Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Portland Bill Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Portland > Portland Bill Camping Reviews

Portland Bill Camping
Portland Bill Road
Portland
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT5 2JT
Tel: 07810 485351
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 40
Open: 28/05/2021 to 12/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 6 Reviews
                9/10 from 6 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Timoth 1 review from this member

 Fabulous down-to-earth. perfect no-nonsense

Beautiful place. Scenery unbelievable

What more can we say apart from really friendly staff.

Canít wait for it to reopen next year. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Alliej 1 review from this member

 Great location, friendly welcome, lots of space and amazing value. Only thing that lets it down is thereís no showers.

On a bit of a slope but nothing too dramatic.

Great place to watch the sunrise 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Sheato 1 review from this member

 If youíre prepared for basic camping, which we were, itís a gorgeous field overlooking the sea by Portland Bill with lots of lovely walks nearby.

The only facilities were portaloos and a tank of water which we knew when we booked for the bargain price of £10 a night. The loos did get smelly but were emptied during our stay.

There was barbed wire surrounding the field which could be a problem with young children. My boisterous 5 year old managed to catch his leg despite being told to stay away. (He was being supervised but managed to do it before we could stop him)

All in all, it is great value for money and with the stunning views, weíre hoping to return next year. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: VWBus 71 reviews from this member

 Oh yeah, this is what campsites are all about!

£10 a night per unit - nothing on site except water and waste and portaloos. Lovely friendly and helpful owner living on site in a caravan.

Views! Views! Views! So good I had to say it three times. Amazing sea views from all the pitches, so you can while away your time watching the sailing boats rounding Portland Bill, and the fishing boats plying their trade. At night watch the lighthouse beaming through the dark sky - amazing stars too due to no light polution.

Both fields are sloping so be aware you will probably need ramps - although in the tent field there was some flatter areas.

Direct access from the site to the coastal path on top of the cliffs, with miles of great walks all over Portland. A 15 minute walk will take you to Portland Lighthouse with it's cafe and pub.

It was extremely calm throughout my stay which also meant swimming was possible in the little rocky coves a ten minute walk from the site. Lovely

Just one word of warning, on my last day it rained for a couple of hours and the site entrances became almost impassible - many of us required towing out by tractor! Hopefully they will sort this out and put a load of hardcore down on the entrances to improve access - although the owner did tell me next year 2021 they were going to use a different field slightly nearer to the lighthouse, which was flatter and had much better access.

I will be back, hopefully this year if I can get down there! 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 245 reviews from this member

 WOW, what a campsite.

From initial enquiry through to meeting and dealing with her on site, the owner was wonderful, helpful and knowledgeable on the area. She was always around to help and chat to if needed.

We were told it is just £10 per unit per night for up to 4 people and as we were mid week we were told to just turn up. A different story at the weekend, where they were full so a booking would have been required.

The site is made up of two fields, one for motorhomes and one for tents, both are sloping from the road to the cliff edge so they both offer great views. They are not the flattest, but nothing a couple of ramps wouldn't sort and those in a tent would be able to find some flat spots.

Portaloos on site and these were cleaned regularly and well maintained with hand san, loo roll etc.

There is a fresh water tank and chemical disposal tank and large skip for your waste. This is basic camping at it's best

Views are amazing and it was so relaxing watching the boats go by all day long

There are loads of walks straight from the site and it is located on the SW Coast Path. Walking to the lighthouse is just over a mile and more great views over Lime Bay and the sea.

For eating there is the Lobster Pot and The Pulpit Inn at the lighthouse. The food in the Lobster Pot is amazing and plenty of fresh fish options. They also serve drinks and icecreams, scones, etc. The Pulpit Inn was great and offered a nice range of drinks and the menu was very reasonably priced with a fair choice of dishes available.

The other way out of the site, however it is along the road is the 8 Kings Pub, and this is highly recommended by the site owner, however we could not book a table as it was chocka in there, so no personal recommendation from me I am afraid.

There are shops for general supplies in Portland and larger supermarkets in Weymouth.

There is plenty to see and do in the area including swimming in the sea close to the site towards the lighthouse straight from teh rocks, this was great fun and plenty of caves and rocks to explore and scuba dive. Chesil Beach is a short drive or an hours walk away, Weymouth has plenty to offer as the area as a whole.

The only downside was it rained really hard for around half an hour and the site became very slippy and made it impossible for campervans and cars to get out, so a tractor was called in to rescue us all which did the job perfectly. It would be a fairly easy fix, 10 ton of hardcore at the entrances to the two fields and keep it maintained.

For £10 per night I would stay again and we stayed 4 nights it was that relaxing. Hopefully this pop up site will be back next year and I will be here again if it does. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has reopened for the 2020 between July and September, and once again offers tent and campervan pitches. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Portland Bill Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Portland Bill Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Portland Bill Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Portland      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


737 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement