Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hill Farm Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Romsey > Hill Farm Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Hill Farm Caravan & Camping Park
Branches Lane
Sherfield English
Romsey
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO51 6FH
Tel: 01794 340402
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 49 Reviews
                7/10 from 49 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Moorepw 4 reviews from this member

 We (2 families with teens) spent 5 nights here. The site is clean as are the toilets, showers and washing up facilities. There is a well stocked shop on site as well as a café serving breakfasts, paninis, jacket potatoes and other similar food (including gluten free options). We had breakfast on one morning and it was superb and reflected we could have eaten there more often as it is all reasonably priced. There is a children's play area which was being enjoyed by under 11s and a pitch & putt on site.

The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and go out of their way to help.

The only minor problem is that some of the pitch sizes are a bit small if you have big tents but we were able to swap to another pitch, again the staff giving us different options to accommodate our larger than average tents. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dunernin 13 reviews from this member

 This comment is made on the basis of the overall expectation given the nightly charge.

Sanitary facilities adequate but not overwhelming. Washing up and WC emptying area needs upgrading. Overall the site is in need of some TLC. Access very tight especially around the entrance area & shop. Expensive for what you get. Would I visit again? probably not. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cake Man 24 reviews from this member

 Toilets and showers are good. Hot water and very clean.

It's a very quiet site, but a road runs along the site which for those looking for peace & quite may find annoying.

Has a playground for the little ones. And a dog walk in the small forest. A small shop on site which is useful for those bits & bobs you may need. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: R1cbm 11 reviews from this member

 Upon arrival just be aware that the turnings are tight into the park and into the touring area. Out van is 7. 5m long single axle and had to be very aware when getting in.

Signing in was good. Went to out pitch, what a pain. I don't mind having to use a small ramp to lift one side of the van up, but my goodness. I have a mover and to get this thing level. Took forever. In fact the van isn't straight it's diagonal across the pitch so no room for awning. If it wasn't too late I would have asked for another pitch. (Bring your own ramps and blocks as there's nothing here)

Toilets and showers are good. Hot water and very clean.

It's a very quiet site, check the rules for the kids. Very strict.

We used the playground for the little ones. And went for a walk in the small forest.

It's a very quiet site which I like. It's also about 30 minutes drive from anywhere. Which is a bit of a pain, I think we would look for somewhere closer to the new forest or beaches next time. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nickiemerson 3 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a 4 night stay at this site. Toilets and shower blocks good. Separate showers with dry changing area. Lighting has sensors so not on unnecessarily. Showers were brilliant. Large shower heads and masses of hot water. Children's play area was small and only catered for children up to 10years. We arrived at 3-30pm on Sunday and there was no one on site to book us in. The reception was shut. Had to speak to on call manager on the phone who told us our pitch number and said to book in the following morning. Pitches were quite small for caravan and awning.

Awoke on Monday morning to the sound of a building site. Our pitch backed onto a new build on the site. Woken every morning around 8-30am by workmen shouting and machinery. Work didn't stop until after 4-30pm. Would advise anyone to check on the building works before booking as we were not advised in advance and had we not gone in on Sunday afternoon, we would have asked to change pitch.

The advertised shop wasn't open as specified and wasn't very well stocked (apparently had last seasons stock). On one occasion we couldn't make a purchase as the person there didn't have keys to the till. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Muttsx2 1 review from this member

 We spent 6 days at Hill Farm, and found the site to be of a good standard, the shower cubicles were very clean and had underfloor heating, which is lovely on the cooler mornings.

The dogs appreciated the walk on site, but much preferred the lovely surrounding area of the new forest, especially Nomansland which was great for a good long run.

Visited Bucklers Hard and walked from there to Beaulieu village, but should have gone the other way, as it would have been free of charge, as we could not take advantage of looking around the cottages/museum. (Not much fun if you have to wait outside with the dogs, while your partner does the tour)

Hill Farms crowning glory, is most definitely Bramleys tea room, we had a cooked breakfast and Sunday lunch during our stay, which were of exceptional quality, as was the service. Definitely a great reason for a return visit. Treacle tart, Yummy.  


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Clos0888 1 review from this member

 Spent ten nights on this site, really enjoyed it. The site and surrounding area is really top class. Site is clean and generally well maintained. Toilets and showers good quality although the showers smelt of cleaning agent during the evenings. There are local pubs to this site although we didn't try them, major stores are 11 miles away and local shops are 5 miles away. The shop on site was adequate and staff helpful. The 9 hole golf course was great (the greens need attention though!). The caravan sales company on site is great too, we bought another caravan whilst there, we managed to swap vans and enjoyed our new purchase for five nights. My criticisms would be the booking in, I drove for five hours to arrive fifteen minutes before official book in time. The door was locked and I was told I would have to wait fifteen minutes. This has never ever happened before and really topped off my day. Also the electric hook up, the site state that they were installed for older vans which don't have the modern electric draining items, hence we tripped the electrics daily. We will return one day. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JdDerek 2 reviews from this member

 This being our first camping trip we will review the camp site the best we can with L plates on.

We stayed in the Willows field (Tent Only) which is apparently only used at weekends and Bank holidays.

The pitch was a very well kept grass field marked into large sections by means of white lines and numbered.

There was no electric hook ups in this field but we was made aware of this as we booked.

The pitch size was great allowing room for our Vango orchy 600 and large car and still left plenty of space for sitting, cooking etc.

Talking to some of the regulars there they preferred the willows field to the main site.

The Toilet and Shower block was Fantastic !

Toilets were spotless and the shower rooms had plenty of space to take children in and shower them without getting wet yourself. And what a great idea to have individual changing areas combined with the shower.

When the toilet/shower block was closed for cleaning the second block is only 2-3 Minutes walk away.

Washing up Facility’s again were spotless with plenty of hot water.

The staff at this camp site were very helpful and regularly walked around the site checking that everyone was playing safely.

There is a small play area for children but will probably only entertain up to the age of 11 or 12.

A nice 9 hole pitch and putt golf course which is well kept and kept us entertained.

And a lovely on site tea room.

In General we loved it here and will be returning but aiming for the willows field again.

The Highlight for us was watching the bats flying around over our tent at dusk and the no noise policy which worked very well almost like a switch being turned off. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ChipandAle 1 review from this member

 This being our first camping trip we will review the camp site the best we can with L plates on.

We stayed in the Willows field (Tent Only which is apparently only used at weekends and Bank holidays.

The pitch was a very well kept grass field marked into large sections by means of white lines and numbered.

There was no electric hook ups in this field but we was made aware of this as we booked.

The pitch size was great allowing room for our Vango orchy 600 and large car and still left plenty of space for sitting, cooking etc.

Talking to some of the regulars there they preferred the willows field to the main site.

The Toilet and Shower block was Fantastic !

Toilets were spotless and the shower rooms had plenty of space to take children in and shower them without getting wet yourself. And what a great idea to have individual changing areas combined with the shower.

When the toilet/shower block was closed for cleaning the second block is only 2-3 Minutes walk away.

Washing up Facility’s again were spotless with plenty of hot water.

The staff at this camp site were very helpful and regularly walked around the site checking that everyone was playing safely.

There is a small play area for children but will probably only entertain up to the age of 11 or 12.

A nice 9 hole pitch and putt golf course which is well kept and kept us entertained.

And a lovely on site tea room.

In General we loved it here and will be returning but aiming for the willows field again.

The Highlight for us was watching the bats flying around over our tent at dusk and the no noise policy which worked very well almost like a switch being turned off. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tourer49 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site recently and found it to be very pleasant, as long as you were not staying on the caravan side. On this side the caravans are very tightly packed in and the road round it is very narrow it was also tight to manoeuvre out, as the warden and his family park along a wall by the exit clearly marked ‘NO PARKING AT ANY TIME’ which meant you can’t drive forward far enough before you turn to get out of the site. The majority of caravans appeared to be on seasonal pitches and there were quite a few ‘workers’ coming and going to work.

The tent side of the site which also included caravans did feel more like you were on holiday or having a weekend away. There is also a children’s play area but was limited and cramped, the playing field was just a long narrow field with nothing in there not even a goal post for the children. There is a lovely 9 hole pitch and putt course but this could of been put to better use for the tents / caravans. There are also pylons and power lines that run down the middle of the site. The toilets and shower facilities were clean and roomy, also no dish/holder to put your sponge, shampoo etc so have to do a balancing act. The shop seemed well stocked and had handy camping supplies.  


Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hill Farm Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hill Farm Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hill Farm Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Romsey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3539 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement