Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eype House Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

Eype House Caravan & Camping Park
Eype
Bridport
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 6AL
Tel: 01308 424903
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 20
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 33 Reviews
                8/10 from 33 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Happyday 4 reviews from this member

Super site, couldn't be closer to a fab, clean, pebbly beach, with great views. Friendly helpful staff at check in / shop. Sloping site but tent pitches are stepped so had a flat space for tent and car with some effort at privacy with plant life around pitch. Quiet enough in evening for us to get to sleep. Felt safe for kids but no play park or anything, this didn't bother us as beach was so close. Perfect also for coastal walks. We headed along to West Bay one eve, just 1 mile each way. Excellent, clean facilities with free showers and access to w/m, dryer, iron, phone charger all for reasonable fee. Nearest supermarket/petrol station 1. 5m away in Bridport.

Only way could be improved is to open shop bit earlier for milk sales (9am), and be aware if in a big vehicle or towing trailer that its accessed via small, steep road with limited passing spaces.

Delighted to see great recycling availability, shame so many other campers didn't use this and put their cans, cardboard and plastic bottles in general waste.

We will definitely return.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lynks101 1 review from this member

Amazing place off the beaten track, down a narrow lane but easy for small to medium size campervans. The electric hookup was pay for what use.

Pitches are up a hill overlooking the beech offer an amazing view out to sea, sun rises were spectacular. Grass pitches that were well mowed

I understand the Toilet and Shower facilities have been updated recently both were modern and very clean and smelled fresh

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RJWalking 2 reviews from this member

I reckon mine was 1 of the largest motorhomes to get to the site. The road is narrow & overgrown through the village down to the site. Later on in the season it is likely to be impassable to coach-built vehicles.

To have small, independent flat pitches, high up on the edge of the hill, looking straight out over the bay towards Portland was exhilarating & stupendous. Sunrise was glorious.

Facilities were good. Only minus point: the shower lights turned off in the middle of a shower, which meant fumbling around in the dark, & at this point I slipped over on the very smooth tray.

The walk into West Bay was not far.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hungryhens 1 review from this member

Stunning location but not suitable for larger vehicles/campers.

Gardens neat and camping area clean and tidy.

Clean facilities for washing up.

Toilet block basic but clean. No room to hang washbag etc or shelves to place items on.

Showers although clean, have a severe problem with shower heads and pressure. The shower sprays out to around 6 feet and not actually on your head so trying to wash off shampoo efficiently was challenging.

No electric plug sockets to use for charging your phone etc.

Shop on site will charge mobiles for 50pence a go.

Shop expensive - 1. 50 for takeaway cup of tea(cheap teabags)

The New Inn pub (dog friendly)about 10m walk away and serves good food with higher than average prices.

Bridport is closest town around 10m drive away and has everything you may need, supermarket, pubs, cafes, charity shops etc.

Would stay there again if they fixed the showers.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mtich 1 review from this member

Nice looking site on arrival. After being told which pitch numbers we had, we proceeded up the steep hill into the camping area. Most pitches looked flat. The location was just above the beach and even West Bay is only a short walk away. The site was clean and grass areas looked after. The pitches are on a hillside with levelled ledges with plenty of room for a tent and car.

Our pitches had obviously not been checked after the previous guests departure (tent pegs still in the ground).

On visiting the Wash/Toilet block we found it was untidy, dirty with plenty of cobwebs and dead insects in the soap dispenser. Taps did not turn off properly and toilets were hard to flush. The block looked very tired. We stayed for 2 nights and in that time the floor and toilets were cleaned.

The Shower block looked new in comparison, only to our disappointment the lack of water pressure meant only one of us could shower at a time and even this was a weak spray (there are 3 cubicles!)

The site staff did not seem interested in our comments in regards to the showers. We had to speak to site again ref. Our pitch. Unfortunately for us the strong winds had broken poles and flattened our tents. We asked if there were any other pitches, again little help but we were allowed to move.

As each pitch cost 22 per night, I would have expected more from the facilities.

The beach is a short walk and a friendly Pub The New Inn, up the road was very nice.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dongle12 5 reviews from this member

We have stayed here on several occasions but usually in a tent. It is a small campsite. The toilet block is small but very clean. There is a small shop and cafeteria selling nice snacks. You can get fish and chips on certain nights. The views are spectacular, I imagine all campers have a sea view. The beach is a stones throw away. Right on the Jurassic path/coast. Great to explore. The local pub is a short walk, ok for children. It was peaceful at night.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: SBCamper 7 reviews from this member

Just back from a lovely weekend in our small camper at Eype House. Great level pitch with sea views. Facilities were fine although best to avoid 'peak' times for showers and washing facilities when site is full. Shop was well enough stocked for basics you always leave behind (like washing up sponges and ibuprofen!). Didn't walk as far as the village pub but found the local hotel bar was welcoming and their garden lovely - didn't eat there but menu looked good.

As right on the coast path it would be rude not to walk into West Bay which was a nice bustling spot for a pint before retracing steps back over the cliff to the site. Lots of dogs but pitches are spaced well enough from each other to stop them being a nuisance. We will definitely go back.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Blackcapsteve 5 reviews from this member

Another visit, after being forced to leave in high winds last year. Booked a pitch on the right hand side away from cliff. Wonderful, with breathtaking scenery.

There is no walk along the beach to West Bay any more. A mud slide has blocked the way. So its over the top.

Tried fishing for the first time on the beach. There is a lot of weed/boulders out there and I caught nothing but came home with a lot less tackle than I started out with. (try West Bexington. )

First time visitors to this site have to pinch themselves as to its beauty. Its basic, but friendly. A tad expensive maybe, but the hot water is plentiful and the showers free.

I'll be back - maybe even this year again.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Palmer2 18 reviews from this member

What fab weather to start the summer season, first stop West Bay, so found Eype House on walk so booked in the same evening.

Warning, very tight lane down to site for our 6meter home, wouldn't go bigger.

A fairly basic site no electric hookup but perfectly adequate showers toilets and laundry room.

Could be difficult if wet ground also avoid cliff edge pitches in a tent if windy weather reported, one family moved to hedge side due to wind. Nicely laid out pitches tiered to the top, bit of a walk down hill to toilet block but oh so worth the fantastic views and sense of wellbeing.

Pub and Hotel nearby both OK but not too difficult walk into West Bay over the hill or as we did along the beach which is only a few steps from the site.

Little shop on site for some basics and a lovely setting for a peaceful cuppa break.

West Bay offers much in the way of pubs, food, beach and the river with boat hire.

For the fit walkers you can walk across to Burton Bradstock, lovely beach or the other way towards Seatown and Golden Cap.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Samoo 1 review from this member

Pitch 14 - stunning views - definitely one of our favourite pitches ever!

Facilities were basic and there weren't many showers considering how many people were on the campsite. That being said we never had to queue at normal showering time so perhaps people don't wash here?!

Thought the prices were expensive for the level of campsite. The view is definitely worth something but a new shower block wouldn't be wasted here.

When it rained (1 months worth in 9 hours) driving on the site was interesting in our little car.

The campsite owners should really check the pitches as we had ours invaded by other campers and reception was closed so there was nothing we could do about it. Perhaps if you were taken to the pitch on arrival this might help. We ended up having to leave our car away from our tent.

Overall: beautiful, expensive for what it is, basic facilities, lack of management.

Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Dorset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


816 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019