Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Moreton Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Dorchester > Moreton Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Moreton Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Station Road
Moreton
Dorchester
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT2 8BB
Tel: 01305 853801
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: 01/04/2024 to 02/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 77 Reviews
                8/10 from 77 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  77 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: DrEp 3 reviews from this member

 Standard camping and caravan club site.

Trains running right next to the site but they stop at 11.

Site is on a hill but pitches are on the level bits but you may need leveling blocks.

Facilities are clean but a bit run down and could do with renovating. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mazzey 24 reviews from this member

 Friendly welcome and helpful staff.

Well laid out pitches

Very clean facilities

Trains run directly adjacent to the site, but not during the night

Railway station very close

Shop had essentials 


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Linsey 1 review from this member

 The camp site surprisingly had lots of spaces for a smaller site. We had a end pitch and we had plenty of space.

We didn't get a lot of sleep unfortunately due to the trains tooting their horns every so often. And also some sort of very loud rave going on in the distance one night, the 11pm rules for quiet were not really set in stone as we heard someones loud music playing till 1am and neighbours chatting outside till very late.

The showers were nice but could do with a shower curtain in the cubicles and also somewhere to place your dry clothes other than a stall as mine all got wet from the shower unfortunately.

Just a fare warning the ground for camping can be very hard in places so your need decent Pegs.

The toilet block was ok and toilet cubicle rules were a brilliant idea. Didn't like the hand dryer didn't dry your hands well enough. The closure to clean all the toilet blocks at the same time wasn't great in the mornings.

Staff were ok some weren't very chatty. One lady who spoke to me was very kind. There is no shop at the site and about 15 mins drive to a town to get any amenities which is a shame.

And the bins are a distance and only one main bin area too.

Our over all stay wasn't too bad. But not sure I would go there again. It certainly is nice to try other camp sites that you've never been to before. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: CliveNGill 17 reviews from this member

 Nice welcome from Wardens.

Facilities OK but in need of updating.

Location is OK with easy road access to Dorchester, Wareham, Lulworth Cove and Durdle Door with lots of nice villages in the area too.

Not great for walking as the walks all seem to be on narrow and fairly busy minor roads.

Trains go past site on a regular basis and are a bit noisy.

The site is hard standings around the perimeter with grass pitches in the middle.

A great site for visiting the area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Booketta 55 reviews from this member

 This is a large site basically a field with a drive around separating the outer edge from the centre. We were on the outer edge close to the railway line.

We stayed during the train strikes so it was only a couple of days that we heard the regular horn tooting. It felt as though everyone was packed in, I'm not sure that the 2m rule separation between units applied! It felt very impersonal.

The facilities were tired and old but kept reasonably clean, perhaps not as clean as other sites.

We found Dorchester disappointing for a county town although we were impressed with the Roman villa.

We would not stay at this site again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 125 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed our stay - the staff were very friendly and helpful. The only downside is that the layout is just a field with hardstandings and motorhomes on the outside and tents in the middle.

There are no hedges or trees in this space so, when all the cars have parked on the grass, there is no privacy and it feels very crowded. Every aspect of your pitch is overlooked on at least two sides

Points of comment :

A mobile fish and chip van calls on Wednesday and Friday.

The phone signal is very weak.

The pub at the entrance is excellent. Not cheap but excellent food.

The trains in either direction are every hour. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rosie1957 1 review from this member

 Super site. Full marks. I've been motorhoming for 30+ years so I feel entitled to make valid comparisons.

There are some negative comments on here, which is a pity. I don't think it's fair to criticise any site for its Covid closures of various buildings etc. By enforcing social distancing and monitoring it, the site is being responsible in protecting us, and that should be praised.

Trains: very few, no difficulty at night and they are (in my view) interesting (for kids too), and not any kind of nuisance.

The site is safe, completely so. Clean, not a scrap of litter. Well-kept. Lots of space between individual units. Lots of wildlife too, it's surrounded by mature trees and woods, the air smells fresh, you can see the stars. Lovely.

If it rains, that's how the natural world works. It's not the wardens' fault.

The wardens (especially Mike) are always available and friendly. The office is open, and any queries you have are handled quickly and professionally, and with a smile.

Happy customer. Well done Moreton, Station Road. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jaynewharton 1 review from this member

 The site is not too big but is set out nice so each pitch has a good space. The facilities are a little outdated but were very clean. The play area was still closed off because of the coronavirus which was a little silly as most of the council parks are now open.

The staff on the site were reasonably friendly but were very much a clipboard group! We understood that we could get on the site at 1pm but we arrived at 12. 15 as we had misjudged the traffic. We were met with a clipboard man whose attitude was “jobs worth” the rules say 1pm he was having his lunch. Unfortunately it was due to start raining at 1pm again and we asked if we could please set up before the rain. Absolutely not, we waited and at 1. 10pm he allowed us to our pitch and it was of course pouring with rain making it extremely hard and unpleasant setting up the caravan and awning. We had a massive storm and it rained all afternoon.

We did note however through the week other campers were allowed on before 1pm. Met by other members of staff!

We have however had a good time and the camp is kept very nice.

Don’t be put off by my moan as it is a good place to stay for visiting loads of places. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Ljelli 1 review from this member

 Nice location with pub next to site. Toilet facilities were clean but quite dated.

Play area is small, but was closed due to covid, suitable for young children. Shop also closed due to covid. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Graemek 1 review from this member

 We stayed at Moreton for a weekend to have another practice with our new trailer tent.

Site location

The site is located in a little village that has a railway line on the Weymouth to London Waterloo line. It is accessed via decent width roads and there is a friendly pub next to the entrance which we used for a drink during one of the evenings. The menu looked decent but we didn't eat here during our stay.

As mentioned the site is near to a railway line and a railway crossing which causes the trains (2 per hour or so) to sound their horn when coming through. This to be honest didn't really bother us that much. The road noise from the nearby roads however was a bit annoying especially as one of the roads is quite high speed and it seemed to run right behind our pitch!

Our pitch

We had pre-booked but the site was pretty full so there were not many pitches left upon arrival. Given that it was high season this is probably not unexpected.

We were given the choice of 3 pitches, 1 in the middle of site surrounded by other units and 2 at the ends of site under some trees. As we have only pitched our TT a handful of times we didn't fancy putting on a performance so chose to go on one of the pitches at the side.

The pitch itself was located on the far edge of site next to the children's play area. It was fairly small (we had to leave off the sun canopy from our fairly modest tent as it would have encroached on to the path) but it did have decent EHU.

The pitch did have a bit of a slope in a few directions which meant one of our bedrooms ended up on quite a slope side ways and both sloped slightly top to bottom.

Pegging out wasn't too bad, though at the side of the pitch near the path there seemed to be concrete or large rocks quite close to the surface. The grass itself seemed to be laid on 2 inches of sand with stony ground underneath.

Facilities

Toilet and shower facilities were of a reasonable standard and cleanliness. By far not the best we've encountered but definitely not the worst! They could do with updating as they feel a bit tired. We were also surprised there were only 2 small toilet blocks to cover 120 pitches. In our block there were only 3 toilets and 2 or 3 showers in each of the male/female sections.

Playing facilities for kids were ok. Again not the worst we've had but far from the best. The football area was quite uneven with ruts that could cause tripping etc.

Stuff to do

We only stayed for a weekend however we did get chance to use the railway line into Weymouth for the day. This operated very slickly and was very convenient in avoiding the traffic and parking issues on a busy summer's day on the coast. £6 return each seemed pretty reasonable for a hassle free 20 minute journey.

Conclusion

It was ok, to be honest we expected more from a Club site. In our opinion it needs a bit of investment to bring it into line with its competition.



Previous     77 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Moreton Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Moreton Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dorchester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


12693 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement