Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Shamba Holidays

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Site Reviews

Shamba Holidays
230 Ringwood Road
St Leonards
New Forest
Ringwood
Hampshire   (Browse area)
BH24 2SB
Tel: 01202 873302
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 123 Reviews
                8/10 from 123 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  123 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Barryclements 3 reviews from this member

What a great site. The rules & regs seem a bit OTT at first, but they are there to ensure your stay isn't spoilt by inconsiderate campers. The facilities are excellent & the staff very helpful. The showers are probably the best I've seen, with plenty of hooks to hang your towel/clothes on, a partition between the shower & drying cubicle, and a seat too. The pool was very warm, with a reasonable-sized area for chairs & tables. We ordered six meals from the bar/restaurant/clubhouse on our last evening, & were pleasantly surprised at the quality & size of the portions, & for a reasonable price too. As an alternative, there is a pub, The Woodman, 10 minutes walk up the lane where they do 2-for-1 meals. If there is a 'downside' to the site, it is the fact that neighbours tended to walk across your pitch to take short-cuts to the pool & clubhouse. That said, I thoroughly recommend Shamba Holidays campsite.

Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wooliew 8 reviews from this member

An unusual name for a caravan park. Stayed last weekend and enjoyed our stay there. There is an indoor swimming pool which is good. The shower block is very good, clean and very warm which made washing a pleasant experience. There was what seems to be the obligatory bucket of dirty water and mop, but that was the only downside. Good to see a covered potwash area.

The clubhouse/restaurant was very good, enjoyed a good meal there.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pickupsticks 28 reviews from this member

Broke our journey home from France with a 4 night stay here so we could visit family. In the area. We paid 14. 95 per night with camping cheques which was good value. The site has a swimming pool we did not use but it did look inviting. Shower and toilet block warm and with spacious shower cubicles. Disconcerted by male cleaners who do not close the block for cleaning and work around you. Pitches were in 2 large fields with no dividing hedges so there was no sense of having your own space. Loads of rules. Departure time 11am and costs £5 for an extra 2 hours. An ok site for the price we paid but would not have thought the standard rate was good value.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AdrianMoore 6 reviews from this member

The major positive this site has is the swimming pool. We stayed in July and had three afternoons with the pool pretty much to ourselves. It truly is a heated pool - it is like entering a sauna when you go in. A pity the bar and kitchen were only open at the weekend as there has obviously been a lot of investment in the facilities. We did get into the clubhouse one evening. The food was OK but very slow in coming. The entertainment was indeed entertaining. Our pitch was quite close to the main bar entrance and we were happily surprised at how quiet closing time was. There is not really anything we found of interest in the immediate area, having a bit of a drive to even find a chinese take-away. Bournemouth is about a half hour drive away. The main road the site is located on is very busy and gets congested at peak times. Staff friendly and accommodating. The site is very clean. The facilities are spotless. The kids loved the play area. The site however to us just seemed to lack atmosphere.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Gee06 5 reviews from this member

Negatives:

1. There are so many rules, I witnessed lots of kids being told off for such petty things. Kids simply werenít allowed to have fun. No riding bikes, no scootering, no skateboarding etc etc. I even witnessed a warden really shouting at two boys and another boy reduced to tears!

2. The whole place is dusty, its next to some sort of earth works / scrapyard and at the end of 3 days our awning was covered in dust. There was a dusty smell to them air and this played on my sonís chest and constant sound of machinery.

3. The roads were not tarmac or gravel they were just dusty mud.

4. The pitches were not very large although they were adequate. There were no hedges, bushes or any niceties between pitches, they were just marked out dusty dead grass patches all next to each other.

5. The water points were located on pitches so you needed to walk on several peoples pitches to go and fill your water containers.

6. There are power cables overhead, and we were pitched under one and right next to the pylon this didnít sit comfortable with me.

7. We were in the shade under a large tree (attempting to hide the pylon) and didnít get any sun whatsoever on any of our pitch no matter the time of day.

8. There is a notice saying the toilets are cleaned by male and female staff, which is fine, but there is no respect in my opinion. Two male wardens were in the ladies between the loos and washbasins having a chat for ages on one occasion and on another opening the doors to the boiler room which in turn had doors open to the ladies. Gents were at the urinals.

9. The gates are padlocked at 10. 30pm so you canít enter or exit at all until 7. 30am which I feel is unnecessary. Most sites have cards swipe or VRN recognition. With all the money spent on toilet locks so your 8 year canít get in the toilets on their own would have been better spent on a swipe card system on the main gate instead of padlocks. This again seems to show some form of control these people want to have over their so called guests which is a general theme throughout.

10. The road leading to and from the site resembles as cement factory with concrete blocks and dust everywhere. This in turn leads to a duel carriageway with isnít always easy to pull out on and if there is a traffic jam up you cannot get off site at all!

11. I feel the site is run but the staff for the benefit of the staff (and perhaps the seasonal people) and the holiday makers are just an inconvenience that need to be controlled!

12. The whole place has the feel of a Ďlocalsí pubÖ and a bit Ďclickyí, it looks nice but you are certainly not made welcome.

13. We booked and paid in advance for 3 nights and left after 2.

Generally, Shamba holidays like to promote their Caravan Club and Camping and Caravan sites stars rating signs all over the place. Maybe these standards have been achieved due to relatively new buildings, pool etc, but no care is spent on the pitches or to give the customer a good experience.

Positives

1. The pool is nice, quite small and busy, but nice and warm.

2. The toilets and showers are kept quite clean and tidy.

3. There are nice places to visit nearby meaning you donít need to spend much time on site.

We wont be back!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrsbutcher16 1 review from this member

We will not be staying here again. There are plenty of rules and regulations but not all are enforced. The main problem I had was ball games. No ball games allowed with a recreational field provided. I had to repeatedly tell individuals this rule who seemed to think it was acceptable to kick football's at the side of our caravan. They were strict on the noise times on an evening but again no-one enforced this rule on a morning. My pet hate is when tent's and caravans are mixed, in our experience caravans and people in tent's holiday very differently. 'Tenters' enjoy early nights and very early mornings, neither do most not understand the issue we have with ball games at the side of our brand new caravan. The rule 'do not intrude on your neighbours privacy or pitch', again overlooked with individuals thinking it was acceptable to have children riding their bikes and running around our caravan. 'Musical instruments are not permitted' also overlooked. And the list goes on. The only thing I can say was very impressive was the dog walk and the shower block. Very impressed with this.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Kencain 3 reviews from this member

WE have just spent a month away in our 5th Wheeler. Obviously, a variety of sites in that time. This one (Shamba) is probably the best of those visited. Should probably be re-named 'Carling' campsite. Very wide pitches and long enough for our 5th wheeler. Plenty of water points. Easy access to chemical toilet point and grey waste disposal point. Free use of showers which is becoming rarer these days and yet still excellent value for money (especially if you use ACSI).

Staff were both friendly and helpful. The bar / restaurant wasn't open when we were there because we didn't stay for the weekend and it was not the busy season. We suspected that would be the case and were not disappointed, especially as there is a pub/restaurant within walking distance. The lane leading to the site looks a bit daunting but was no problem, even with our unit. A great campsite and will definitely return some time. Ideal for sightseeing around the area. Only reason for the 9 out of 10 for the 'location' is that you have to turn left on the exit as it is a dual carriageway. Small point really as there is a roundabout not far up the road.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bobgraham 1 review from this member

Just got back from a four day stay and I have to say all the other reviewers are spot on with their report, , , apart from a few gripes they may of encountered this site on the whole is very very good with top notch toilet facilities heated flooring yes heated flooring you did read that right!good showers with a sit on seat for us oldies who can't put your socks back on without sitting down. Hand dryers hair dryers look its got everything!

You can walk though into the swimming pool area which is again very good nice and warm and a great place to be if the heaven's open. (note children must be accompanied by an adult if under14)as no life guard fare play.

The staff are friendly and don't bite also show you to your pitch which is a nice touch. Then there's the shop which sells most things if your stuck for a pint of milk or fancy an ice cream if its hot. Clubhouse is good lots of seating and a bar with pub prices not too bad then, , , there is food available but don't expect fine dining this is for people who setup and can't be bothered to cook on their first day. Next to that is a games room with a pool table and arcade machines to keep kids entertained while you have a pint or two, , , ,

Right here comes the negatives, , , well none really as everyone is there to have fun on holiday, yes it can get a bit noisy if your camped by the kids play area they are kids right!

Yes you can here the traffic slightly its not far from the road, , , yes the neighbour snores for England your in a tent!

My personal one and only gripe being the lack of water fill up points feeling uneasy going onto someones pitch for water felt invasive of their privacy but as I say very small gripe.

So all in all a very nice stay thank you and will be back for more in the future! Did I mention the heated floors!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sparkiesdad 7 reviews from this member

Yes this is a very good site (in many ways) not quite so good in others. Firstly agree with all that has been said about the facilities, cleanliness thereof etc etc. Hottest water I have ever come across in the wash up, take your rubber gloves!

There are around 30 seasonal caravans which surround most of the pitching area, these are mostly unoccupied during the week some are occupied at weekends. At first sight the pitching area that remains available is very flat with grass surface which is very hard and you would be wise to bring rock pegs and a heavy hammer. These are marked out like a chequer board effect with a double row each side of access roads which are not more that 2 meters wide. The pitch area you are allocated is only just big enough for caravan, awning, towcar. Our first few days we had plenty of room around us but then this filled up during the second part of our week partly because of the arrival of a large group of Dutch who erected a flag post to form their own meeting area. The second reason was that on arrival we noticed posters announcing that for June there would be a £5 discount per pitch. Of course this did not apply to silly people like us who had booked in advance, paid a non-returnable deposit and the full balance in advance. This would have saved us £40. My advice therefore is NOT TO book in advance outside of school holidays or like us you will be caught. Naturally this had an effect on the numbers arriving later.

I should also say that the bar and cafť were only open on Friday and Saturday evenings newspapers were available Sat/Sun.

One particular issue we had was with the policy of locking all access gates at 10. 30. One evening I had to take my wife unexpectedly to Accident and Emergency after something flew into her eye. On return at 01. 00am we found the gates locked and a caravan and tow car was parked in the emergency car park which left little room to get our vehicle in. After a struggle I managed to squeeze our car in and avoid delaying the early departure of this outfit but we both then had to walk the length of the site in the cold and dark mostly with my wife still suffering trauma due to the treatment she had received which, given the evening we had just had we could have done without! I cannot understand why an automatic barrier cannot be installed here after all people on holiday may surely want to be out later than 10. 30!

Finally the A31 is noisy on certain days and times. It is also very dangerous to get in and out of this site. Sadly a woman motorist was killed on this road during our stay quite nearby.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Myattmania 14 reviews from this member

Just got back home from a short break on this site. This now being the second time we have stayed here.

The site itself is clean and tidy and is away from the main road. We found it quite peaceful with just the small rumble of traffic in the distance - nothing major

The staff here are friendly and helpful

The toilet/shower blocks are very impressive with under floor heating (always kept clean to a high standard)

The pitch sizes are of a very good size and the indoor pool is an added bonus.

Unfortunately we did experience a down side to our stay on this occasion - there must have been an inspection of some kind going on as on our last morning there was a large group of men and women going about the place (all very official looking) this we did find quite intrusive when both sexes were going into the toilet/shower block. Advice for the future would be to let campers know that such inspections would be happening so campers can arrange their day around it to save any embarrassment. Also we were surprised to find half of the toilets closed, which we could only assume was to save on cleaning as there were the same amount of toilets closed in the gents to the ladies. Having stayed here before in the same week this was unexpected and considering we were still paying full price felt it a slight cheek. Due to the high prices charged for this site we felt this time round that we get a better deal and better value for your money on other sites that we visit

Less likely for us to return here again

Previous     123 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3794 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019