Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Shamba Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Ringwood > Shamba Holidays Reviews

Shamba Holidays
230 Ringwood Road
St Leonards
New Forest
Ringwood
Hampshire   (Browse area)
BH24 2SB
Tel: 01202 873302
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 128 Reviews
                8/10 from 128 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  128 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 31/08/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our facilities may be open

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: January 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hecate105 8 reviews from this member

 Had a night here when visiting friends nearby. Easy to find - straight off main road, but set back so peaceful. Really easy book in and straight onto grass pitch with electric.

Site is large and open and the toilet/shower facilities are fantastic - really clean and warm. It is the only bathroom I have visited that had a playpen - so that Mother's could visit the loo in peace!

Staff were very helpful - even opening the gate for our elderly visitor who tried to drive out the wrong way!

I would visit again - would love to try the pool etc! 


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Oldfor37162hvh 1 review from this member

 This is a delightful site - a hidden gem within the New Forest. Open all year-bonus as site charges are not expensive Site is off a dual carriageway-a small nuisance for trips out.

Most major hot spots are 1 hour away, but still plenty to do closer to base not to be a huge problem.

Although this is a small site, it more than makes up for it in all other ways.

Toilets & showers are spotless. Pool is heated-so enticing! although the small size could prove a large problem of overcrowding & noise during busy season.

Shop super & not overpriced & the Info hut carries sufficient variety of leaflets to last a month! The Clubhouse is superb, with great entertainment & delicious food-again not overpriced.

Playpark is simple but has all that is needed Pitches are large with EHU & adjacent parking. Not noisy at all. A4 sheet of rules are given for a reason & not unreasonable.

Staff were fantastic, friendly & so helpful(dressed up & joined in the Halloween celebrations!)

Our party was 2 OAP & 2 grandchildren & we all had a fabulous half term break.

Not sure that I should praise it so much - it may be all booked up when we go for a return visit and return we will!. 


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Scourse 1 review from this member

 Good level site, club small but ok, pool clean and warm, staff friendly and shower block in the main ok.

Some toilets didn't flush well.

Seat missing on one and some shower n WC cubicles closed off for no apparent reason.

On the whole a very good site.

Would definitely stay again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Luke1429 1 review from this member

 Clean

Good facilities

Easy to find

Very friendly

Great for young kids

Swimming pool lovely and warm no to deep for young kids

Nice little on site shop 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Peter022266mtu 1 review from this member

 The site was clean and tidy and the staff were very friendly.

Couldn't understand though, why that on the busiest and hottest weekend of the year the bar was shut. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Barryclements 3 reviews from this member

 What a great site. The rules & regs seem a bit OTT at first, but they are there to ensure your stay isn't spoilt by inconsiderate campers. The facilities are excellent & the staff very helpful.

The showers are probably the best I've seen, with plenty of hooks to hang your towel/clothes on, a partition between the shower & drying cubicle, and a seat too.

The pool was very warm, with a reasonable-sized area for chairs & tables. We ordered six meals from the bar/restaurant/clubhouse on our last evening, & were pleasantly surprised at the quality & size of the portions, & for a reasonable price too.

As an alternative, there is a pub, The Woodman, 10 minutes walk up the lane where they do 2-for-1 meals. If there is a 'downside' to the site, it is the fact that neighbours tended to walk across your pitch to take short-cuts to the pool & clubhouse.

That said, I thoroughly recommend Shamba Holidays campsite. 


Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wooliew 10 reviews from this member

 An unusual name for a caravan park. Stayed last weekend and enjoyed our stay there. There is an indoor swimming pool which is good. The shower block is very good, clean and very warm which made washing a pleasant experience.

There was what seems to be the obligatory bucket of dirty water and mop, but that was the only downside. Good to see a covered potwash area.

The clubhouse/restaurant was very good, enjoyed a good meal there. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pickupsticks 28 reviews from this member

 Broke our journey home from France with a 4 night stay here so we could visit family. In the area. We paid 14. 95 per night with camping cheques which was good value. The site has a swimming pool we did not use but it did look inviting. Shower and toilet block warm and with spacious shower cubicles. Disconcerted by male cleaners who do not close the block for cleaning and work around you. Pitches were in 2 large fields with no dividing hedges so there was no sense of having your own space. Loads of rules. Departure time 11am and costs £5 for an extra 2 hours. An ok site for the price we paid but would not have thought the standard rate was good value. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: AdrianMoore 6 reviews from this member

 The major positive this site has is the swimming pool. We stayed in July and had three afternoons with the pool pretty much to ourselves. It truly is a heated pool - it is like entering a sauna when you go in. A pity the bar and kitchen were only open at the weekend as there has obviously been a lot of investment in the facilities. We did get into the clubhouse one evening. The food was OK but very slow in coming. The entertainment was indeed entertaining. Our pitch was quite close to the main bar entrance and we were happily surprised at how quiet closing time was. There is not really anything we found of interest in the immediate area, having a bit of a drive to even find a chinese take-away. Bournemouth is about a half hour drive away. The main road the site is located on is very busy and gets congested at peak times. Staff friendly and accommodating. The site is very clean. The facilities are spotless. The kids loved the play area. The site however to us just seemed to lack atmosphere. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Gee06 5 reviews from this member

 Negatives:

1. There are so many rules, I witnessed lots of kids being told off for such petty things. Kids simply werenít allowed to have fun. No riding bikes, no scootering, no skateboarding etc etc. I even witnessed a warden really shouting at two boys and another boy reduced to tears!

2. The whole place is dusty, its next to some sort of earth works / scrapyard and at the end of 3 days our awning was covered in dust. There was a dusty smell to them air and this played on my sonís chest and constant sound of machinery.

3. The roads were not tarmac or gravel they were just dusty mud.

4. The pitches were not very large although they were adequate. There were no hedges, bushes or any niceties between pitches, they were just marked out dusty dead grass patches all next to each other.

5. The water points were located on pitches so you needed to walk on several peoples pitches to go and fill your water containers.

6. There are power cables overhead, and we were pitched under one and right next to the pylon this didnít sit comfortable with me.

7. We were in the shade under a large tree (attempting to hide the pylon) and didnít get any sun whatsoever on any of our pitch no matter the time of day.

8. There is a notice saying the toilets are cleaned by male and female staff, which is fine, but there is no respect in my opinion. Two male wardens were in the ladies between the loos and washbasins having a chat for ages on one occasion and on another opening the doors to the boiler room which in turn had doors open to the ladies. Gents were at the urinals.

9. The gates are padlocked at 10. 30pm so you canít enter or exit at all until 7. 30am which I feel is unnecessary. Most sites have cards swipe or VRN recognition. With all the money spent on toilet locks so your 8 year canít get in the toilets on their own would have been better spent on a swipe card system on the main gate instead of padlocks. This again seems to show some form of control these people want to have over their so called guests which is a general theme throughout.

10. The road leading to and from the site resembles as cement factory with concrete blocks and dust everywhere. This in turn leads to a duel carriageway with isnít always easy to pull out on and if there is a traffic jam up you cannot get off site at all!

11. I feel the site is run but the staff for the benefit of the staff (and perhaps the seasonal people) and the holiday makers are just an inconvenience that need to be controlled!

12. The whole place has the feel of a Ďlocalsí pubÖ and a bit Ďclickyí, it looks nice but you are certainly not made welcome.

13. We booked and paid in advance for 3 nights and left after 2.

Generally, Shamba holidays like to promote their Caravan Club and Camping and Caravan sites stars rating signs all over the place. Maybe these standards have been achieved due to relatively new buildings, pool etc, but no care is spent on the pitches or to give the customer a good experience.

Positives

1. The pool is nice, quite small and busy, but nice and warm.

2. The toilets and showers are kept quite clean and tidy.

3. There are nice places to visit nearby meaning you donít need to spend much time on site.

We wont be back! 


Previous     128 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Shamba Holidays child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Shamba Holidays have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Shamba Holidays?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Shamba Holidays dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ringwood      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2346 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement