Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Hideaway At Baxby Manor

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > York > The Hideaway At Baxby Manor > Reviews

The Hideaway At Baxby Manor
Baxby Manor
Bell Lane
Husthwaite
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO61 4PW
Tel: 01347666079  or  07739666079
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 29/03/2024 to 04/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 56 Reviews
                9/10 from 56 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  56 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: FullBoot 1 review from this member

 Great site with friendly and helpful staff and decent pitches that each had a fire bowl. Excellent washing up area, communal fridges and freezer, drying room and toilets and showers. You could borrow books to read from the shelves. There was a shop which sold firewood, ice creams, fresh milk etc. And a pizza and coffee stall.

It was a great place to unwind and for the kids to make friends and let off steam. There was an adults only quieter section at one end of the site.

Nearby were a childrenís playground in the village and an orchard selling cider and freshly made apple juice. There was an airfield nearby and some interesting light (not noisy) aircraft buzzed over at times during the day. We didnít have time on this visit but would like to see if you could look at planes taking off or gliders being launched next time.

Wheelbarrows helped with getting pitched on arrival and then packed up on the last morning.

I found the requirement to remove shoes before entering the toilets and showers block (even if only using the toilet) a bit irritating. Either you had to wear socks and possibly get them wet or go barefooted on the same floor as other people. A clean of the floor a couple of times per day, combined with a no shoes in the shower cubicles rule would have been sufficient. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Campin 1 review from this member

 Lovely peaceful site. Facilities were very clean and staff friendly. On-site pizza shop was really good.

Pitches were of a good size and well placed amongst nature, which makes is a very pleasant place to be, with the added bonus of the campfires at each pitch rounding out the experience of being out in the wild.

It could be improved with a play area for kids, but that is my only criticism. 


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ianplag 10 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 3 nights on a grass campervan pitch with electric hook-up and couldn't have asked for any more.

Friendly staff, spotless facilities including toilets, washing up room, drying room/laundry, small shop for essentials and a takeaway selling breakfasts and pizza-based evening meals.

All this in an idyllic location. A real treat for nature lovers and perfect for walking.

We were there midweek and it was extremely quiet, but we understand that it is a lot busier at weekends and school holidays.

Will be going back. 


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Atkinsonvictoria18 1 review from this member

 Originally we were staying in our air tent, but unfortunately forgot our pump, so we ended up staying in a hobbit house.

We had such a fantastic time as we had no electric, so we just embraced the whole getting down with nature and enjoyed all that the experience had to offer.

Making our own fires, S'mores by the fireside, playing dominoes and cards, and talking and laughing, we laughed a lot.

Went for a walk just outside of the site which was so freeing and allowed us to take in the sights of the local countryside.

We had such a fantastic experience and so did our friends, the staff were all very helpful and friendly and the facilities were immaculate.

We will definitely recommend this hidden gem and we look forward to our next visit. 10/10.

Well done all at Baxby Manor and The hideaway. 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Scofee 1 review from this member

 Absolutely brilliant place to stay

Site is amazing with plenty of space for each pitch,

Staff and Barney are so friendly and helpful,

All amenities are kept clean and working, the shop is open daily and if they donít have what you need simply ask or email before you get there and they will get whatever you want,

Will definitely be back 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Broggy 3 reviews from this member

 Absolutely amazing place. Barney and the staff are so friendly. Itís peaceful and beautiful.

Will definitely be returning next year.

The amenities are excellent with heated toilet & showers 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Beccaj 1 review from this member

 Lovely camp site very relaxed atmosphere.

Could do with more facilities as struggled with one shower but apart from that fabulous

Would definitely recommend and stay there again ! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Moremonkey200 1 review from this member

 We liked everything!

The pitches are big with plenty of space in between. You feel close to nature and the place feel nicely rustic but well looked after.

There is a shop on site with just enough of what you need but full of tat and sweets for the kids to moan after every day but there is a lovely coffee cart that comes to offer lovely drinks and baked goods so you can have a treat as a family.

Toilet/shower facilities are really nice (super clean with a system of wearing show coverings to enter which I personally love!). Each site has a fire pit on it and tripod BBQ available to hire for £5.

There is a stream nearby and local pub, walks to do, nature to see etc. It's very dark at night so great for star gazing too.

The site is also super eco friendly and has thought of most things from chilling drinks in the stream to separating waste out to feed their chickens!

We loved this place for it back to nature simplicity and we will be back again! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: EstherP 26 reviews from this member

 We stayed here whilst on a cycle touring holiday with our tandem, trailer and tent.

This a campsite we look forward to returning to and staying much longer - in our opinion it's pretty much perfect for what we like!

Pitches well spread out and separated by hedgerow/long grass. All pitches have a firepit. Really feel like you are camping among nature and the marked pitches give everyone space without it seeming regimented. Lots of hooty owls at night.

Facilities are truly fantastic. Beautifully set up, very clean etc. Excellent showers with large cubicles for privacy. Underfloor heating, and a drying room too which was brilliant. Good local info and leaflets. Small on site shop with a few useful bits and bobs. There is also a really good system for separating rubbish and recycling which encourages you to be responsible.

We had a really delicious meal at the Fauconbery Arms in Caxwold. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Gill1222 8 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from 5 nights at this remarkable site, it more than lived up to all the great reviews it has received.

Itís location is ideal, weather you want the piece and quiet or just to walk or cycle in the beautiful surrounding countryside.

Lovely sized pitchers and the facilityís are first class.

Thank you for a remarkable break. 


Previous     56 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Hideaway At Baxby Manor child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Hideaway At Baxby Manor?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is The Hideaway At Baxby Manor dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

  

  

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Sussex 18/05 to 19/05

Endless activities for you and your dog to enjoy plus weekend camping - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4548 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement