Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Setthorns Camping in the New Forest

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > New Forest & Hampshire > New Milton > Setthorns Camping in the New Forest > Reviews

Setthorns Camping in the New Forest
New Forest
Wooton
New Milton
Hampshire   (Browse area)
BH25 5WA
Tel: 01590 681020
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 235
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 71 Reviews
                9/10 from 71 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  71 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Rsen77 2 reviews from this member

 Setthorns is a good site but there are no toilet facilities so bringing your own chemical toilet is a must. Staff checked on arrival that you fulfil this condition.

The site was very clean and there were adequate taps and electric hook ups.

We were able to park up where we wished, within an area of hook up points, and pitch our lav tent without further charge.

We were there in some of the hottest weather of 2023 but the shade of the trees kept us cool.

It was quiet and we had enough space around us to feel that we were genuinely in the forest. We were able to expand our living space around our campervan and feel we very much had our own area.

It was very quiet at night and there was hardly any passing traffic.

All in all, a great stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: 38whit 6 reviews from this member

 Great campsite. Big pitches, really well spaced in a stunning setting.

Had wild deer and horses come pay us a visit.

Campsite wardens really friendly.

Had bikes delivered to the site from Burley and went straight out into lots of different cycle runs.

Would definitely visit again! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 31+ Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Billyboyone 1 review from this member

 A true gem of the forest, Setthorns is probably the closest you will get back to nature.

Something for everyone, from walking and cycling, to pub lunches or just taking in the scenery.

The Staff are always ready to help, a cheerful bunch who are a mine of information and tips.

Great for all ages, children and Adults all love it. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 31+ Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Whitne 1 review from this member

 We absolutely loved it was our first ever season pitch and was brilliant we had so many memories made with our children bike rides

The staff was so friendly always smiling and stopping to talk and making effort with the children

I cannot wait to go back there this year xxxxxxx 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Pwwukpw 5 reviews from this member

 Could well earn 10 starts except I'd like to see a woodland play are for children.

Very friendly staff on arrival suggested nice pitch. We had a select pitch with a little more room. As you can see very private.

Was a warm few days so lovely and cool being under the Forrest canopy, some areas of dappled sun.

Great cycle rides on disused railway. Popular with families so as said would be lovely to see a woodland themed play area so kids can meet and play.

Note: there are no showers or toilets, if you don't have your own toilet you won't be allowed to stay, so you need to be 100% self sufficient except for optional power, water taps and chemical toilet empty point. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Alison 1 review from this member

 We were a little unlucky with the weather but when we arrived we were met at the gate by the very friendly manager.

Explaining we had friends arriving the next night with their caravan, we asked if we could pitch close by.

We had electric hook up and the pitches looked great, slightly broken up by the pine trees, very pretty.

On our friends arrival they were indeed given a pitch near us.

Overall friendly staff, great site layout and lovely location. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Zaria 3 reviews from this member

 We loved Setthorns for the beautiful trees, and the way it's boundaries melt into the Forest.

It's on a helpful and safe cycle lane and is great for kids to be safe enough feeling freedom and nature.

I'd come back in a heartbeat.

The people are friendly too, and have good covid-safety policies in place which they communicate clearly and with gentleness.

Highly recommended. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Arnoldbongo 7 reviews from this member

 Our first trip to new forest. As an animal I was in heaven. We actually saw deer walking theough the campsite whilst eating breakfast. A short walk to heathland to see the wild ponies.

Also a little village is close by. We had a short stay after landing back in the uk just before lockdown. It was so peaceful.

There are no facilities on site but it made it a hit more remote and real camping. You get lots of space. And can pick your own space. We opted for amongst the trees. It was beautiful to wake up and see the trees and hear the birds. Paradise.

The little shop has lots of walks and the staff are the friendliest I've met.

Will definitely be returning.

I've given 10 for facility as the shop was lovely and the staff and we knew there was no toilets when we booked. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Vampgirl 35 reviews from this member

 This was our 3rd stay here and its our favourite New Forest campsite. No facilities except EHU and the pitches feel quite secluded amongst the trees.

Its an easy cycle ride out of the back of the campsite into Sway where there are a couple of nice pubs. Or via the old railway track to Brockenhurst where you'll find a good selection of shops. 


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Chris5mph 54 reviews from this member

 With good sized pitches spread out between the trees you are far enough away from your neighbour not to hear his snoring. Plenty of wild life on view with squirrels bouncing and swinging around everywhere.

One afternoon we had a group of deer, splendid antlers, taking their ease for a couple of hours just 20 feet from our caravan. Good forest walks from the site and many forest honeypots (Beaulieu, Bucklers Hard) within easy reach.

Own sanitation and shower essential, as no facilities block. A popular site so book early - and give yourself time to save up for the very high fees. But I was the only vehicle that stuck to 5 mph, many were doing twenty! 


Previous     71 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Setthorns Camping in the New Forest child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Setthorns Camping in the New Forest?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Setthorns Camping in the New Forest dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near New Milton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3893 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement