Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Moreton Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Dorchester > Moreton Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Moreton Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Station Road
Moreton
Dorchester
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT2 8BB
Tel: 01305 853801
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 01/04/2021 to 02/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 72 Reviews
                8/10 from 72 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  72 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 102 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed our stay - the staff were very friendly and helpful. The only downside is that the layout is just a field with hardstandings and motorhomes on the outside and tents in the middle.

There are no hedges or trees in this space so, when all the cars have parked on the grass, there is no privacy and it feels very crowded. Every aspect of your pitch is overlooked on at least two sides

Points of comment :

A mobile fish and chip van calls on Wednesday and Friday.

The phone signal is very weak.

The pub at the entrance is excellent. Not cheap but excellent food.

The trains in either direction are every hour. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rosie1957 1 review from this member

 Super site. Full marks. I've been motorhoming for 30+ years so I feel entitled to make valid comparisons.

There are some negative comments on here, which is a pity. I don't think it's fair to criticise any site for its Covid closures of various buildings etc. By enforcing social distancing and monitoring it, the site is being responsible in protecting us, and that should be praised.

Trains: very few, no difficulty at night and they are (in my view) interesting (for kids too), and not any kind of nuisance.

The site is safe, completely so. Clean, not a scrap of litter. Well-kept. Lots of space between individual units. Lots of wildlife too, it's surrounded by mature trees and woods, the air smells fresh, you can see the stars. Lovely.

If it rains, that's how the natural world works. It's not the wardens' fault.

The wardens (especially Mike) are always available and friendly. The office is open, and any queries you have are handled quickly and professionally, and with a smile.

Happy customer. Well done Moreton, Station Road. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jaynewharton 1 review from this member

 The site is not too big but is set out nice so each pitch has a good space. The facilities are a little outdated but were very clean. The play area was still closed off because of the coronavirus which was a little silly as most of the council parks are now open.

The staff on the site were reasonably friendly but were very much a clipboard group! We understood that we could get on the site at 1pm but we arrived at 12. 15 as we had misjudged the traffic. We were met with a clipboard man whose attitude was “jobs worth” the rules say 1pm he was having his lunch. Unfortunately it was due to start raining at 1pm again and we asked if we could please set up before the rain. Absolutely not, we waited and at 1. 10pm he allowed us to our pitch and it was of course pouring with rain making it extremely hard and unpleasant setting up the caravan and awning. We had a massive storm and it rained all afternoon.

We did note however through the week other campers were allowed on before 1pm. Met by other members of staff!

We have however had a good time and the camp is kept very nice.

Don’t be put off by my moan as it is a good place to stay for visiting loads of places. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Ljelli 1 review from this member

 Nice location with pub next to site. Toilet facilities were clean but quite dated.

Play area is small, but was closed due to covid, suitable for young children. Shop also closed due to covid. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Graemek 1 review from this member

 We stayed at Moreton for a weekend to have another practice with our new trailer tent.

Site location

The site is located in a little village that has a railway line on the Weymouth to London Waterloo line. It is accessed via decent width roads and there is a friendly pub next to the entrance which we used for a drink during one of the evenings. The menu looked decent but we didn't eat here during our stay.

As mentioned the site is near to a railway line and a railway crossing which causes the trains (2 per hour or so) to sound their horn when coming through. This to be honest didn't really bother us that much. The road noise from the nearby roads however was a bit annoying especially as one of the roads is quite high speed and it seemed to run right behind our pitch!

Our pitch

We had pre-booked but the site was pretty full so there were not many pitches left upon arrival. Given that it was high season this is probably not unexpected.

We were given the choice of 3 pitches, 1 in the middle of site surrounded by other units and 2 at the ends of site under some trees. As we have only pitched our TT a handful of times we didn't fancy putting on a performance so chose to go on one of the pitches at the side.

The pitch itself was located on the far edge of site next to the children's play area. It was fairly small (we had to leave off the sun canopy from our fairly modest tent as it would have encroached on to the path) but it did have decent EHU.

The pitch did have a bit of a slope in a few directions which meant one of our bedrooms ended up on quite a slope side ways and both sloped slightly top to bottom.

Pegging out wasn't too bad, though at the side of the pitch near the path there seemed to be concrete or large rocks quite close to the surface. The grass itself seemed to be laid on 2 inches of sand with stony ground underneath.

Facilities

Toilet and shower facilities were of a reasonable standard and cleanliness. By far not the best we've encountered but definitely not the worst! They could do with updating as they feel a bit tired. We were also surprised there were only 2 small toilet blocks to cover 120 pitches. In our block there were only 3 toilets and 2 or 3 showers in each of the male/female sections.

Playing facilities for kids were ok. Again not the worst we've had but far from the best. The football area was quite uneven with ruts that could cause tripping etc.

Stuff to do

We only stayed for a weekend however we did get chance to use the railway line into Weymouth for the day. This operated very slickly and was very convenient in avoiding the traffic and parking issues on a busy summer's day on the coast. £6 return each seemed pretty reasonable for a hassle free 20 minute journey.

Conclusion

It was ok, to be honest we expected more from a Club site. In our opinion it needs a bit of investment to bring it into line with its competition.


Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Epowell59 1 review from this member

 Good size site, and very quiet as we visited early in the year. Didn't have access to the whole site but it was all very well kept.

Toilets and showers all worked well and relatively clean. I imagine this will be packed later in the year.

Good selection of activities for the kids available. Trains are close by but nothing too disturbing. Went to the pub for lunch which we can highly recommend.

Overall a great experience! 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: PedroPete61 22 reviews from this member

 I have not been here for over 18 months give or take and since then static Tents and Hard standings have appeared which is all good but the TV reception and wifi for the area is poor to say the least.

The Main road is busy but T E Lawrence is buried a mile or two on a quiet road for the walkers and bike riders amounst us.

The Train line next door is good as you can go anywhere you want. They seem to employing new staff and they were very helpful and made the stay enjoyable. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Topcat+Dibble 18 reviews from this member

 One of our favourite sites and the only one we have visited twice. Ideally situated for this part of Dorset the site is typical for C&CC, well run with immaculate facilities, but it's what's outside the site that makes it.

At the entrance is the Frampton Arms pub, with two bars, one RAF Warmwell themed, the other railway. Good beer and food. Next door to that is Moreton train station where you can get trains to Dorchester and Weymouth one way and Poole and Bournemouth the other. There is a co-op store 15 mins walk towards Warmwell too.

First day we caught the train to Dorchester and spent the day mooching round the county town. The next day the train to Weymouth (£6ish adult return)for the Wessex folk festival. Well worth a visit.

Ps. Of note, we were on a grass only pitch at the lower end of the site this time (90) and it seemed there was only a couple of inches of top soil over hardcore. Made for frustrating time pegging out, but don't let this put you off a great site. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: David Klyne 231 reviews from this member

 To Find Site:- From Dorchester leave A35 onto A352. At roundabout take B3390 towards Crossways. Go through village and site is immediately past level crossing on the right next to the pub.

The Moreton C&CC site is situated in the countryside about seven miles from Dorchester. It is open from late March to early November and accepts non-members. There are 120 pitches, some are on hardstandings and the majority on grass. Like all C&CC sites you can determine the type of pitch when booking. Those pitches which are designated electric pitches have conveniently placed points which are rated at 16 amps and use CEE17 blue connectors. Water and waste water disposal points are at either of the two toilet blocks and same is the case for chemical disposal. The actual toilet blocks are clean and functional rather than being luxurious. Both have covered, but not fully enclosed, washing up areas. There are also laundry facilities but these are at the back of Reception. For children there is a nice adventure style playground. There is site wide WiFi but the reliability of the service varied a lot. Unfortunately on some networks the mobile signal is also poor. Reception sells a few essentials and next door is a comprehensive information room. A railway line runs along one side of the site. Whilst the trains are not particularly noisy some do sound their horn as they approach the level crossing, fortunately this does not happen overnight.

This site is very convenient for touring this part of Dorset with Dorchester only being a few miles away and Weymouth and Swanage just a little further on. For those not wanting to use their own transport Moreton Station is a short distance from the campsite with regular trains to Dorchester and Weymouth in one direction and Bournemouth and Southampton in the other. For food shopping there is a general store in Crossways a short distance from the site. Major supermarkets are situated in all the major towns locally. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Axchal 10 reviews from this member

 A very pleasant, well maintained site with friendly and helpul wardens. Shower-toilet block of high standard with plenty of elbow room in shower. Frampton Arms pub, next door, serves excellent food at reasonable prices and campers get 10% discount, dogs alowed in certain areas Including dining. We had an excellent stay. Downside: very close to a noisy railway line, TV receception poor as was mobile reception and a portable wrooter didn't work at all. Well worth a visit. 


Previous     72 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Moreton Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Moreton Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dorchester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2590 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement