Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Brickyard

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wells Next The Sea > The Brickyard Reviews

The Brickyard
Peterstone
Wells Next The Sea
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR23 1RR
Tel: 01328 730663
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: Early April To End September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 18 Reviews
                8/10 from 18 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Nila1234 1 review from this member

 Excellent small friendly well run campsite. Every time we return to the magical place next to the beautiful Holkham estate Tim seems to make further changes which always enhance the Brickyard camping experience.

This year despite the relatively poor weather the children had a wonderful time playing in the barn whilst keeping warm in front of a big wood burner.

We had a few problem of our own with our vehicles which Tim & his new assistant Baf were always on hand to offer as much help as they could to ensure we continued to enjoy our holiday.

The new additional shower and toilet block were a great addition.

One of the best campsites of its type in the UK. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dottylou 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent campsite for a relaxed off grid (almost ) kinda feel. There was an outdoor but private shower and flushing loos.

Spent the night in a small glade of our own.

Friendly owner and good social area with bar and pizza oven although on this trip we didnít use as we were backpacking and pretty exhausted and ready for a peaceful nights sleep, which was easy as it was lovely and private and quiet. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sarahc97318ubi 1 review from this member

 Very quiet and pitches very private new toilet and shower were fab.

Just wish we had booked dates without the rain 😳

Used the pizza oven with wonderful results dinner was delicious xx 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Bromsgrove-Man 7 reviews from this member

 Enjoyed our stay at the Norfolk Brickyard. Generally it was very peaceful and the pitches are mostly private so you can have your own space. It is smaller and everything, and everyone, is closer together than the impression I got from the website listing but for something a bit different it made a nice change and delivered.

The pitches do vary in size though and none we were shown were very level. We chose the smallest as it had the largest patch of flat ground, then we were charged extra for the size of our tent which given that we were taking up the least space on the site seemed a little much (There is mention of a charge for very large tents on the website but no size listed, when we got our tent up we were told it was anything over 2 meters).

The brick firepit on each pitch was a nice touch and was handy for some heat and light in the evenings.

It was the most expensive site we've stayed at all year and I do think for the price they are charging they could spread a little topsoil on the pitches to at least make them somewhat level, I know the site is natural but it is also a campsite after all. Also they could perhaps provide toilet paper as this is the only site we've stayed at where we had to go out and buy our own.

It is all basic, as the website makes clear, but the shower and toilet were fine. Some queuing in the morning with their only being one but that was all. I'm not sure we would necessarily return given the cost and pitches as we would rather explore other sites in the area but I am very glad we visited. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Guvi78 2 reviews from this member

 If you are looking for a campsite with a difference then this is it.

Imagine a youngish wild woodland, quite dense, and than someone makes a track with small clearances, some big enough to house 1 tent, some for 2, 3, 4, from where you are the neighbouring tents are not in direct view.

There is plenty of wild flowers. This is my idea of heaven! 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lesleyaal 1 review from this member

 We had a lovely spacious pitch with a great fire pit. Drop loo was handily nearby. The first evening we saw a lot of birds and thoroughly enjoyed the peace and quiet.

The next two nights (Friday and Saturday) a very large group arrived on the large pitch next to us. They were very noisy, playing music and revving their engines.

It didnít spoil our stay but itís worth noting that the facility to accommodate very large groups means that the site can be very noisy - not peace and quiet, as advertised. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Naich 17 reviews from this member

 An absolutely beautiful site, with all the pitches secluded and nestled amongst the trees. The pitches are well spaced so you don't get any disturbances from your neighbours and although there is no play area, there is plenty for the kids to explore. There is a communal barn and pizza oven, which is lit 24/7 to cook pizza, potatoes etc. It also houses a freezer for ice packs. There are plenty of water stand pipes around the site.

Obviously nowhere is perfect, but this site has one major problem: the toilets. There are two toilets and only one of them is flushing. I've used long drop toilets before on other sites and they didn't stink like this one. When the flushing toilet was out of order for 24 hours and the whole site had to use the long drop, it wasn't pleasant. Both toilets also had large knot holes which made some people feel uncomfortable, and no toilet paper was provided.

Although he seemed pleasant at first, the owner was a bit off-hand with us on several occasions. Once, I think he was grumpy because someone put out his pizza oven fire, but there was no need to take it out on us.

Washing up facilities are always useful on sites, but this one doesn't have any. Also bring plenty of Deet because there are mozzies galore.

I actually really liked this site, but I have a very thick skin and very little sense of smell. For other people in my party, the issues with the toilets and the owner mean we that sadly, won't be coming back again. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hairless 1 review from this member

 Haven't been camping in years (not since kids) but decided last minute to give it a go. My older two boys wanted a campfire so that criteria, the weather forecast and the fact it was rather last minute led me to discover this campsite.

Despite the lack of facilities I loved the look of the site and the fact that each pitch was secluded so we enquired about spaces and to our delight they had spaces so off we went.

I wasn't disappointed. The site is exactly as the pictures show. The friendly owner (Tim) met us near their house and walked down to the pitches with my husband with me following slowly in the car. Tim pointed out the various aspects of the site then we stopped and Tim pointed out several pitches we could choose from. To our unexpected delight a flushing toilet and a hot shower had recently been installed so we didn't have to use the compost loo or the 'brickyard shower' which I have to say I was very grateful for.

We chose what seemed to be the largest pitch as we had a big tent and a big car. Unfortunately it did also seem to be on a route to the shower and toilet and while most people did respect our privacy and went down a slightly different way there were a few people who just walked straight through although it was to the side of our pitch. All pitches have a firepit and we bought some firewood from Tim (be warned though they included very large pieces of wood so you either need something to chop them up a bit or smaller pieces to burn). Tim had told us to supplement the fire with twigs and things we could collect around the site but we couldn't find much and we ended up buying some kindling wood from a shop in a nearby village.

When we arrived we could see only one other car in a neighbouring pitch but couldn't see their tent from our pitch and although a few more cars turned up the most we could see from our pitch were a couple of cars parked up. The first night was lovely and peaceful and we kept having to tell the kids to keep it down as we felt they were disturbing other people. Unfortunately the next night was a friday and a change in people in nearby pitches resulted in lots more children around who were running round the site playing hide and seek and not caring about going onto other peoples pitches, however when darkness fell they went back to their own pitches and were quiet so they didn't disturb us too much. The second night was a clear night so we got a great view of the night sky (take your binoculars or small telescope if you are a bit of a star gazer).

As I said a flushing loo and hot shower had recently been installed and the toilet was a lovely toilet and wouldn't have looked out of place in any house. It is in a little wooden hut as is the shower so although you get hot water you are still quite exposed to the elements. The water for the shower was lovely and warm and the pebbled fl oor was a lovely feature.

I was worried about accessing the site but the track is not too bumpy or narrow and is not very long so even I could cope with it.

There is no play area but Tim said the kids were welcome to explore the site as long as they were careful to stay within the boundaries of his land but as we only really were around first thing in the morning and last thing at night we didn't really get chance to explore.

The guide for the review says to say about nearby facilities. Mmm. To get to the site my husband took me through Burnham Market in the middle of the afternoon. While a pretty village it was also very popular so their were lots of parked cars on the roads making it very tricky to drive through. I can however recommend the chip shop (be prepared for a wait though) and the chinese next to the chip shop. On the first night we tried to go to Wells in the early evening looking for a chip shop but couldn't find anywhere to park. There is a very large car park on the edge of the village but annoyingly it closes at 7 so as we arrived after 6 it wasn't worth the money. The second day we decided to go to Sherringham. At all costs avoid the A149! It goes through a couple of villages where the road is so narrow you can barely get two cars passing and then they allow cars to park on the road as well meaning we were having to wait several minutes each time for cars coming the other way. If there weren't parked cars then there were no pavements meaning there were people having to walk on the road which again meant you had to wait for cars coming through the other way. On the way back we took the A148 to Fakenham and then got back to the site from there, a much better way. We tried to find a pub the second night to have a birthday meal but were disappointed by the lack of pubs meaning the ones were found were all full so we ended up at the aforesaid chinese.

Overall the site was lovely and I would go again like a shot but the roads around Norfolk have put me off going back again but I think I have been spoilt and will have a hard time finding another site as lovely and peaceful as this. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Mrs C R Heron 1 review from this member

 I stayed at The Brickyard from 14th to 20th August.

I was met by Tim, the friendly owner and given a choice of sites to accommodate our party of large RV, tent and campervan.

Each pitch was spacious yet private and close enough to all conveniences. We loved the electric shower with its wide housing warm water and beatiful views. It felt truly outdoors. We were intrigued by the bucket shower, I shall try it next time.

The water points were easily accessible.

The wild pitch borders held plenty of wildlife, including beautiful butterflies and moths. On our first day I collected enough brambles to cook with. Every pitch had a firepit. Logs were £10 a bag, very good quality dry wood delivered by Tim to you pitch.

The site is below the flight path of many geese and ducks at dawn and dusk, so take your camera.

The site itself is unusual and historical with crumbling ruins used in innovative ways as well as some just waiting to discovered. There is a barn with information points, armchairs and books for bad weather. There is also a double buggy for parents to borrow for small children. Tim is open to suggestions for ways to use the barn. At night it is not lit, great for star gazing.

Locally we visited Holkham beach, wonderful for swimming and walking. Wells next the Sea was great for shops and harbour activities.

I want to return to this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Musikate 3 reviews from this member

 This campsite is one of the most expensive I've stayed in for what you get. That said it was a beautifully secluded and private site. When we went there was some building work going on which meant that one morning our peace was shattered quite early, but apart from that we had peace and quiet. The pitches are separated from each other by bushes and trees in this woodland setting. Each has its own fire pit loosely constructed from bricks, it's an old brickyard. You can buy logs from the owner - very small bag for £10 - or you can bring your own and forage for bits and pieces of dead wood in the surroundings. There is a newly constructed shower and flushing toilet very quirkily designed for a campsite. There is also a long drop toilet. While we were there it looked like the owner was preparing a glamping tent. I would give this campsite 10/10 if it was not so expensive. 3 nights and a minuscule bag of wood cost us £85. We were two adults with a small tent. We did have a van with us due to car troubles but even so it seems expensive. If you want to get away and get back to nature and don't want the facilities that normal campsites have then this is for you - as the price was per unit rather than per person I'm also guessing that if there were more of you it would work out more economical. The equivalent bag of wood you would pay £5 for from a garage. There are no other facilities, no playground etc so do not come here if you want traditional camping clutter. 


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Brickyard child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Brickyard?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Brickyard dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wells Next The Sea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1777 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement