Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Whitchurch Marina Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Whitchurch > Whitchurch Marina Caravan Site Reviews

Whitchurch Marina Caravan Site
Wrexham Road
Whitchurch
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY13 3AA
Tel: 01948 662012
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 9 Reviews
                8/10 from 9 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Canalside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Daveheyes2010 1 review from this member

 Staff very friendly and price was reasonable, shame about road noise

Biggest downside was only 1 male and 1 female toilet and 1 shared shower so used our own

More concerning was noisy neighbours till gone 2 in morning and one looked like a permanent fixture

Enjoyed the walk in to town along canal bank.

I wouldn't stay again but only because I prefer peace and quiet but if noise doesn't bother you then give it a try. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paulmold 85 reviews from this member

 All has been said before. The road noise is intrusive and hardly slackens during the night due to constant HGV's passing just the other side of the hedge.

Towpath is not well maintained and gets muddy, narrow in places.

Walking to town by the road (about 30 minutes) is the same distance and traffic not heavy as the HGV's turn towards Wolverhampton. Town looking sad with large empty shops but some nice cafes.

2022 rate of 20 is not good value for facilities offered but it is open all year round 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Barker 1 review from this member

 Pity about the road noise still busy 2am in the morning then heavy again 5. 30am

Quite uneven in places

Not all units pitched correctly making some pitches tight

Benefit of watching plenty of narrow boats along the canal but there were more camping units on than advertised 7 during part of our stay.

Not as relaxing as we had hoped for.

No secure entrance no barriers at all open to all would expect more for 18 per night.

Awkward to empty waste water as high drain to lift waste master up. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RIMMER 191 reviews from this member

 With the high scores from previous reviews we were expecting a top quality site however at best this site was rather basic with views of the canal to compensate for the road noise, to be fair the road noise did die down during the night. As it was Dec. We pitched in the car park and found a level part in the corner but beware I also found a piece of glass too! Toilets basic but clean and functional, there was also a shower cubicle. Didn't see much of the staff during our stay but site seemed quite friendly. Site security rather lacking as the entrance barrier appeared rusty. Nice walk along the towpath to Whitchurch. A McDonalds down the road. No bus service noted. Paid a very reasonable 14/night with ehu. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caravanreviews 8 reviews from this member

 This is a brilliant site if you are interested in canals and narrowboats the pitches overlook the canal there are showers and toilets both are fine shower on token meter. If you are botherd by road noise this is not the site for you as the pitches back on to a busy A525 on an embankment and is busy night and day.

There is access to the towpath over the A525 road bridge next to the site. This is a very attractive area and many places of interest are easily avaliable by car. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: KellyJayne1981 1 review from this member

 Beautiful location, very close to canal (would be wary if have young children) and pitches back onto A525. Mcdonalds, Spar and petrol station close by.

We used as an overnight stop-over on our way to Anglesey and it was exactly what we needed.

Toilets clean and tidy, we didn't use the showers, so can't comment on those.

Excellent value for money and we will definitely return for more stop-overs! 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tight tykes 3 reviews from this member

 Just spent two pleasant nights here. Can't add much to what other reviewers have said. Grass pitches have a lovely aspect all facing canal side. We enjoyed a couple of sunny evenings watching and waving to narrow boats coming and going. Noise from road is a bit of a distraction but we got used to it. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Toilets and showers were clean but basic - only 1 gents, 1 ladies and 1 shower for all - not sure they would be adequate at busy times, but fine whilst we were there. Can't complain at 14 inc EHU. The walk into town along the towpath took us 30 mins, but we did chat to boat owners on the way! Can recommend the Old Town Vaults pub in Whitchurch: Real ale, nice food, and very friendly. (They even had Henderson's Relish, for us Sheffielders, to go with the meat pie!) 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Syriol 6 reviews from this member

 Easy to find from the directions given to us over the phone. When we arrived it was pouring down and the ground was quite boggy so we asked if we could park on the hardstand area - the young lady in reception asked the manager as there were cars parked on it - the cars were moved and as we were going out, coned off for us to drive straight back into. I used the shower (having gone back to van to get some change as it accepts 20p and 1 coins) and for 1 I had a long shower and washed and dried my hair. Toilets were very warm and clean. Petrol station / shop / lottery outlet / Subway / McDonalds all on the roundabout next to site. Walked into lovely Whitchurch by road / canal an easy walk taking 20 mins. Love the area and will be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Albion Viking 5 reviews from this member

 This is one you will either love or hate - we loved it. There are five pitches and they back on to the A525, a very busy road that carries a high volume of HGV's that run daytime and evening. If you want silence from road noise then this isn't for you. The positives - every pitch has a view of the canal and there are lots of splendid narrow boats that go up and down the canal - most give you a wave as they pass. We didn't use the site facilities (showers etc) so cannot comment on their condition. For walkers you can cross the bridge adjacent to the site and walk either up or down the canal using the towpath. A thirty minute walk on the towpath takes you to Grindley Brook staircase (locks) where there is a canal side cafe. Whitchurch town has loads of shops, cafes, supermarkets and is only a five minute drive max from the site. The staff who work on site are extremely friendly and happy to offer any help. I haven't given a score for child friendliness as we didn't have children with us although no play area is available on site (big grass area though). Overall, we thought this an ace place to stay. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Whitchurch Marina Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Whitchurch Marina Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Whitchurch Marina Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Whitchurch      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2605 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement