Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - How Stean Gorge

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

How Stean Gorge
Lofthouse
Pateley Bridge
Harrogate
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG3 5SF
Tel: 01423 755666
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 8 Reviews
                9/10 from 8 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (18) and Video

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <10 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PaulaMB 19 reviews from this member

Lovely site. Lots to do locally including visiting the gorge and cave on site. Fabulous walking country. Small quiet site with great facilities, five hot free showers in the ladies with tons of room, a chair and two double hooks for clothes and towels ( small details often forgotten ). Good washing up facilities. Everything is very clean. Fire pits and picnics tables dotted around for use. Logs for sale on site.

Fantastic cafe on site open 9-5, very reasonably priced with a shop selling basics and wine/beer/ice cream.

The owner walks round the site every evening and tells campers not to hesitate to contact him using the buzzer at the toilet block should there be any nonsense after hours which is a nice touch.

No music allowed on site at all.

Not a massive number of level spots to pitch but we have stayed at worse and the pluses of the site far outweigh anything else.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The4wildbears 5 reviews from this member

Good place to visit if you have adventure inside you. You stay right on the gorge and is a good place to explore with discount available to campers for unlimited access. Good big shower block tidy enough loads of shower and change room and communle fridge and big wash up area. Friendly staff and a pleasant little café selling a few essentials with draught beers available and a little play park for kids.

Camp fires allowed with fire pits dotted around just pick one up and take to your tent great camping outdoor feel about it with fire going under the stars all in all a good place to stay for a few days.

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Chumbeiro 12 reviews from this member

This isn't a site that you will find in passing-by, the road ends about a mile further on and is inaccessible for caravans and larger campervans. Located next to How Stean Gorge the facilities are accessed by a variety of Outward Bound-type groups.

The camping area is one sloping field with a few flat areas dotted about, no electricity or hard-standing areas (apart from the car park!)

Fire pits and pic-nic benches are dotted around and campfires are encouraged (fuel sold on site).

The toilet block is large with a good number washbasins, free showers etc. Hot water comes from a bore-hole so tends to be a bit sulphur-scented.

There is a small café on site which provides a range of meals, snacks and drinks (inc. Beer/wine) at reasonable prices.

There are pubs at Middlesmoor (uphill - open weekends only in winter) and Lofthouse (downhill - very good and reasonable 'traditional' bar food) both about 20 minutes walk but in different directions.

Campers get discounted entry to the gorge and the helpful owners left the floodlights on so that we could explore the gorge and its caves at night. However, I can imagine that for nervous parents staying on a site then a deep gorge/river with caves could bring on a heart attack.

This is a 'Marmite' site. It is the total antithesis of 'straight lines/ line up facing 270 degrees to north' kind of site that we've all probably stayed on.

We loved the clear skies, relative isolation (only one other campervan the night we stayed), the refreshing disregard for pedantic rules/regulations and the accessibility of the surroundings for mountain biking and walking.

It might have a different atmosphere at a different time of year. We'll visit again to find out. Some people will hate the site for some of the same reasons. £12 for two adults with a campervan per night.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bell789 1 review from this member

We have just had a wonderful 3 nights at this campsite, the facilities were clean and well maintained. The owners were friendly and helpful. We had the use of a picnic table and were able to have a campfire. On arrival we enjoyed a meal in the cafe, which was homecooked. We will definitely be returning to this campsite to further explore the area.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Noo99 2 reviews from this member

Visited with a group of friends, 15 in total with a number of tents. No area to pitch all together but close enough so was fine. Loved the site! The pluses include the laid back attitude of the staff and friendly nature, the ability to have open fires, lovely cafe, great showers and the added bonus of the gorge. The owners expect you to explore the gorge at night and floodlight it for this although nowhere was this publicised. Entry through the gate or the cave entrance in the middle of the campsite, so make sure you have a headlight. Unfortunately we only found out about this on the morning we were due to leave but exploring the gorge in daylight is spectacular. The owners said they'd look at publicising this aspect of the campsite more.

I think they also need to look at the opening hours of the cafe too. They don't open til 9 and 10 on Sundays and close by 6.

Loads to do nearby including stump cross caverns, Pateley Bridge, Masham with Black Sheep Brewery, Ripon with cathedral, Harrogate etc.

I'll definitely be returning with my kids!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Olidais 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from 3 three night stay here with my three children aged 10, 7 and 6. Having stayed here before I was very very impressed with the new facilities block, toilets were clean and showers large enough to fit me and two youngest in to shower, plenty of hot water and very well set out. The showers tend to get a little grassy and muddy during the day as they are shared with the attached adventure base and people coming up from the gorge activities strip off wetsuits here and use the showers but they were generally clean.

The washing up area is under cover and the sinks are huge with plenty of hot water and good water pressure. The site itself is large and tents are allowed to pitch anywhere so if groups are coming it would be easy to pitch near friends.

A lot of the site has sloping areas and like a previous poster said, try to get there early to get a flat one, we pitched on the lower level.

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, we initially booked for two nights but wanted to extend because of the fine weather and they bent over backwards to try to accommodate us, which they did.

Another example of how helpful they were, my children were playing boule and lost one of my antique brass boules somewhere around the edges of the site, we looked and looked but to no avail. I went to mention it to the shop to let me know if anyone handed it in, that evening a member of staff offered to use his metal detector to locate said boule!

Even though the site was very busy with a group of school children from Holland as well as loads of other campers there was still plenty of room for the children to play.

The Gorge itself! what can I say, it is completely breathtaking, there are safety rules that have to be adhered to and plenty of warning signs about slippery paths and overhanging rocks etc but it has a very relaxed atmosphere.

The children loved gorge hopping, swimming in the pools, caving in the dry(ish) Tom Taylors Cave and the much wetter how stean tunnel. We watched many people on the gorge adventures, via ferreta, abseiling etc and I have to say, they were very well looked after by the guides. It is a truly beautiful place (bit of a midge problem on summer evenings, bring the insect repellent)

We visited the Coldstones Cut (amazing and quirky and well worth a visit) and the Yorkes Folly, both near Pateley Bridge, we drove over the moor to Masham and visited the nearby scar house reservoir (three miles away) with its stunning damn wall and remnants of the workers village.

Having visited How Stean on many occasions before we knew what we were coming to and it never disappoints. The new facilities block make it even better.

We found the Boule, about an hour before we left)

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Beetrootbetty 3 reviews from this member

Our group pitched our tents on ‘the balcony’ area of the site, as recommended by the previous reviewer, and I am very glad we did. Our efforts of lugging our camping kit up the slope paid off and we were award with the most majestical and beautiful view. The site was at full capacity due to the Bank Holiday weekend, so although very busy our elevated position gave us plenty of privacy and space.

The facilities on site, the WC & showers, were some of the best I’ve ever come across, and the café served up heart stopping bacon buttys, homemade cakes and bottomless cups of coffee.

The walk up hill to The Crown at Middlesmoor is well worth it. It’s a steep climb but if you cut across the fields from behind the campsite you’ll save yourself about half a mile (also pretty easy to negotiate on your way home - even in the dark after a few tipples!) The food is fantastic, and if you coincide your visit with the Sunday night quiz you’ll not be disappointed. A great crowd and without a doubt the friendliest pub I’ve ever come across.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SueBC 2 reviews from this member

What a lovely little find! In the picturesque Nidderdale countryside this campsite gives you the feeling that you are far away from anywhere but provides all the necessary facilities you need and a little more besides! We spent a couple of nights over Easter with myself, DH and DD (11).

Really one for the kids with How Stean Gorge on site and lots of caves to explore (one was right beside our tent, very exciting!) The camping was reasonable at £6 per adult and £3 for DD. After the discount for staying on site, the gorge entry cost £7 altogether (that includes me, dd and DH!) They also offer packages for abseiling, canoeing and something called via Ferrata (think it means 'clinging on to the gorge for dear life' in Italian).

You are allowed to pitch anywhere which is good for groups but this meant that one group blocked access to some good pitches. This is the nature of the site, there are flattened off areas at the top of slopes creating a kind of balcony effect. The pitch we took was at the bottom of the hill but some of the pitches were on a slope so get there early to snag a good one.

The toilet and shower facilities are all within close distance of the pitches. There are plenty of clean toilets. Sometimes the shower area was a little muddy and the block itself is large so it did feel a little cold during the evening, mInd you it was -10 outside!. Because it is large and there are lots of showers it means we were always able to access a free hot shower at any time of day.

On the website it does state that they do not accept rowdy behaviour. I'm not sure if I'm being a killjoy but there were a couple of groups drinking and talking loudly till 1. 00-2. 00pm. This could do with better monitoring really especially as the site is aimed at families. I forgot all about it in the morning though when I woke up to such beautiful surroundings.

We walked down to the village of Lofthouse (turn right at the bottom of the lane) where the pub serves really big meals and has a lovely welcoming aymosphere and lots of interesting local conversations! If you turn left up the hill to the other nearby village watch out for the 1:4 walk up the hill. Fun to say you did it though!

We really like the fact that you can have campfires in the bins provided (although they need to buy some more because there were none left for us. They gave us a big bbq to use which was great) and they sell wood cheaply too.

Pateley Bridge is 11 miles away but boasts England's oldest sweet shop, a great park with playground, river walks and a couple of interesting museums. There are no large supermarkets so make sure you bring any specific items you require (like mince!, the curry we made was not quite as planned)!

The campsite has a great restaurant. Lovely meals and puddings and they sell beers too! They also put on films for the kids.

Overall with a few tweaks I can see this becoming one of our regular haunts and it's only an hour from where we live :0)


Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3345 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0928