Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Spring Heath Fishery Certificated Location

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Oswestry > Spring Heath Fishery Certificated Location Reviews

Spring Heath Fishery Certificated Location
Lower Heathwaen
Knockin
Oswestry
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY10 8DA
Tel: 01691 682746
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 6 Reviews
                9/10 from 6 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Montysdad 4 reviews from this member

 We and our two cockers stayed at Spring Heath for 9 day at the end of April 2022 In our two birth caravan.

Welcome from Richard, the owner, was great and access to the five hardstanding fully serviced pitches was easy. Situation is fantastic, country side all around, wonderful views over the fishing lakes, peace and quiet.

Site was spotless as was the toilet/ shower log cabin.

Easy access to local footpaths not far from the site entrance for walking the dogs etc.

Fished the carp lake for three short sessions and didn't catch myself but others did, weather was cold with NE wind.

Easy access to Wales and A5 is only a short distance away.

In conclusion an excellent, secluded, quiet site and one we will be returning to. 


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Helen Vaughan 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely peaceful location and a warm welcome from the owners. We had gorgeous weather and enjoyed some long picturesque walking in and around shropshire/ Wales.

If you're a good walker, we highly recommend Capel Curig. Its a 5 miles circular walk. It's boggy in places and a reasonably difficult walk. It's quite a drive from site but the views once on the top were stunning and worth the journey.

RSPB Lake Vyrnwy is also worth a visit with several different graded walks and Earls Hill Nature Reserve in Pontesbury was beautiful. We will come back again and fish next time, the lakes on site looked very inviting.

Due to covid the on site toilet/shower facilities were not in use so can't comment but the overall surroundings were kept clean and clear of general mess. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: June Fearnley 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a bank holiday weekend from this site, lovely and quiet just what we wanted. It was a last minute booking, so we were grateful to get a space.

We arrived to be welcomed by the owner who explained which pitch to site on and he said he would follow us down if we needed any help. The pitches were quite tight and very close to the other caravans once you had your awnings up and the ground was just rubble. We were just sorting out to lower the legs etc. When the owner came over and asked for the money, which was fine albeit a little hasty.

Once pitched we had a lovely view of the fishing lakes and the log cabin and as I say it was lovely and quiet. Obviously as on most sites you are requested to pick up after your dogs and keep them on a lead, which is fine as our two dogs are very nervous rescue dogs anyway. However the owner has numerous dogs and they were allowed to wander anywhere on the site and even tried to come into our awning, which is fine if your dogs are not as nervous as ours. Also we kept having to pick up after them as they kept fouling at the back of the caravans.

We are true dog owners and it is lovely to see dogs running free, but we do feel that possibly when the site is full and there are rules in place for your dogs, their dogs should not be allowed to roam the site.

All in all a nice weekend and well organised site. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: TJB1 20 reviews from this member

 Not sure why this site doesn't have more reviews, it is the most peaceful site we have ever visited. Good location just outside the village of Knockin, about 5 minutes walk away. There is a dog friendly pub in the village serving good ales and food. There is also a shop but didn't venture inside. Between the site and the village is the local cricket ground which we did visit and were made to feel very welcome. The site itself is lovely. All pitches are hard standing with EHU, water and drainage and all have lovely views of the fishing lakes. We were only here for the weekend but my husband did do a little fishing and was catching well. The toilet/shower are kept clean and tidy with everything you need. The local public footpaths are not maintained but when we ran out of path we just made our own way, no problem. If you are using an Ordnance Survey map the pub in the next village is no longer open! The Knockin telescope is located in the next field and I believe is part of the Jodrell Bank telescopes. This isn't a problem and if you're into that kind of thing could be quite interesting. It moves but you never seem to see it and it certainly doesn't make any noise. Banking around the site makes only part of it visible from the pitches. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bfcol 14 reviews from this member

 Just spent a pleasant week at Spring Heath,

1 Toilet and 1 shower facility in the same

14ft x 14 ft log cabin type block which was basic but clean, 5 pitches which are all fully serviced on a hardcore standing. ( I really struggled to get my porch pegged out it is that hard and I was using the proper rock pegs ). I managed to get some fishing done on the pleasure lake and was impressed with what I was catching as there had been a few cold snaps in the weather in the previous nights, I only fished for 4 hours on both days but ended up with about 30lb of fish each time ( carp, skimmers, roach, crucians & the odd tench. ).

Oswestry is the nearest town with supermarkets although there is a village shop (knockin shop) and a pub half a mile from site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Yelsel58 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a couple of nights on this tranquil, spacious CL. Nice welcome from the owner who encourages you to explore the site and make yourself at home.

The pitches are well equipped with electric hook up, waste and water supply - luxury for a CL. They are located close to the fishing lakes providing a lovely setting for a relaxing weekend.

The only criticism I have is that the toilet and shower can't be used independently as they are situated together in a small log cabin. However, they are clean, well lit, have good disabled access and are situated close to the pitches.

It is a pleasant walk into the little village of Knockin which has a shop selling essential provisions, newspapers etc and a nice pub. Not sure if you would want to walk at night, though, as no footpath in parts.

Overall a lovely site which at 15 per night is expensive in CL terms but does come with extra touches that aren't found on a lot of other CLs. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Spring Heath Fishery Certificated Location child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Spring Heath Fishery Certificated Location?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Spring Heath Fishery Certificated Location dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Oswestry      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5756 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement