Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Le Camping De L Isle Verte

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Montsoreau > Le Camping De L Isle Verte Reviews

Le Camping De L Isle Verte
Avenue De La Loire
Montsoreau
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
49730
Tel: 0033 241 517 660
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 95
Open: April - September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 10 Reviews
                8/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ian-M 1 review from this member

 We stayed here 6 nights (pre-booked from the UK). The site is next to the river and the Velo a Loire cycle route. If you are self sufficient you might be fine but if you use any of the site services be ready to be disappointed!

The shower and toilet block is not very clean, with simple things like soap not being provided in the toilets (one camper left a note about the soap dispenser being empty but all that happened was the note was removed by the 'cleaning' staff the next day).

There is an on site restaurant but it is expensive with deceitful staff. We tried one of their self cook meals and selected the seafood one. However the fish was served with the skin upwards so we only discovered later they had substituted a cheap white fish for the salmon specified on the menu. With no staff around we continued with the rest of the meal - in retrospect we should have refused the whole lot because they refused to give any discount for not providing what was stated on the menu. Also portion sizes were small but the price was high.

If you are having a EHU make sure you have a long cable or an extension, the hookup point can be a couple of pitches away.

Finally please be aware that there are a LOT of flies at this site, especially at dusk, and pigeons everywhere. Expect to have to give your vehicle a very thorough cleaning when you leave and think twice before opening any roof windows on a hot evening - our skylights were well splattered!

Totally not recommended 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 60 reviews from this member

 Pleasant open site very convenient for village. 18. 60 Euros pn incl electricity. Reception closed 12 till 2. 30. The mushroom farm just outside the front gate is excellent for a lunch based entirely on mushrooms - soup - various stuffed mushrooms - mushroom ice cream - very different and novel. There is no access to the river from the site. The village and the adjoining village (Candes St Martin) are both classified as among 'The Prettiest Villages in France' and there is a walk between the two to a lovely viewpoint overlooking the confluence of the two rivers. The very helpful Tourist Office is but a couple of hundred yards from the site entrance. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Judeandmikesmith 9 reviews from this member

 We chose this site as a one night stop over en route South. We chose it specifically because it had a restaurant that was still open in September (quite a rarity on French campsites in our experience) and so we were very disappointed to discover on arrival that the restaurant was closed because it was Monday! I really don't understand why sites don't mention this sort of thing on their websites. We were allocated a lovely big pitch, although the hook-up point was 2 pitches away. Luckily our cable just reached. The pool is lovely and the bar/restaurant area alongside it looked inviting too.

The toilet and shower facilities were unisex and would benefit from a self-closing external door to keep out the tiny flies that had taken over.

The site is ideally situated on the banks of the river, just a 2 minute stroll to a cafe, a wine 'cave', a tabac and a small supermarket (either along the riverbank or via the road). At first we thought we were going to struggle to find somewhere to eat as the cafe did not open in the evening, the creperie only served sweet crepes and the only restaurant was very pricey. Luckily we discovered, whilst following the signs for the antique shops, a hotel at the top of the hill that was open for Evening Dinner. We sat out in the garden overlooking the river and, although our steak was a bit chewy, the view was stunning.

All in all, not a bad site and a few tweaks would make it even better. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SGThomas 112 reviews from this member

 Since the previous review, the trees have been trimmed to accommodate the 'must have reception' for satellite TV and the wi-fi has booster points now and in August will be replaced by a more powerful system ( probably more expensive too).

As it was early in the season we had a riverside pitch which was enormous, as are the vast majority of the others. Mostly you can drive through them from one camp road to other, making it a doddle setting up.

The swimming pool/paddling pool/restaurant and general 'animation' area looked rather nice but were not open

The sanitaires are clean, modern and warm with hot water in the showers. Wi-fi, with a good signal, is reasonable at Ä10 for a full week ( free if you have Camping Cheque Gold Card).

Montsoreau is a nice little village within short walking distance along the bank of the Loire for bread, tourist offices etc. Saumur (10km to the west) and Chino (10km to the east) both have very large LeClerc stores for both fuel and food.

Worth using as a base to tour around the local area, especially as the 'Loire a velo' passesright outside the campsite. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pirateprincess 2 reviews from this member

 The site as said before is right by the Loire with direct access to cycle routes. Nearby are the wonderful Saumur Champigny vineyards. Facilities are clean etc but our gripe was that the site is very shaded, and not surprisingly at the end of the season the pitches were tired, but there was very little space or privacy.

The wifi was as bit hit and miss as was trying to find a satellite through the trees.

The staff were very friendly, but having stayed on other sites we were glad to move on and find pitches with space and privacy and access to the sky,

A great village and a place to explore vineyards especially the hill route back from Saumur. Look for a vineyard with a house with 'Ici' written on roof. Wonderful wine 'en vrac' @Ä3 a litre.

Pity it is so crowded with small pitches. Heated pool excellent 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Butterflies 60 reviews from this member

 We chose this camp site because of the favourable reviews on UK Campsite, and I have to say we were not disappointed. Our pitch was alongside the Loire with a great view. This is a small site which pretty much ticks all the boxes. The whole site is kept very clean and the toilets were cleaned more than once a day when we were there, and the site wasnít even full (there is also loo roll in the toilets - which you don't always find in France). There is a pool and bar, in addition to all the usual laundry & wash-up facilities. There is also a drive-over grey waste /camper van Ďtop up and dumpí area. The owners speak fluent English and the site is adjacent to the small town of Montsoreau. The Boulanger/pattisier which is opposite the camp site sells very good bread and cakes Ė itís hard not to pig out! There is also a market on Sunday mornings. We donít like cycling on the roads, but there is a quiet route to Saumur amongst the vinyards, and there are plenty of opportunities for wine tasting here! There is also the Chateau de Montsoreau within 10 minutes walk. All in all a great place to stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Boo1 16 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site for a couple of nights on the way down to the Dordogne. I had selected it because of the reviews on this site and I wasn't disappointed. We had a pitch right on the banks of the river and there was plenty of room for caravan, canopy, car, sun loungers and table and chairs. We didn't use the pool as the weather wasn't warm enough, but it looked a lovely space and the bar and terrace area were very inviting. Toilets and showers were clean and the area for backpackers was a great idea. The town itself is gorgeous, just 5 minutes walk away with a lovely chateau and all the basic shops you need in order to abandon your car for a few days. We didn't really have time to explore the surrounding area in too much depth, but it is certainly a place I would recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sue.H 4 reviews from this member

 Our favourite site and town in all of France, we have been going here for more than 20 years and still love it. It was once a municipal site but is now privately owned. Nice bar and restaurant, lovely pool, all the staff speak English. They try to provide entertainment every week and there is a small market that comes to the site twice a week. They also arrange a little wine tasting a couple of times a week. Very child friendly with bouncy castle and animations etc. The best bit about this site is it's location, right on the banks of the Loire and a 2 minute walk into the lovely village of Montsoreau which has 3 bars who all do reasonable food. The boulangerie has some of the best bread we've ever had. There is a traditional market in the village square every Sunday morning. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paul@julie 58 reviews from this member

 This was a lovely site on the banks of the Loire with big spacious pitches, we had pitch No 1 which was about 200m sq. Toilet block was clean and cleaned every afternoon, plenty of sinks and areas to wash. They have a sort of big campers kitchen area with fridges and freezer and gas rings and cupboards under to store your things, also bunks for the loire a velo cyclists.

The on site restaurant serves good food and the pool area is lovely with plenty of sunbeds, also kids playpark and bouncy castle.

We loved it here, it was easy to get to Saumur and you can cycle up into the vineyards, we would definitely go back again, 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wendle 19 reviews from this member

 In my opinion this was a pretty average site though lots of people on site did seem to like it. The comment book full of nice comments.

However the staff were very friendly and accommodating, no problem giving us a pitch of our choice rather than the one we were allocated. The allocated was had very little grass left on it, large muddy patch in the middle of it. There also seemed to be a shortage of hook up pitches.

We had a couple of take away pizzas which were very nice. Really nice bar restaurant area and within walking distance to a little town which had everything we needed.

What really let the place down was the shower / toilet facilities. They were clean but only 6 toilets in the ladies and 6 in the mens.

The shower block was shared. No hooks or shelves for soap etc. They had originally been there as the screws holes were still evident but for some reason all had been removed.

The showers were hit and miss. Some were fine and others only worked if you kept the button pressed in while using them.

There were sinks and and private cubicles for a wash but no plugs and never any hot water to the sinks, no matter what time of day. These facilities were the only ones on site so some pitches had a bit of a walk to them

A lot of people seem to use this site for a stop over and I'd say it's fine for that but not for a weeks holiday.

There are a lot of good points for this site but I think the bad out weigh the good which is a shame cos the staff try very hard.  



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Le Camping De L Isle Verte child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Le Camping De L Isle Verte have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Le Camping De L Isle Verte?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Le Camping De L Isle Verte dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Montsoreau      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5119 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement