Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of York Meadows Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > York Meadows Caravan Park Reviews

York Meadows Caravan Park
York Road
Sheriff Hutton
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO60 6QP
Tel: 01347 878508
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 41 Reviews
                9/10 from 41 Reviews

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Debcus 1 review from this member

 Great wee find will definitely stay again and recommend.

Good price and facilities are excellent.

Everything you need whilst on vacation.

Ideal location 


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mich3g 1 review from this member

 Very nice quiet break. Facilities wasn’t open but all looked very clean.

Nice shop on site for local products. A good dog friendly place.

Not a bad distance from York 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Harriot64 4 reviews from this member

 Excellent site with good access very good facilities and large hard standing pitch

A short drive from York Park and Ride and the various shopping areas 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Wakefieldmonkey 2 reviews from this member

 Wonderful site, very friendly wardens.

Little shop on site for essentials, bonus they sell ice for the arrival night g&t.

Fish and chip van arrives Sat night and pizza shop is in estate next to campsite but delivers to the barrier.

Good little park for younger kids but mine liked to play in the dens in the hedges as much as on the park.

Sanitiser all around the park and toilet blocks. Every other loo and shower in use with others closed to maintain distancing.

Visited 3 times since they reopened and planning a month later in the year.

Great site to visit York, designer outlet or monks cross retail park.

Recommend food in the village pub in sheriff hutton and there’s a small Tesco in strensall for forgotten items or chilled beer and wine. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ccleveley 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a two night weekend break at York Meadows. This is a lovely site - huge pitches and you can select where you want to pitch. All with EHU and close to water. Tent field looks onto children's playground which is always a bonus. Playground closes at 10pm and the site is quiet after dusk. There is also a soccer pitch.

Toilets and shower block were clean and spacious. Showers free and hot! Family bathroom ideal if you have toddlers (you have to pay £1 for bath hot water). Wash up area is also handy - with a laundry and a microwave and the visitor leaflets etc.

Shop on site is open frequently and is run by the warden, Bob, who offers a really friendly welcome.

Nearest shops are at Strensall (Tesco Express on highstreet and a Costcutter at the petrol station). Lovely farm shop (Farmers Cart) at Towthorpe - perfect for BBQs.

Really recommend this site to anyone - clean and peaceful! A gem. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Touringfamily92 1 review from this member

 We have just got back from a 4 night stay at York Meadows and I don't have a bad word to say about it. The site is very well maintained and the staff are friendly and helpful.

The toilet block is spotless and the showers are free and are lovely and hot and kept very clean. There is a also a disabled and family room which we found very helpful to bathe our toddlers. You do need to pay £1 for hot water to run a bath, but it was worth it to not have to juggle them in the shower.

The park has lots to do for the children and is situated between the camping field and the touring pitches, so is within easy reach from all areas of the site.

It is a short 5 minute drive to the nearby village of Strensall where we were leaving the car (no parking restrictions on the road) and catching the number 5/5A bus into York. The nearby pizza place delivers onto site.

Overall we had a wonderful stay and would definitely recommend to families. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mandy11 6 reviews from this member

 Level site with spotlessly clean toilet/shower block. Washing up facilities(free), washing machine, drier, iron and board and microwave (all at reasonable charges). The warden is very helpful and there is a small but well stocked shop on site. There is a child's play park and a small football pitch.

We could hear the traffic on the nearby road but it wasn't constant or too loud.

Level walk along the road to nearest village with pub, Post Office/shop, coffee house, church and castle ruins.

We found the campsite to be a good base for travelling to York where we visited Train Museum (free), York Minster and Jorvic Centre. We also walked some of the city walls. Elsewhere in the area is Fountain's Abbey and Studley Royal Water Garden and children would like Brimham Rocks (all National Trust). 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tintent1 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 4 night stay over the bank holiday weekend, this was our first visit to this site and we can't recommend this site enough.

Toilets immaculate even at 9am on a BHW, plenty of space around each pitch and everyone we spoke to were very pleasant. There's a football area for kids to play inc netted goals, zip wire, swings, table tennis and plenty more.

This site is almost up there with a best of British site, keep up the excellent work ! 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Red Mick 28 reviews from this member

 Plus points, it's close to York, good toilets and showers, although there were queues in a morning. Pizza delivery was good, pitches were spacious.

Bad points were basically pricing. £23. 50 per night not too bad, but then £2. 50 per night extra for an awning??! There were no non awning pitches available by the way. Then my neighbour on pitch had a tent. He had to pay £26 to pitch his tent, he didn't need electric, but had to pay for it, then, as he'd brought his son along, he had to pay an extra £3 per night, £29 per night in total, for a tent! with no EHU used!

Totally unacceptable pricing regime, we won't be going again, neither will my tenting neighbour. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vic 1 1 review from this member

 First time visit to York Meadows and we will not be back. Booked a Super Pitch and facilities are great with clean toilets and a well stocked shop. Wardens very welcoming but that where the enjoyable weekend stops.

The play area was situated 30 yards from our caravan and has a open and closing sign saying opens at 9am and closes at dusk or 10pm. On Saturday morning children were screaming and shouting in the play area at 6. 30 am and this continued most of the day till well past 10 pm. Parents just left their children run riot and no checks were performed by the wardens. Children were running in between my caravan and my car, rolling underneath the car and using the taps on unused service pitches. Otherwise a total nightmare.

If you want a quiet, relaxing weekend, do not come to York Meadows especially the Super Pitch area. After upgrading and paying more for a super pitch I wish I had never bothered as we

Were continually tortured by kids and the parents walked within a couple of feet of our van even though we had no caravan within 30 feet of us.

I have given 10 out of 10 for child friendliness as kids can do what they want and when they want with no supervision at all. 


Previous     41 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is York Meadows Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to York Meadows Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is York Meadows Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2992 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement