Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of The Hideaway At Baxby Manor

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > The Hideaway At Baxby Manor Reviews

The Hideaway At Baxby Manor
Baxby Manor
Bell Lane
Husthwaite
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO61 4PW
Tel: 01347666079
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           27/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 51 Reviews
                9/10 from 51 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Broggy 2 reviews from this member

 Absolutely amazing place. Barney and the staff are so friendly. It’s peaceful and beautiful.

Will definitely be returning next year.

The amenities are excellent with heated toilet & showers 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Beccaj 1 review from this member

 Lovely camp site very relaxed atmosphere.

Could do with more facilities as struggled with one shower but apart from that fabulous

Would definitely recommend and stay there again ! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Moremonkey200 1 review from this member

 We liked everything!

The pitches are big with plenty of space in between. You feel close to nature and the place feel nicely rustic but well looked after.

There is a shop on site with just enough of what you need but full of tat and sweets for the kids to moan after every day but there is a lovely coffee cart that comes to offer lovely drinks and baked goods so you can have a treat as a family.

Toilet/shower facilities are really nice (super clean with a system of wearing show coverings to enter which I personally love!). Each site has a fire pit on it and tripod BBQ available to hire for £5.

There is a stream nearby and local pub, walks to do, nature to see etc. It's very dark at night so great for star gazing too.

The site is also super eco friendly and has thought of most things from chilling drinks in the stream to separating waste out to feed their chickens!

We loved this place for it back to nature simplicity and we will be back again! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: EstherP 23 reviews from this member

 We stayed here whilst on a cycle touring holiday with our tandem, trailer and tent.

This a campsite we look forward to returning to and staying much longer - in our opinion it's pretty much perfect for what we like!

Pitches well spread out and separated by hedgerow/long grass. All pitches have a firepit. Really feel like you are camping among nature and the marked pitches give everyone space without it seeming regimented. Lots of hooty owls at night.

Facilities are truly fantastic. Beautifully set up, very clean etc. Excellent showers with large cubicles for privacy. Underfloor heating, and a drying room too which was brilliant. Good local info and leaflets. Small on site shop with a few useful bits and bobs. There is also a really good system for separating rubbish and recycling which encourages you to be responsible.

We had a really delicious meal at the Fauconbery Arms in Caxwold. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Gill1222 8 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from 5 nights at this remarkable site, it more than lived up to all the great reviews it has received.

It’s location is ideal, weather you want the piece and quiet or just to walk or cycle in the beautiful surrounding countryside.

Lovely sized pitchers and the facility’s are first class.

Thank you for a remarkable break. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Helen98 25 reviews from this member

 The site has flat, mown pitches with longer grass between pitches. Cars are not allowed next to tents and there are wheel barrows to use for transferring kit. We have a trailer and it was OK just to wheel that to our pitch.

We chose this site because campfires are allowed, we bought wood from the site shop and hired a tripod with grill to make cooking over the fire achievable. (Although we always have campfires when camping we usual fail with cooking over them, so being able to hire these was a real plus for us. )

As other reviews have mentioned, the toilet and shower block was great, one of the nicest we've had on a campsite. Although the showers are the ones where you press a button in and get a short burst of water, the water is hot and if you hold the button in you can get it on for longer if needed.

There is a small site shop, a fridge and freezer thaat can be used (the freezer is only supposed to be used for ice blocks), a drying room, and books that can be borrowed / exchanged.

Our visit was really one of two halves. The first 2 days were peaceful, lots of empty pitches that children could play ballgames on, relaxing and quiet. Then we hit Easter Bank Holiday weekend and it filled up. We were in pitch T15, which we didn't realise was directly infront of a rope swing on the embankment behind.

As all pitches were now full this became the main site for kids playing. Would have been great if we had young children, but ours are now teenagers and - like us- got a bit fed up of the noise.

When we wandered around the site the pitches at either end, further from the amenities block, or those backing onto the stream, seemed to be more peaceful. On a more positive note, even when the site was full, after about 10 each night it was silent.

So, yes, it is a lovely site. Yes, we would come again and have already recommended it to friends. But if we did come again we'd definitely not choose pitch T15.

In the area we can recommend having a day out in York (never been before, a lovely city), doing the Solar System cycle trail (we hired bikes from Get Cycling in York), walking around the White Horse on Sutton Bank and visiting Rievaulx Abbey (expensive but it was stunning, and there was a falconry display on while we were there). 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Winterbottom6 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights. Very well set out plenty of space between pitches. All had a fire pit which was great at night

Toilet block was very clean and blue cover shoes great idea.

Went with 2 other families and we had a great time kids loved the freedom they had to play. We love the peace and quiet

Great site hope to go back next year and explore the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Shartley 9 reviews from this member

 We spent 3 nights in one of the Hobbit Houses and had a fantastic time. The site is immaculate, well thought out and a really peaceful and friendly atmosphere.

The little shop is well stocked and not overpriced, the breakfast caravan on site is a great touch and having a fire pit for the evenings and to cook on was great.

We ate out at the White Swan in Ampleforth which had a great kids menu and very good food. Visited Sutton Bank and really enjoyed the center, with it's natural play park for children and amazing views.

We are definitely heading back here next year, cannot recommend highly enough. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: KeithAllwood 1 review from this member

 WOW,

What a lovely campsite. We're quite new to camping but have stayed at a few campsites since getting our new to us little pop up camper. I'm not the kind of person to write reviews but felt compelled to let everybody know what a brilliant site this is.

As the name suggests this is a hideaway, tucked away nicely from any major towns yet still close to York and Thirsk.

All on site amenities were clean, tidy and well kept. Blue shoe socks are provided so grass and dirt is not trampled into the toilets and shower blocks.

Our pitch, V3 was excellent. Plenty of room between the pitches for privacy and they're well kept. Barney was out with his lawnmower keeping the site up to scratch. Would have preferred an electric hook up but they was all booked for our trip.

We didn't really do much exploring of the local area we were there for the peace and quiet which we got in abundance.

The local wildlife was out in force whilst we were there. We saw a couple of squirrels (unfortunately grey not red). Loads of rabbits on site and woodpeckers in the woods nearby. There was owls in the woods at night screeching and hooting.

We took a walk along the stream and saw 2 prey birds circling the thermals above the farmers field, not sure what they was, they was quite big possibly buzzards.

All in all we loved it. The staff was really friendly, polite and helpful. Hopefully we can get booked back in for August time but I'd go in the middle of winter.

Have fun and happy camping. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarahmac78 1 review from this member

 We spent one night at The Hideaway this weekend, in a tent with our 2 daughters. The site is beautiful, peaceful and calm. Children could play in safety, the pitches are a good size and surrounded by nice areas of grass and some trees. The potwash area, toilets/showers and shop are of a high standard. They’re kept very clean, and the underfloor heating in the toilets is much appreciated on a 4am bathroom call!

Barney and all the staff are lovely and friendly. Everything about the site was explained on check in, they work hard to make this site the little gem that it is. We were lucky enough to be there on their ‘Baxbyfest’ night, which was a lovely gathering of people with instruments having a good singalong, families all sitting around the camp fires joining in. The kids loved it as much as we did.

We will definitely return to this lovely site, hopefully on a regular basis! 


Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Hideaway At Baxby Manor child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Hideaway At Baxby Manor?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is The Hideaway At Baxby Manor dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1172 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December