Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Greenfields Forest Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Sherborne > Greenfields Forest Camping Reviews

Greenfields Forest Camping
Middlemarsh
Sherborne
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT9 5QN
Tel: 07908 478922
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 10 tents
Open: April - Sept

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 23 Reviews
                9/10 from 23 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vinsbit 2 reviews from this member

 Top tip for this campsite - take an axe or a saw! Lots of wood to burn but it's too big for the fire pit.

We've just returned from a lovely relaxing few days at Greenfields. I think this is my perfect campsite! Facilities are basic but well maintained and Foo who runs it is just lovely. A pitch is a clearing in the wood and a really big size and well spaced out - the camp next to us had two large tents and a pup tent. It's a fair walk to the toilets as a result but worth it for the beauty. There are deer you can feed, rather lazy geese and all manner of wildlife.

Nearby Sherborne is lovely and lots to do around.

You definitely have to be a nature lover to stay here - there are a lot of noisy owls and the birds start early, but if you don't mind bits of tree in your tea and like a bit of wildlife this is definitely for you! 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jackiemayo 1 review from this member

 We stayed here over the early May Bank Holiday weekend. The site is just wonderful for those who want to experience woodland camping but with the benefit of 'mod cons' ie a loo and shower! We had loads of space to set up our tipi and tarp, as the very spacious pitch was all ours. It was a quiet weekend - only one other tent - but even if all pitches had been occupied, it would not have been overcrowded, as each pitch has plenty of space. It was wonderful to be able to have fires, and firebowls are provided. We went at possibly the best time of year, as the wood was carpeted with bluebells and wild garlic, a truely magnificent sight! Tim and Foo are wonderful hosts, and have lots of local information to share. The only reason we gave a 9 out of 10 for facilities is because there is no drinking water available, which was not a problem for us, but be mindful of this if you use this site and either take bottled water with you or buy the bottled water that Foo has available. All in all, a real gem of a site if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle and have some quality time in the outdoors, either walking or just plain relaxing by your campfire. We will be going back! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Katemoore 1 review from this member

 The best site we have ever stayed on by far. OK there is only one shower and you have to pay a pound for 6 minutes but we never had to wait and there was always plenty of hot water. Owners very friendly and helpful. Brilliant pitch. Although we had only one tent there was room for two or more. Each pitch has it's own fire pit and there is plenty of wood to pick up. Delicious fresh eggs and sausages. Your own little bit of secret Forest. Like another reviewer I don't want to share this gem with anyone! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Richdbiskit 3 reviews from this member

 Really good campsite. There are 10 pitches and they are nicely spaced out in the woodland. You have to leave your car in the car park and walk to your pitches, but as long as you arrive before 6pm the owners - Foo and Tim, will give you a lift with all your stuff on the quad, to your pitch.

THE CAMPSITE

Set in Woodland mostly grass with a lot of tall trees which nicely keeps the breeze out, and the rain away (we just stayed in those thunderstorms). There is lots of nature, there are geese, deer, horses. You can have campfires here which is great, then on a clear night you get a good view of the stars

FACILITIES

Back near the house there is one toilet, one shower and a washing up area. They could really do with another toilet and shower. You have to pay 20p for a minute in the shower, or £1. 00 for 6 mins. There is no mains water but you can buy bottled water on site

NEARBY

There is a pub up the road - The Hunters Moon. Come out of the campsite turn right and it is 5 mins walk (no footpath watch out for cars doing 60mph). Sherborne is 10 mins drive up the road which is a nice little town with good shops and pubs. Dorchester is about 20 mins the other way or Weymouth a further 15 mins down the road. There is nothing other than the pub in walking distance from the campsite.

PRICES

We paid £7. 50 per person per night which I think is reasonable. It is a bit annoying having to pay for the shower - not because of the price, but you must remember to take coins with you.

CONCLUSION

Best campsite we have stayed at for years. The four of us are in agreement we will return one year. I definitely recommend this campsite 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mylo911 2 reviews from this member

 A beautiful setting surrounded by wildlife.

My partner and I stayed over a weekend, and it was certainly worth the trip from Cheltenham, despite the thunder & lightning!

We were late arriving due to traffic issues, but Foo was more than accommodating when we eventually turned up.

Due to the nature of the site, each pitch is secluded, making it perfect for getting some peace and quiet. If you are interested in walking, there are plenty of walks to do locally, and a super local pub to grab a well deserved pint.

Facilities were clean and tidy, and because the site only accommodates a small number of people, there was never a queue to use them.

This is one of the nicest sites we have stayed at, and will certainly be going back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rabwearer 5 reviews from this member

 Booked at very short notice, asked about fishing on the lake and the owner was very apologetic explaining that because of hooks etc being left behind they were not allowing fishing anymore a case of a few spoiling it for everyone. Arrival time quoted as between 12-2 we were a bit late upon arrival, entrance clearly signposted owner couldn't have been more helpful driving us and our gear to a pitch he recommended because of a slight incline as it had been raining, the pitch is a very short walk from the car park a couple of minutes. £7. 50 per person per night very good value especially as didn't have to pay extra for additional tent or firewood. There is no mains water available and he pointed out the bottles of cheap and cheerful supermarket water available for 20p on a trust system and likewise fresh eggs. The pitch was large enabling us to pitch 2 tents and a tarp in case it rained, and each pitch had a metal firepit with a metal griddle which we manipulated on the fire to cook on; all he asks is that fire is contained in the pit and no higher than 2 ft high which is reasonable in a forest area, next to camping area is a fenced area containing deer very nice to look at and I'm sure kids would enjoy seeing.

Toilet facilities very clean and modern, toilet paper handwash and paper towels available next to that a nice clean washing up area sponge and liquid available as well. There are showers but we didn't use them (2 blokes why would we?)but were told they were coin operated Other reviews mentioned road noise I didn't really hear it. Pub only 5 minutes slow walk up the road but take a torch for the walk back. Weymouth is only a 30 minute drive.

Plenty of firewood on the ground so no problems there. A thoroughly enjoyable few days, first time there but we will be using it again. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Raymentfamily 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite. In a wooded area with 10 'pitches', ie clearings. To start with it felt a bit as if we were sleeping in someone's back garden as we could see the house from the 'forest', but we could live with that. It also was more of a woodland, rather than forest, but still very secluded and quiet. There was just us and one more tent when we visited, so nice and quiet. But we could hear the main road from the camp, but that noise did quieten down at night. This isn't a 'wild' campsite. We like 'wild' camping, but with the noise of the road (albeit quiet, we could hear it) and the site of the house, it didn't have a wild, secluded camping feel.

Site owners were lovely and very friendly. Nice toilet and shower with hot water (paid £1 for 6 mins!). The local pub was a walk along the main road, which had no footpath and was busy. As we had children with us, this wasn't an option. The other way to get to the pub was a long walk through the woods (including a marshy bit!) and also included a stretch of road. We decided to get in the car and drive somewhere else for dinner!

Altogether a 'nice' campsite. Nice to know there are no nasty surprises when you come back from a day out somewhere to find a tent pitched ontop of you, as the 10 'pitches' were apart, so it took away that worry.

There was a tap located near the entrance for water for washing up, but I couldn't get it to work (husband did though!). Not allowed to take water from the tap in the toilet. Owners provided drinking water in the form of Sainsbury's economy water, which is fine.

Oh and to get into the fenced off 'forest' where you camp, you had to walk past a pond where several geese lived. All very pleasant but lots of goose poo on the path! Not nice on your shoes!

Altogether a nice site. Kids loved playing in the woods. Allowed campfires within the specified area. Nice not to have any other tents around. But it lacked a wild and desolate feeling! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Starrynight56 1 review from this member

 Two of us stayed at Greenfields for 2 weeks while conducting field research, returning for another half week to finish our surveys.

It is a beautiful campsite and you are surrounded by nature on all sides, with lovely old trees all around. Outside of the campsite itself is also full of life, as there is a proper ancient forest and lake right behind the site. It really does feel like the country as the owners, Tim and Foo, keep deer (in a separate enclosure) and geese.

The campsite is an ideal size with around 10 pitches, although we were lucky and had the place to ourselves for a week as a new path was being laid (they weren't really taking bookings but we convinced them!). The pitches are set within a lovely portion of forest, so you don't get the baking heat in the day and have a bit of protection from the wind and rain. In full summer the grass grows really long (except for on the mown paths) so each pitch feels like your own plot of perfect seclusion.

As for the experience of living there, one great thing is that you are allowed campfires so you can sit around a fire at night under the stars. This is even better because metal stoves are provided. You're allowed to gather firewood, which was great for us as there was plenty early in the season, and we got by for about a week or so using this. You can also buy logs, in addition to free range eggs and venison. Showers cost £1 for five minutes and there are two bathrooms, which is grand for the size of the place.

The surrounding area must be some of the most quintessential countryside in England with its patchwork of fields, rolling hills, and tiny ancient villages. We were constantly impressed how lovely all of the people we met were.

Probably the best thing about the campsite, as I'm sure all reviewers would agree, is the kindness of the owners. You always run into them as their house is right next door, and it's great to stop for a chat. During our stay they were our source of all knowledge: from directions and recommendations to how to check the oil in our car. Although I should add this was an exceptional case, as we were late on arriving the first time due to traffic, they actually helped us set up our tent (which we then achieved in record time!). The best thing was when there was gale force winds one evening and our tent was under a big branch, they actually put us up in their summerhouse!

Thank you very much 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Reyjam 1 review from this member

 We visited Greenfields on the B/H weekend of June.

My wife had never been camping before so she was apprehensive to say the least. I on the other hand have been quite a few times. I travelled France for two years in my younger days staying on dozens of campsites. I can honestly say, hand on heart, this is not just the best campsite but the best overall experience I've have ever had camping.

The best part about Greenfields is the freedom you get as camper. From rambling through the huge ancient forest to collecting your own firewood, you get that sense of freedom that only comes with camping, and that feeling is amplified as soon as you drive into Greenfields. With the exception of the modern bathroom facilities this place is a throwback to everything that was once great about camping. A lot of places nowadays donít allow dogs or campfires, especially in a forest environment. Greenfields understand that camping is not camping without a fire to sit around. You just need to be sensible which goes without saying really.

As for the owners, nothing is a chore. They could not be more helpful! Youíre greeted with a smile and a warm welcome which is refreshing after a long drive. Donít worry about dragging your bags to your pitch either as they will happily load up onto the tractor/quadÖ ermÖ thingy and take you directly to your pitch, all of which are very spacious. The toilets are lovely and clean and always stocked. The hot shower is immaculate and Iíve never waited more than 10 minutes for it to become vacant.

The locally farmed fresh venison burgers and eggs are amazing and are always available from reception. All in all, both times we visited Greenfields, we didnít want to leave. We hated the thought of returning to the normality of work, shirts, shoes and public transport. Realising at my desk in the ever dreary Slough, that just over 24 hours ago, I was sitting by a cosy campfire under the stars, snuggled up with my wife and a glass of red wine, listening to the nocturnal traffic of the ancient forest.

Needless to say we will be returning to Greenfields for many years to come. I would and do recommend this campsite to absolutely anyone that will listen. This is the place I think about when I need to relax. A tranquil and inspiring gem in Dorsetís crown. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Torchy2010 1 review from this member

 A very warm welcome, lovely peaceful and relaxing stay in a beautiful location. The owners could not be more helpful with anything you need. We were lucky enough to spend our final night in the shepherds hut, which added a little luxury to camping. The surrounding villages were beautiful and the Hunters moon pub just down the road is a must for a lovely dinner! Would highly recommend a visit to Greenfields forest campsite and we will certainly be staying again. 


Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Greenfields Forest Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Greenfields Forest Camping?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Greenfields Forest Camping dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sherborne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6162 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement