Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Penwarne Barton Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Falmouth > Penwarne Barton Farm Campsite Reviews

Penwarne Barton Farm Campsite
Nr Helford River
Mawnan Smith
Falmouth
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR11 5PH
Tel: 07966 747938  or  07511902295
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: 19/04/19 To 31/10/19

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 5 Reviews
                7/10 from 5 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   Wild Swimming 1 mile   Indoor Pool 1 mile   Outdoor Pool 1 mile 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sundancekidz 9 reviews from this member

A good basic site at a reasonable price with a lovely view over the bay. The pitches are large, some are quite sloping, but those at the back of the field are fairly level.

There are plenty EHU points and cold water sinks which are lit at night. The bins were emptied and toilets cleaned daily during our stay, and the site is generally kept clean and tidy although it is a little tatty. The toilet block is basic and unheated but perfectly adequate. There are 4 electric showers which cost 1 for 15 mins which we thought a bit expensive, but it seemed like a generous 15 mins and was long enough for 2 of us.

This is a quiet location, down a very bumpy farm track about 5 miles from Falmouth. There isn't much in the immediate vicinity apart from some lovely walks but that is how we like it.

If you want manicured pitches, heated shower blocks, fresh flowers and piped music then go elsewhere because there is none of that here.

Management response: Posted December 2018:

Please note that Penwarne Farm Touring & Campsite has recently undergone lots of improvements including adding a communal kitchen, refurbishing existing toilets & showers, adding a disabled toilet & shower & increasing the number of showers & toilets.

As well as this, there is now a quaint farm cafe, boasting superb views over Falmouth Bay, a children's adventure playground to keep the kids entertained & a new Glamping area featuring brand new camping pods & luxury Shepherd's huts.

The campsite has also recently become a venue for alternative weddings, offering a fantastic glamping & free camping package.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stuartm25 3 reviews from this member

Firstly the good points: It is a large field with generous sized pitches. The farmer daily removed rubbish. There was more than one cold water tap (lit at night). There is a view towards the sea although I would not agree with previous reviewers because the view of the sea is so far distant that I would not return to this site for the view. However, because it is somewhat out the way I suspect it is always a fairly quiet site (excluding the nearby cow shed - it is a working farm!). I saw a badger trotting past my tent at 1am!

Falmouth is only 5miles. (A Satnav was useful finding my way back from Falmouth in the dark. )

There is nice countryside and gardens within easy reach. There is an ASDA within a few miles.

The not so good:

There was little visitor information. The toilet block did not appear to be cleaned during my stay (4 nights). There was no hot water to the wash basin and no electric shaver point. The block was very cold in cold weather. The generous 15 minutes advertised for 1 in the shower turned out to be 9 minutes. The day I arrived I had driven 400 miles through the night and was caught out. The second shower failed altogether. The owner returned first 1 then 2 after I pointed out these failings but had done nothing to repair or indicate problems with the showers by the time I left (I had suggested that he put up a notice indicating 9 not 15 minutes available. ) On the Tuesday morning when I left, he said that he would resolve the problem - I hope he does because I was fed up and cut short my stay to four nights.

In fairness, I reported the problems on either the Friday or Saturday but nothing had been done by Tuesday morning when I left.

The grass was left on the field after cutting. It rained heavily for a part of my stay and the cut grass got everywhere (my tent; both inside and outside the car and through the toilet block).

It was only 10 but I stayed at two other sites in Cornwall (11 & 12)with warm toilet blocks, hot water at the basins and no grass cuttings. This made this feel an expensive 10.

Management response: Posted December 2018:

Please note that Penwarne Farm Touring & Campsite has recently undergone lots of improvements including adding a communal kitchen, refurbishing existing toilets & showers, adding a disabled toilet & shower & increasing the number of showers & toilets.

As well as this, there is now a quaint farm cafe, boasting superb views over Falmouth Bay, a children's adventure playground to keep the kids entertained & a new Glamping area featuring brand new camping pods & luxury Shepherd's huts.

The campsite has also recently become a venue for alternative weddings, offering a fantastic glamping & free camping package.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Garym999 6 reviews from this member

Arrived at the site Easter Monday and apart from one other were the only ones there. With the cold easterly battled to get the tent up in the winds. Pitch was 15 per night with plenty of hookups.

Views were stunning over Meanporth bay, Falmouth, the docks and St Mawes & Pendennis castles.

Toilet block basic but perfectly functional. In the height of season I think it could get bit crowded though. Local farm shop nearby.

A dry 5 night camp so a success for us given the winter weather.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Moomingirl 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Penwarne Farm.

Penwarene offers Fantastic views out to sea you can spot Pendennis Castle and St Mawes castle on a clear day, such a special spot watching the sun set and rise.

Its a very quiet and friendly family camp site the only noise comes from the wildlife and the Cows.

There is a small wooden playground for the children all age groups of children seemed to appreciate this.

There are 2 showers which are 1 for 15 mins and 4 toilets for the lady's these were always spotless and had nice soft toilet paper and showers were hot consistently!

24hr Asda is 10 mins drive and Sainsburys is about 15 mins on route to Falmouth small Tesco in

Falmouth Town. Fresh eggs available on site.

Pitches were very generous and some come with picnic benches. We were able to pitch where we like as site was not overly busy. All this for 10 a night at high season I think they are under selling themselves. We will return


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4106 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019