Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ivy Bank House Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Ivy Bank House Campsite
Galphay Road
Kirkby Malzeard
Ripon
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG4 3SS
Tel: 07716422453  or  01765 650156
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15 grass and 9 EHOs
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 9 Reviews
                10/10 from 9 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes (no tents) and is for Club Members only - you can usually join on arrival.

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vicpic 1 review from this member

What a fantastic little campsite, so relaxed and friendly with a lovely facilities. Child and dog friendly.

Just a few minutes walk from Kirkby Malzeard, where there is a pub, shop, great butchers and a wonderful little tea room where the cakes are all home made.

We will definitely be staying here again.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MistyMoon 6 reviews from this member

Great location and easy to get to from A1(M) - the lanes are wide enough to allow other vehicles to pass with ease. The views out over the hills are great, it's very open and the field is very generous in size allowing more than enough space between units. 3 EHU points with 3 connections per point, 2 water taps and Chemical Disposal point. Although it's advertised as having WiFi, this is not reachable from the pitches - if you stood at the end of the field (nearer the House) then you may get enough signal to connect, however you can get 4G and great phone signal. The road is busier than you would expect but the vehicles are slow and mostly farm related - overall a pleasantly quiet site, with the village Church chiming in the distance.

Sam the owner is really friendly and can offer any advice you need - although currently a CL site with 5 pitches - it is changing later in the year to Camping & Caravan Club, so it will be a lot busier and at least 2 more fields opening up for camping. They are also currently building a Shower and Toilet Block, with a Reception and small Shop planned - the plan is also to upgrade the WiFi so that it is central to the camping area.

The weather prior to my visit had been wet! Very wet and although the field was squelchy after the rain, it did soon dry out - but the work vehicles for the new Shower and Toilet block had been on and off the field making the only access into a rutted muddy mess and although I could get my car off and the van at the end of the week, it was a worry and not nice to drive over. I think a little more consideration should have been taken, especially as they knew that I was coming.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jolaverick 3 reviews from this member

Just finishing a 5 night stay at this beautiful site. The site is on a large field with plenty of space between units. The field is glently sloping yet the van was level with no issues. There is no playground on the site but there is playing fields, tennis courts and a park a short walk away and our children enjoyed just playing on the spacious caravan field. There is no toilet facilities but that didn't bother us for 12 a night this site is definitely one we will return to again. Highside butchers in the local village was not to missed as the food was reasonably priced, of very good quality with helpful staff. The site was convenient for trips into ripon, light water valley, masham and Brymore ice cream parlour, Brimham Rocks and Pateley Bridge. The site is surrounded by fields with sheep, lambs and calves, the views are beautiful and the owner was very friendly and helpful. Well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JuliePooley 8 reviews from this member

WOW! What a fantastic CL! Large field where you could pitch wherever you liked - plenty of electric hook ups! Although the field was sloping we were surprisingly level when we checked our caravan. The owner Sam came to us on our first day - what a lovely chap - chatty and very knowledgeable of things to do and the surrounding area. Views from the site are stunning and watching the lambs or cows in the nearby fields while listening to the curlews makes you feel that you are truly in the countryside. Pub/curry house in the village served excellent 'meal deal' on a Thursday night - poppadoms, starter, curry rice/nan bread for 10 - can't go wrong - washed down with a pint of Copper Dragon! Can't wait to return to this lovely CL and at just 11 a night including hook up - no matter how many are in the van you can't go wrong.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Yachty 19 reviews from this member

We have just been to the Ivy Bank CL site, what a brilliant site! We met Sam the owner and he couldn't have been more helpful, the pitches are huge with two drinking water taps on site and the waste water well out of the way in the corner. We were very impressed with the space that we had even though there were another four vans on the site. It is in easy walking distance to the village of Kirkby Malzeard which has everything that you need. This is a definite gem that we will certainly be visiting again and again as it is also handy for Ripon, Masham, Fountains Abbey etc. It is a slightly sloping site but it never bothered us, a couple of degrees is nothing. The cost is now 11. 00 a night and worth every penny compared to a few that we stayed at for twice that!

Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ilovemyweedog 1 review from this member

Sshh, don't tell anyone that this is the most perfect site! A warm and friendly greeting from the owner who soon told us of the local delights. The site is peaceful, relaxing and spacious. Although none of the usual facilities, this is outweighed by the beauty of the surrounding countryside. We will definitely be visiting again soon.

The village is accessed by a gentle and picturesque walk where there is a chippie, butchers, village store and local pub.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wezweld 1 review from this member

This is a lovely site near to the town of Ripon. With great links to the Yorkshire dales.

The site is slightly sloping but it has level areas so all the vans on site needed no levelling wedges. Good electric hook ups. And the site is well maintained. Re-cycling is available-- plastic, glass, paper/card. Tin cans.

Thanks to Sam/owner land rover fanatic who helped with parts. You could not wish to stay at a nicer site. Will definitely go back.

Go to the local pub/indian restaurant, Queens Head, nice landloard family's welcome 5mins walk. Local shops, village store. Butchers. Chip shop. (we tow large twin axel caravan, access no problem with care).

No play area, no toilet block, but the price reflects this 10.00 p/n inc electric. No extra for dog, kids, adults, like some sites.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Swicky 8 reviews from this member

Excellent, fairly level site, loads of space between the hook up points. Stayed here for just one night with our motorhome, but wish we'd stayed longer! Quiet location. Sam is a very friendly owner who gave us some valauble tips on what to do, where to go/eat etc. There's also an information hut with leaflets etc.

An excellent area for cycling (e. G. To Fountains Abbey, around 6 miles each way - not too hilly, and some nice field walks straight off the site. Kirkby Malzeard is only 5 minutes walk along the road and has a few small shops and 2 pubs, one of which, the Queen's Head, is half pub half Indian restaurant, sounds crazy but it works! - great beer and better than average curry. AND, as we came out the pub, a MASSIVE meteor passed over (the one that was widely reported on March 3rd) - best thing I've seen since the Cornish Eclipse!

Note there are no toilets, showers or water /waste water facilities here.

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Moomooland 10 reviews from this member

What a beautiful place this is. So peaceful and Sam the owner was very helpful. We were the only people on the site and we stayed for a long weekend (3 nights).

The village itself is lovely and all the locals are very friendly. There is a public footpath that leads from the site down into the village.

We visited Pateley Bridge and the famous sweet shop which was shown on TV's 'Hairy Bikers'. Ideal for families and also dog friendly.

10 per night, excellent! Beautiful spot and one I will be revisiting.


Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


678 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.1016