Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of West Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Bridport > West Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) > Reviews

West Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )
West Bay
Bridport
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 4HB
Tel: 0344 335 2261
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 199
Open: 07/03/2022 to 04/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 85 Reviews
                8/10 from 85 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  85 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Benrosvall89 2 reviews from this member

 We are new to camping, this was our second time camping at West Bay and the first with our 2 children (boy 11/girl 6)

Our pitch was clean to set up on but grass needed some more life in between use I think. Facilities were all great and not far from the camping area but cleaning of the toilet/shower area needs to be more often (there are some animals!)

The site had plenty to do with a brilliant park for the kids, indoors swimming pool and a large clubhouse. My kids really enjoyed the entertainment and the activities that were on.

Now West bay. What a beautiful place to be! there is so much to do and see, and its right on your door step, you can see so much from the camping and touring section as it is on higher ground.

We will be returning for a whole week next time! 


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Benrosvall89 2 reviews from this member

 Our First time camping, we wanted a weekend to ourselves before bringing the kids with us and to try out the new tent.

First time for my family to get into camping!

The site was very good and we will be going back, the location sets it off with the view of the harbor, shops very close too.

The view was stunning but also the site was very clean and staff were helpful when we arrived.

There is plenty to do there with a play park, indoor pool and the clubhouse.

Look forward to our next trip at West bay! 


Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 31+ Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Rosemary Morris 1 review from this member

 Have been caravanning at West Bay site for many years.

Lovely to see flower boxes at entrance and site clean and tidy

Well done wardens Dave and Jos

Joan and Dave 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: ASHLEIGHXX 1 review from this member

 Lovely holiday park with polite staff, clean and tidy even the security was nice.

Entertainment has been good for the children also the bingo for the adults.

Restaurant is a good price.

They have loads to do and beautiful views.

Plus the lodge was lovely and clean. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Pauleb 13 reviews from this member

 We have returned over 10 times. The location is excellent for an easy break with the beach, harbour, swimming pool and entertainment just a few minutes walk.

It a five minute drive to Morrison’s and Bridport. If you need it there’s a caravan shop in Charmouth.

Beware, there are speed cameras everywhere in Dorset!

The only negative EVERY year is that the toilet, washroom and waste water facilities need updating. They waste so much water due to poorly maintained showers, taps etc. Everywhere seems to be flooded! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Baileyman 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here in October on Star pitch no 5. This is on the lowest level and has no view apart from weeds nettles and puddles.

We are self contained so did not have to use the washrooms, showers etc. I did go to look, they are fair as far as equipment but not very clean. The chemical disposal point however is not clean. It was not cleaned once during our stay and I would seriously doubt that it has been cleaned this year, gloves are a MUST.

The situation is very good, in that it is close to the harbour and walks on coast. Bus service is frequent too.

I did write to Parkdean on October 27th to let them know my disappointment, I have yet to receive a reply

Will I return, No 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Becks81 1 review from this member

 Excellent location, West Bay is beautiful. Restaurant is good but that's where positives end.

Toilet blocks were very basic for a £55 per night site!

Ladies toilets frequently ran out of toilet paper by 9pm. Shower cubicles didn't have hooks or seats to put clothes or towels, there was no shower curtain to separate wet/dry area.

Husband was disgusted with cleanliness of male toilets. Blood on the wall on arrival and was still there 5 days later (very worrying as this was during covid 19 and extra cleaning etc)

No hand sanitizer on toilet entry and no social distancing at washing up points.

Can't really comment on customer service etc as only saw warden twice, or facilities as didn't use entertainment 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Pauleb 13 reviews from this member

 This was our seventh visit to Parkdean Holidays West Bay, “Broadchurch”. We always opt for the star pitches to save messing about with waste and water.

Pitch 25 is our favourite and out of season its just over £100 so good value. It’s great being just 5 minutes from the beach, free swimming pool and supermarkets, cinema, shops and theatres just a short drive away. The dog loves it too. Good fishing.

We don’t use the bar or clubhouse much so cannot comment but there’s usually some entertainment every night,

Facilities are very good and Mrs B gets a 🛀 bath (£25 key deposit). Toilets can get a bit messy when the kids are around. We always go out of season when the kids are at school!

Site can get muddy, Motorhomes can Get bogged down on the grass so check your pitch access first. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jim yarwood 19 reviews from this member

 Touring sites (100+ pitches) on several terraces cut into hillside so reversing into a pitch could be awkward if you don't have a motor mover. Only one loo/shower block for tourers.

We were pitched on one of the lower terraces so were handily placed for this however it would be quite a trek for anyone on the higher terraces. The loos were not good, no loo paper at times, gents urinal flush was perpetually leaking and a 'repair' had been attempted to patch up with some mastic (just looked a mess).

Female showers very busy at times as mothers (mainly) washing children etc. Most annoyingly the showers have only one hook on the back of the door for clothing/towels so don't go well clothed into the shower.

And there's no seat in the cubicles (although there is space for one). For the price we paid I'd expect much, much better. But, showers are easy to operate & the water was always hot.

Check your arrival time. We were told 2pm however when we got there the reception said 12 noon.

Static vans (c. 350) on the level at the lower level and I imagine this is the priority for Parkdean management as this part of the site looked well maintained. Swim pool/bar/cafe etc. Adjacent to the entrance.

However, lovely views from our pitch over the sea/harbour & down to Bridport. 5 mins walk into West Bay & to the beach. Plenty of cafes, pubs, ice cream, fish & chips, and a seemingly endless supply of crabs in the harbour for children to catch! Great walks along the cliff tops with views along the 'Jurrasic Coast'.

Catch the bus or a take a lovely walk (20/30 mins) over the fields and along the river into the bustling town of Bridport with street market, cinema, arts centre, shops, pubs, cafes (special mention for Punch & Judy cafe and their soda bread). Also, do make a point of visiting the town museum (free) in Bridport.

Would I go to Parkdean again?. Well maybe. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Mcmck 1 review from this member

 Worst Caravan Park we've been on!

Toilets filthy, not cleaned for 2 days and no loo paper for 2 days!

1 bar staff only on duty - queues to the door to get a drink/order food - took 40 minutes to get to the single barman!

Food poor - £10 fish pie like a Tesco Value 99p one!

Caravan pitches overgrown with 4ft weeds, grass hedgerows never mown! Had to ask for someone to come cut them!

No security patrols - lots of unruly drunk groups, being rowdy way past the 10pm 'noise curfew' - going on until the early hours.

Reception staff simply 'talk a good patronising game' - problems never get solved!

Site mains water gave me a rash too!

Parkdean trying to run site on skeleton staff, and management oblivious. 


Previous     85 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is West Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does West Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to West Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is West Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3669 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement