Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ivy Bank House Campsite & Glamping

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Ivy Bank House Campsite & Glamping Reviews

Ivy Bank House Campsite & Glamping
Galphay Road
Kirkby Malzeard
Ripon
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG4 3SS
Tel: 07716422453  or  01765 650156
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 41 grass and 9 EHOs
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 20 Reviews
                9/10 from 20 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Horwood007 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a week staying here. We had an nice large electric tent pitch. Easy to book online with good communication from the owner.

Greeted by a very nice helpful lady who helped us choose where to pitch as it was very wet and muddy on our arrival. We picked this site due to its location and we were not disappointed.

Lovely views and a good base to visit nearby Ripon, Masham & Harrogate. Also some nice walks around the campsite. We liked the quirky/ rustic facilities, the showers were nice And hot. It was very handy having the freezer to refreeze our ice blocks and microwave came in handy too.

The owner Sam was also very friendly. The thing that let this site down was the lack of cleaning, even more so because of the current situation. There were cleaning products in the toilets and to be fair the soap and toilet paper was plentiful, But no hand sanitizer at all.

We arrived on a very busy weekend and as far as Iím aware nothing was cleaned Thoroughly until the following Friday. This really lets the campsite down. It was very quiet in the week And we felt very Covid safe but it did get very busy (and noisy) on the Friday night. The owner did spread groups out around the site to be fair to him but there was Very little social distancing going on, lots of big groups Of 3/4 & more Tents / vans.

There is a local pub which serves nice food nearby and a local shop, takeaway and butchers all within walking distance. We gave this site a 7/10, mostly marked down because of the lack of cleaning.

Although I have to say it is the most expensive campsite we have ever stayed at and for the facilities on offer I do think it is overpriced. £25 for a night out of season. Saying all that we had a lovely time. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Amyba2 1 review from this member

 We arrived during the bank holiday to a pretty full campsite and were placed in a nice location in the top corner with electric hook up.

We did not realise the campsite was really good for kids so there were quite a few on site playing in and around the tent (near the tree swing)

The campsite was well equipped although the showers were powerful and plenty of hot water they were not very clean. I felt that during the current times with covid-19 that the upkeep of the toilets and showers should have been sanitised more. I attempted to do this myself but there were no cleaning products around that were safe enough to use.

Nice location and good for the kids (if we had some)

Thanks 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Deanob 1 review from this member

 Owner was very laid back and attentive.

Location didn't have much to do when you came off the site.

Site was clean, tidy, peaceful and a nice break from the rat race. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: ACampingWeShallGo 1 review from this member

 Proís - Nicely located, walkable to local pub and excellent local take away.

2 open fields set up, no set pitches so pitch where you fancy.

Quirky facilities - horsebox washing up (which was grubby, we used the external one) some fixed glamping facilities for hire and a mobile hot tub.

Conís - Facilities poorly maintained and not cleaned to a decent standard. Not cleaned daily.

No sanitiser to be seen and hand wash and toilet roll not always topped up - so did run out in some toilets during our stay.

Considering we visited during the current pandemic and the site has been closed for the last few months.

Toilet roll holders always falling open; Mirror dangling on a screw and not fixed, one of toilets had a shower curtain closure, never seen that before!

2 external showers and 2 internal ones - which were always grimy, one of the flushes on the toilets in the shower room was mouldy from all the steam.

(2 extra external toilets were being built outside during our stay as they were expecting a busy weekend. )

There was a bucket and mop which no one seemed to use - maybe one in each shower would encourage usage and more signage etc - but the overall toilet area wasnít clean to begin with so people are less likely to maintain.

Customer service - Booked via email, dead easy - bank transfer for half and cash for remainder.

We were challenged whether weíd booked the correct no of people & tents - in a way that we hadnít been honest and were going to be checked. So that was disappointing and was delivered in a very un-customer friendly way. We had booked correctly and nothing else was said.

Fire pits for hire - 10er, logs 10er, Std pitch 2 adults 2 kids (under 16) one car - 25quid.

Overall my impression of the site was that itís run for the revenue - location wise they wonít struggle for custom but I imagine a lot of it is not repeat; we wonít return. 


Date of Visit: January 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paulsarover 1 review from this member

 Beautiful location. Showers very good.

Was very wet when we were there and got our caravan stuck.

Sam was was on hand to tow our van off, so no problems.

Will recommend. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: December 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Joness 1 review from this member

 Beautiful location, very high up.

Stunning views, ideal to photograph sunrise and sunset.

Quirky site, decent facilities, on farm.

Would definitely visit again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jaffacake 13 reviews from this member

 Excellent place, slight slope, good value, friendly helpful owner. We went mid-week and it was quiet.

Toilets were clean, recycling facilities excellent, you will need a vehicle because the site is remote. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Yorkshire Bumbles 1 review from this member

 We hardly want to leave a review, so lovely and laid back is it here. Sam works hard to make sure everything remains idyllic, welcoming, clean and quiet.

A lovely small site, in gorgeous countryside, close to Harrogate and Ripon and lots of other great places too. Lovely village, great fish and chips if you fancy a treat one night.

Fire pits available and wood available at the local village store.

If you don't fancy pitching your own tent or caravan, Sam has a few Bell Tents and has just converted a horse box. A quirky addition to glamping.

We're about to go back for a second away from it all weekend. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: White Rose 24 reviews from this member

 Lovely small campsite with a very enthusiastic owner. It has EHU for 8 or 9 pitches, a pot wash (with microwave and kettle) in a concerted horsebox, metal drums available for fire pits, two well-heated shower rooms with toilets (no problem with queuing when we were there but the site wasnít busy), and a snug with sofa/tv/fridge freezer.

The local village (Kirkby Malzeard) has a childrenís playground a short stroll away across a field, thereís also a fish and chip shop, a butcher, a village shop and a pub that combines as an Indian restaurant :-)

The views are spectacular, the campsite is very relaxed and the location is excellent. Handy for Ripon (if travelling with children, try the cityís three museums - Workhouse, Police/prison, Courthouse), Fountains Abbey/Studley Royal, Brimham Rocks, Newby Hall, Pateley Bridge (esp the pies from the butcher), the Druidís Circle at Ilton and lunch at the Bivouac, and the follies in Hackfall Woods. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lh6892 6 reviews from this member

 Visited this very quiet campsite in beautiful weather at end of February. Excellent value for money at £15 per night. Heating in shower block. Very peaceful amid tranquil surrounding countryside-our favourite kind of site.

Sam, the owner really helpful and knowledgeable of local area. Short walk to village with real ale pub and friendly landlord and marvellous butcher, also visited Galphay which was delightful. 


Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ivy Bank House Campsite & Glamping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ivy Bank House Campsite & Glamping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Ivy Bank House Campsite & Glamping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ripon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2399 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement