Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping La Foret

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Saint Jean De Monts > Camping La Foret Reviews

Camping La Foret
190 Chemin De La Rive
Saint Jean De Monts
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
85160
Tel: 00 33 02 51 58 84 63
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 63
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 8 Reviews
                9/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: DenV 13 reviews from this member

This is a small, family run, charming site (there are a lot of sites in this area), which although has up to date facilities, still oozes French charm. For us this was our favourite site of this holiday.

We chose to come back to this site on our 'Tour of Brittany' (well it is almost Brittany!) as this is is the very first site we ever stayed on in France with our small daughter over 30 years ago, when our love affair with France started. It is a testament to the owners that the updates are so sympathetically done, that we were able to not only recognise the outline of the original buildings, but even find the pitch we stayed on - although this time with a >6m van we couldn't have accessed it.

It is true that access to some pitches is tight, but we were lucky to have the choice of a large pitch. Cleanliness is second to none on this site, and access to the the cycle paths is great. Polite notices encourage everyone to leave the facilities as they found them i. E. Very clean.

Greg the owner is amazingly helpful, and it was clear that this really was a family business (it was the end of season so everyone pitched in to prepare the mobile homes etc for closedown).

I understand the Tour de France will be routed past this campsite in 2018, so get your bookings in early (Greg already had a long list of advance bookings).

We would definitely return - and not leave it for 30 years this time!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrscmb 52 reviews from this member

This is a clean and tidy site and you will be made very welcome by Greg and Wiebke who are both friendly and helpful.

The location is fantastic, just a 600 metres walk to the beach and about 1. 5kms walk to Notre Dames de Mont.

The sanitary block is a higher standard than average in France and the swimming pool is the warmest we have ever experienced. There is a good takeaway facility and you can also purchase cold drinks, wine, ice-cream and sweets. You can order bread, croissants etc for breakfast the following day. Wifi is not too expensive and we experienced good reception.

Some pitches may be tight to access if you have a larger unit, but Greg and Wiebke will give good advice on the best approach. There is some road noise if you pitch at the back of the site and although this did not bother us, some people may find it intrusive when sitting outside on the pitch.

We loved the site and would be more than willing to return.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ramarama 1 review from this member

Sitting in the tent with the rain on the canvas - still love camping.

Great site - as others have said we are right by the road but the sounds remind us of home so that's ok.

The area is so bike friendly and our friends were able to hire bikes on the site.

The beach is very close and seems empty because there is so much room.

The site owners are very friendly and helpful (booked our dogs in for their passport for us). The toilet blocks are clean and the showers good.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Mickcoleman427 20 reviews from this member

A lovely site in many ways but feels a little cramped. Emplacements are pretty small and crammed in - we were next to a road so a bit noisy although to be fair we were warned when we arrived and we hadn't booked in advance. Washing facilities etc are excellent and the owners/staff couldn't be more helpful. Area is awash with campsites - not to my taste. However, the forest opposite the entrance to the campsite was fantastic - almost got knocked over by running deer one day - and the beach through the forest truly spectacular - miles of it.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sunshinetours 18 reviews from this member

Well as per my last review last year - we did indeed come back and brought friends with us who I think enjoyed it as much as we did!

Nothing much to update from last review except toilet and shower block I believe is getting a revamp for 2014.

Lovely touches everywhere on this small site, from the beautifully kept bushy borders on each pitch, to the abundance of taps for every pitch that means you can use as a serviced pitch, to the beautifully clean swimming pool, pizza van that turn up Tuesday and candy floss man Thursdays to the direct access through sandy forest to the lovely beach at Pont D'Yeu

Whilst our kids are young I can see us going back here yet again

Thank you for Camping La Foret!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pennyred23 5 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site at peak season. Whilst it was fully booked the facilities remained clean and there was rarely a queue to use the loos. The owners are very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Each pitch either had its own water point or there was one very close by so no trudging to the water point and back. The shop was very well stocked and sold snacks - although quite pricey. The very big sandy beach is close by and the sea is very shallow so great for little people but no rock pools. That's the good stuff and now for the not so good stuff, some of these are small niggles others had a bigger impact on our holiday and some of them only relate to our specific pitch (think it was No 25) - I've put them in descending order:

Our pitch was close to the very busy main road which runs behind the campsite. This road was busy 24 hours a day and the noise prevented us from getting a good nights sleep.

There is no specific area for children to play other than the very basic facilities in the sandy park. So ball games etc had to be played on the road which ran the length of the site so games constantly interrupted by vehicles and/or pedestrians.

The hot water was not hot. So the showers weren't much fun especially for the children and I would have liked hotter water to wash my pots.

Often there was no loo roll in the toilets first thing in the morning - the showers were being cleaned before the loo roll was replenished - I'd rather wait for a shower than a pooh!

We had to park our car right in front of our tent because our pitch was on the small side.

Our pitch was very close to our neighbours.

The only sun we got was in the middle of the day so when others were enjoying either the morning or afternoon rays with t-shirts on we were huddled up in our fleeces and had to strip them off when we went to the loo or BBQ area because it was so hot out of the shade of our pitch.

A silly thing but a real niggle - for some reason the ladies loos and showers are at opposite sides of the block and so are the mens. We seemed to spend half our time wandering around the block from one end to the other - for instance when you go to the loo before using the shower. Also there was nowhere to leave your belongings when using the loo (annoying when you are en route to the shower with towels etc).

Whilst the swimming pool was great the area got the wind so when you got out of the pool it was incredibly chilly.

Quite a few rules about children not playing here or there and having to be accompanied by an adult when going to the toilet. My children are capable of using these facilities on their own and I felt this took away a sense of freedom that me and my children enjoy when camping.

Whilst this has no bearing on the site itself I feel it might be worth mentioning that the resort of St Jean de Monts is incredibly busy and the traffic was bumper to bumper at times - we didn't venture into St Jean and when shopping was required preferred to head up to Notre Dame de Monts instead.

We had a great holiday and loved the area but found the beaches (rock pools) and town of St Hilaire de Riez more to our liking and if we go to the Vendee again this is where we will be heading.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Sunshinetours 18 reviews from this member

Spent a week here in our FC on pitch 37, right in the middle of the site and very close to the central toilet, shower, washing up, laundry facility block which worked very well for us. These facilities are cleaned three times a day and are kept pretty well. Some occasional smell in toilets but seemed to be more a French sewer problem than dirty toilets as could only smell when flushing! Cleaning mops available for showers for people to use (not all do of course)

This really is a little gem of a site situated much closer to Notre Dames de Monts rather than its bigger brasher brother, St Jeans de Monts. The smaller town of Notre Dames is only a 20 minute stroll along the main road or a more pleasnt wander down to the beach from the site and turn right at the beach and then a 20/25 minute pleasant walk along the lovely sandy beach!

Owners Greg and Wiebke very friendly and helpful and multi lingual. Lots of Brits on site but also Dutch, German and French that we heard. Pool smallish but clean and warm enough (just!) and usually some loungers available. Ice creams, sweets etc all available from little shops as is pre orderable take away. Small sandy play area and table tennis, table football and pool table indoors. Central charcoal BBQ area was always available, gas BBQ's on pitch are fine.

Pitches themselves are nicely kept and of varying sizes - best to ask for one away from main road at back of site. Sandy soil so take some long plastic or wooden pegs in your bag. Site pretty quiet after 10. 30/11ish at night

Best part for us was location which is just fantastic being walkable to beach and a local town. Super U, Lidl and Intermarche all within 10 minutes drive

We will definitely be back here!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ruskin villa 2 reviews from this member

Brilliant small, quiet camp site. Lovely pool with small warmer pool for little ones and big ones at times too! A short walk through the woods to a beautiful beach - sand with shells, shallow, small waves, cool breeze of Atlantic. Lovely food available on site - expensive but very tasty. Short drive to Notre Dame de monts with nearest superU, 10 min drive to St Jean de mont - very commercial. Toilet block smelt but was clean and cleaned thoroughly during the day. Showers clean - you have to squeegy your cubicle after use for next user. Washing up area and clothes washing areas good size. Table tennis table by pool and small kids playground. Small area to play boulle. Lots of people from UK, Germany and Holland. It is very clear that there are families / couple who come back year after year - we might well be joining them. Very friendly and helpful owners. EHU. Good size plots with hedges around and trees which provide shade at certain times of the day.


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Saint Jean De Monts       Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/02 to 09/02
In Glasgow - Over 200 companies will be showcasing their products and offering visitors show only discounts and offers. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2545 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020