Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Five Wyches Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (South) > Bovey Tracey > Five Wyches Farm Campsite > Reviews

Five Wyches Farm Campsite
Five Wyches
Bovey Tracey
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ13 9LE
Tel: 01626 832310  or  07966500506
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/04/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 14 Reviews
                8/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: IN2MADNESS 1 review from this member

 Loved the relaxed feel of this open field campsite.

Small swing and climbing frame for the kids to play on and plenty of open space to run around.

Toilets are long drop so eco friendly.

Shower is outdoors and I loved it.

Facilities are basic but that's all you need.

Plenty of fire pits to keep you occupied late into the night with local fire wood for sale. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Magmar 33 reviews from this member

 The web site makes a lot about "wild camping" which in a way this site does offer just that. However there are a number of pros and cons to this site. Yes it is a "no frills" campsite with fire pits for each pitch, a long drop composting toilet and an open air shower. But in truth it is not wild camping it is Scruffy Camping.

Both the shower construction and the WC shed need a large "Engaged/Vacant" sign as not everybody can whistle loudly. Yes fire pits but why not a stack of firewood bags and an honesty box or ask when collecting the feesw if wood is required.

The site needs a lot of tidying up, nettles and weeds around the "facilities" need cutting down and generally cleaned up. With 11/12 pitches plus 2 bell tents and a shepherds hut the very basic facilities would be under great strain when the site is fully occupied. The web site shows a fee of £7-50. Which when one considers the lack of some more basic amenities seems fair.

However it is (much to our surprise) is £7-50 per person per night not as we assumed per pitch per night. Thus £15 per night (for a couple) for a campsite without basic washing, or washing up facilities and a very basic WC & shower is in our opinion too much.

This coupled with what appeared to be a long term grubby caravan with an equally grubby awning, which together with a car alongside that looked like it had not moved for some weeks judging by the length of grass around it did add further detraction to the site.

For us on the plus side our dog did not have to be tied up and had a great field to run and exercise in. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sidnbish 2 reviews from this member

 This is such a gem of a place. Not for the hard standing, shower block type of people but for those that want to get away with no frills folk.

There is about 5 hook up's and those that choose not to can park nearly anywhere in the field.

The shower is open air and warm (bamboo screening) lovely. The toilet is a long drop compost one (cover your doings with sawdust provided)

Dogs are allowed and free and as long as you are responsible they are allowed to be free. For the right sort of people this is a must.

They are talking about more hook ups and in another field having hard standing pitches, but keeping 'the field' as it is. I do so hope it does not change the place as we loved it but then again we are old hippies. Magical place 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dm999 3 reviews from this member

 We loved that we could have a campfire and the outdoor shower was a brilliant experience although lots of people seem to miss out on this as it can be difficult to get the hot water to kick in. It took 30 attempts yesterday.

Ideally placed between the moor and Bovey Tracey this campsite looks a winner, but in reality the B road it's on is so narrow and fast that only the very brave would undertake travelling to either on foot.

It would be very tricky with dogs or kids. That meant that you couldn't go anywhere without taking the car out and for that reason alone we wouldn't visit again.

The only toilet facilities we've ever seen more antiquated are in the Jorvik Centre in York and they date to the Viking invasion - but we knew what we'd signed up for an it wasn't a problem for us or anyone else we spoke to. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tabtraveller 1 review from this member

 My wife and I stopped here for four nights with our dog and T@b caravan. We loved it. The position is great: Dartmoor roads can be a bit tricky with even a small caravan on the back but access to this campsite is relatively easy and before the roads start to get really narrow. Walking into Bovey Tracey is possible but not pleasant as there is no footpath and the road can be busy. But, if you are prepared to get in your car, itís a two minute drive to town. There is a Cooperative supermarket there and lots of interesting independent stores, restaurants and pubs. And a very pretty park which is great for dog walking and leads into Parke which is a National Trust woodland with fantastic waymarked walking and a lovely cafe.

The site itself is fantastic and quite unique. Itís probably it to everyoneís taste though so you need to be aware of what you are getting. Facilities are basic and limited. Just two composting toilets and one shower which is always hot but is open to the elements. You look up as you shower and you gaze into the branches of an oak tree. If that sounds appealing then you will love this site. Itís flat, you can have fires in the washing machine fire baskets provided. And itís quiet. Being well set back from the road there is no traffic noise to disturb you. When we were there mid week out of school holidays there was only one other unit on the site and much of the time it felt like our own private campsite. But it soon filled up at the weekend and then you have to accept that you might have to wait for a shower. But if you want a site which has a feel of wild camping but the possibility of electric hookup and a quirky shower, this place is just about perfect. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Unclejam 1 review from this member

 I chose the Five Wyches campsite for a short weekend camping break for myself and two sons *aged 8 and 11) as campfires are allowed (essential in my view) and the owner (Sarah) was also offering a ready pitched bell tent for use, which meant we could pack light and do less work on arrival.

The site is kept secure by a locked gate, which requires a 4-digit code to open. (Supplied in advance) and the site is accessible down a short farm road, out of sight of any passing traffic. The setting is pretty idyllic, with two main fields, one with space for tents and campers / caravans, the other with ready pitched 5 metre 'Bell' tent, cute little Shepherds hut and red painted gypsy caravan.

Both areas were very tidy, freshly mown and surrounded by trees and beautiful farmland. The facilities are basic but well thought-out, with a clean new toilet (compost) which had a bucket of fragrant sawdust for 'flushing' after use and also a area with fresh water tap, chemical loo disposal and recycling bins. There is also an outdoor shower, with effective willow panel screening and a gas-powered shower over a large ceramic shower base.

Our tent was new, with lovely touches such as lights, bunting and airbeds, cusions and colourful bed throws. There was coir matting and rugs on the floor and easily enough space for 4 or 5 people inside and lots of headroom. We had a great night's sleep, which in my experience is highly unusual on the first night in a tent! Outside by our crackling campfire, (bag of logs just £4) owls hooted and night creatures rustled in the hedges and we told stories, toasted marshmallows and drank hot chocolate until about 10. 30pm when it got dark and we got sleepy.

Sarah visited us in the morning to check that all was well and that we had enjoyed our brief but happy stay. For our tastes, this is a pretty perfect campsite - natural, quiet and down to earth with lovely surroundings and a few minutes away from Haytor by car. If you are a camper who prefers concrete hardstandings, WIFI and on site amusement arcades, then you should look elsewhere - this is rural Devon!

We will be back soon. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: SteppieBristol 20 reviews from this member

 This is very definitely a wild camping site. For those campers who prize facilities above all things it really will not suit you. However if you are looking for a back to nature experience its lovely.

The compost toilet was fine - they really don't smell if everyone remembers to put the sawdust down. Shame not to have a hand washing sink though, and there are no washing up facilities so it is easier to manage if you're in a van or motorhome.

Although its on the edge of Dartmoor, there aren't any views as the site is surrounded by trees. However it is very green and peaceful - and has rabbits and lots of birds. Sadly we were there on a cloudy night so I don't know how good the view of the stars would be.

It's an easy walk into Bovey Tracey - about 20 mins. The first stretch is along country lane with no footpath so take a torch, but that's only about 5 -10 minutes. The town has some good shops (butcher, deli, baker, greengrocers). The Cromwell Arms is a nice pub - menu looked good although we didn't eat, and very good beer. We also had a quick half in the Bell Inn which is a bit more old-fashioned - very friendly and good beer, but put off by the big screen sports.

We were visiting for the Craft Fair so didn't get out into the wider countryside but its well placed for exploring Dartmoor.

There is the drawback of all sites which don't have marked pitches that you choose a lovely spot on a relatively empty campsite only for another (noisy) group of campers to ignore all the space around them and pitch up right next to you - one of life's great camping mysteries.

It is reasonably cheap at £12 per night (no EHU) but could do with upgrading the facilities a little with a sink or two, while keeping he eco-friendly ethos. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Beerandtools 9 reviews from this member

 What a gem of a site.

A flat field with no marked pitches and that's abou tit. WONDERFUL

The site boasts a long drop compost loo and an open air gas powered shower.

If you like to rough it a little then this site is exactly for you.

There are, however 5 hook up points and you can enjoy all the luxuries that your unit offers.

Pets are welcomed and allowed to run around freely. However, this is also a working farm and due care must be takn.

The site owner, Sarah, is lovely and visits the site daily to take pitch fees.

There are a number of fire baskets available, and you can buy a sack of logs from Sarah. This is great in the evening and helps keep those pesky midges at bay.

If you are looking for a site with plenty of night life, this is perfect. Owls, rabbits and the occasional peacock.

Bovey Tracey is only a mile away and has all that you could want, pubs, shops etc.

In the other direction there is the wonder that is Dartmoor National Park. What more do you need?

I will return again and again and again and. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Poshcamper48 9 reviews from this member

 I stayed here for 3 nights with my 9 year old son, using a tent and a tarp. This is a basic site, a small field with just a water tap, a compost toilet and a hot shower behind a screen. There are a few electric hook ups and a disposal point for chemical toilets. Most importantly for me it allows camp fires and a bag of wood will cost you just £4.

The site is a long walk from Bovey Tracey which has supermarkets and an outdoor, heated swimming pool. It is well placed for trips into Dartmoor. Sarah is a welcoming host and the site is away from the road. The front gate has a combination lock on it which is a good feature if you want to leave your kit and go wild camping on the moor overnight as we did.

Overall a great site if you like them small, quiet, and basic. We enjoyed it and would happily return. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: JoolzGee 1 review from this member

 We visited this site as we wanted a quiet site to test out our new motor-home. There are 5 pitches with EHU and 10 camping pitches. This is a very basic site with limited facilities. Also be aware that coming out of the site you are totally blind both ways on the road. This makes it a kind of shut your eyes and go scenario.

I booked online and only received an automated response and was a little worried that perhaps the booking hadn't gone through. It would have been quite nice to get a more personal response, especially as the whole amount has to be paid up front.

The camp site consists of two fields. Pitches are adequate. The nearest shops are in Bovey Tracey and if walking, that means walking on a fairly narrow road with no pavement.

My main issue with this campsite was the total lack of basic facilities. The toilet is described as a 'long drop' toilet. Which is a hole in the ground with a thunder box over it and when you have finished your business you shovel a bit of sawdust down the hole. There are no hand washing facilities, only a small bottle of hand wash. We were in a motor-home so we were able to use our own but if you were camping this may lead to a lot of problems. I also think that it would not be suitable for young children. The smell was quite offensive too - I did have to try and hold my breath. The shower is outdoors. It consists of one of those rush-type fences used as windbreaks or shade in a garden. There is no way I would use it unless I wore a bathing suit as there was no privacy. Also I think it would be quite chilly despite the water being warm.

I think this camp site would appeal to folk who love the great outdoors and perhaps want to hike up onto Dartmoor but in my opinion it would be very hard work if you had young children, were disabled or simply like the finer things in life. 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Five Wyches Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Five Wyches Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Five Wyches Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bovey Tracey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4177 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement