Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Le Champ De Course

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Courseulles Sur Mer > Camping Le Champ De Course Reviews

Camping Le Champ De Course
Ave De La Liberation
Courseulles Sur Mer
Normandy   (Browse area)
14470
Tel: 0033 02 31 37 99 26
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 10 Reviews
                8/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mickcoleman427 20 reviews from this member

Have been before and love this site for its location right on a superb beach (Juno beach on D Day)a twenty minute walk from the lovely town of Courseulles sur mer or similar along the beach to Bernieres sur mer. It has excellent facilities and good sized pitches. Sadly however on this visit we were unable to choose our pitch because a lot of the site was a building site even though it was still less than a third full. It has new owners and all the pitches around the beach end are having lodges installed taking the best access to the beach. There is obviously huge investment as a swimming pool was also being built but the quaint bar/snack bar at the gates has disappeared. On our last day here the lorries and excavators were so active it was intolerable and at times the water was cut off. Frankly I think that the price should have been reduced while this work was going on. No offer was made however. It is a lovely setting and staff are very helpful and friendly, but not sure that I will be returning as the statics are taking over.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Deltheblue 9 reviews from this member

Second time I've stayed here and there's obvious reasons I'd re use it

The site is spotless, toilets and showers are spotlessly and the staff are very helpful

We paid 52 euros for two nights which is not the cheapest but worth it for the relaxing time we had, doggie friendly, no wifi unless outside reception, short walk to the beach only downside is luc sur mer is like the town time forgot and everyone goes to bed at 9pm so don't expect the slightest sign of life in town.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Mickcoleman427 20 reviews from this member

This is a large but well organised, clean and all round good municipal campsite. On arrival we were shown to a pitch but told we could move to any vacant one so long as we came back to reception and told them. We did this and chose an emplacement very near the access to the beach.

Sanitary facilities were good, bread etc sold on site, bar/pizzeria etc outside the gates.

Spectacular beach (Sword beach on D Day) adjoins site - lovely to walk along to next village or into Courseulles itself.

Emplacements are good size, plenty of water/electricity points

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Camp chaos 25 reviews from this member

I can vouch for the previous good reviews for this lovely site which is in a good spot right next to the beach and a short walk into town.

We had a good sized, sheltered pitch (good job in view of the wind whilst we pitched up!) near to the beach, in fact you could hear the waves crashing if you woke up at night!

The toilet blocks were clean and never busy. Best of all were the numerous plug sockets - handy for the all-important hair straightener!

I would recommend this area if you have any interest in WW2 as there were memorials everywhere. We did a good walk along the sea front from Courseulles all the way to Luc sur Mer and back, passing (I think) 3 other seaside villages along the way which was handy for refreshment breaks! There was a promenade practically the whole way so it would have been a good cycle ride.

The beaches were large and sandy and the sea was surprisingly warm (nearly the same as the air temperature - around 20 degrees).

We ate out once in Courseulles, at Le Quai Est, which was at the marina. We had the lunchtime formule menu - very tasty and a friendly place.

I would definitely return here.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: John+judy 101 reviews from this member

We used this site as our last stop before our return ferry, and it turned out to be ideal. It is midway along the Normandy landing beaches, so was ideal for visiting both the D-day museums and Bayeux (the tapestry museum is not very easy to find and local signage in the city centre is a bit vague). We went to the new museum near the American cemetry at Omaha beach - both worth visiting. On leaving for the morning ferry, we had to wait a few minutes for the gates to open at precisely 7am, but the journey into Ouistreham was only 30 minutes despite the very tediously slow coast road. Low season tarif for two plus caravan was 20 Euros - very good value.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hywel31 9 reviews from this member

We were a family of four (two adults and two children aged 3 and 6) and for us this was a fantastic campsite. The welcome was good and they speak English in reception if you need them to do so. It is also great value. I have paid more per night for non electric pitches in sites with far fewer facilities.

The location is great (more of that below) and the facilities are really good. It is a medium sized site and was full for most of the time we were there, but we never had to queue for any of the facilities, which were always clean. As others have said there is no toilet paper but once you are used to that you get into a routine. Toilets and washing up areas are accessible 24 hours a day, but the wash basins and showers close between 10pm and 7am. The site is also meant to be quiet from 10pm and you cannot access the site during 10pm and 7am (i. E. The soonest you could leave with your unit is 7am)

The pitches are hedged and arranged in little closes so four or six are accessed together. Each of these closes shares an electric and water point.

In the wider campsite there is a central area where the campsite runs regular evening activities (we didn't attend any) and there was also a free bouncy castle available which proved a hit with our two children. There is a children's play area, sports area and lots of area to play petanque (well this is France!)

Wi-fi is available, but only in the room next to reception, which is open most of the time. There is a bread shop available which sells a range of items and no pre-ordering just first come first served.

The site is on the edge of the pretty and compact town of Courseulles sur Mer and as other reviewers have said is right next to the beach with pin access gates. The beach next to the campsite is only accessible at low tide and swimming is forbidden as it is not watched, but a short walk (50m) brings you to the main town beach which in August had lifeguards. The twon is also easily accessible and it has lots of local shops, restaurants and regular markets. We also walked to the main attraction in the town which is the Juno Beach centre (in our view we found this one of the better D-Day attractions as it focuses on the legacy and looks at Canada in particular). On the southern outskirts of the town there is a Carrefour Market (not a huge hypermarket, but still big enough) and a Lidl. In the centre of town there is a small Carrefour (like a Tesco express) and also all the usual individual shops which you can still find in France and a daily fish market.

In the wider area Bayeux, Caen and the other D-Day beaches are nearby. We went to Falaise castle which was only an hours drive away and there is lots more as Normandy is such a well established tourist destination

We didn't really have any problems, but thinking wider things people may think are issues may be:

- There is no swimming pool (campers can have reduced access to the town pool 200m away - it is heated sea water. Swim hats and trunks (no swim shorts) must be worn.

- the showers and basins not being available at night

- it was good weather whilst we were there hardly any rain - things may have been different in different weather?

Overall I would recommend this site to others and we plan to go again. One of the big recommendations of this site for me is that it is popular with the French and in particular long stayers from the same or neighbouring department.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Witheys 3 reviews from this member

Clean and tidy. Toilets and showers were good and very clean. Gate to. Beach. Unfortunately beach to right of the campsite was dirty and had horse riding and a very large amount of jellyfish. The Beach to the left of the campsite did not allow dogs, so we were stuck. The big drawback was the ants on the campsite. We awoke the first morning with ants everywhere. The nice Swiss people in the next pitch said they were everywhere. The reception was unfazed and handed over ant killer. No English spoken but we managed with our amount of French. The swimming pool is not as near as they say and was not open when we were there.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jonnmedds 69 reviews from this member

We visited this site for our annual two week summer holiday and we certainly weren't disappointed.

We arrived after a two day drive from Staffordshire to a warm welcome by the reception staff who spoke excellent English, we were then shown to our pitch which was your typical lovely large French hedge lined pitch with EHU, Fresh water tap and drainage on the pitch, there was more than enough room for caravan, awning and car, with plenty of space to spare for outdoor dining.

The toilets and showers were kept clean, there are four blocks which were never too busy. As this is France you do have to take your own loo roll.

The wonderful beach is accessed from the site by a gate which is opened by a code which you are given when you arrived, there is also another code to access the main entrance. The municiple Police also drive around the site a couple of times a day.

The beach is great, very clean and not too busy.

The location of this site is ideal for visiting D Day sites and the local town is lovely for a stroll. As well as lots of local shops there are also a couple of supermarkets nearby (Carrefore and Lidl).

The cost of this site for us for 12 nights with 2 adults, 2 kiddies (15 and 8), dog, caravan, awning and EHU was 416 euros.

My only criticism of this site is that if you want to use the free WiFi, you have to go to the room outside reception. I'd happily pay a small fee to access WiFi that covers the whole site.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rdyeovil 4 reviews from this member

We chose this site as we wanted to be near the British D Day landings.

Girl receptionist on the evening shift had excellent English but the same could not be said for the girl in the morning.

The evening girl gave us a map to get to Hillman and they had a good booklet in English about the sites to see.

Broadband was free but to use it one had to use a small office next to the reception, but it worked excellently.

Showers could have been cleaner and the the water a bit warmer.

Pleasant walk into town along the seafront and the cafe at the pier was good.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jonvon 3 reviews from this member

This was our first experience of French campsites and it really is well worth a visit. Staff on reception are very friendly and all speak fluent English which is a bonus.

The facilities are second to none, plenty of showers, toilets, washing-up basins etc

Free wi-fi is provided and plenty of information is available re visiting the Normandy Invasion beaches.

The site is adjacent to a wonderful sandy expanse of beach and there are many walks both along the beach area and inland.

Pitches are a good size, with plenty of electric hook-ups and water on each.

Would have no hesitation in recommending this site to anyone.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4185 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019