Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Manoir De La Baudonniere

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Chantonnay > Manoir De La Baudonniere Reviews

Manoir De La Baudonniere
Route Des Salinieres
Monsireigne
Chantonnay
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
85110
Tel: 0033 2 51 66 43 79
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 12
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 14 Reviews
                9/10 from 14 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: 47bobdad 2 reviews from this member

Once again we enjoyed our "sejour" at La Baudonniere. We leave our caravan in storage and it works great for us.

La baudonniere is "Rural" but is very conveniently situated for trips out to La Rochelle and the coast or to Saumur and the "Loire". Good clean Toilets/Showers.

Nice uncrowded swimming pool. Good value Storage and site fees.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JGDH 1 review from this member

We store our caravan here and for the past three years have visited twice a year. We never get round to going anywhere else because we love the site and the area.

Tom and Eleanor are friendly and always helpful, the facilities (toilets, showers, swimming pool, etc) are great and the location suits us perfectly - ideal for trips to the coast, green Venice and other interesting places.

It is also ideal for those who want to visit the Puy de Fou - which is really worth a visit.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Johntina 1 review from this member

We have just returned from our latest holiday in France. We go to France twice a year and store our caravan at Manoir De La Baudonniere.

This is our fifth year there. We always receive a really warm and friendly welcome from Tom and Eleanor (Jay the dog too), and our touring caravan is ready and waiting for us on the campsite pitch for when we arrive.

We normally stay for a week or so at the beginning and end of our touring holiday. It is a great base from which to explore the Vendee and the many other areas which are of interest and easily accessible from here.

Everyone is so friendly and all the site facilities are excellent. It is such a pleasure to arrive there after driving from the ferry port or upon returning from weeks of touring.

Manoir De La Baudonniere is in the most delightful rural setting and our stay has always been wonderfully relaxing and peaceful. Just perfect for us.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dicnor 1 review from this member

This site is ideal for us because of the location, owners and climate. We have been visiting this site for the past 5 years, usually 3 times a year, this year 4 times.

It is above all, a friendly site, where you can get involved, or remain on your own if you wish. With regard to the reviewer who intimated that the site was noisy, we were on the site at the time of his complaint, and are totally independent as we were not involved.

I was aware that a small group of people were talking until about 12 midnight, I was unaware that they carried on a further 2 hours, as suggested. And as the reviewer stated the incident did not occur again, so why did he leave a day earlier.

I was made aware of the complaint, as it's the first one I have ever heard of on this site. As far as 'regulars', surely that indicates to others that the site is very popular and friendly site and is revisited year after year.

As we are retired after working all our lives, if we wish to return to a certain site, why should this be frowned upon.

The site is a family site and a little understanding goes a long way, it would be churlish of us to complain about children playing at 7 am, that's what children do. And may they long continue to do so.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Taneth16 4 reviews from this member

This year we stayed at this site for the latter two and a half weeks of August. We all love it here and this is our 3rd summer spent here. The owners Tom and Eleanor are so friendly as are their polite children (with whom our son has formed a great friendship).

The site is a field adjacent to the Manoir, it is mainly flat, sloping gently to the far end, with lovely sunset views in the evenings. There are ample water and electricity points with trees spotted around should you need some shade. We take our dog and there is always a shady spot for him throughout the day during hotter weather.

There is a well stocked games room in one of the barns with pool table, ping pong table, tv and sofa etc and an assortment of games. The pool is heated and is always clean and inviting. The toilet and shower block is clean and plenty large enough for the site, Loo roll is provided and hot water whenever you need it. It also has sinks for washing up, a fridge, a washing machine and dryer (both linked to a pay meter). There is also well stocked book shelves and information leaflets/notices about the local area.

There are so many places to see around the area (car needed for most), Puy du Fou, O Gliss water park, Mervent, Vouvant, Several excellent beaches, Poitevan canals and marshes. I could go on. We have enjoyed cycling and walking too.

This is in my opinion a little gem of a site - if you’re looking for an all singing all dancing eurocamp experience then this may not be for you, but if like us, you want a safe, friendly, clean smallish site, where you can relax in peace or if you choose, you can head out to explore the beautiful vendee area of France, then this site fits the bill.

The cherry on the cake would be the very helpful and friendly proprietors Tom and Eleanor, who are always happy to assist, advise, and generally ensure your stay is a vary pleasant one.

Negatives. Well I guess that's down to opinion and personal preference, we love it here!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GordonRidley 1 review from this member

We store our van at this site and visit several times per year. The owners, Tom and Eleanor, are the friendliest and most helpful couple you could wish to meet - nothing is a trouble for them.

The site is basically a large field with numbered but undelineated pitches all with electricity points. There is a very well maintained amenity block with wash-up sinks and unisex toilets and showers with lashings of hot water. For the kids there is a lovely heated pool and play area. For 2018 there was a resident site warden employed to keep the facilities up to scratch.

It is disappointing that some reviewers find the number of 'regulars' a problem as in my experience everyone is made welcome - you only have to speak to people to be included.

The surrounding area is very interesting being within striking distance of the Vendee coast without the hustle and bustle of the coastal sites. It is very convenient for visiting Puy de Fou and there are good restaurants in Les Herbiers, Pouzages and Chantonnay.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ammdkids 25 reviews from this member

This is a tricky review to write. We stayed at this site for 5 nights predominantly with the purpose of visiting Puy Du Fou. It's a small site with about 15 units, a lovely warm pool, clean toilets, camping fridges, play area and an indoor barn with pool table/table football and free Wifi. It has the potential to be a fabulous site and the owners were very friendly and it was a shame that it is the first site we have ever left a day early. The reason was unfortunately the noise at night. As others have mentioned this site was full of caravaners that return every year and although initially they were very friendly, the noise on the first night went on until 2am. We had a 4 year old with us. We had to complain and the owner did have a word which did improve things but it remained far noisier than the much larger Yelloh site we had spent out first 10 days in. We were the only non regulars and really as the last reviewer said we felt like we were outsiders. It was only half an hour from Puy du Fou which was a fantastic place.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Yachtmaster 1 review from this member

The site is in an ideal location for us as it generally takes less than four hours to drive to the site from the St Malo ferry terminal.

Being retired, we avoid the peak holiday season from mid July to end of August and find the site peaceful during our stays.

The site has clean facilities and we find it very relaxing. There is a play area for children and there is also a heated swimming pool. Fortunately for us, it is a fairly small site and does not have the so called 'attractions' that some large commercial sites offer - (we would avoid such sites. ) The site is in the countryside and, although there is no on site shop, large supermarkets are a few kilometres away.

A number of those using the site store their caravans, and it is not unusual to meet someone who we have met before. However, in our experience, all have been friendly but not intrusive.

Tom and Eleanor own and run the site and we have always found them to be welcoming, friendly and accommodating.

We are very happy with the site as it is and wouldn't want anything changed.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stephen15 5 reviews from this member

We have kept caravan at this site for 4 years now and I feel that a response is necessary to the previous review. We have been to quite a few sites in France over the years but this is the one that we felt most welcome at from day one. Like many others on this forum we all have our favourite sites which we return to time and again when friendships are made and renewed each year. Naturally people get together for a glass of wine and a yarn but the noise is never excessive or late. Its called being friendly. To us, this is our special wee place in the sun where we spend our summers with old friends and new and we can thoroughly recommend it as a holiday site or a base for touring.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SaculS 2 reviews from this member

Tom & Eleanor are a lovely friendly couple. We always feel very welcome whenever we stay at their site.

It's a nice flat, well kept field that slopes slightly towards one end. The toilet & shower block are the cleanest in France! and there is a games room with Internet access. A heated pool is available too!

A visit to the Puy Du Fou is a must whilst in the area, the shows are fantastic and the evening cinescenie is amazing! Well worth it!

There are also some lovely villages in the area like Vouvant, and plenty of restaurants dotted around to enjoy.

La baudonniere is definitely the site to stay at whilst you're in the Vendee.

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Chantonnay      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2284 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019