Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Paddock Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Rutland > Oakham > The Paddock Certificated Site Reviews

The Paddock Certificated Site
Lyndon Top
Lyndon Road
Manton
Oakham
Rutland   (Browse area)
LE15 8RN
Tel: 07880721638
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5
Open: 14/03/2021 to 30/09/2021
           14/03/2022 to 30/09/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 26 Reviews
                9/10 from 26 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Scilly Boy 21 reviews from this member

 First time at this site and we chose it particularly for the proximity to Rutland Water.

Pitch is allocated prior to arrival and is on a wonderfully open grassed area. Pitch sizes are generous and there are water and waste points dotted about.

No facilities here but we are used to using our own so they were not missed.

Owner Brian and son Jason visit the site every day and are very approachable.

The cycle track around the water begins at the site entrance, and we would advise turning left and going around in an anti-clockwise direction. This is because although you will encounter some ups whichever way you go, there is a steep drop from the site down to the water edge.

We would recommend a visit to Barnsdale Garden Centre Cafe where there is a great breakfast to be had. There is a garden centre near the site which also offers breakfast but we didn't visit.

There are views of the water from the site, and there is a viewing area, although these views are being impinged by the neighbours letting their boundary hedges grow taller.

We had a great stay here and would stay again.  


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sharon 1 review from this member

 Liked everything about this site. Quiet and peaceful.

Brian replied very promptly to my emails and was very helpful.

Would definitely stay here again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Friends of Lulu 5 reviews from this member

 This was the perfect spot for meeting friends who live the other side of the country from us.

It's impeccably-kept, and with excellent recycling / waste facilities which are emptied daily, and pitches are mowed once vacated.

The attention given to the facilities means Brian or his son Jason are on the site each day to address any issues (if anyone has any!) or provide guidance about the local area.

There are a few excellent pubs nearby, and a 10% discount at the Fox which is owned by Jason.

We could see the water from our pitches, and, although we were closest to the main road, it didn't trouble us. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gmp57 4 reviews from this member

 Large site, open pitches with plenty of space between them.

View over Rutland Water, which is about 1/2 mile away (in a direct line) complete with Nature Reserve.

Good local roads. Generally peaceful. *

As a CS, no toilet block but the facilities are well cared for and the site visited daily by the owner or his son.

They can be contacted by mobile phone if there is a problem.

Collected cash on arrival day (definitely cash preferred).

NB My lower score for the facilities is to reflect the absence of a facilities block only ( we weren't expecting any!) - what there is is good. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Bunglebear72 1 review from this member

 Great views but not for long as Hops/vineyard being grown in field at bottom of site.

Very limited facilities for price, no toilets, road traffic noise very disturbing considering meant to be peaceful and quiet, also someone using bandsaw or similar tool nearby.

Poorly signposted from road, please ignore Lydon Top sign as The Paddock is also down same road.

Exclusive certificated site for 5 caravans/motorhomes and 10 tents, NOT, 9 UNITS ON SITE 2 NIGHTS, 6 UPON ARRIVAL. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mrs Mcculloch 1 review from this member

 Lovely tidy site.

Clean and useful facilities.

Very welcoming site owner and his warden.

So close to Rutland Water and the bird sanctuary. Brians viewing platform is a wonderful addition.

Would highly recommend.

Thank you to Brian. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andy McKay 15 reviews from this member

 My wife and I went here for a long weekend wanting somewhere peaceful but within easy reach of good walking and cycling routes. We were not disappointed, Brianís response to my enquiry was friendly, quick and efficient, even texting me our pitch number before arrival.

The grass pitch was pretty flat and gave great views across Rutland Water, the circular route around the lake went past the entrance to the site.

This site wonít suit everybody as you need to use all of your own facilities but this does not worry us, just means sites like these donít get so crowded.

Particularly liked the wooden viewing platform overlooking Rutland Water and the local pub (The Horse & Jockey) where we had an excellent reasonably priced evening meal. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Annasuz 4 reviews from this member

 We were lucky to find vacancy for two nights mid-week just before the bank holiday weekend which was fully booked.

The site is in a blissful setting, very well maintained with large pitches, as mentioned in previous reviews. Brian is charming and helpful and informed us about the osprey nest which could be viewed from the webcam in the nature reserve just down the lane from the site.

We were blessed with good weather which helped but even without that the site is the perfect CL We are looking forward to our next visit. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vangelina 21 reviews from this member

 I knew this site was going to be great after reading previous reviews and speaking to Brian. Very well kept Site with very spacious pitches and lovely views of Rutland Water. What a helpful and approachable person Brian is. Site is basic but had everything we needed. Adults only but dog friendly endeared us to booking. Can see why the site has won awards. We will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MadAboutMotorhoming 18 reviews from this member

 Wow what a fabulous CS in a stunning location overlooking Rutland Water. Brian Is very welcoming and very happy to give guidance about any number of different things in the surrounding area. We woke up to a stunning sunrise which was backdrop to a hot air balloon taking off in the next field. And of course the varied birdsong was delightful. The area is a haven for bird watchers, cyclists and walkers.

The open aspect of the campsite is peaceful with very generous pitch sizes marked out by slightly longer grass. The pitches themselves are immaculately well mown, each pitch with electric has water and drainage. There is some vey distant road noise during the day which is not intrusive. The electric option is a bit pricey at £5 per night but we were happy to pay this extra for such a wonderful CS. Overall a relaxing site in a spectacular location. 


Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Paddock Certificated Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Is The Paddock Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Oakham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Rutland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camp & Glamp Show, Hertfordshire 08/10 to 16/10
Join the Camp 'n' Glamp 2022 Tent Preview ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2881 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement