Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Les Breuils

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Lorraine - Alsace > Verdun > Camping Les Breuils Reviews

Camping Les Breuils
8 Allee Des Breuils
Verdun
Lorraine - Alsace   (Browse area)
55100
Tel: 0033 3 29 86 15 31
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: April - September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 8 Reviews
                8/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Lattytatty 6 reviews from this member

Access/Egress

Very close to and an easy route from the A4. Access into the campsite is wide and clear with a pull in space slightly up the road if busy with other units.

Fairly steep (but manageable) hill out of the site, a slow run up the hill gives the exit barrier time to lift without having to hit your brakes.

Check in

English speaking chap on reception, very efficient.

Toilets

Two toilet blocks, we only used the main block.

Functional but definitely ready for updating. Cleaned once a day at around 12. Still able to use the facilities during this time. When we arrived the ladies toilets had paper but this ran out during our second day there and wasn't replenished. The gents had no paper at any point of our stay. No seats on the loos.

Showers

The showers have been updated more recently that the toilets. Good sized cubicle with shower and basin in each. Also corner rail and hook. Push button shower with unadjustable water temperature.

Pitch

We were pitch 146 which was a good size for our caravan, shadow, son's pop up tent, car and table. Lots of pitches on this site of varying sizes all with high hedges separating each other.

Bear in mind, a train line runs alongside the site (directly behind the pitch we were on). If using this site as a stopover, it shouldn't be a problem as the first train seemed to be around 8am. Might be a bit wearisome if that was your early wake up call every morning of a mainstay holiday. Saying that, neither of the children heard the first train of the day (and we didn't hear many throughout the day).

Food and drink

Bar and restaurant on this site. The menu looked good but we never used it, it did look well used by others though. Free wifi in this area.

Leisure activities

The pool was great, chilly on an overccast day but perfect on a scorcher of a day. One fast single slide and one covered curly tube. Small paddling pool with mushroom water shower. Loungers and chairs around the pool. Well equipped play area, multisports area, volleyball, ping pong tables, football table, football goal. Map of walks and cycles rides direct from the site. I did an easy 5k run from the site down the track immediately outside.

To do in the area

We went to the tourist information in town and got an English map of the town. Tour guide Dad then took us around all the points of interest, there is a lot of history here. We went into the Citadel foyer but didn't do the tour. It 's underground so have jumpers at the ready! Lots of eateries and bars, a lovely French town.

Overview

Great campsite for a few nights or stopover, for this we would definitely use it again. I think the sanitaires let it down but that shouldn't put you off.
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Camelsoutback 20 reviews from this member

A very well located campsite 10min walk from the Citadelle, and town center. The site has a lovely restaurant reasonably priced, with seating indoor and outdoor, where we had our first nights meal and were tempted each subsequent night, we stayed four nights.

Facilities –centrally located, were excellent though you did have to provide your own toilet paper for the toilets and no seat either. Lovely modern showers, lots of hot water for washing up. Each plot is surrounded by a high hedge offering good privacy, lots of bird song, the services (water etc) were well located around the site.

There were few children there who made use of the play area. The pool had water slides and really looked lovely, failed to trial. Verdun is an amazing place to visit, cited as the Peace City in recognition of the hell it went through during WW1.

The sights within the city give you the joy of peace and the total cost of war. The actual battle sites really gives you the sense of hell of the WW1, Citadelle (a Vauban fort built in 1680, and survived the bombing during the Great War. Very good audio visual tour on a little train which takes you through 2km of the 7Km of tunnels), Fort Vaux, the Ossuary, and many others ending up with the Route Sacre, which runs close to the campsite, the freight line does- never heard it though we watched long freight trains pass many times.

The site is within the town are walkable. We would go back there.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 664DaveS 31 reviews from this member

We visited for 2 nights in August, having stayed here some 10 years ago. The staff are very friendly andspeak english. Pitches are a good size mainly separated by hedges.

The facilities are clean but a little dated, but there were updates underway during our visit.

The pool is large, heated and has a waterslide, some fellow campers informed us their children loved it!

There is a nice bar and restaurant with free wifi in the bar area. Drink prices very reasonable.

It is a 15 minute walk to Verdun centre through the fort, which has is worth a visit, with english tours.

The town is pleasant with some bars and restaurants on therivrr Meuse.

A short drive from the site takes you to a modern Leclerc supermarket complex with fuel. It is by the station.

There is plenty to see and do in the area particularly if you like history, with the Verdun forts and Maginot Line forts to visit.

Good for short or long stay.

The site takes ACSI.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sjr66 5 reviews from this member

We have just spent 6 nights at this campsite and were very happy with it. The pitches vary in size and are either separated by neat hedges and in a sunny spot or very shaded by very tall trees. The pitches separated by hedges tend to be smaller.

We were given our pitch numbers by reception and although the pitches were very generous in size, we would have preferred a smaller pitch with more sun, ours got no sun at any time of day because of the tall trees.

I would advise you check the pitch allocated before you accept it. We arrived without reservation and there were plenty of pitches available. However, a British couple who had booked online for one night were charged an extra €10 for the online booking making one night stay quite expensive for the time of year.

The facilities were fine if a little tired. The toilets were unisex and access was from outside. There is a washing machine and drier.

The swimming pool looked good although we didn't use it. Drinks and meals in the restaurant were very reasonably priced and internet was free with a strong signal though only available outside reception.

We will return to this site again. It is in lovely grounds and is very peaceful.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lbarkas 78 reviews from this member

Convenient 2-night stop on our way to Calais from Germany. Not far from motorway. The pitch allocated was quite good having high, dense hedges on each side for privacy and easily accessed from a very wide road which unfortunately later became a playground for kids with a football. Toilets and showers are very dated and could be cleaner - lots of cobwebs and dust - but water flow from the shower was good with hot water. Free wifi around the reception was useful. We had two nights so that we could visit some of the WW1 sights. Went to the Ossuary at Douaumont, then the American monument and cemetery. All were well worth seeing. Lots more to see and do in the area and that would be our only reason for using this site again, preferably low season when the risk of ball games at 11pm was absent.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: West Nab Johnny 3 reviews from this member

Just returned to UK after 6 weeks of touring France, Belgium and Germany. Spent 11 nights at Camping Les Breuils in very hot weather and must say it was the best site of 10 we visited in the 6 weeks period. Last visited the place in 2003 but until this year was not really aware of just how good it is. May have changed hands betweeen 2003/2014 but no matter, it is class. Easy to walk into spectacular Verdun, great location for exploring many WW1 menorials etc. , and really great for just staying on site for fishing, swimming in the fabulous pool (no extra charge for pool) and dining in the bar/restaurant. The people who own/run the place are helpful, courteous and above all, totally professional. English is spoken but come on; be adventurous, try a little French! They love it and will help where needed. The soccer world cup had started - the England team arrived back in the UK before we did and we left home before the squad! - and the atmosphere in the bar/terrace area with many nationalities represented was a privilege to experience. Showers, toilets, pitches were ideal. I am unable to find anything to complain about (I am a Yorkshireman, we can usually find something that is not to our liking) and I strongly advise discerning campers to use Les Breuils. Free wi-fi with perfect reception, supermarkets/town centre nearby. Paradise; what more do you want?

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrscmb 52 reviews from this member

This site is well located for walking into Verdun which is quite an attractive town with the river Meuse running through it.

The site caters for about 160 touring pitches which are mostly grass. We arrived during the lunch closure, but a gentleman immediately came out, made us welcome and checked us in.

We had pitch 87 which backed directly onto a small lake and the electricity was reverse polarity. There are two sanitary blocks but one was locked whilst we were there. Our block had separate ladies & gents. The ladies had 6 showers, 6 private washrooms and 5 toilets. The toilets were in an outside area with no seats or paper. They were reasonably clean. My husband and other male campers were not happy that some of their toilets were locked and only 3 were open.

There is a swimming pool with slide which looked nice but we didn’t go in, so can’t comment on the water temperature.

There is a small shop, a bar and restaurant. We ate at the restaurant once and were pleased with the quality and price of the meal.

Wifi is free but only available around reception. We paid 14€ with ACSI plus tax.

Would happily stay again.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 220 reviews from this member

To Find Site:- Leave the A4 autoroute at junction 31 and head towards Verdun. As you approach Verdun the campsite is well signed (The campsite is not far from the Citadelle if you need a point to aim for) (Update, there is now a roundabout on the main road from which you turn to the campsite which make access better. )

Camping Les Breuils is handy if you are travelling from Germany into France, Verdun is between Metz and Reims. The campsite has just under 200 pitches set amongst mature surrounding. The pitches radiate out from the entrance where the reception is, this includes a bar and a small shop - you can order bread for the morning. Outside reception to one side is a play area (for older children/young adults there is a separate area towards the end of the site for volleyball/football) and across the road the other way is a rather nice swimming pool with slide. There are two toilet blocks with unseated toilets and no paper provided in the cubical. Pitches are of a good size and are either on grass or gravel. Electric points are rated at 6amps and use CEE17 blue connectors, although best to check for reverse polarity. On site there is a small lake with pitches arranged around the edge. Date of visit September 2005 and May 2013. The site offers free WiFi in the area of the Bar. This site accepts the ACSI Card in the low season which allows a one night stay for €13. 50.

Whilst this campsite is useful as an overnight stop it would make a nice site to stay for a few days or longer. The centre of Verdun is within walking distance. There is a large Cora supermarket between the campsite and the autoroute. The area surrounding Verdun is steeped in history, particularly the epic First World War Battle.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Verdun      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Lorraine - Alsace

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5422 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019