Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cardigan Island Coastal Farm Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan > Cardigan Island Coastal Farm Park Reviews

Cardigan Island Coastal Farm Park
Gwbert On Sea
Cardigan
Ceredigion   (Browse area)
SA431PR
Tel: 01239 623637
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 22/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 9 Reviews
                8/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cfurn 13 reviews from this member

 The view from this site is stunning. When we arrived it was so cold and windy we were a bit apprehensive, but the next day the wind dropped, the sun came out and it was gorgeous.

The cafe in the Farm Park had excellent coffee and cake, and it was possible to go through the Farm Park after it had closed to watch the seabirds and look out for seals and dolphins in peace. There is a tally of seal and dolphin sightings in the reception area.

We did however find the facilities rather limited - one tap served the whole site, and there were only 2 male and 2 female toilets and the same for showers, and these were in portacabins. Also, the site is on a slope, which is fairly steep at the lower end of the top field. We therefore thought the fee was rather high considering other sites with beautiful facilities charge less.

If you are in a campervan or motorhome, ask the guy on reception where to park if you want to go into Cardigan, as the main carparks charge a lot more for you than they do for a car. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jon baker 6 reviews from this member

 Had a great time in this great part of the country! The facilities were clean and tidy and every time I visited the toilet/shower block they were clean. The shop area has a sand pit that I could not get my little boy out of! The staff in campsite shop were very helpful, perhaps the shop/cafe was a tad expensive but supermarkets are not too far away so no problem there. Part of the campsite field slopes but there were plenty of pitches to choose from when we were there. There are good views across the sea and a few pubs around. It is possible to go on trips to see dolphins in the summer from the beach/shore area We met the owner who seemed very nice although he does like to talk if you know what I mean. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Costello145 8 reviews from this member

 This site is in a lovely spot and the facilities are spotless. There are a couple of loos and showers for each sex, and a very good dishwashing area. I did think it was a little expensive, but I guess the fact that you have free access to the farm is the reason, which is OK if you plan to spend time in the farm. Friendly owners, however the owner is in dispute with the council at the moment (as previous reviewer has stated) and you will get to hear about this, pretty much as soon as you get there, which after a long day, I didn't really want to hear so much about it, and again the next day. Would think it is a great place for families with young children. Not sure if the facilities would cope at the height of the season. Nice pub/food at the 2 local hotels. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Mikeannneale 7 reviews from this member

 Tucked away at the end of a long lane from Cardigan Town, this site was well worth it. On a farm park with many animals it is ideal for children with facilities specially for them. We could find nothing to criticise, least of all the glorious views across Cardigan Bay. So we were amazed to find the site almost empty on a lovely few days in June! We were probably just lucky but these people deserve success. Try it, if nothing else to see the seals playing between the mainland and Cardigan Island. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shanjack6 5 reviews from this member

 Well where do I start. An amazing site. Everyone must visit. Fantastic place with outstanding views, excellent park with loads of animals to see and feed, kids loved it. The walk to view the seals was amazing. Stunning place.

Offered an excellent park with huge sand pit.

The visitor centre was great offering fantastic food and good value for money too. The shower and toilet facilities were very good and constantly clean, although could benefit from few extra toilets but wasn't an issue. The owners were very friendly and inviting and offered advice on places to see. Even giving my children extra food to feed the animals after closing time. A great place to visit. If I could give a rating of 100 out of 10 I would. Will definitely return again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Barryhodge 6 reviews from this member

 When I first arrived I thought 'what a gem'.

All of the reviews written here are correct - it is a wonderful place BUT

When I visited, there were ten motorhomes/caravans and twenty tents.

The facilities, therefore, were woefully inadequate, especially when one of the two ladies showers stopped working.

When the cleaning is done, the loos, etc. Are spotless, but as the owners, unlike any other site I have been to. Do not leave a mop and bucket for cleaning, the bottom of the shower trays and adjoining walking areas become very dirty, very quickly.

I don't know if it is deliberate but on two occasions (9. 30pm and 8am) there was no hot water in the washing up area.

At £19. 80 for two adults and a dog, this is not acceptable.

Plenty of hook-ups

Fields slope so make sure you have levelling blocks.

The café is clean and has a good selection of food.

Nice play area for children.

Lovely views.

More information could have been given about the animals on display and the information boards on the headland need renewing or taking away.

The Gwbert Hotel (10 minutes walk) is excellent for meals and service and very reasonable

The Fishermans Rest in Cardigan has just started up - lovely people - good food at sensible prices, overlooking the river and you may see an Otter!

Would I return - to the area, definitely but not to this campsite for two reasons.

As already stated, the facilities are not adequate for the number of campers. (Hence the Facilities and Value ratings)

You cannot walk along the coast path here as the owners are fighting against the Council/Welsh assembly who want to construct a path. Go further to Mwnt and there are campsites there on the coast path from which we saw Seals AND Dolphins.

If the path was there, I would have given 10 for location. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Ashy55 14 reviews from this member

 Had a fabulous five days at this site in my folding camper.

Attached is Cardigan Island Farm Park - this is an excellent site for children who can view the animals every day and have a top notch playground to jump around on too! There are hens, a giant rabbit, a donkey, a llama, loads of ponies and foals, pigs, friendly sheep and goats. Oh and. Seals in the sea to view from fenced off cliff tops.

There is a shop and a cafe too! The facilities are brand new toilets and showers and there is recycling and CPD. EHU is also available.

Gwbert itself has The Gwbert Hotel and the Cliffs Hotel although I have to say that neither are dog friendly!

The site owners are hands-on and friendly. The views are stunning. Cardigan is two miles way via the road but it seems much longer if you take the coastal path as it meanders and bears no resemblance to what the OS map says!

All in all a beautiful site and I booked to go back in July with the family this time!

PS Found a good pub with excellent food and dog friendly in St Dogmaels - The Ferry Inn - would definitely recommend it! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: S11Steve 4 reviews from this member

 In better weather, this is a wonderful location, set back on cliff tops, modern shower and toilet, kids playground (indoors and outdoors) a delightful walk through the animal areas, and amazing views from the cliff tops.

However, when the Welsh rain hits, it is very exposed. All credit to the staff, we dumped the kids in the indoor play area whilst we packed up and loaded the car in driving rain in record time.

I also imagine that the sea breeze could get quite intense, in even better weather.

The camping area is on a slope, and we did find a number of strong thistles towards the edges of the site that threatened the groundsheets.

Overall, if the weather hadn't been so severe, we would have been happy to stay a bit longer and possible relocate the tents elsewhere on the field. The kids loved the play area and interaction with the animals, and plenty to entertain them indoors as well. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lagotto-Mad 5 reviews from this member

 We visited for 2 days following the Easter break. The small campsite has brand new facilities and fees include entrance into the Farm Park.

The facilities are two male and two female showers, two of each toilets and a separate unit which has two washing up sinks in.

The Farm Park has a cafe/visitor centre selling nice, reasonably priced food. When the park closes to the public the campers can still access the play areas and picnic benches to sit and enjoy the evening.

The animals were all very friendly, you can feed them (food from the shop was 60p for a bag).

We wouldn't hesitate to visit again, and next time we are hoping for better weather so we can get better views of the wild seals which are viewed from the cliff tops. It was very cold and windy on this visit, hats were essential.

On our next visit we hope to explore a little more of the surrounding area as there are some nice beaches within a 5 mile radius and to visit the Hotel which is a 15 minute walk away and is rumoured to sell good food. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cardigan Island Coastal Farm Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cardigan Island Coastal Farm Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Cardigan Island Coastal Farm Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cardigan      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ceredigion

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2981 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement