Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Municipal De La Saulaie

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Burgundy > La Charite Sur Loire > Camping Municipal De La Saulaie Reviews

Camping Municipal De La Saulaie
Quai De La Saulaie
La Charite Sur Loire
Burgundy   (Browse area)
58400
Tel: 0033 03 86 70 00 83
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/04/2021 to 30/09/2021
           01/04/2022 to 30/09/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 6 Reviews
                8/10 from 6 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Trotamundos3 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for one night on our route to the South. Pitches were on the small side and the grass needed cutting. The longish grass and graffiti on the closed swimming pool made the site look a little neglected. Showers and toilets were adequate and security was good. Town was a fifteen minutes walk across the bridge with bars, restaurants and shops. We were charged just over 18 euros. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Danah 2 reviews from this member

 This was a nice site, in the middle of the Loire on an island. The toilet blocks were clean and modern, with toilet paper and hot water. Security was fairly good with the gates opening with a code, and there was fence around. The staff were friendly and helpful and a baker's van set up shop every morning [did breakfasts as well, apparently]. There was no swimming pool [although there was an empty disused one next door]. Just a short walk over the bridge into town. Not feasible to launch a boat but we found a boat ramp not far upstream. Free Wifi, albeit outdoors so not good if raining [though fortunately we had good weather]. The main downside was that, having realised that we would be passing that way on our return journey at the time we would normally wish to set up camp, and having checked that it was advertised as being open until the end of September, we arrived on 25th to discover it had already closed for the winter. Of note is that there are plenty of facilities for off-site campervans in La Charite so less pressure to keep open at a time of year when there are few passing caravans, tents and trailer tents. The electricity hookups were on reversed polarity but worked fine. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Eggsandbacon 7 reviews from this member

 Very easy to find (it's on an island on a wide part of the Loire)from A77. Easy access to site (7. 5m motorhome) and pitches. Friendly reception staff, multi lingual. 19 euros with electric. A bit worn at the edges but typical of French municipal site with facilities for locals - a small events hall that held local concerts etc.

A previous review mentioned a closed lido pool at the bottom of the site - it is now empty and boarded up but didn't detract or interfere with the site.

Pitches reasonable size, slightly sloping. Sanitaires OK but nothing brilliant. Stayed two nights on way to south coast.

15 min walk into town - quite pleasant with ancient houses along the way and a selection of interesting shops in the town. If you visit the town and fancy something special to BBQ, I can recommend the butchers on Rue de la Verrerie near a town square - I bought the best tasting Entrecote steak I ever BBQ'd!

On the other riverbank there is a continuous dyke that runs for miles - it has a good tarmac cycle track running on top, giving excellent views of the wide river and sandbanks and accompanying wildlife.

A very friendly site with a good communal feel about it. The second night a Cajun band played a concert outside the little hall with a mixture of campers and locals in the audience. Ok if you like songs that all sound the same with a squeaky violin and accordion!

I'd certainly call again. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrscmb 52 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for one night on our way south in the middle of August coming up to a French Bank Holiday weekend. The site was very full but we arrived mid afternoon and had no difficulty getting a pitch. The sanitaires are a bit “tired” but nevertheless perfectly adequate and were reasonably clean. The showers gave a good warm flow. There is a large building on this site with fridges, tables and chairs for campers to use which was very useful in the morning when it was raining heavily.

La Charité sur Loire is within easy walking distance with quite a few places to eat. Auchan is about a mile away for both food and fuel.

We hadn’t planned to stay here again, but on our return journey in September we travelled further than originally intended and decided to stay again. This time there were very few campers and the sanitaires were immaculately clean.

Both pitches we stayed on were reverse polarity.

Price in August and September was 19€ per night. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lizex 28 reviews from this member

 We picked this for a stopover and stayed an extra night. A lovely little campsite on an island in the Loire, with views across the river to the town.

There is free wifi in the immediate area of Reception, a large room with a fridge freezer etc where you can sit in the evening. This seemed to be well-used by bike campers.

The sanitaires are in two very attractive modern buildings (ladies and gents)and were very clean (a round of applause for the cleaner I met at 5 a. M. Who says she gets up early to clean them as people will want to use them soon after and she doesn't want to get in the way).

The (municipal) swimming pool is on site but wasn't open when we were there in September. The site hires out two 'roulottes' (wagons, shepherd hut type things). The perimeter fence of the site is well maintained.

It's a short walk into La Charité, which is a pretty, medieval town with several specialist antiquarian booksellers and a huge abbey. There's an Auchan supermarket about a kilometer from the campsite and an Intermarche on the way into town. There are also little shops and restaurants both in town and on the island by the campsite.

La Charité also boasts a railway station.

Coming from the south, we had to cut across from the A71 via the N79, which is as nasty a bit of road as you could wish for. This is a corner of France where the motorways don't quite join up, which is a shame.

90 pitches, most with EHU.

Book through the tourist office 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Morepints 38 reviews from this member

 Stopped here on the way to the South, on one of the alternatives to the main drags down the A6. There were several others doing the same; though La Charite is a centre for second-hand books apparently. It's a small town with a stunning church - the site is on an island in the Loire just over an old stone bridge, within walking distance. The restaurants are close to the site on the island - not tried.

The site itself was busy, with quite small pitches occupied by the usual range of peoples from the North, Low countries and UK. Facilities well cared for, clean and fairly modern; card operated barrier. Municipal pool next door.

OK as a stop-off for tenters, but not one to set the heart alight. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Municipal De La Saulaie child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Municipal De La Saulaie?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Camping Municipal De La Saulaie dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near La Charite Sur Loire      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Burgundy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, West Sussex 09/10 to 10/10
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Ardingly Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2252 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement