Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Etherley Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Surrey > Dorking > Etherley Farm Reviews

Etherley Farm
Ockley
Dorking
Surrey   (Browse area)
RH5 5PA
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 27 Reviews
                9/10 from 27 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Matsuj 1 review from this member

 The owners had made real changes to allow for social distancing. Toilets and showers were super clean. Thank you.

Just one noisy camping unit ruined the evening! 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: JSFF 1 review from this member

 Wonderful location for a three family group. Children aged 9-12 found the forest to be a fantastic play area. Lots of space on site for games and cycling. It was too hot to walk Leith Hill this time (have done on previous visits) but the forest just behind the site afforded plenty of shade and adventure.

Shower block and loos immaculate at all times of day even though they were in constant use by very hot bods needing cold showers. It was over 35 C for our full trip but the outside tap allowed us to fill basins and buckets of cold water to bring back to the tents to put our feet in.

The shop has everything you need and the Parrot is a lovely pub a short walk away.

Recommend the field furthest from shower block as sometimes the chattering geese can be loud but once you know what the sound is it does not disturb.

Staff very friendly and very helpful 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Ashley 1 review from this member

 Nice little site with the choice to have campfires if wanted, although we arrived later so unable to purchase logs for the fire unfortunately.

Would defo use again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sicat 1 review from this member

 Have not been camping for a few years. Wanted to take my son on a camp and selected Etherley farm as they allow fires, Camp site was easy to find, we arrived about 7-30. Went to book in to find the shop had closed at 7. No great problem as instructions were clear, find a pitch, pitch up and check in in the morning. We found a nice pitch in the field furthest from the farm and was pleased to see the site was busy with families. Facilities were good with toilets and showers with hot water, looked as if they had recently been refurbished. My son and I were really looking forward to getting a fire going but Mother Nature had other ideas! It started raining on the Friday evening and didn't stop. We ended up leaving Saturday afternoon due to the weather, no fault of the site. We will definitely return as we still want to get that fire going. All in all Etherley farm seems a really nice site. 


Date of Visit: July 2017  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ratty 245 reviews from this member

 This site is great. It was easy to book online, and on on arrival they had my booking on the system, checked me in in no time and showed me where the facilities were. The price was 9. 50 per adult per night. You check in at the farm shop and this sells the essential groceries and also logs, kindling and fire starter packs. The bags of logs were 5.50 for a hefty bag.

You can have fire in the designated pits, or bring your own, the choice is yours.

The facilities are unisex and consists of around 6 toilets and showers in one block and they are modern, clean and well maintained. They also have a couple of sinks with mirrors for teeth, shaving, etc. The showers are directional and you can take the shower head down, which helps and they are temp adjustable and not the push button type.

There is also an outside washing up area with two sinks and a fresh water tap too.

You can pitch where you like on this site and that is great if you are in a group with more than one or two units.

The site is nestled at the foot of the Surrey Hills and you can walk straight from the site to the hills. We went on a 10 mile stroll and took in some fabulous views reaching to London, The South Downs and even Brighton. There are miles up on miles of great walking at the site, which is perfect for a dog, however the only drawback of this site is that dogs are not allowed, otherwise this would have become a frequent location for me to visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chucknorage 6 reviews from this member

 Nice spot, clean facilities. However, overflowed sewage due to heavy rain had not been cleared. Grass way too long (especially as it was wet)- impossible to ride bikes and lost balls and cutlery! Very noisy large groups until around 1am (booked because it said family friendly). 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Poshcamper48 9 reviews from this member

 I camped at Etherley Farm for 1 night with my 2 sons in May 2017. The site is on a farm in the Surrey Hills and consists of 2 large fields next to the farm buildings and bordered by woodland which is National Trust and so open to the public. There's a farm shop which takes cards as well as cash plus a fairly new toilet block with showers. Best of all they let you have campfires.

The photos on this website are not up to date in my opinion and the site is better than it looks in the photos. The toilet block has been expanded and modernised - it was well stocked and clean during our stay. The person we spoke to was the daughter of the farmer I think and she was very pleasant.

They do have a lot of youth groups doing Dof E etc, and the 2 fields are both open - so if you prefer a more secluded set up, this may not be for you. Not sure I'd stay here at high season - might be a bit too large and noisy for me. But on quieter weekends, with a quick journey for those of us living in London, it ticks a lot of boxes. I'd rate it higher if there was a pub and shop nearer (nothing the owners can do about that) and if the pitches were screened off with hedges. I'd certainly return in May or September, but probably not over the summer. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grahamrouse 3 reviews from this member

 A Saturday night here in May and we thought it was a great site. It's a well appointed camping site with farm shop on the premises and an easy 10 minute walk to the Parrot pub. The owners were very friendly and helpful and it's good value with a simple per-person charging scheme.

We'll definitely be returning soon! 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Noschoolmum 1 review from this member

 Excellent couple of days with laid back owners. Not able to speak to anyone on the phone as we tried to do same day booking, but as it was available as an online booking, we paid and turned up on the same day. Pleasant surroundings with the last of the bluebells, farmshop with meat, eggs, jam and honey; firewood available. Lots of space on unmarked pitches with no silly charges for pup tents and awnings. Facilities: clean but unisex/ communal; did not bother us.

There were two fields and lots of space, and the drive was pretty. Leith Hill Tower an hour's walk away.

Peaceful place and honking geese did not bother us; we would go back! 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camping23 3 reviews from this member

 Great location at the foot of Leith Hill but I feel that this had made the owners a little bit lazy when it comes to the site itself - the grass hadn't been cut for weeks which made it hard to run around and made everything wetter for longer after rain.

The toilet blocks are also in need of some TLC - perfectly functional but a bit tatty and they weren't clean or well stocked with paper when I used them. The drinking tap also had a pallet underneath it but nothing else and it was surrounded by boggy mud.

Also, don't stay here if you're hoping for a quiet night - the camping field was bordered on one side by a flock of geese and the other by a flock of turkeys, very noisy from dawn until dusk!

On a positive note, you can have fires anywhere and it's all very laidback, so I'd still return. 


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Etherley Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Etherley Farm?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Etherley Farm dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dorking      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Surrey

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4421 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement