Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Brookcroft Certificated Location

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Harwich > Brookcroft Certificated Location Reviews

Brookcroft Certificated Location
The Avenue
Great Oakley
Harwich
Essex   (Browse area)
CO12 5BL
Tel: 01255 886273  or  07484181540
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: 1st March - 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 11 Reviews
                10/10 from 11 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hoedown 41 reviews from this member

We stayed for 2 nights prior to going on the ferry and again on our return in July as it is only 15 minutes from Harwich. The owner is quite used to people arriving around 8. 30pm having just driven off the boat. He was even waiting in the rain with the gate open when 4 motorhomes arrived at the same time. The field is a bit sloping so you do need to use levelling ramps. The toilet and shower are kept very clean and tidy; it is possible to drive up to the tap to fill your water tank. There is a pleasant walk through the churchyard up to the village, but the only shop is a very small convenience store. There is also a community-run pub open at times, but it was closed when we called there at lunchtime.

We will be returning there in September.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jimboj 1 review from this member

BEST site possible - 5 star plus. Great owners, toilet shower facilities, quiet location, most relaxing time of my life while staying here. Everything as it should be. No hassles, worries or stress. The owners are wonderful people who really know how to run a site and make people happy! 11 out of 10 for everything

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nincol 2 reviews from this member

This is a nice site in a very quiet location. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The facilities, separate toilet and shower room, are kept extremely clean. There is a very good information room giving plenty of ideas of things to do and places to visit. There is a large area for children to play football and run around. It is a short drive to Harwich and is fairly central for visiting Clacton on Sea, Frinton, and Walton on Naze. We had a second visit to this site in October and have booked again for this year.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ronni54 30 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a night on our way to Holland in May and again on our return in July. This is a really lovely site and the owners are very friendly and helpful. My emails were answered really quickly. The toilet facilities were spotless and the Information room is a nice touch. We were on the same pitch on both visits and didn't find that the pitch sloped much at all. Excellent value for money!

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bofs 61 reviews from this member

We just had a 1 night stopover here before our crossing to Holland, but fully agree with all the other positive comments.

The owner is friendly and helpful and provides a leaflet about the site with, among other things, detailed instructions about how to get to the ferry port. He responded very quickly to my e-mails and was there to open the gate and welcome us on our arrival at the site.

The site itself and all the facilities are immaculately kept and the grass was really firm with no trace of mud in spite of August's heavy rainfall.

We spent an extremely pleasant evening here and would have no hesitation in returning.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Shazza170 8 reviews from this member

Loved this site, the owner was very welcoming and the site itself was beautifully kept - it is like pitching up in an old fashioned garden. The toilet and shower are immaculately clean and again had that vintage - privy at the end of the garden feel to them! Next to the toilet and shower is a lovely little shed/ garden room full of information and loads of books to borrow.

The village is about a 20mins walk away and has a shop and a lovely pub where we had a super Sunday lunch, the landlady there was really lovely.

Ideal stopping place for crossing the channel or for exploring the area.

Brilliant!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Carolewest 3 reviews from this member

We really enjoyed our stay at Brookcroft. The new facilities a toilet and a shower were spotless. There was meant to be a card which you bought for 1 to use the shower, but as the site owners were having some problems with it, the showers were free. The site owner was very pleasant and gave us a choice of going in the usual field for 5 caravans for 4 nights as there was a rally booked in which took all five spaces or we could stay in the adjoining field for the full 5 nights, which we did - on our own. The field was beautifully mown and it felt like staying in a (very large)garden. The EHU's were new and very well cared for. There were recycling facilities too.

We wanted to explore the area and went to Clacton, Frinton, Walton on the Naze and Maldon. Favourite for us, was Maldon(where the salt comes from). The quays there were home to large brown sailed barges which were restored to their former glory. It was possible to go for trips on them. We went on a shorter trip on a more modern boat specifically to take pictures of these magnificent icons of a time long gone.

All the people employed in the towns were very friendly, prices were good and the standard of the goods in the gift shops was very high. Maldon has a lovely pub on the quay called the Queen's head which looked very popular with visitors. There was a lot of outside seating- we didn't try the food there but the coffee was outstanding! We also visited Pin Mill, in Chelmondiston which is a favourite place for boatie types! Very 'Swallows and Amazons', two of Arthur Ransome's books, including 'We didn't mean to go to sea' feature this place. Lots of boats of various sizes and a buzz of activity. The pub there is called the Butt and Oyster - again a very popular and atmospheric pub. Children and dogs were having a great time here - they may have returned home looking a little muddy!

All in all we had a smashing five days here, only due in part to the super weather. We can recommend this part of East Anglia and especially this site for a great time away.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jaste 13 reviews from this member

This has to be the best CL that we have visited and is a credit to the owners.

We were lucky in that we were the only occupants of the well kept field for the 2 days that we were there. The owner supplies you with a site and area information pack on arrival and leaves you to choose a pitch. The electricity supply is 16A so 12 month touring isn't a problem. There is 1 unisex toilet and separate shower which looked pretty new and is kept spotless. The shower is operated by a 1 token which lasts for 10 minutes so this is good for 2 showers.

Good cycling from site

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Webbave 1 review from this member

Lovely quiet site had site to ourselves for 4 nights. Site does slope not a problem to us but may be to some users.

Facilities good, clean, grass short and on our visits lots of blackberries.

Owner in process of constructing shower and toilet for CL users which should increase it's attractiveness for some.

Dog walk and large field for children to play in.

Owner supplied a small booklet of useful local information on arrival.

Useful addition to Caravan Club's CL network

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Johnks 10 reviews from this member

This is a lovely quiet, half acre site, slightly sloping but not a problem. It has EHU and plenty of room with a purpose built dog walk. All the facilities are new including the water and electricity supply.

The owners are very pleasant and extremely helpful. Access is up a slope off the lane but is easy. There are lots of places to visit in the area and it is a very useful stop off point for the Harwich - Hook of Holland ferry which is approx 6 miles.

We stayed for one night on our way to Holland and then returned after a fortnight and stopped a further 3 nights to tour the area.

Would recommend this CL for both caravan and motorhome. Best to phone for vacancies.

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2878 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019