Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Woollett Hall Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Sidcup > Woollett Hall Farm Reviews

Woollett Hall Farm
Kelsey Farms
North Cray
Sidcup
Kent   (Browse area)
DA14 5ET
Tel: 07775 684166
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 10 Reviews
                9/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: SilverSpiral 6 reviews from this member

 Very friendly and welcoming campsite close to London.

Relaxed arrival and departure times.

Visited in April, so it does look a bit bleak at the moment.

Has a cafe, farm shop and indoor children's play area (additional charge). Picnic tables are available, as well as electric hook up and of course a water point.

There are two toilets (women's very clean, men's had been peed all over), both gendered self enclosed cubicles and a disabled toilet which contains a single shower (coin operated). These are shared with the cafe, shop and play area.

Baby change facilities and nappy disposal available

The camping area itself is simply a small field surrounded by other fields. Unfortunately at least in early spring, the road sounds are clearly audible throughout the day and night if you are in a tent. The campsite is fairly new and I hope in time they will plant a nice hedge to absorb some of the noise.

The prices are very reasonable indeed, especially considering how easy it is to get in to (or escape from!) London to here, at 16 for a tent without electric hook up. No extra charge for dogs or additional people.

No washing-up area or laundry facilities. No recycling facilities. Water and waste disposal available.

Firepits and barbecues are allowed as long as they are off the ground. Logs are sold in the farm shop, 5 per net.

Pitch sizes are generous. Ground is a little rutted, but grass is lush.

Easy access to road links and about half an hour walk to the nearest stations, London bus routes just outside the campsite.

Lovely pub just around the corner, less than 5 minutes walk away, reasonably priced with open fire and friendly welcome.

Great for: Easy access to London, great farm shop, nice pub dinner, good value for money, dogs, campfires, someone who doesn't want to cook.

Less good for: rural peace and quiet, luxury shower facilities, eco credentials 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Rachel craig 1 review from this member

 Cracking site, perfect location as an overnight stop on our way to Surrey. Biol was a really great guy, very helpful. Shower room was spotless and big enough to take my children in with me comfortably. We didn't get a chance to use the shop/playbarn/restaurant etc but they looked inviting and would have definitely gone in had they been open. A real gem of a find and great value. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: GrannieRyle 3 reviews from this member

 My whole family stayed at this excellent site over the bank holiday weekend for a 'family get-together'. We had two camper vans, one with awning - plus 3 tents and a spare 'communal tent'. The farmer was very accommodating, ensuring we could all be together and also have room for the grandchildren to play safely.

There is an excellent 'local produce' farm shop on site, open daily, with very friendly and helpful assistants, and also a butcher, open two days a week. There is a lovely children's soft play barn, but to save confusion, do ensure you purchase your vouchers first from the farmer, as it is not directly run by him. The kind ladies in the play barn will also do your washing up for you, at a very reasonable fee.

There is just one shower situated within the disabled toilet room, for which you have to pay for a 2 minute supply of hot water. However, it seemed adequate to us - we are, after all, all campers! There is in addition to the disabled access toilet a single gents, and a single ladies convenience across the car park. Hook up, fresh water, and CDU are easily accessed.

There were bar-b-ques available to use, and also a campfire venue just beyond the fenced camping area. Local pub with meals is just a short walk at the end of a small lane, but we did not need to use it or leave the site. It could do with a sink and hot water suitable for washing up, although one of the ladies in the shop hinted that this was being considered for the future. Given its proximity to London, I suspect that the prices are fairly reasonable. We will definitely return for our annual family gatherings, as the family all had nothing but praise for this site. Many thanks to 'Farmer Bill' and his team. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sarah Lumley 3 reviews from this member

 We had a fantastic stay here over the Easter holiday. Although we arrived late we were easily able to get in. All grass pitches and adequate toilet and shower facilities. There are no washing up facilities though. Excellent farm shop, can recommend the sausages. Easy walking into Bexley and Albany Park station. Caught the train to Chatham Historic dockyard for a great day out. Good pub food next door.

Will be going back again, already booked. 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Unibrow123 4 reviews from this member

 Having already stayed previously at this site I thought it was time to leave my gratitude in the form a good review.

As mentioned I have stayed here on several occasions and on every occasion it has been a great stay. It is an oasis of calm in an area not to far from the hustle and bustle of London. The main reason I stayed here in the first place was due to the close proximity to were I live and with my young family its an ideal place to stay without spending to much money on venturing further afield. 10 minutes from the not so pleasant council estate were I live and you really could be anywhere in the British countryside.

Surrounded by fields and in the summer large corn crops around the site gives the feeling of complete seclusion. I work relatively local so can go to work in between visits. All the basics you need are on site. Shower room, Farm shop, toilets, kiddies play area and the crazy barn which is basically a big indoor soft ball play area which sells food and soft drinks.

The farm itself is a working farm and you often see the farmer Bill and his son working away in their tractors. The site is fairly flat and a good size. Whenever I have stayed, there has been only 3/4 caravans plus the odd tent so never do you feel to pushed in. Noise in my opinion is minimal even with a busy bypass running near the entrance to the farm and in the summer the corn crops drown out most of it.

The surrounding area is nice with many large open grasslands and a local nature reserve just on your doorstep. A pub is situated just outside the farm which again sells food and is nice and friendly. Bexley village is just 15 mins walk which has many small and shops and a few pubs.

All in all a great well run site. Clean, tidy and quiet. Ideal if wanting a relaxing break or visiting Londons many attractions. Looking forward to our next visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Maur13 1 review from this member

 We needed a base to call home for six weeks; Woollett Hall Farm gave us that

The facilities are basic but kept very clean and so are the camp grounds

The bathroom, in place of an ablution, gave a homely touch.

As we were living in a motorhome we enjoyed:

A bus stop outside the site

An easy walk into Bexley and to Albany Park station

A pub immediately outside the site

A short drive to both Tescos and a laundrette, with ample parking 


Date of Visit: December 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ragre 1 review from this member

 We stayed for a couple nights, and we really liked it. When we got there, we were shown to our spot promptly, and then went to explore. We walked for a while, and we loved the scenery.

I loved the organic food, and although we didn't have much, what we did have was superb. There was so much around too, which was a big bonus.

To conclude, it was a very enjoyable stay and we would recommend it to anyone. Thank you. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bob Maughan 2 reviews from this member

 I was having to go on a course so we decided to take the caravan so as not to travel all week, anyway, we found this site and boy did we have a great time,

If you love walking and just chilling out then this is the place for you,

The staff in the shop and the owner are the best, you will not be disappointed,

It's very close to everywhere and the pub is on the door step great cask ale and food. Enjoy your stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Caryne 1 review from this member

 This could be a lovely site, it is a pretty, flat, field surrounded by crops (corn and sunflowers) with a friendly owner.

However the facilities are limited and being near a very busy road and on the Gatwick flight path wasn't peaceful, even late into the night, so light sleepers in tents (or those with caravans who want to keep their windows open) may find it difficult.

The other problems are the lack of facilities, there is only one shower which is also the disabled toilet for the adjacent children's 'play barn' (a indoor play area open to the general public which gets very busy). If the toilet is in use or when the site is very busy you could have quite a wait to shower. There is only one other toilet block with one male and one female toilet and these too are also used by the staff and public using the 'Farm Shop' on the site.

There are no toilets just for users of the campsite. Another problem is there are no washing up facilities at all (despite the website advertising them).

The aforementioned 'Crayzee Barn' will wash up for you at a cost of 2 per time but they are only open from 10am - 6pm, Monday to Friday so not much use and far too costly anyway. As a camper having to wash up breakfast and dinner things in a tiny hand basin in the toilet I find this unacceptable.  


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bambam 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed here recently for 3 nights as a stop over and found the site very convenient.

On arrival we were greeted by the very friendly owner who told us that they had recently opened to the public. We were shown to our pitch which was more than adequate.

On site there was a soft play which was separate from the camping field and my 3 & 6 year olds loved it ( there is a separate fee for that).

The food inside was of an excellent quality which I think would be because it all comes from their farm shop which was on site and was stocked with fruit & veg and was good to get your milk, eggs and beautiful ''proper' bacon, the type I remember having as a child.

We also had a walk along the river on one of the days and it was lovely.

On one night we walked along to the village and had a nice meal in one of the restaurants and it was great that we didn't need to take the car as everything was so accessible.

All in all our stay at Woollett Hall was a joy and we would not hesitate in using it again and recommending it to people. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Woollett Hall Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Woollett Hall Farm?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Woollett Hall Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sidcup      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2503 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement