Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ashbrook Caravan And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Hay On Wye > Ashbrook Caravan And Camping Reviews

Ashbrook Caravan And Camping
Penymaes
Hay On Wye
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR3 5PP
Tel: 01497 820583
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 80 Reviews
                9/10 from 80 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  80 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Stan on tour 47 reviews from this member

Really practical site for visiting Hay on Wye. 20 or so minutes walk into Hay with it's pubs cafes and shops.

The walk involves a partial walk across fields, there were cows in the field but they didn't bother us. Great Sunday lunch in the Three Tuns.

The site itself is in a pretty valley, near the main road. ToIlets etc first class as was the free WiFi.
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: AllTrue 1 review from this member

There is nothing that I can really add that has not already been covered by reviewers Gusmax (May 2018) and Scrambling Goth (August 2017).

Wife and I stayed here to attend the excellent World War 1 Commemoration 'Home At Last' in Hay On Wye.

Denice and Alvin are what all camp site owners should be like - very friendly, welcoming and will help in any way they can. Facilities and site in general are well maintained and spotless. There is no shop on site. Price is very good.

A tip for visitors who walk to Hay On Wye: Make a note of all taxi phone numbers listed on site in case you don't feel like walking back - they are difficult to find in the town itself.

This site is thoroughly recommended.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gusmax 2 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site bank holiday in May, itís well signposted when we arrived we where met by the owners who where fantastic took us to our pitch explained everything to us,

This is the best kept site I have stayed on all the facilities where spotless, location is great about a 20 minute walk into hay.

Will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Scrambling Goth 2 reviews from this member

Three middle-aged adults spent ten days here under canvas in late August/early Sept. We relied on UKcampsite to find this place: the excellent reviews are well deserved.

It's well signposted, with ample warning of when to turn off the (not too busy) Hay-Brecon B road. Site access is via a security barrier, with plenty of pull-in room and ample delay before the thing descends again should you possess a particularly large rig or, like me, be all fingers and thumbs at keypads.

The site is level, spacious, well lit (but not floodlit like a prison camp) and with good roads and well-tended grass. Quite a few of the caravans were clearly there for the season: rare are those who carry potted shrubs in a tourer.

Denice and Alvin are (as others have said) friendly, hard-working gems. We were delayed, and they rang my mobile to check we were ok (it was on silent, naturally. They showed us to a perfect, generous pitch, and when I wasn't sure my hook-up cable would reach, Alvin produced an extension 'just in case'. They were always about the place tending, cleaning and generally tweaking. We rate the shower block as up with the best - quite possibly the best - of any we've been to. Spotless, spacious (and warm).

The location's great - about 20 easy minutes on foot into Hay (outdoor shops, wonderful pen shop, good butchers, bread, deli - and books). Parking in Hay on Market Day (Thursday) can be tight. The road over to Llanthony is not for the faint-hearted, but those blessed with schoolboy humour will find there an easy path up Twmpa and brilliant views. Handy for the eastern part of the Beacons, the Harvey Brecon Beacons E sheet is perfect.

Plan is to head back there next year. Probably says everything.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sargol 2 reviews from this member

A really cracking campsite. Toilets and facilities spotless - easy access and walking distance to Hay. Owners can't do enough to help - turned up with a screw in one of my tyres.

Alvin the owner took tyre off - took it to town, got it repaired and refitted it whilst we were out.

A very good overall and reasonably priced experience and will definitely go back.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Printini 5 reviews from this member

What a gem of a site, so clean and plenty of room between pitches. The facilities are spotless. In fact the whole site is the same. The owners are really friendly nice people. So glad we chose to stay here and goes without saying that we will return.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JoandNick 1 review from this member

This is a brilliant campsite. Very clean with great facilities (always room in the fridge and freezer!) and the shower/toilet block was exceptionally clean.

Denice and Alvin could not be more helpful and welcoming.

The campsite is ideally place for Hay Festival - we will be back next year!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Superstay 1 review from this member

I always stay at Ashbrook for the annual Hay Festival. It's an immaculate site, run by both Denise and Alvin, who are both always so helpful. The showers are immaculate, as are the toilets. I can't fault it in anyway. I would have no doubts in recommending it to other people.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sulizhow 2 reviews from this member

Beautifully kept, compact, peaceful site with easy walking access to Hay Festival and Wye river activities/PO/general shop/garage 3 miles away. Hay-on-Wye closer either along road or across fields on footpath.

Everything is kept in tip-top condition. Toilets/showers immaculate 24/7. Both extremely helpful and friendly - Alvin dropped me into Hay one morning to do some quick grocery shopping - over and above. We'll be back next year.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tabcaravan 1 review from this member

We have stayed at Ashbrook Caravan and Camping site for 3 consecutive years. We go to the Hay Festival during our stay and there are 2 pleasant walks to the site which means we don't need our car.

It is also a short walk to Hay on Wye where there are some lovely independent shops including women's clothing, kitchen ware, butcher, chemist, bookshops and more.

The site has always been clean and tidy, shower and toilet blocks always clean with soap and toilet paper etc. There are hookups and a really helpful washing up area with a regular supply of washing up liquid, cleaners etc. This is a good place to chat to other campers and share info re pubs, restaurants etc.

Denise and Alvin have always been pleasant and approachable. When you ask them a question they are always helpful and respond immediately. They are always on site and work very long hours too!

We really appreciate that on the day of arrival and departure Alvin always helps us tow our caravan and unhitch and hitch it and asks our our stay went etc.

Previous     80 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4280 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019