Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ymca Fairthorne Manor Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Southampton > Ymca Fairthorne Manor Campsite Reviews

Ymca Fairthorne Manor Campsite
Curdridge
Botley
Southampton
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO30 2GH
Tel: 01489 785228
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 17/05/2021 to 26/09/2021
           02/04/2022 to 26/09/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 46 Reviews
                9/10 from 46 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Rpalac 1 review from this member

 Really excellent site, brilliant time, quiet, peaceful, friendly, clean, just what we wanted.

The walk into Botley village was short and there are excellent restaurants and pubs but the pavement is very overgrown and narrow and the road is fast and narrow so a bit dangerous.

This isn’t a fault of the site but something to be aware of. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Cjcox4 1 review from this member

 Excellent few days spent with family and friends.

Staff were polite and helpful,

The showers were powerful.

The kids had so much to do and didn’t stop playing 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Debbie 1 review from this member

 Great campsite - best camping shower I have ever had and toilets / showers were spotlessly clean. Large fields with tents / camper vans round the edges - loads of space in the middle for kids to play.

We had a slight issue with bad weather & decided to pack up & stay with family one night & then when we went to repitch our spot had been reallocated but this was dealt with swiftly and we were given a new pitch and an hour of free boating as an apology.

We will definitely use this site again.

There are some great wild / woody areas for the kids to explore too. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Elisew 1 review from this member

 Just perfect!

Having spent 5 months at home a change of scenery was very much needed and Fairthorne (as always) was a fab place to be. We live locally but feel like we’ve been away when we visit.

The staff are always so helpful (maybe need to slow their speed when driving the little white van around the site),

The facilities were very clean and were being cleaned hourly.

Altogether 4. 5* 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: 3wisebears 2 reviews from this member

 *Don’t go if you’re worried about Covid*

We liked the check in and the pitch was a good size. The fact we could book the river access and kayak hire the night before was excellent.

We didn’t like the toilets. They say there’s an increase in hygiene checks due to Covid, this was not evident. The soap ran out in most of the toilets. The rota said the toilet had been checked every hour, however this stopped just before the evening rush, even though the rota said it should have been checked later. The hot water was scolding hot, there were no warning signs for this.

Disappointed that the hygiene was so poor. No hand sanitising stations anywhere! It felt like it was run by teenagers who weren’t taking the pandemic seriously. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mand1 16 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 1 night for a canoeing event run by nearby Southampton Canoe Club.

Pleasantly surprised. A neat & tidy site with full recycling, toilet and shower block which were kept clean, with adequate washing up sinks all undercover with plenty of hot water.

Warm welcome, little mixup about what day we had booked but not a problem sorting that out then the lady on reception came out of the office with us and pointed out where we could pitch and it was our choice.

Bit expensive considering no electric hookup but we needed the convenience for our event 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Dave Harbour 2 reviews from this member

 Two canvas and pole tent, one canvas trailer tent. Pitches left available were on an incline and sandy soil.

Extreme weather that week, even doubling up on guy ropes and sheltering the tents with our vehicles did not stop the poles being bent.

Site has activities that can be paid extra for, for the kids but we wanted our grandchildren to experience outdoor play with imagination.

No electrical hookup. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Gemma gale 1981 1 review from this member

 Hi, we were in a group of 27 this weekend staying in your event field camping.

We were a mix of adults and children ranging from 7-11 years old, we booked the aqua slide and high ropes for the children and the dads did a little paddle boarding and kayaking, us mums……. Well we didn’t do too much to be honest and it was great!

We had the best time at Fairthorne Manor and wanted to say thank you and carry on what you’re doing as you do it so well!

Facilities were great from activities to washrooms and from space to bins provided, it all counts and all makes a big difference when camping as a family.

Cost of the weekend was also very good value for money and enabled us to do more activities as the camping part was so well priced…. Thank you.

We will definitely be back again soon.

5 star for simple camping with great activities and surroundings ***** 


Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Helen1awrence 1 review from this member

 What a professional & friendly group of staff at Fairthorne Manor. We were the only family of 4 that turned up for the December survival Christmas dinner members activity.

It was pouring with rain but we wrapped up as our saying is ‘it’s not bad weather, it’s just wrong clothing’ and thoroughly enjoyed the activity.

Staff made us feel instantly welcomed. We collected kindling, finger & thumb sized sticks on a forest walk. We were shown how to build and light our own fire safely to cook our Christmas dinner on.

They kept us warm with popping inside the building between jobs, plenty of hot chocolate and funny stories to keep us entertained.

Fabulous and enjoyable event.

Merry Christmas to all the staff at Fairthorne Manor.

Helen & Lawrence 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Welovenorbert 2 reviews from this member

 Yet another fabulous trip to Fairthorne Manor. We have visited the site with friends several times over the last few years and it never disappoints. Joe the site manager is fab! He is friendly, helpful and brilliant with the children, you feel like he is on a mission to ensure that everyone has the best time possible. In season the Saturday night campfire is a must, great entertainment for all the family!

The site is great for those with kids, lots of places to explore, trees to climb, ropes to swing on and streams to check out. Our children get a real sense of freedom as they explore, with us parents happy to let them roam, knowing that they are in a safe environment.

There are loads of great activities available, but to be honest, we've found that bats, balls and the site itself is all we've ever needed to have a great trip. That said, we tried the jumping pillow and the abseiling during a previous trip and the kids (and adults) had a ball. The activities were well organised and the staff very friendly.

The shower block is well maintained, clean and there is always plenty of hot water. A sensible limit on numbers means we've never had a problem being able to use the facilities when we want to.

Thank you Fairthorne Manor, we've already booked our next trip, so see you soon! 


Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ymca Fairthorne Manor Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ymca Fairthorne Manor Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Ymca Fairthorne Manor Campsite dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Southampton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3357 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement