Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Ivy Bank House Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Ivy Bank House Campsite Reviews

Ivy Bank House Campsite
Galphay Road
Kirkby Malzeard
Ripon
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG4 3SS
Tel: 07716422453  or  01765 650156
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15 grass and 9 EHOs
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 14 Reviews
                10/10 from 14 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jaffacake 13 reviews from this member

Excellent place, slight slope, good value, friendly helpful owner. We went mid-week and it was quiet.

Toilets were clean, recycling facilities excellent, you will need a vehicle because the site is remote.

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Yorkshire Bumbles 1 review from this member

We hardly want to leave a review, so lovely and laid back is it here. Sam works hard to make sure everything remains idyllic, welcoming, clean and quiet.

A lovely small site, in gorgeous countryside, close to Harrogate and Ripon and lots of other great places too. Lovely village, great fish and chips if you fancy a treat one night.

Fire pits available and wood available at the local village store.

If you don't fancy pitching your own tent or caravan, Sam has a few Bell Tents and has just converted a horse box. A quirky addition to glamping.

We're about to go back for a second away from it all weekend.

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: White Rose 22 reviews from this member

Lovely small campsite with a very enthusiastic owner. It has EHU for 8 or 9 pitches, a pot wash (with microwave and kettle) in a concerted horsebox, metal drums available for fire pits, two well-heated shower rooms with toilets (no problem with queuing when we were there but the site wasnít busy), and a snug with sofa/tv/fridge freezer.

The local village (Kirkby Malzeard) has a childrenís playground a short stroll away across a field, thereís also a fish and chip shop, a butcher, a village shop and a pub that combines as an Indian restaurant :-)

The views are spectacular, the campsite is very relaxed and the location is excellent. Handy for Ripon (if travelling with children, try the cityís three museums - Workhouse, Police/prison, Courthouse), Fountains Abbey/Studley Royal, Brimham Rocks, Newby Hall, Pateley Bridge (esp the pies from the butcher), the Druidís Circle at Ilton and lunch at the Bivouac, and the follies in Hackfall Woods.
via mobile

Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lh6892 6 reviews from this member

Visited this very quiet campsite in beautiful weather at end of February. Excellent value for money at £15 per night. Heating in shower block. Very peaceful amid tranquil surrounding countryside-our favourite kind of site.

Sam, the owner really helpful and knowledgeable of local area. Short walk to village with real ale pub and friendly landlord and marvellous butcher, also visited Galphay which was delightful.

Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Smiggy50 1 review from this member

Really nice level site. The washing up area is an old cattle trailer, quite funky. It was very quiet when we were there. Easy walk into village, good pub with real ales.
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vicpic 1 review from this member

What a fantastic little campsite, so relaxed and friendly with a lovely facilities. Child and dog friendly.

Just a few minutes walk from Kirkby Malzeard, where there is a pub, shop, great butchers and a wonderful little tea room where the cakes are all home made.

We will definitely be staying here again.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MistyMoon 6 reviews from this member

Great location and easy to get to from A1(M) - the lanes are wide enough to allow other vehicles to pass with ease. The views out over the hills are great, it's very open and the field is very generous in size allowing more than enough space between units. 3 EHU points with 3 connections per point, 2 water taps and Chemical Disposal point.

Although it's advertised as having WiFi, this is not reachable from the pitches - if you stood at the end of the field (nearer the House) then you may get enough signal to connect, however you can get 4G and great phone signal. The road is busier than you would expect but the vehicles are slow and mostly farm related - overall a pleasantly quiet site, with the village Church chiming in the distance.

Sam the owner is really friendly and can offer any advice you need - although currently a CL site with 5 pitches - it is changing later in the year to Camping & Caravan Club, so it will be a lot busier and at least 2 more fields opening up for camping. They are also currently building a Shower and Toilet Block, with a Reception and small Shop planned - the plan is also to upgrade the WiFi so that it is central to the camping area.

The weather prior to my visit had been wet! Very wet and although the field was squelchy after the rain, it did soon dry out - but the work vehicles for the new Shower and Toilet block had been on and off the field making the only access into a rutted muddy mess and although I could get my car off and the van at the end of the week, it was a worry and not nice to drive over. I think a little more consideration should have been taken, especially as they knew that I was coming.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jolaverick 3 reviews from this member

Just finishing a 5 night stay at this beautiful site. The site is on a large field with plenty of space between units. The field is glently sloping yet the van was level with no issues.

There is no playground on the site but there is playing fields, tennis courts and a park a short walk away and our children enjoyed just playing on the spacious caravan field. There is no toilet facilities but that didn't bother us for £12 a night this site is definitely one we will return to again.

Highside butchers in the local village was not to missed as the food was reasonably priced, of very good quality with helpful staff. The site was convenient for trips into ripon, light water valley, masham and Brymore ice cream parlour, Brimham Rocks and Pateley Bridge.

The site is surrounded by fields with sheep, lambs and calves, the views are beautiful and the owner was very friendly and helpful. Well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JuliePooley 8 reviews from this member

WOW! What a fantastic CL! Large field where you could pitch wherever you liked - plenty of electric hook ups! Although the field was sloping we were surprisingly level when we checked our caravan.

The owner Sam came to us on our first day - what a lovely chap - chatty and very knowledgeable of things to do and the surrounding area. Views from the site are stunning and watching the lambs or cows in the nearby fields while listening to the curlews makes you feel that you are truly in the countryside.

Pub/curry house in the village served excellent 'meal deal' on a Thursday night - poppadoms, starter, curry rice/nan bread for £10 - can't go wrong - washed down with a pint of Copper Dragon! Can't wait to return to this lovely CL and at just £11 a night including hook up - no matter how many are in the van you can't go wrong.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Yachty 19 reviews from this member

We have just been to the Ivy Bank CL site, what a brilliant site! We met Sam the owner and he couldn't have been more helpful, the pitches are huge with two drinking water taps on site and the waste water well out of the way in the corner.

We were very impressed with the space that we had even though there were another four vans on the site. It is in easy walking distance to the village of Kirkby Malzeard which has everything that you need. This is a definite gem that we will certainly be visiting again and again as it is also handy for Ripon, Masham, Fountains Abbey etc.

It is a slightly sloping site but it never bothered us, a couple of degrees is nothing. The cost is now £11. 00 a night and worth every penny compared to a few that we stayed at for twice that!

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ripon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3063 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019