Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Setthorns Camping In The Forest Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > New Milton > Setthorns Camping In The Forest Site Reviews

Setthorns Camping In The Forest Site
New Forest
Wooton
New Milton
Hampshire   (Browse area)
BH25 5WA
Tel: 024 7642 3008  or  01590 681020
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 235
Open: 01/04/2021 - 30/09/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 63 Reviews
                9/10 from 63 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is currently closed until 01/04/2021 because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking after 01/04/2021 or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: March 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Arnoldbongo 7 reviews from this member

 Our first trip to new forest. As an animal I was in heaven. We actually saw deer walking theough the campsite whilst eating breakfast. A short walk to heathland to see the wild ponies.

Also a little village is close by. We had a short stay after landing back in the uk just before lockdown. It was so peaceful.

There are no facilities on site but it made it a hit more remote and real camping. You get lots of space. And can pick your own space. We opted for amongst the trees. It was beautiful to wake up and see the trees and hear the birds. Paradise.

The little shop has lots of walks and the staff are the friendliest I've met.

Will definitely be returning.

I've given 10 for facility as the shop was lovely and the staff and we knew there was no toilets when we booked. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Chris5mph 30 reviews from this member

 With good sized pitches spread out between the trees you are far enough away from your neighbour not to hear his snoring. Plenty of wild life on view with squirrels bouncing and swinging around everywhere.

One afternoon we had a group of deer, splendid antlers, taking their ease for a couple of hours just 20 feet from our caravan. Good forest walks from the site and many forest honeypots (Beaulieu, Bucklers Hard) within easy reach.

Own sanitation and shower essential, as no facilities block. A popular site so book early - and give yourself time to save up for the very high fees. But I was the only vehicle that stuck to 5 mph, many were doing twenty! 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cj1411 2 reviews from this member

 A nice campsite in a pleasant setting with good sized pitches that are well spaced apart.

However its incredibly over priced for what you get. No showers, no sinks, no toilets for about £27 a night is a bit steep!

I have camped at just as pretty spots in Europe with electricity, hot showers, toilets, a wash block and even wifi for less than half the price. 


Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kipcooper 1 review from this member

 Wow, what a find! We are new to motorhoming (approx 8 weeks), since owning the Moho we have been away each weekend.

We have been fortunate so far and stayed at lovely sites on each weekend, but wow.

Setthorns is idyllic, so peaceful, so perfect, great direct access to the Forest, and great cycle paths. Rangers very helpful and welcoming.

Will defo be back. SOON 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wendy Reavill 4 reviews from this member

 If you like sites with a clubhouse and lots of hustle and bustle then this is not the campsite for you. If however you are prepared to forgo facilities (and let's face it, it's not the end of the world to have to empty your own toilet, have a lick and a promise or use a camping shower), then this is a little gem for you.

The whole place has an aura of peace and tranquillity. In the daytime the silver birches glisten golden leaves in the sun, waves of wind gently lap the tops of the oaks and the birds sing in the trees.

At night the Owls hoot, at dawn the woodpeckers get to work and the cows do their noisy best to make sure you don't sleep late. We stay here frequently, in fact I think we would live here if we could! There are plenty of walks straight onto the forest from the site.

Sway is about a mile and a half away, mostly walking or cycling across the forest. There is a good, if pricey, butchers, a deli, a couple of convenience stores, newsagents, the Silver Hind pub and, slightly further to walk, the Hare & Hound pub. We ate in the Hare & Hound, good, reasonably priced food. Both pubs are dog friendly. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Matt+Jane 3 reviews from this member

 This was the first time we have stayed on a site with no facilities and were a little apprehensive, however using the shower in our van was not as nearly as stressful as expected, except for the twice daily trip to the water point to refill the water barrel!

The site itself is nature lovers dream. It's set in woodland so there are plenty of birds, deer and other wildlife around.

The site is large but didn't feel crowded. We had a hard standing pitch and you are free to choose your own. We were up high on the other side of the disused railway. We chose not to go down by the railway as it looked shadier and damper there.

Bikes are a must as a disused railway runs through the site and there a plenty of traffic free route to cycle on nearby.

The only downside was the midges. I got eaten alive and my daughters teacher thought she had chicken pocks! How ever despite the midges we will return. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Twinspired 11 reviews from this member

 It is rare I leave campsite reviews however I felt it necessary on this occasion. I wanted to come away able to post a positive review as my memories of this site were fond ones and I felt saddened to read some contrary reviews. I’ll attempt to be as subjective as possible, then you can draw from it what you will and can decide what may appeal or not.

Forest location:

10 minutes from Brockenhurst, this site is positioned in the heart of the forest, the positive to this is that you can possibly wake to deer outside your van if you are lucky to bag a pitch on the OUTER edges of the site. The bird calls are varied and squirrels are abundant – beware they also chew more than just seeds!

The positive of being so very much in the forest is the wildlife, the negative is that it is VERY shaded, very little sunlight hits many of the pitches and we were literally eaten alive by midges – I spent nearly £40 just on preventative sprays and bite creams for less than a weeks stay!

It is well positioned for much of the forest, Southampton is a mere 30 mins, Lymington possibly 15 minutes, Ringwood 20 minutes, Marwell zoo 45 mins and from site there are cycle trails, starting with the perfect disused railway.

Select pitches:

All pitches are unreserved and you’ll be aware there are no facilities on this site, only EHU. The select pitches are spacious, most boasting a picnic table and each area within select are within little cul-de-sacs – on the positive this gives privacy. The negative, it removes the ability to socialise as most campers retreat into their own world, this may appeal to some but not to all, especially maybe not to families with children who you want to grow in confidence that spreading their social wings can bring.

This site from a child's perspective:

The site over rule the no den building policy to allow children some ability to create grand designs. However, whilst children are encouraged to build dens, you are ever mindful that ticks are abundant and upon the mention of adders from the office staff, my children feared venturing too far! Such a shame. There are no communal play area’s and for the reasons mentioned above, it is hard for children to seek or make friends due to the layout of this site, infact, even in half term we didn’t come across other young campers in our select area at all. Scooters do not work on this site as they sink into the ground, bikes are best advised. Forget ball games altogether!

Staff:

I was heartened on arrival by two very lovely chaps who made us feel welcomed however on day 3 we were visited (whilst emptying my chemical toilet!) by a very officious older gentleman who without giving any sort of courteous pleasantries, even as basic as “good morning”, he ordered us to take our hammock down. The one bit of joy my children had and the only thing that gave a sense of relaxation. Given the fact there are many rope swings throughout the forest and that management overturn the no den building rule, to say we were disappointed is an understatement. But more distressing was his manner, especially infront of my children who are brought up to respect and be courteous to all. Appalling and really left a bad taste.

Would we return:

I would love to return but this site isn’t cheap and due to many of the reasons mentioned, we didn’t find this site overly relaxing. It didn't give what I wanted for my intrepid mini explorers and to avoid being more of a feast to midges (that became so unbearable we nearly cut our holiday short), we were out for much of the day which really negated the reasons for seeking a tranquil site in the forest. 


Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Seibegee 2 reviews from this member

 Peaceful, simple, amongst the trees, there are no frills that's what makes it magic, no toilets/ showers - bring your own. Pitches are well laid out, there are three types based on location size etc and whether you need power 25amp breaker is close by, Great for walking and cycling, the pub at Sway and Burley offer great food and are really worth a visit. If you need a phone signal the higher ones manage it (depending on provider) wifi is at the pub, chemical disposal points are on site with easy access, so you don't need to carry the extra weight when you leave. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Larbea22 10 reviews from this member

 Aaaaand relax!

Bit of a last minute decision to come here, after we'd done a reccy visit a few weeks before. Check in was quick and painless and we paid the extra £3 to stay on till 5. 30pm - what a bonus!

We eventually found our pitch (more on that in a mo!) which was an XL pitch - we have more room than we knew what to do with! Tea was sat outside under the stars on the picnic bench, with a hooty owl serenading us - does it really get any better than that!

We had a short wander around the park and then veered off down a path that we discovered and found ourselves near the main road. Short walk over the road and you're in Longslade Bottom which seemed to be home to some of the gorgeous ponies. I daresay there were other places you could walk to but we found a spot to sit down and watch the world pass by for an hour or so.

The ONLY gripe have, and this might have just been us, was that we were told we were on ptich # 19. When we got up to Pine Top where we were staying we stumbled across an empty pitch, but it didn't look very XL and we really weren't sure if it was ours or not. We drove round, saw some XL pitches but they had white cones in the entrance and we certainly couldn't see any numbers. In the end we had to get out, ask someone who pointed out that the numbers were on the cones and it was only the XL pitches which were numbered.

We drove around again and ended up getting out the car by the white cone we had previously passed, only to see # 19 on the EHU box. The number on the cone was non-existent and we had no idea that the white cone was there to stop none XL'ers using the pitch - unfortunately this hadn't been explained to us.

It's a very minor thing and we know for next time, but all the same it was a bit embarrassing and also bloomin' awkward driving around with an 8ft caravan on the back!

We will be returning - next month in fact - we loved the relaxed feel, the silence and the surroundings. Always wanted to camp in the forest and now we've done it we want more! 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Doggies On Tour 28 reviews from this member

 Camping in the Forest. Need I say more? The wardens were super friendly with a very organised arrival. They directed us to good phone signal pitches and where the filling/emptying points were so we could sort ourselves out before pitching. The site was busy, which is always a good sign. Up the top you could get EE signal 3G & occasionally 4G. Most people don't need this but hubby needs to be able to work whilst we are away unfortunately. The walks from the site were obviously beautiful, being the forest and you could even walk to the famous Ober Water. Ponies were a plenty, and there was a disused railway track that ran through the site if you wanted an easy walk/run/bike! Brockenhurst had a Tesco express and Sainsburys local as well as a village butchers and village veg and donkeys! The beach is only about a 15 minute drive away and also Ringwood brewery is a must visit, if you're into alcohol. Overall the site is very well kept and very relaxed and informal and you don't feel on top of each other as they are quite spaced out but the woods give you a sense of seclusion. Most pitches are hard standing and there is plenty of wildlife about. We will definitely be going back and we can't wait! 


Previous     63 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Setthorns Camping In The Forest Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Setthorns Camping In The Forest Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Setthorns Camping In The Forest Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near New Milton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4146 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020