Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Park Grubhof

Campsite Search > Europe > Austria > Lofer > Park Grubhof Reviews

Park Grubhof
St Martin 30
5092 St Martin
Lofer
Austria   (Browse area)

Tel: 0043 06588 82370
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 11 Reviews
                10/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Barsar 44 reviews from this member

I had seen many positive reviews for this site and it did not disappoint on any level. Approaching from Zell am See the entrance is well signposted on the right just on the outskirts of Lofer. Stop before the barrier and check in at reception where the staff speak excellent English. They also provide you with lots of local information.

We were given a site plan and allowed to select a pitch from a choice of five. The majority of pitches are at least 120sq m. There's also a lot of space between the rows. It is by far the least packed continental campsite I have visited. There is power, water and drainage on every pitch and a separate area for tents. There are stunning views from most pitches. Wifi coverage and speed are good but charged extra. Guests with dogs are pitched in specific rows.

We arrived on a Thursday at the beginning of June which we didn't think would be busy. We had not considered the German school holidays. Schools in Bavaria get a week off for Whitsun but those in Baden Württemberg get two weeks. This resulted in caravans pouring in during Friday evening and Saturday. On Saturday all the roads from Germany where at a standstill. By Sunday the site was full but the facilities coped well.

Our comfort pitch gave us access to the family bathrooms. These included toilet, wash basin and walk in shower. They were big enough for a family of 4 and superbly fitted out.

We ate in the restaurant twice. The quality of the food and service was excellent.

A number of walks start near the site and dozens more nearby. Saltzburg and Berchtesgaden are a 50 minute drive away. We went up the cable car from Lofer which takes you to a beautiful plateau with a good choice of walks and Alms. The views are stunning. Lofer is a lovely little town with several restaurants and bars. There are several supermarkets.

The site accepts the ACSI CC card up until the beginning of June so we paid full price but we felt we got value for money.

We saw more British vans on this site than any other we stayed on in Austria. Presumably this is because it can be booked via the caravan club.

This is probably the best site we have stayed on during or 25 years of touring because it has everything - large pitches, great views, superb sanitary facilities, good restaurant, peaceful, good walking. It's got it all.
via mobile

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Westcountrymaid 10 reviews from this member

I echo previous reviews, this is a top quality site. It is larger than I had imagined and at first I was a little shocked to see so many tourers. They looked so tight together but actually they are placed widthways next to each other, so there is a large area in front of each van and generally a reasonably open view. I would recommend a river pitch, if you can book early as your long pitch goes all the way to the beautiful river; picture yourself set up for lunch or dinner, next to the river with high mountains all around you - it is stunning and an image I will remember for a long time.

The site has excellent facilities and whilst we were there they opened another top quality sanitaire. They are also adding more pitches though.

The meadow camping looks more relaxed but also very busy.

Wifi 2 euro per day and a bit annoying as you have to keep logging in.

Restaurant was busy but we didn't use it. We had a takeaway one night, which was really lovely. There is a large TV, in a big communal room where we watched the England game.

We hired bikes from intersport in Lofer (wasn't keen on the bikes offered by the other company on site) and we were glad to have them. There is a beautiful circular route taking you around the valley floor to Lofer, St Martin and along the river. We liked to do this in the evening after a day spent out and about. My favourite day was a cycle ride into Lofer, 2 cable car rides up into the mountains at lofer, a walk up to the very top with jaw dropping views, lunch in a mountaqin restaurant and then a walk half way down via the waterfalls and meadows, then a cable car to the bottom, a cycle back to the campsite and dinner by the river. Wonderful! The area is great for driving the Grossglockner alpine pass - highly recommended!, zell am see, kitzbuhel and further in Berchtesgaden and salzburg. There is also a lovely nature park looked after by an English man called Ian, here you can bbq by the river (bbqs provided), picnic benches provided and there was mini rafting on large ponds for kids and childish adults. There is a small fee to use the facilities and Ian will come to you to collect. There is a basic loo there too. At the top of the nature parc is Vorderkaserklamm gorge, which was great and reasonably accessible with a nice restaurant. The campsite is expensive when you add on the taxes. We got a reasonable price because we booked for 7 + nights and in June. I would go back.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mumof32011 3 reviews from this member

Beautiful campsite, huge pitches (ours was riverside). Facilities were fab, great family bathrooms, the children's playground was great and lots of space for children to play. Free entrance to local swimming pools indoor and outdoor. Would definitely use this site again, although it would be a last minute decision based on the weather forecast.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Angry Dad 12 reviews from this member

Probably the best site we've visited in terms of the facilities and location. The toilet blocks are second to none, the pitches are large and the unusual layout of the site gives a lovely sense of space. The pitches are well cared for, have dedicated water and drainage as well as electric (16A). The shop is well stocked with the essentials and the restaurant is good, offering a decent choice of local dishes. The playground and play facilities are brilliant - table football, table tennis, pool, large screen tv, sand pit with water pump and lots of toys, slide, zip wire, swings. Great for all ages! The town of Lofer is a short and pleasant walk and the valley is beautiful, with mountains on all sides. During July and August, you get a discount card which gives free access to two open air pool complexes, both of which are well worth a visit, two gorges and unlimited rides on the Loferer Alm cable cars. The area is unbeatable for hiking and cycling (road and mountain) and Austria itself is gorgeous. The site gives easy access to Zell am See to the south, with the Grossglockner range just a little further south, Berchtesgaden and Salzburg are to the north (about half an hour) and to the west is Kitzbuhl and Ellmau. Can't fault the place, except that our pitch was under trees and a little bare of grass by the end of August, but it didn't spoil our stay at all - plenty of lush grass elsewhere.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MCavan75 20 reviews from this member

Wow! What a site! We spent 10 days here this summer and loved every minute. Every campsite we visit will now be compared to Grubhof and sadly, as far as the facilities go I suspect most others will fall far short. Grubhof is spotlessly clean, the family bathrooms were immaculate despite being in constant use. The restaurant, shop, play area - everything spotless. As we travelled around the local area we quickly realised that the same standards of cleanliness seem to be held by Austrians in general. Our pitch overlooked the wildflower meadow and so we looked out onto a vast open space with mountains that changed constantly according to the light, I could have looked at the view all day but there were too many lovely places to visit. We took our own bikes and loved the easy ride into Lofer which took about 10 minutes along the river. Lofer is gorgeous and we loved the summer night (every wednesday in July and August )where food stalls and musicians fill the streets. The local supermarkets are okay but if you want greater choice you might want to travel a little further afield, there was an amazing Interspar at Saafelden on the road towards Zell am See. The local pool in Lofer is lovely (a bit cold so appreciated more on hot days!) and the waterfall walk at the top of the cablecar well worth doing. While we were there the campsite was mostly occupied by dutch campers, we found in the main that people kept themselves to themselves but this did have the advantage that it was extremely quiet at night. We would recommend Grubhof without hesitation.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chrisuk 3 reviews from this member

This was our third visit and I am happy to say that nothing has changed from the warmth of welcome to the excellent site facilities that I wrote about previously.

Its a family campsite and yet despite the large numbers of children very quiet due to the layout.

A previous reviewer mentioned the shower room and key card access - yes you need to lock the door manually. A sign would help to that effect, although one of the delights of this site is the lack of signs everywhere telling you what to do and not do.

I agree with the previous reviewer that the internet at 14 euros a week per device is expensive for the connectivity you get which at peak times is not brilliant. Each row has its own log in so sometimes by 'switching' rows it helps.

If you are planning a visit in August book early if you want to stay more than a few days and choose your pitch.

If you are planning an August trip Its worth going when the Lofer festival is on - this year 8/9th August for music, vintage tractors and of course beer and food.

Even though we have visited before will still didn't need to use the van, with all the walks, cycle paths and public transport available. The 'summer card ' you are given on arrival that has been mentioned that gives you access to the cable car, caves nearby and the swimming pools in Lofer which is great value.

Next to a beautiful river and a charming village surrounded by the mountains - whats not to love

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 14+ Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chinster1957 32 reviews from this member

Park Grubhof is a top quality site just south of the town of Lofer in a picturesque situation surrounded by mountains with the River Saalach along one edge. The roads leading to the campsite are all of a good size and the site is easy to find. On arrival you will see a large chalet style building. This houses most of the site’s facilities including the reception, restaurant, bar, takeaway, shop and wellness centre. Reception staff speak English. They will give you a map of the site showing your pitch and explain exactly how you should be pitched. Once on your pitch you will be met by a member of staff who will explain where everything is.

Park Grubhof is mainly a touring site. Other than six chalets and three houses the rest of the site is dedicated to touring. They have around 230 individual pitches plus a separate field where you choose your own spot. The individual pitches are all large, extra large, and XX-large. These all have electricity, and some also have water and drainage. We had an XX-Large pitch next to the river which was excellent. There are also electricity points in the separate camping field. The campsite has site-wide WiFi. We didn’t use this so cannot say how good it is.

There are three large toilet blocks in the main field. All are kept very clean and the facilities are well maintained. Gents and ladies are separate. The toilets are all in large cubicles, have seats and paper. Showers are fully adjustable for height, spray pattern and temperature. Some of the shower rooms also have sinks. The site also has 9 large family shower rooms which have a shower, basin and toilet, plus lots of dry space for changing and hanging clothes. The facilities do get stretched at peak times especially the showers and the washing up facilities.

As part of your booking (in Summer) you will be given a discount card. As well as money off local attractions it also entitles you to free use of the cable car in Lofer, free entry to two local gorges, and free entry to the swimming pool in Lofer. There is no swimming pool on site, however they do have a good play area, table tennis, football pitch and of course access to the river. There is also a wellness centre and gymnasium on site but these do cost extra.

We didn’t try the restaurant but we did have pizzas to takeaway which were delicious so I would expect the restaurant to be good too.

The small shop on site doubles as a bar/café. It sells essentials, but there are also three supermarkets between the site entrance and Lofer so plenty of choice for a larger shop.

This is a wonderful area for walking. We hardly used the car for the first week as there was such a lot to do in the immediate area. Lofer is within walking distance and is a great place to visit. The town is very picturesque, plus it is easy to get up the mountain using the cable car and mini bus. St. Martin bei Lofer is also a nice town that can be walked to from the site. From here you can walk up the mountain to the Maria Kirchental village and church. Quite a climb but well worth it for the views.

Further afield we visited Salzburg (there is a regular bus service from outside the site), Zell am See, the Frielicht open air museum, two gorges, the local caves and much more. We were here for nearly three weeks and found plenty to do. This is a very picturesque place to visit. I recommend it wholeheartedly.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Noddy1304 21 reviews from this member

Agree with others that this is a lovely site with excellent clean facilities in beautiful area. Grossglockner road, Salzburg, Berchesgarten, Kitzbuhel an hour or so away. Longer in summer, no doubt.

Cash or Maestro cards only. Wifi was 14 euros a week and was not a good connection. Local tax and electricity charged extra. Check their website for this. We weren't the only English people commenting that they were more than on most sites!

Flat walks along river valley and into small town of Lofer. Cows may be on path. Supermarkets nearby. River popular with canoeists but flows very fast. Not sure how suitable it would be for small children to play near/in.

Tourist discount card given at reception for local cable car and other things, but in September it is not the same as the summer discount card. Be aware of that when using it.

Small shop open 7-10am only in September. Restaurant good but cash only. Didn't use spa facilities (extra when using ACSI card). No swimming pool on site.

A few private shower (not bath) rooms can be hired for a week in summer. Gate key gives access to these out of season. However, I was getting dressed when someone else came in with their key! I should have checked for a lock. Assumed it was electronic with the key system. Be aware!

Also be aware of the speed limits in the area which vary considerably and some for very short distances. Some signs are easy to miss. South of Lofer on a good road with some dual carriageway is a small village, Weissbach bei Lofer. It has speedcams North and South. Though not travelling fast, we did not notice the village sign, under a tree. This, as in some other countries, means it's a 'built up area' so travel at 50kph. We got flashed and await our fate.

A site we would return to and recommend.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lbarkas 78 reviews from this member

Absolutely fabulous site - one of the very best we have ever used in over 20 years of touring. Picturesque mountain scenery from the 'van. Unusual pitching area, fully serviced, but you park sideways on to the road on gravel, leaving space for your car on one side, the awning in the other, with your own piece of 'garden' as they call it - lush, mown grassy area on which to sit. There is an overall feeling of space. Toilet block is ultra modern with large shower cubicles, some with a basin as well - spotlessly clean. Use of the washing machine was the cheapest we have experienced this year at 3€ - and a very thorough programme it was too at 90 minutes duration. We used the restaurant twice during our 6-night stay and found it very pleasant and reasonably priced. Small on site shop with the basics including bread. Visited Salzburg one day. Did the Grossglockner high alpine road another, but there is still plenty to see and do, including hiking on low or high level using the cable car, or by bike on the hard surfaced dedicated cycle tracks. Only thing to criticise them for is not accepting credit cards which is the most economical payment method for us.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BlackpoolBelle 14 reviews from this member

We completely agree with the views of the first reviewer - this is a wonderful campsite in a fabulous place. The pitches are all large, very large or extra large depending on where you are sited, but even the 'normal' pitches are big. Each pair of pitches shares an electric box and each has it own tap & drain.

The pitches are in rows, but as you put the side of your unit onto the road, you look out onto a green space, and the next nearest outfit in your view is at least 20m away. There are wonderful views of snow-topped mountains all round and you can choose shade or not.

The toilet facilities are like those of a hotel, with spacious cubicles and are spotlessly clean. Yes the washer instructions are in German - although I managed to change mine somehow into Hungarian. If there is an English option, I couldn't find it. The machines are top class Miele ones and are pretty straightforward: €3 for a wash (provide your own powder) and €2 for the dryer.

The ladies in Reception speak very good English and nothing is too much trouble: if you want something from the shop when it's closed, no problem - they will get it for you. They have a large range of leaflets for many local visits and will help with tourist information.

If you like lots of entertainment then this is probably not the site for you as the emphasis is on peace and quiet. The restaurant is excellent, very quick service and a large range of delicious food at reasonable prices. We particularly recommend the schnitzel! There is also a cafe and bar serving ice cream & snacks. The children's playground is great for younger ones, with digging equipment and water troughs to build dams etc. There is also a long slide, plus outdoor table tennis tables for older ones with an indoor teen room to chill in.

If you like to cycle then this place is perfect - the whole area is riddled with bike paths which keep you off the roads (map from Reception). You can also take your bikes up the local cable car at no extra cost and ride back down as we did - a wonderful ride, on tarmac! There are lots of bike paths up the mountain too, so you're really spoilt for choice. Lofer is a 10 min walk away and has 3 supermarkets with a good choice of foods.

We had intended to be here for 3 days, stayed for a week & only left as we had commitments elsewhere - this site would be hard to beat.

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Austria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3103 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019