Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Whitegate Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Wheaton Aston > Whitegate Farm Campsite Reviews

Whitegate Farm Campsite
Ivetsey Bank
Wheaton Aston
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST19 9QT
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5
Open: 01/09/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 12 Reviews
                8/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <10 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 This site is temporarily closed whilst they are refurbishing
The electric hook ups, campsite toilets & shower blocks, so unfortunately will not be taking bookings until complete, which is hoped will be late summer /autumn 2022

If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Peteis 2 reviews from this member

 Stopped here for just one night mainly to use the fishing pool.

Lovely pool and the fish are in excellent condition.

Would definitely recommend this to anyone who loves fishing. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 304 reviews from this member

 A handy site for a stopover, straight in off the A5. There is some road noise, but it didn't bother us. The loos were blocked when we arrived, but this was quickly sorted when we mentioned it.

There is nowhere really to walk your dog near the site, but if you go to Wheaton Aston there is a nice walk through the fields towards the canal and then along it.

We would use the site again if in the area, it's nicer than others nearby. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: DawnAnnMason 31 reviews from this member

 Great little campsite, ideal for us as an overnight stop. Very friendly, helpful and accommodating lady (I think her name is Michelle) who made our reservation. Yes, the campsite, toilets and showers are basic, but they are clean and functional. We will definitely use this site again, as it is just the job! 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dubdogs 147 reviews from this member

 Used this site as a stopover for one night to break up a journey. On arrival, if coming from the M6, drive past the farm shop entrance and there's a turning to the camping field 50m further along the road.

As the weather had been a bit wet, it was pleasing to turn up and find some flat gravel pitches to park on. The farm itself was nice with a few animals on the short walk to the farm shop. The shop was well stocked with produce.

The facilities on the site were basic but clean; as mentioned by others, the shower arrangement was a little strange but there is a lock on the door if you want privacy.

The main problem for me was it's location and being right next to the A5. The traffic noise didn't let up all night so had to break out the ear plugs.

It was £12. 50 for me on my own with no EHU, so not particularly cheap. Due to the price and mainly the traffic noise, I wouldn't use this site again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: VWBayCampervan 4 reviews from this member

 We arrived here in the dark on a wet October evening and once I found where to check-in the friendly owner pointed out the facilities and advised me to park wherever I wanted – it wasn’t busy at this time of the year.

The clean Portacabin toilets are unisex, as others have mentioned, and although I’m no prude the urinals should be removed or at least screened to avoid embarrassment, especially if there are children on site. Most of us don’t have urinals at home so why on a campsite? Some hooks or a bench to put clothes and towels on in the shower area would be useful too.

The site is on a working farm and has everything you might need, although unfortunately the farm shop was closed during the few hours we were there. It is very convenient for the M6 and is ideal as a stopover but we wouldn’t stay for several days because the pitches are too close to the busy A5 and we wouldn’t want to stay here if it were as busy as some of the photographs indicate. We were as far from the road as possible and the traffic noise didn’t keep as awake but it was noticeable and I would have thought those in a tent would need to be sound sleepers to avoid being awoken throughout the night. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beccabowyer 1 review from this member

 My husband, myself, and a couple friends stayed here in the end of May. My husband had never been camping and I've never been camping in this country before. I can honestly say I was VERY impressed. As was my husband! The atmosphere at Whitegate Farm is so relaxed and laid back. When we showed up, we asked where to pitch our tents and they said wherever we wanted! The farm shop and butchers is very nice. You're a bit spoiled for choice really. Lots of local produce and even a little greenhouse selling flowers! The pitch areas were pristine. All the facilities are very close by and easy to access. The toilets were very clean and maintained and heated! Included shower stalls too. There's a lot to explore at Whitegate Farm. There's a very well maintained fishing pond. Lots of farm animals too! We stayed pretty close to the campsite but there is a SPAR about a mile down the rose. Also a pub and an Indian restaurant. All in all we had a great time and we're planning another trip there in July! :) We've recommended this campsite to all our friends. :) 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lavjan 10 reviews from this member

 My husband and I used the site twice as stopover, perfect as it is half way to and from Scotland and very easy to find from the M6, however,

PROS

Near M6

Easy to pitch

Grass well maintained

Plently of room

Great butchers shop on site

Electric hook up

Good toilet paper

CONS

I am ok with unisex washing and toilets, however to go past urinal to get to loo, not right. I would be most concerned re children (esp girls) using the loos

Showers, again unisex, I would not want to shower with just a plastic curtain between myself and stranger!

No hot water

No hooks, for towels

Wash block very dated and needs some maintenance, pulling down and start again, maybe

It was right on A5, for one night noise didn't bother us.

Would use again, only if toilet/washing unit updated. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tracey86 12 reviews from this member

 Just back from spending 3 nights at this site and I think my husband summed it up the best in these five words:

'Noisy and basic but cheap'

The site is very close to the A5 and it is seriously busy ALL the time, even through the night. We knew that the farm was on the road but thought that the camping field would be set back a little, we were fully expecting some road noise but honestly- we were practically pitched on the pavement. In addition to the road noise, there was also a constant banging sound (like a gun firing or a firework) which we think were bird scarers at a neighbouring farm, it was very loud and ear piercing at times. For us- despite the bargain price of this place (£4 per person per night- non-electric pitch) and the fabulous on site farm shop- this spoilt the site and means we would not return.

The other downside (for us) was the the toilets and showers (although kept relatively clean) were unisex and had urinals which we thought very odd.

To be fair, we booked this place as we needed somewhere cheap and fairly local to test all our new kit and the new tent out before our main summer holiday next month and this place did fit the bill but if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing break then in our opinion- this is not the place for you. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CharlottexXx 1 review from this member

 Amazing. We stayed for 3 nights and wished we could have stayed longer !

We received a lovely warm welcome and everyone within the site/farm, were so very kind and always had a smile on their face and time to help.

The campsite was a lovely layout with plenty of pitch space and EHU, the toilets and showers were cleaned daily and always maintained.

The farm foods and meats were out of this world, and yes 'The pork pie is a must'.

The care and attention to detail taken by the family that run the site was perfect, very friendly and quite simply. Lovely people.

We travelled from Cornwall to stay and I cant wait to go back, again and again and again ! 


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Whitegate Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Whitegate Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Whitegate Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wheaton Aston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2408 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement