Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - High Meadow Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Leicestershire > Barrow Upon Soar > High Meadow Farm Reviews

High Meadow Farm
Melton Road
Barrow Upon Soar
Leicestershire   (Browse area)
LE12 8HX
Tel: 01509 412719
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5 Vans + a few tents
Open: 01 March To 31 Oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 17 Reviews
                9/10 from 17 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Irene Thomson 2 reviews from this member

Lovely quiet site. Janet was so kind and welcoming-she even did our dishes for us one day! Toilets and showers were spotless. Pitches were large and well spaced out. Definitely worth a return visit. Site was a bit too far from village to walk with our wee dog.
via mobile

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Aball005 3 reviews from this member

Little hidden gem, greeted well on arrival by Janet showed us facilities then available pitches. The grass was lovely plenty of s

pace and close to water points showers very roomy, plenty of hot water. Nice walk into Barrow. Can recommend the Moorings pub by the bridge and a good Coop in the middle of the town.

Will definitely be back good price as well.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Alexoharared1 3 reviews from this member

Well organised, attractive caravan and camp site but still beautifully relaxed. The spacious field we were in had electric hookup for our tent. We were able to camp where ever we wanted. There were about 6 caravans in this field but we all had lots space and privacy.

The facilities are excellent. Clean and very well organised.

The fact this is an adult only site is a bonus.

We will be staying here again.

Thank you for the warm welcome.

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: GMC1958 40 reviews from this member

This was our first visit and to be honest for 15 a night, I was blown away by the site layout, cleanliness, landscaping and the toilet block/facilities were amazing.

As mentioned previously a little road noise is evident but not distracting.

Proximity to the village and railway station is great.

Will be back.
via mobile

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Debbiesi 2 reviews from this member

Lovely clean, attractive site with modern shower and toilet block. Friendly and helpful welcome. Not a far drive from village centre and several pubs.

Could do with coat hooks and some plastic matting in shower as tiles are cold on your feet. Some noise from main road but not enough to stop sleep!
via mobile

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stuart l 88 reviews from this member

Our fourth visit to this great little site. Have to say we were a bit put out to find that the site fees had gone up by a third since our last visit earlier this year, It IS still worth the money; But at 20 a night they could throw in the showers instead of charging 1 extra for them. At this level it's also time Bill took card payments - we don't all carry 100 in cash.

Whilst there is a road running along one side of the site, it is not an issue; traffic is not too busy and very scarce at night. Best to choose pitch at the back of the site or in the field if you're a light sleeper.

Facilities well adequate and always clean.

Had an excellent Chinese take-away from in the village, and a lovely meal at the Hunting Lodge hotel. Would definitely go back to both.

Lots of things to do in the area. We went specifically for the Great Central Railway gala, for which the site is very close; also visit Bradgate Park, Thornton Reservoir for a pleasant walk; Abbey Pumping Station in Leicester, or take the bus from the Birstall Park & Ride into Leicester for the Highcross shopping centre or Richard 3rd exhibition.

Another pleasant stay; keep 'our' pitch warm for next year!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mikeanddeb 14 reviews from this member

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at this site and on both occasions, we have had a very pleasant stay. The fees are 20 per night, payable on arrival in cash or via cheque. The first time, the showers were available to use via tokens, but this has now been changed to use via 1 coin, which is much better.

We took our dog with us this time, she loved the field, but would have loved it more had she been able to run off the lead, but clearly due to the equestrian, therefore close proximity to the horses and donkey this is not possible.

The heated toilet and shower block is kept very clean, showers are very hot with excellent water pressure. The staff are very pleasant, should you have any queries, they are very approachable. We will most definitely use the site again!

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 253 reviews from this member

A nice site, with road noise as already mentioned. An odd owner (if he is the owner); we changed our number of nights form 5 to 4, emailed, as you do, but he didn't read it and this completely flummoxed him, so suggest phoning instead.

Would suggest coming from either direction on the M1, to leave at J22 and not 26, which is beseiged by roadworks at the moment, then you have to tow through Loughborough which we found a nightmare. 22 is much easier.

There are no walks directly from the site, but there are some in the village, along the canal or river, which are very pleasant. Also go to Bradgate park, only a few miles away.

There is a handy Waitrose at Mountsorrel, down the A6 towards Leicester and right at the first roundabout, then first left. A couple of small shops and a fuel station in Barrow.

We probably won't use the site again, too far off the motorway for an overnighter and we 'did' the area in the time we were there.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Goomaks 17 reviews from this member

Basic info first 15 per night including EHU and awning. Showers 1 token (from the office) for 4 minutes. Hard standing for vans, grass for awnings. 25 pitches plus a tenting field. Lovely clean well maintained site, pitches not too close together.

Modern heated toilet and shower block. Gents 2 wc, 2 urinals, 3 wash basins, 2 shower rooms (which are bigger than a lot of bathrooms). Ladies 2 large shower rooms, 2 wc, 3 wash basins. Disabled toilet facilities, indoor wash up area, washing machine and drier.

Only slight negative it is right next to a road so you do get some traffic noise, especially at commuter time. Would we go there again YES if we were in the area.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stuart l 88 reviews from this member

Our return visit in conjunction with the Great Central Railway gala weekend. We spent four very pleasant nights again at this gem of a site.

It was more occupied than at our visit in July - it's obviously getting known. A couple of apparent 'long termers' on site now. However greater usage has not compromised the facilities. They were always clean and kept stocked with loo rolls and paper towels.

We had a meal out at the Three Crowns pub; very noisy but excellent food at modest prices. Wish we had gone there for breakfast, but didn't see the sign until we were on our way home.

A day in Loughborough was quite pleasant. Good selections of shops and very nice to stroll around Queen's Park. Had lunch at the Unicorn pub. Won't go again!

Also visited Melton Mowbray for the Food Festival.

Having found this great site, we certainly be back yet again in 2018. Pity it shuts over the winter.

Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Barrow Upon Soar      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Leicestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5625 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019