Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Whitegate Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Site Reviews

Whitegate Farm Campsite
Ivetsey Bank
Wheaton Aston
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST19 9QT
Tel: 01785 840866
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 vans+ tents
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 10 Reviews
                8/10 from 10 Reviews

Photos (3)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 238 reviews from this member

A handy site for a stopover, straight in off the A5. There is some road noise, but it didn't bother us. The loos were blocked when we arrived, but this was quickly sorted when we mentioned it.

There is nowhere really to walk your dog near the site, but if you go to Wheaton Aston there is a nice walk through the fields towards the canal and then along it.

We would use the site again if in the area, it's nicer than others nearby.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DawnAnnMason 25 reviews from this member

Great little campsite, ideal for us as an overnight stop. Very friendly, helpful and accommodating lady (I think her name is Michelle) who made our reservation. Yes, the campsite, toilets and showers are basic, but they are clean and functional. We will definitely use this site again, as it is just the job!

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dubdogs 127 reviews from this member

Used this site as a stopover for one night to break up a journey. On arrival, if coming from the M6, drive past the farm shop entrance and there's a turning to the camping field 50m further along the road.

As the weather had been a bit wet, it was pleasing to turn up and find some flat gravel pitches to park on. The farm itself was nice with a few animals on the short walk to the farm shop. The shop was well stocked with produce.

The facilities on the site were basic but clean; as mentioned by others, the shower arrangement was a little strange but there is a lock on the door if you want privacy.

The main problem for me was it's location and being right next to the A5. The traffic noise didn't let up all night so had to break out the ear plugs.

It was £12. 50 for me on my own with no EHU, so not particularly cheap. Due to the price and mainly the traffic noise, I wouldn't use this site again.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: VWBayCampervan 4 reviews from this member

We arrived here in the dark on a wet October evening and once I found where to check-in the friendly owner pointed out the facilities and advised me to park wherever I wanted – it wasn’t busy at this time of the year.

The clean Portacabin toilets are unisex, as others have mentioned, and although I’m no prude the urinals should be removed or at least screened to avoid embarrassment, especially if there are children on site. Most of us don’t have urinals at home so why on a campsite? Some hooks or a bench to put clothes and towels on in the shower area would be useful too.

The site is on a working farm and has everything you might need, although unfortunately the farm shop was closed during the few hours we were there. It is very convenient for the M6 and is ideal as a stopover but we wouldn’t stay for several days because the pitches are too close to the busy A5 and we wouldn’t want to stay here if it were as busy as some of the photographs indicate. We were as far from the road as possible and the traffic noise didn’t keep as awake but it was noticeable and I would have thought those in a tent would need to be sound sleepers to avoid being awoken throughout the night.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Beccabowyer 1 review from this member

My husband, myself, and a couple friends stayed here in the end of May. My husband had never been camping and I've never been camping in this country before. I can honestly say I was VERY impressed. As was my husband! The atmosphere at Whitegate Farm is so relaxed and laid back. When we showed up, we asked where to pitch our tents and they said wherever we wanted! The farm shop and butchers is very nice. You're a bit spoiled for choice really. Lots of local produce and even a little greenhouse selling flowers! The pitch areas were pristine. All the facilities are very close by and easy to access. The toilets were very clean and maintained and heated! Included shower stalls too. There's a lot to explore at Whitegate Farm. There's a very well maintained fishing pond. Lots of farm animals too! We stayed pretty close to the campsite but there is a SPAR about a mile down the rose. Also a pub and an Indian restaurant. All in all we had a great time and we're planning another trip there in July! :) We've recommended this campsite to all our friends. :)

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lavjan 10 reviews from this member

My husband and I used the site twice as stopover, perfect as it is half way to and from Scotland and very easy to find from the M6, however,

PROS

Near M6

Easy to pitch

Grass well maintained

Plently of room

Great butchers shop on site

Electric hook up

Good toilet paper

CONS

I am ok with unisex washing and toilets, however to go past urinal to get to loo, not right. I would be most concerned re children (esp girls) using the loos

Showers, again unisex, I would not want to shower with just a plastic curtain between myself and stranger!

No hot water

No hooks, for towels

Wash block very dated and needs some maintenance, pulling down and start again, maybe

It was right on A5, for one night noise didn't bother us.

Would use again, only if toilet/washing unit updated.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tracey86 12 reviews from this member

Just back from spending 3 nights at this site and I think my husband summed it up the best in these five words:

'Noisy and basic but cheap'

The site is very close to the A5 and it is seriously busy ALL the time, even through the night. We knew that the farm was on the road but thought that the camping field would be set back a little, we were fully expecting some road noise but honestly- we were practically pitched on the pavement. In addition to the road noise, there was also a constant banging sound (like a gun firing or a firework) which we think were bird scarers at a neighbouring farm, it was very loud and ear piercing at times. For us- despite the bargain price of this place (£4 per person per night- non-electric pitch) and the fabulous on site farm shop- this spoilt the site and means we would not return.

The other downside (for us) was the the toilets and showers (although kept relatively clean) were unisex and had urinals which we thought very odd.

To be fair, we booked this place as we needed somewhere cheap and fairly local to test all our new kit and the new tent out before our main summer holiday next month and this place did fit the bill but if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing break then in our opinion- this is not the place for you.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CharlottexXx 1 review from this member

Amazing. We stayed for 3 nights and wished we could have stayed longer !

We received a lovely warm welcome and everyone within the site/farm, were so very kind and always had a smile on their face and time to help.

The campsite was a lovely layout with plenty of pitch space and EHU, the toilets and showers were cleaned daily and always maintained.

The farm foods and meats were out of this world, and yes 'The pork pie is a must'.

The care and attention to detail taken by the family that run the site was perfect, very friendly and quite simply. Lovely people.

We travelled from Cornwall to stay and I cant wait to go back, again and again and again !

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Davandmir 2 reviews from this member

Nice little site this, for a short stay. Got a great farm shop, the meat was fantastic. Toilets and showers kept clean (although a peg behind the door would have been very handy). Road noise from the busy A5 but hey ho lol. £16 with EHU over the bank hol w/end was very reasonable. Its only 3 miles from Weston park so anyone going to the v festival would be an ideal site. The nearest town is Telford about 11 miles away, but there is a spar at a garage about 2 miles, and there are two Indian restaurants within 5 miles.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Big-dan1973 7 reviews from this member

This is a great little site only a few miles from Weston Park where the Midland game fair is held

Perfect pitches with electric hook up

Nice little farm shop with lovely produce and nice tasty pork pies

This site is on a busy main road A5 but we really didn't notice the traffic noise at all

It's a dog friendly site with acres of land to exercise the dogs on

It has a small toilet and shower block on which was perfect for the size of this site and it was cleaned daily to a good standard

Booking in was very easy and staff very pleasant

This is the site we now use every year for the Midland game fair as the prices are very good

Nearest town is Telford and with an Asda supermarket around 15 minutes away

I recommend this site to anyone wanting to visit Weston Park


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


796 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019