Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - York Meadows Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > York Meadows Caravan Park Reviews

York Meadows Caravan Park
York Road
Sheriff Hutton
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO60 6QP
Tel: 01347 878508
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 37 Reviews
                9/10 from 37 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mandy11 6 reviews from this member

Level site with spotlessly clean toilet/shower block. Washing up facilities(free), washing machine, drier, iron and board and microwave (all at reasonable charges). The warden is very helpful and there is a small but well stocked shop on site. There is a child's play park and a small football pitch.

We could hear the traffic on the nearby road but it wasn't constant or too loud.

Level walk along the road to nearest village with pub, Post Office/shop, coffee house, church and castle ruins.

We found the campsite to be a good base for travelling to York where we visited Train Museum (free), York Minster and Jorvic Centre. We also walked some of the city walls. Elsewhere in the area is Fountain's Abbey and Studley Royal Water Garden and children would like Brimham Rocks (all National Trust).

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tintent1 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 4 night stay over the bank holiday weekend, this was our first visit to this site and we can't recommend this site enough. Toilets immaculate even at 9am on a BHW, plenty of space around each pitch and everyone we spoke to were very pleasant. There's a football area for kids to play inc netted goals, zip wire, swings, table tennis and plenty more. This site is almost up there with a best of British site, keep up the excellent work !

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Touringfamily92 1 review from this member

We have just got back from a 4 night stay at York Meadows and I don't have a bad word to say about it. The site is very well maintained and the staff are friendly and helpful. The toilet block is spotless and the showers are free and are lovely and hot and kept very clean. There is a also a disabled and family room which we found very helpful to bathe our toddlers. You do need to pay £1 for hot water to run a bath, but it was worth it to not have to juggle them in the shower. The park has lots to do for the children and is situated between the camping field and the touring pitches, so is within easy reach from all areas of the site. It is a short 5 minute drive to the nearby village of Strensall where we were leaving the car (no parking restrictions on the road) and catching the number 5/5A bus into York. The nearby pizza place delivers onto site. Overall we had a wonderful stay and would definitely recommend to families.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Red Mick 28 reviews from this member

Plus points, it's close to York, good toilets and showers, although there were queues in a morning. Pizza delivery was good, pitches were spacious.

Bad points were basically pricing. £23. 50 per night not too bad, but then £2. 50 per night extra for an awning??! There were no non awning pitches available by the way. Then my neighbour on pitch had a tent. He had to pay £26 to pitch his tent, he didn't need electric, but had to pay for it, then, as he'd brought his son along, he had to pay an extra £3 per night, £29 per night in total, for a tent! with no EHU used!

Totally unacceptable pricing regime, we won't be going again, neither will my tenting neighbour.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vic 1 1 review from this member

First time visit to York Meadows and we will not be back. Booked a Super Pitch and facilities are great with clean toilets and a well stocked shop. Wardens very welcoming but that where the enjoyable weekend stops.

The play area was situated 30 yards from our caravan and has a open and closing sign saying opens at 9am and closes at dusk or 10pm. On Saturday morning children were screaming and shouting in the play area at 6. 30 am and this continued most of the day till well past 10 pm. Parents just left their children run riot and no checks were performed by the wardens. Children were running in between my caravan and my car, rolling underneath the car and using the taps on unused service pitches. Otherwise a total nightmare.

If you want a quiet, relaxing weekend, do not come to York Meadows especially the Super Pitch area. After upgrading and paying more for a super pitch I wish I had never bothered as we

Were continually tortured by kids and the parents walked within a couple of feet of our van even though we had no caravan within 30 feet of us.

I have given 10 out of 10 for child friendliness as kids can do what they want and when they want with no supervision at all.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Njspks 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from another fantastic visit. Cannot fault the toilets pitches wardens all 1st class. Looking forward to our next trip. There are a lot of seasonal campers on but they are very friendly. Kids aged 14 and 13 love this site. Close to shopping outlets and york centre. Chip wagon visits on a sat night at reasonable prices also pizza shop do deliveries to the site.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: HADFIELDS ON TOUR 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a weekend at York Meadows.

Good site excellent facilities.

Shop adequate. Lady in shop very helpful even copying pages of map for us as we had forgotten ours.

Ideal site for touring York and surrounding areas. Brilliant bus service from the next village buses into centre of York every ten minutes

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Blueclouduk 10 reviews from this member

Booked 4 nights on a grass pitch here, we went for a grass pitch as we wanted to try out a new lightweight awning without sacrificing too many tent pegs. It's just along the road from a C&CC site which we've also stayed at in the past.

We knew that we would arrive after the office closed (5pm) but it didn't phase the lady that took our booking. A map was left stuck to the inside of the office door showing the layout of the site.

Most of the pitches are double width hard standing and, unusually, set at an angle to the track around the site. The only reason that I can think of for the owners of the site to use this layout is that it makes reversing on to a pitch much easier.

There are plenty of service points for fresh and grey water around but just one CDP near the entrance. I was a little disappointed by this lack of CDP provision as there are two large statics at the far end of the site that have 'mains' sewerage and thought that a CDP wouldn't be too difficult to add on.

A small play park between the caravan and tent fields provides a welcome distraction for younger campers although the usual problem of children leaving their bikes on the road nearby can make entry and egress when towing a slow affair.

There is a small shop on site selling essentials and goodies for smaller visitors. The nearest convenience shops are a little too far away for a comfortable walk.

Local RAF stations are used for training pilots and an occasional bonus can be had when the young airmen and women are practising aerobatics and 'dogfighting'.

York, and it's myriad of attractions, is only only 20-30 minutes drive away. The position of the site lends itself very well to using the Park & Ride service based on the north side of the city. Parking in the city centre is very limited and tightly controlled. During the summer season, there is a maize maze near Easingwold (about 20 minutes drive) which provides plenty of activities and a good, fun day out.

All-in-all a good site needing only a couple of tweaks to make it pretty much perfect.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cassettes 11 reviews from this member

Used this site for a family get together. Excellent pitch sizes on even ground, well maintained by warden and staff. Good facilities for children with playground and football nets.

Showers and toilets were always clean with plenty of hot water. Potwash and laundry facilities included in the amenity building were kept in the same condition.

Small shop on site with last minute essentials. Wi-Fi available at a charge through PayPal which was easy to purchase and set up (even for me). Good location for York about 15 minute drive. Plenty of pubs in the area and also pizza delivery to site if cooking isn't your thing!.

Partner site at Helmsley is said to be of equal standard so check that one out too.

Would return in the future.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Papajoe67 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 5 day break at York Meadows, what a site, large pitches, very clean toilets and showers with plenty of hot water, wardens very helpful and great location.

Been to York Meadows 3 times this year and left unit a couple of times during the week for family to use following weekend.

Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4141 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019