Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cardigan Island Coastal Farm Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan > Cardigan Island Coastal Farm Park > Reviews

Cardigan Island Coastal Farm Park
Gwbert On Sea
Cardigan
Ceredigion   (Browse area)
SA431PR
Tel: 01239 623637
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 22/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 12 Reviews
                8/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Simon1 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely location right next to the farm park with facilities for families and a café.

Campsite is relatively simple and small but facilities are as advertised and clean.

We had an very pleasant stay, had breakfast in the café (opened at 10am), and enjoyed the peace and quiet.

My only complaint would be that the very clear night sky is difficult to enjoy with the very bright and eminently sensible light on the toilet block, but I could've walked further away if the seeing had been better. It was hazy at night during our visit anyway.

There is only one outside water-tap but there are sinks with running water in the washing-up facilities, right next to the camping field.

Would definitely stay again when heading back this way. 


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Muddyboots6 7 reviews from this member

 In a beautiful spot with glorious sea views. Pitches slightly sloping, on grass. Huge play area and cafe which is probably very busy and possibly noisy in peak periods but lovely and peaceful when we visited.

Toilets need some investment and only 2 each for male and female, may be a queue in busy periods. Showers 50p charge.

Dogs not welcome in the cafe or gift shop so we didn't use but dogs can go into farm park with a lovely walk to the cliffs to do some seal spotting which is also accessible when the park is closed to the public.

Note there are are no groceries in the shop and there is also no longer a bus service in Gwbert (nearest is Cardigan) a blow for walkers, motorhomers or tenters!

Add to this the long hike up to the access road and then back down again to reach the waterside as there is restricted access to the footpath through the neighbouring hotel. Maybe it was just a bad day but I felt our greeting on arrival at reception was a little abrupt with a long list of rules (all essential I realise). A smile and friendly conversation would have gone a long way.

Definite musts are the coastal path walks. To Mwnt and Aberporth to the north and to St Dogmaels to the south but be prepared to walk back or to get the bus to Cardigan and walk from there.

Would return out of season for a couple of days but longer stays would be restricted without transport or moving the motorhome. 


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Angela 1 review from this member

 Excellent site. Very clean. Cafe is superb.

Watching for seals and dolphins makes the time drift away and kids get so excited when they see them.

Play park is well thought out and safe. It's nice that you can go in after park is closed to visitors.

The farm is stunning. Really nice people who run campsite.

Please note our weekend had some lovely winds and rain but this did not stop the enjoyment.

Plenty of beautiful walks and beaches around. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cfurn 16 reviews from this member

 The view from this site is stunning. When we arrived it was so cold and windy we were a bit apprehensive, but the next day the wind dropped, the sun came out and it was gorgeous.

The cafe in the Farm Park had excellent coffee and cake, and it was possible to go through the Farm Park after it had closed to watch the seabirds and look out for seals and dolphins in peace. There is a tally of seal and dolphin sightings in the reception area.

We did however find the facilities rather limited - one tap served the whole site, and there were only 2 male and 2 female toilets and the same for showers, and these were in portacabins. Also, the site is on a slope, which is fairly steep at the lower end of the top field. We therefore thought the fee was rather high considering other sites with beautiful facilities charge less.

If you are in a campervan or motorhome, ask the guy on reception where to park if you want to go into Cardigan, as the main carparks charge a lot more for you than they do for a car. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jon baker 6 reviews from this member

 Had a great time in this great part of the country! The facilities were clean and tidy and every time I visited the toilet/shower block they were clean. The shop area has a sand pit that I could not get my little boy out of! The staff in campsite shop were very helpful, perhaps the shop/cafe was a tad expensive but supermarkets are not too far away so no problem there. Part of the campsite field slopes but there were plenty of pitches to choose from when we were there. There are good views across the sea and a few pubs around. It is possible to go on trips to see dolphins in the summer from the beach/shore area We met the owner who seemed very nice although he does like to talk if you know what I mean. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Costello145 8 reviews from this member

 This site is in a lovely spot and the facilities are spotless. There are a couple of loos and showers for each sex, and a very good dishwashing area. I did think it was a little expensive, but I guess the fact that you have free access to the farm is the reason, which is OK if you plan to spend time in the farm. Friendly owners, however the owner is in dispute with the council at the moment (as previous reviewer has stated) and you will get to hear about this, pretty much as soon as you get there, which after a long day, I didn't really want to hear so much about it, and again the next day. Would think it is a great place for families with young children. Not sure if the facilities would cope at the height of the season. Nice pub/food at the 2 local hotels. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Mikeannneale 8 reviews from this member

 Tucked away at the end of a long lane from Cardigan Town, this site was well worth it. On a farm park with many animals it is ideal for children with facilities specially for them. We could find nothing to criticise, least of all the glorious views across Cardigan Bay. So we were amazed to find the site almost empty on a lovely few days in June! We were probably just lucky but these people deserve success. Try it, if nothing else to see the seals playing between the mainland and Cardigan Island. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shanjack6 5 reviews from this member

 Well where do I start. An amazing site. Everyone must visit. Fantastic place with outstanding views, excellent park with loads of animals to see and feed, kids loved it. The walk to view the seals was amazing. Stunning place.

Offered an excellent park with huge sand pit.

The visitor centre was great offering fantastic food and good value for money too. The shower and toilet facilities were very good and constantly clean, although could benefit from few extra toilets but wasn't an issue. The owners were very friendly and inviting and offered advice on places to see. Even giving my children extra food to feed the animals after closing time. A great place to visit. If I could give a rating of 100 out of 10 I would. Will definitely return again. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Barryhodge 7 reviews from this member

 When I first arrived I thought 'what a gem'.

All of the reviews written here are correct - it is a wonderful place BUT

When I visited, there were ten motorhomes/caravans and twenty tents.

The facilities, therefore, were woefully inadequate, especially when one of the two ladies showers stopped working.

When the cleaning is done, the loos, etc. Are spotless, but as the owners, unlike any other site I have been to. Do not leave a mop and bucket for cleaning, the bottom of the shower trays and adjoining walking areas become very dirty, very quickly.

I don't know if it is deliberate but on two occasions (9. 30pm and 8am) there was no hot water in the washing up area.

At £19. 80 for two adults and a dog, this is not acceptable.

Plenty of hook-ups

Fields slope so make sure you have levelling blocks.

The café is clean and has a good selection of food.

Nice play area for children.

Lovely views.

More information could have been given about the animals on display and the information boards on the headland need renewing or taking away.

The Gwbert Hotel (10 minutes walk) is excellent for meals and service and very reasonable

The Fishermans Rest in Cardigan has just started up - lovely people - good food at sensible prices, overlooking the river and you may see an Otter!

Would I return - to the area, definitely but not to this campsite for two reasons.

As already stated, the facilities are not adequate for the number of campers. (Hence the Facilities and Value ratings)

You cannot walk along the coast path here as the owners are fighting against the Council/Welsh assembly who want to construct a path. Go further to Mwnt and there are campsites there on the coast path from which we saw Seals AND Dolphins.

If the path was there, I would have given 10 for location. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Ashy55 14 reviews from this member

 Had a fabulous five days at this site in my folding camper.

Attached is Cardigan Island Farm Park - this is an excellent site for children who can view the animals every day and have a top notch playground to jump around on too! There are hens, a giant rabbit, a donkey, a llama, loads of ponies and foals, pigs, friendly sheep and goats. Oh and. Seals in the sea to view from fenced off cliff tops.

There is a shop and a cafe too! The facilities are brand new toilets and showers and there is recycling and CPD. EHU is also available.

Gwbert itself has The Gwbert Hotel and the Cliffs Hotel although I have to say that neither are dog friendly!

The site owners are hands-on and friendly. The views are stunning. Cardigan is two miles way via the road but it seems much longer if you take the coastal path as it meanders and bears no resemblance to what the OS map says!

All in all a beautiful site and I booked to go back in July with the family this time!

PS Found a good pub with excellent food and dog friendly in St Dogmaels - The Ferry Inn - would definitely recommend it! 


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cardigan Island Coastal Farm Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cardigan Island Coastal Farm Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Cardigan Island Coastal Farm Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cardigan      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ceredigion

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

  

  

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Sussex 18/05 to 19/05

Endless activities for you and your dog to enjoy plus weekend camping - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3074 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement