New Forest child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Denny Wood Camping In The New Forest?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Denny Wood Camping In The New Forest dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lyndhurst      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2474 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement