Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ashbrook Caravan And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Hay On Wye > Ashbrook Caravan And Camping Reviews

Ashbrook Caravan And Camping
Penymaes
Hay On Wye
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR3 5PP
Tel: 01497 820583
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 84 Reviews
                9/10 from 84 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  84 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: DARKLORD 9 reviews from this member

 This was our second stay at Ashbrook Caravan Site, as before a warm welcome and everything as you would expect if it was your own caravan site.

From the moment you book in you are asked if you need water for the Motorhome it will be filled on request. Then you are shown to your pitch. If you require a longer hookup lead Alvin will lend you one.

Wastemasters are available to empty MH waste so you havenít got to keep moving the vehicle. The toilet block is heated and immaculate. The site is beautifully kept.

There is some road noise but it didnít bother us. And there is no play area for children again we didnít take any.

We will return 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cornela 2 reviews from this member

 Situated just a 10 minute walk to the fab town of hay on Wye, Ashbrook is an ideal location.

The site is kept spotlessly clean by Alvin and Denice who are always on hand if you have a problem.

The showers are hot and powerful and immaculate. There is a fridge / freezer and washing up facilities and free WiFi to use.

There are plenty of hardstanding pitches and many more camping pitches on the perfect grass.

I can't complement the site and its owners enough we've need coming here for years and will continue to do so.

Ant + hel 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rowantree10 1 review from this member

 Located on the B4350 Brecon Road it boasts a 4 star grading. The site is almost flat, only a slight slope from the top of the field down to the road. A mixture of hard standing and grass pitches, the site is predominantly aimed at touring caravans and motorhomes. Tents are allowed. Road noise may be a problem for some if camping close to the road.

The field is kept in immaculate order. There are litter bins located at various positions around the site. The shower and toilet blocks are spotlessly clean. However, there is a 50p charge for the showers! I canít understand why this is! At £20 a night for a camping pitch (without electric) surely a shower should be included? This is just greedy.

The washing up facilities does not reflect the 4 star rating. This shoddy little space houses 2 sinks and a single draining board. A section of the floor next to the draining board has rotted away and is a trip hazard.

The owner is always on patrol making sure his visitors are toeing the line. The site is clearly well maintained and efficiently managed but has no atmosphere whosoever. It felt like a graveyard for touring caravans and motorhomes. If you like this sort of thing, go there and enjoy. Iíll be camping elsewhere. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Katycymru 12 reviews from this member

 Alvin and Denice were brilliant, nothing was too much trouble, and always cleaning and tidying, although quite how they found anything to clean was beyond me, as everything was spotless!

Excellent value for money. Had to pay for showers, but they were warm and powerful, so didn't mind.

Aforementioned cows didn't particularly like us, but managed to skip into another field to bypass them. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Stan on tour 48 reviews from this member

 Really practical site for visiting Hay on Wye. 20 or so minutes walk into Hay with it's pubs cafes and shops.

The walk involves a partial walk across fields, there were cows in the field but they didn't bother us. Great Sunday lunch in the Three Tuns.

The site itself is in a pretty valley, near the main road. ToIlets etc first class as was the free WiFi. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: AllTrue 1 review from this member

 There is nothing that I can really add that has not already been covered by reviewers Gusmax (May 2018) and Scrambling Goth (August 2017).

Wife and I stayed here to attend the excellent World War 1 Commemoration 'Home At Last' in Hay On Wye.

Denice and Alvin are what all camp site owners should be like - very friendly, welcoming and will help in any way they can. Facilities and site in general are well maintained and spotless. There is no shop on site. Price is very good.

A tip for visitors who walk to Hay On Wye: Make a note of all taxi phone numbers listed on site in case you don't feel like walking back - they are difficult to find in the town itself.

This site is thoroughly recommended. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gusmax 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site bank holiday in May, itís well signposted when we arrived we where met by the owners who where fantastic took us to our pitch explained everything to us,

This is the best kept site I have stayed on all the facilities where spotless, location is great about a 20 minute walk into hay.

Will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scrambling Goth 2 reviews from this member

 Three middle-aged adults spent ten days here under canvas in late August/early Sept. We relied on UKcampsite to find this place: the excellent reviews are well deserved.

It's well signposted, with ample warning of when to turn off the (not too busy) Hay-Brecon B road. Site access is via a security barrier, with plenty of pull-in room and ample delay before the thing descends again should you possess a particularly large rig or, like me, be all fingers and thumbs at keypads.

The site is level, spacious, well lit (but not floodlit like a prison camp) and with good roads and well-tended grass. Quite a few of the caravans were clearly there for the season: rare are those who carry potted shrubs in a tourer.

Denice and Alvin are (as others have said) friendly, hard-working gems. We were delayed, and they rang my mobile to check we were ok (it was on silent, naturally. They showed us to a perfect, generous pitch, and when I wasn't sure my hook-up cable would reach, Alvin produced an extension 'just in case'. They were always about the place tending, cleaning and generally tweaking. We rate the shower block as up with the best - quite possibly the best - of any we've been to. Spotless, spacious (and warm).

The location's great - about 20 easy minutes on foot into Hay (outdoor shops, wonderful pen shop, good butchers, bread, deli - and books). Parking in Hay on Market Day (Thursday) can be tight. The road over to Llanthony is not for the faint-hearted, but those blessed with schoolboy humour will find there an easy path up Twmpa and brilliant views. Handy for the eastern part of the Beacons, the Harvey Brecon Beacons E sheet is perfect.

Plan is to head back there next year. Probably says everything. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sargol 2 reviews from this member

 A really cracking campsite. Toilets and facilities spotless - easy access and walking distance to Hay. Owners can't do enough to help - turned up with a screw in one of my tyres.

Alvin the owner took tyre off - took it to town, got it repaired and refitted it whilst we were out.

A very good overall and reasonably priced experience and will definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Printini 5 reviews from this member

 What a gem of a site, so clean and plenty of room between pitches. The facilities are spotless. In fact the whole site is the same.

The owners are really friendly nice people. So glad we chose to stay here and goes without saying that we will return. 


Previous     84 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ashbrook Caravan And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ashbrook Caravan And Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Ashbrook Caravan And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hay On Wye      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1289 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement