Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hook Farm Camping & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Lyme Regis > Hook Farm Camping & Caravan Park Reviews

Hook Farm Camping & Caravan Park
Gore Lane
Uplyme
Lyme Regis
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT7 3UU
Tel: 01297 442801
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 217 Reviews
                8/10 from 217 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  217 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Lupton 1 review from this member

 Very friendly staff. Told where to pitch.

Bathrooms and washing up room good.

Small shop on site.

No electric points to charge phone.

Could be improved by having picnic benches 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Vanalan 9 reviews from this member

 We love Hook Farm. From our reception by the enthusiastic young couple {who have recently been taken on)to the layout of our pitch and to the whole site setting, nestled in the hills above Lyme Regis, was truly lovely.

It's not possible to comment on the facilities as Lockdown rules were still in operation, but the little we could see looked to be to a high standard.

It's worth noting that the site is in a Dark Skies area and that there are multiple waymarked footpaths accessible directly from the site or very close by, including the river path into Lyme Regis which is recommended.

Uplyme is a lovely village and worth exploring for the variety of houses and cottages to be seen and their lovely spring gardens. The Black Dog tearoom is within easy walking distance and although only serving outdoors at the time do great coffee and cakes and delicious lunches.

Before I end, I must comment on the hard work in progress maintaining and raising the overall standard of the site including the planting of hedges and flowers.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to return. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Pozzle 14 reviews from this member

 We booked this before a change in covid 19 restrictions and the owners decided to close the showers and toilets but we were given the option of cancelling and refund. We decided to go ahead and so glad we did

Itís a lovely campsite, very pretty and only approx 3 units there so very nicely spaced! Apart from loos, showers and shop there are no other facilities but that is as we like it The welcome was lovely and friendly.

We walked from the campsite into Lyme Regis along the suggest river lym path (which is just beautiful and very interesting ) the next two days.

It wasnít too busy in Lyme Regis thankfully as with social distancing I was a little concerned but there were some nice places we could eat outside or take away from.

The little shop on site stocked a good variety of things (although not an indicator bulb! 😂)

We left a day early as to add to everything going on Storm Alex decided to visit the south west and it was predicted high winds and 100% rain.

But it was so nice Iíd definitely come back again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Cliffythepost 2 reviews from this member

 A very well maintained countryside site with good use of hedging & trees to create a very eye pleasing location,

2 shower/toilet blocks & a small shop in reception.

Good pub a short walk away & for the more adventurous a lovely walk following the river Lym to Lyme Regis.

A pizza van visited whilst we were there which was a lovely treat. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Eddie27 3 reviews from this member

 Arrived at 5. 30 pm so rang for warden. He showed us a pitch and insisted I had to put the motorhome on one side even though that meant our door opened onto a muddy square left by a previous awning. We said OK thinking we would sort it out next day.

Next morning we saw that we had the only pitch on the site that is in the shade of trees all day. I saw there were at least 5 vacant pitches so went to Reception and asked to move. I was told that the pitches are allocated by a computer programme and could not be changed. And that I could either stay on the pitch or leave the site. I checked with the CC&C site at Charmouth but it was full. So we stayed.

My wife tried a couple of days later but got the same story plus we had booked late. (I reserved Aug 31st for Sept 20th).

In 45 years of camping I have never not been able to change pitches if some were free. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gainfield 16 reviews from this member

 This site is very well organised, and set up what would have been quite a sloping site is terraced into fairly large pitches mixing tents, caravans and motorhomes,

There are spacious clean toilet facilities, well equipped shop and friendly helpful staff.

Food vans operate three nights a week, from BBQ, burritos woos fired pizza.

There is a pleasant riverside walk down to Lyme Regis, about a mile and a quarter. Busses run to Dorchester and Weymouth from main road about ten minutes down the hill very enjoyable week. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Sprucy 19 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent campsite, poised gracefully just above Lyme Regis, which you can access on foot, direct from the site, along a most delightful river footpath.

There are also plenty of other walking opportunities in the area, so it pays to either buy or borrow from your local library the relevant OS map. Very clean and well-maintained site. All the sensible anti-Covid precautions in place.

The upper toilet block is bigger and better than the lower one, particularly with reference to the showers, where in the former there is far more room to put your stuff so that it doesnít get wet. The 20p shower gives you four minutes, which we found was more than enough.

The pitches are a good size, level and some with a view. The surrounding scenery is lovely. The site is very quiet so would not suit noisy or partying campers. The staff drive around in buggies regularly. On arrival you are guided to your pitch.

The one negative is that the shop is extremely expensive, so itís worth arriving having already packed basic provisions. Unless you prefer a very relaxed and laid-back venue,

I can highly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Thomas 2 reviews from this member

 The camp site was very clean and the staff were very good to deal with

The shower block was very clean. All though you had to pay 20p per shower 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Shaylee 4 reviews from this member

 A beautiful site, we booked as a last minute place to stay after visiting a local folk festival with our 9yr old daughter.

The reception we had from staff was amazing and we were personally shown to our pitch and even given best tips of positioning our tent to get the best view of the sunset.

The shower block was kept very clean, the shop was relatively inexpensive in comparison to others we had stayed at. We were also given info regarding the newly restored walk along the river Lym which takes you through the woods to Lyme Regis, so glad we did this 30min walk.

The site feels incredibly safe, as a result we hardly saw our daughter when we were on site. The children are asked not to use the play area after 8pm and quiet time from 10. 30pm was respected.

We would absolutely recommend this site and would definitely return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: LesF 8 reviews from this member

 This is a nice site in a lovely valley. The pitches are terraced so most are flat. It is quite a big site and was busy when we were there on a Saturday night but it was quiet after 10. 30 and there are plenty of showers and toilets plus a useful shop.

We enjoyed our stay here and hope to return for longer next time. The owners are friendly and you can walk down the lane to a large and well stocked pub with a beautiful garden.

The site is easy to find off the A35 and the owners escort you to your pitch so there is no guesswork or searching around.

The setting is very rural and yet close to Lyme Regis and the Jurassic coast. 


Previous     217 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hook Farm Camping & Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hook Farm Camping & Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hook Farm Camping & Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lyme Regis      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4785 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement