Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Silver Gates Camping & Caravanning

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (South) > Kingsbridge > Silver Gates Camping & Caravanning > Reviews

Silver Gates Camping & Caravanning
Churchstow
Kingsbridge
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ7 3QW
Tel: 07890 857997
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 Caravans & 10 Tents
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 14 Reviews
                10/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Fredsi 1 review from this member

 Kathy and myself camped at Silvergates because our granddaughter wanted to go camping,

The first impression is of a very well kept site with some nice homely touches of well attended planters and flower bed.

The one toilet with wash basin and one shower, wash basin and toilet appear to be quite new and are spotlessly clean, with some nice touches of hand towels and bath mats that are changed at least every day.

The dish washing area at the moment does not have any protection from the elements, although I believe that is going to be rectified ( but who washes dishes in the rain anyway)

The pitch was of a very generous size, in fact twice as big as we needed with a fairly large tent.

Irene and Jeff are very friendly and helpful, are the site wardens, who have a passion for the site and can be seen checking and fettling throughout the day to make sure things are as they should be for their guests.

Darcie our granddaughter loved staying at Silver Gates as we did, and she wanted to stay forever, 


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sueef6 1 review from this member

 Silver Gates is a great campsite in a lovely location.

Irene and Jeff, the site wardens, are really helpful and friendly.

We had a great stay and will definitely be back. Thank you. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Maddiw 1 review from this member

 We took our vintage caravan for our first trip away to Silver gates and we were blown away with the site!

We have a 1 year old and 3 year old and it was perfect for them to explore in a amazing safe space.

Itís so beautiful, open fields, large pitches and lovely friendly owners too.

Very laid back feel, shiny clean toilets, great shower room.

This site is also off main road so we didnít have to go down any narrow lanes to get there which was a must for us as newbies.

Couldnít recommend the site enough! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Monnyf 1 review from this member

 We had enjoyable 2 days

Site toilet and shower very clean

Have stayed there before and we will again

Plus the dog loved it and the people that run it was very nice 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sfcris 1 review from this member

 Love the location. Great efforts made to ensure a safe stay in the current covid19 situation.

Friendly owners.

Pitches well spaced to ensure social distancing could be maintained.

Great visit! 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Slinkymn 12 reviews from this member

 We recently stayed at Silvergates. My wife, son and I in a caravan and my wife's parents in a tent next to us.

The site is well maintained with basic, but clean facilities. There is only one unisex toilet and one unisex wet room, but with only ten pitches, I can't imagine this ever being a problem. They are fairly modern and very clean. Please note, that you need 20p's for the showers!

The pitches are a decent size and we had no problems with the electric hook up. BBQs and fire pits are allowed, which is a big bonus for us and many other campers we know. There is a pub within walking distance, though we never got the chance to try it. Note that the site is not well signposted. Ignore Google maps, driving towards Kingsbridge, it is in Churchstow on the left!

Kingsbridge is a five minute drive, with a Tesco and Morrison, both with ample parking

Nene is very helpful and friendly and we will definitely be returning!

Thanks again 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chrislwg 5 reviews from this member

 It was not our first visit to Kingsbridge with our caravan but it was our first visit to Silver Gates. We were welcomed by Nene and Paul and shown the facilities on the site. We were very impressed with the cleanliness of the toilet / shower facilities. There is no shop or club house on the site but it all depends what floats your boat as they say.

There are two supermarkets in Kingsbridge which are 5 mins drive away and also a small shop in Churchstow, plus a pub, although we didnít visit it.

The site is a large field with grass pitches, and a picnic bench per pitch, which are plenty big enough so as you are not on top of each other. There is a childrenís play area if you have kids with you. It is a caravan and camping site so you would need to be a member but the Tariff is very reasonable compared to two other sites in Kingsbridge we have visited, that arenít c &c sites but charge a lot more and in our opinion are over priced.

All in all a nicely kept clean site and reasonably priced. We would certainly recommend it. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pbaxter 2 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful site very open and plenty of space between pitches.

Nene and Paul are most helpful and nothing is too much trouble.

Toilets and shower were very clean.

There is a bus about a quarter of a mile away along the main road by the local pub but extra care is needed as the road has no pavement.

We will be back as Kingsbridge and Salcombe etc are not too far away and the 93 bus ride to Dartmouth is a most unbelievable experience. 


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tecnikal 4 reviews from this member

 Excellent campsite.

The pitch was slightly sloped but nothing major. Hook up was available and all the basic facilities you would expect like an Elsan point, drinking water, toilet and shower block and washing up area.

All the facilities were exceptionally clean and the wash up area had hot water and a washing up bowl supplied.

Toilet was always kept clean and looked very new. Shower room next to the toilet was also in excellent condition and there is a toilet and wash basin in there as well plus mats to put down if you wish. Shower costs 20p for a few minutes, so expect to use 2 or 3 x 20p for each shower. They will give you change on arrival if you need it.

All in all we had a very friendly welcome. The facilities were all clean and working and we would definitely use this campsite again if we were in the area. 


Date of Visit: January 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Macca250967 1 review from this member

 A Great Site all round. Forget the rest and use this one!

We arrived with our motorhome and had the place to ourselves, parking up in the entrance to the field as ground wet, therefore having en-suite facilities :)

Owners are very accommodating!

We are back for a second visit, as we are trying to secure a cafe purchase in Totnes.

Will be visiting again :). 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Silver Gates Camping & Caravanning child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Silver Gates Camping & Caravanning?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Silver Gates Camping & Caravanning dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kingsbridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet National Outdoor Expo 23/03 to 24/03
Held at the NEC in Birmingham, bringing outdoor enthusiasts all of the kit, tech, nutrition, activities and advice under one roof for a jam-packed weekend of outdoor inspiration Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4058 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement