Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Halletts At Portland Bill Camping

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Portland > Halletts At Portland Bill Camping > Reviews

Halletts At Portland Bill Camping
Portland Bill Road
Portland
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT5 2JT
Tel: 07879 894688
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 13/07/2024 to 10/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
                9/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Dramas 2 reviews from this member

 Great place, amazing location and the views were spectacular! The Price was very good.

Only slight downside was many of the portable toilets were blocked quite a lot (probably not enough over the bank holiday weekend).

One additional one was added but probably arrived a little late.

Overall however it was great and will would highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: March 2023 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note this site is under new management for 2023. It's been renamed Halletts Camping.

The previous owners have an alternative campsite location on Portland, search these listings for Fancys Farm and you will find it.

If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Feezee 12 reviews from this member

 This is a pop up site on a field directly next to the sea. The views are spectacular. The ladies that run it are down to earth and polite in their approach.

The only facilities are portaloos that are cleaned twice a day and were pretty spotless, always clean, and always with loo roll. There are no washrooms, showers, or anything, but the portaloos did have basins and pump water in them to wash hands.

It was very quiet when we were there, kids were generally under control in the evening.

The lack of light pollution meant the night sky was just amazing.

It is not far from a pub and a shop, and the lighthouse at Portland Bill which makes a lovely walk.

We loved it for its simplicity and we will be going again. 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: VWBus 83 reviews from this member

 Returned to this lovely popup campsite for the second year running. Lovely views, friendly staff. This year they have marked out pitches, which I suppose makes things easier for them as they get busier but felt a bit too organised for me. Still great though!

Facilities consist of portaloos, fresh water, bins and chemical waste. Loos were cleaned regularly.

Walks from this site are amazing, you can ramble to your heart's delight all over Portland, with a public footpath accessed directly at the bottom of the campsite.

Half hour walk to the lighthouse, cafe and pub at the end of Portland Bill, similar walk the other way into the village of Southwell and another pub there.

Will be back! 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 313 reviews from this member

 Visited for three nights as love being by the sea. It was £10 per pitch per night and this year they have put a standpipe in for water and there were 8 portaloos, a skip for waste and chemical disposal tanker. ,

They have put some hardcore at the entrance, however the site is still on a slope and a slight bit of rain turns it muddy and some people in large motorhomes just seem to hit the pedal to the metal and wheelspin away, ruining it for everyone else that can pull off in wet conditions.

The site was cold and windy being right on the side of a cliff, however the setting provides great views and lovely skies at night.

Pub, The Pulpit Inn, down the road still a bit grotty, but serves food and drinks, however half the menu was off when we were there. Locals all raved about Eight Kings which is only half a mile or so from the site, but we did not eat there. We got a curry delivered to the site one night, so that was handy.

I came as we were celebrating a birthday, however I am not sure I would go again as there is very little to do on the island and once you have done it once or even twice, then you run out of things to do without the need to drive for miles. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Runningwithscissors 1 review from this member

 Perfect site for weekend climbing. Great access to crags via path.

Portaloos kept very clean, lots of space on the site. Stunning views!

Exactly what we were looking for, great price as well. Will definitely be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Solari 1 review from this member

 We really like it!

Wonderful location (you can see the Fleet), very quiet,

The toilets and showers are really clean.

Very friendly personal.

10 out of 10 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Timoth 1 review from this member

 Fabulous down-to-earth. perfect no-nonsense

Beautiful place. Scenery unbelievable

What more can we say apart from really friendly staff.

Canít wait for it to reopen next year. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Alliej 1 review from this member

 Great location, friendly welcome, lots of space and amazing value. Only thing that lets it down is thereís no showers.

On a bit of a slope but nothing too dramatic.

Great place to watch the sunrise 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Sheato 1 review from this member

 If youíre prepared for basic camping, which we were, itís a gorgeous field overlooking the sea by Portland Bill with lots of lovely walks nearby.

The only facilities were portaloos and a tank of water which we knew when we booked for the bargain price of £10 a night. The loos did get smelly but were emptied during our stay.

There was barbed wire surrounding the field which could be a problem with young children. My boisterous 5 year old managed to catch his leg despite being told to stay away. (He was being supervised but managed to do it before we could stop him)

All in all, it is great value for money and with the stunning views, weíre hoping to return next year. 
via mobile


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Halletts At Portland Bill Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Halletts At Portland Bill Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Halletts At Portland Bill Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Portland      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


42913 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement