Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Hook Farm Camping & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Lyme Regis > Hook Farm Camping & Caravan Park Reviews

Hook Farm Camping & Caravan Park
Gore Lane
Uplyme
Lyme Regis
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT7 3UU
Tel: 01297 442801
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 209 Reviews
                8/10 from 209 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  209 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Shaylee 4 reviews from this member

A beautiful site, we booked as a last minute place to stay after visiting a local folk festival with our 9yr old daughter.

The reception we had from staff was amazing and we were personally shown to our pitch and even given best tips of positioning our tent to get the best view of the sunset.

The shower block was kept very clean, the shop was relatively inexpensive in comparison to others we had stayed at. We were also given info regarding the newly restored walk along the river Lym which takes you through the woods to Lyme Regis, so glad we did this 30min walk.

The site feels incredibly safe, as a result we hardly saw our daughter when we were on site. The children are asked not to use the play area after 8pm and quiet time from 10. 30pm was respected.

We would absolutely recommend this site and would definitely return.
via mobile

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: LesF 8 reviews from this member

This is a nice site in a lovely valley. The pitches are terraced so most are flat. It is quite a big site and was busy when we were there on a Saturday night but it was quiet after 10. 30 and there are plenty of showers and toilets plus a useful shop.

We enjoyed our stay here and hope to return for longer next time. The owners are friendly and you can walk down the lane to a large and well stocked pub with a beautiful garden.

The site is easy to find off the A35 and the owners escort you to your pitch so there is no guesswork or searching around.

The setting is very rural and yet close to Lyme Regis and the Jurassic coast.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 456charlie 5 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a long weekend with friends for cycling. The new owners allowed us to put two small tents onto one large pitch.

Pitches are a good size, and most are flatish, although not ours on the back field behind the bushes and this wasn’t flat.

Shop only open 8. 30-10 and 4-5pm – hardly useful for picking things up.

Showers – it appears the time has been reduced since we were here about 6 years ago. Now you get 4. 5 minutes for your 20p. I understand that metering the showers reduces wastage, and keeps people moving through quickly so helping everyone get to shower without waiting too long. But please, the temperature has also been seriously reduced.

6 years ago, if you were first one in to the showers in the morning, it only took about 20 secs for the hot water to come through. Now it is taking 2 and a half minutes to become just about bareable, and it doesn’t get much warmer than that. If you want to charge for hot water, then have the decency to at least get it running through promptly and for it to be HOT!

We shan't rush back to this one, which is a shame as location is good, and the previous owners had the showers running much better, and longer shop opening hours.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Aruaux 9 reviews from this member

This has got to be one of the best Campsites we have ever stayed at!

When we were there it was predominately tents and a selection of camper vans ( some really classic VW's there too) and a couple of caravans.

We were warmly welcomed on arrival and shown to our pitch very smoothly.

The pitches are nicely laid out and are not in regimented rows, so you've not got that feeling of being overlooked by anyone else which is a great bonus.

The site was nice and peaceful at night and it's the first time I've ever slept till 8:30 in the morning on any campsite !

The site also seems well drained, as we did have some very very heavy rain one night. And no one was flooded out!

For anyone with a vague interest in Astronomy. The night sky is fantastic due to the dark skies policy in that part of Dorset. For any amateur astronomers take your telescope !

Showers were very good. Never had to queue at all. (Hot water is solar powered!) Nor did we have to queue for Washing up bowls etc. They have some freezers for ice packs. And a couple of washing machines also in the Toilet blocks.

Electric hook up seemed adequate, no problems with power tripping out etc.

They have a wood fired Pizza making company come on a Wednesday and a Fish and Chip van on Sunday. We had the Pizza (very good) but did not use the Fish & Chip (but they did seem very popular from the people waiting and the fantastic smell !)

The local Murco garage has a good stock of essentials, beers and wines etc plus its also post office (if you need anything when the campsite shop is closed. Camp shop has the basics but is only open for an hour in the morning and an hour at night.

You can get to Lyme Regis by a pleasant walk along the River or by drive. There is a long stay carpark which is only £2 a day, but this does fill up quickly at busy times so get there really early!

All the staff were very pleasant and helpful and all the day to day tasks seem to be done with the minimum of disruption or fuss!

I know the new owners have some great plans to improve the site over the next year and we would definitely go there again.

This site has knocked the socks off some of the more 'commercial' companies and is good quality camping !

Thank you so much Jackie, John and staff!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Maryasmith 1 review from this member

A lovely site which just needs some TLC. We arrived and had been allocated a lovely pitch for our trailer tent, unfortunately some inconsiderate camper had parked their car on the road to the pitch and had gone off for the day. We were offered the choice of a pitch (under a tree) next to the toilet block or to wait. After a 4 hour drive we just wanted to pitch our tent and start our holiday so foolish we took the pitch offered.

The toilet block would benefit from a roof and extraction and a sign explaining why the mops are there as very few people moped the shower out after they had finished. The sinks could do with some cloths so again you can wipe down after using and one hand soap was not enough between the 5 sinks. The door closers need repairing so they don’t bang when people un-wedge them.

Finally the banks could do with strimming to make the ornamental grasses stand out rather than being lost with the overgrown weeds.

Would love to revisit when and if things change but not at the top of our list.

We have been camping for 15+ years and I think all campsite owners should use the facilities and sit and look at the site to be able to understand what is required by their customers.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: DougieA 9 reviews from this member

A grassy site with mature trees which can shade you out for a good portion of the day if you get pitched in the bottom area ( North ) of the site. The access road ( more a lane) is tight for a coachbuilt but passable and quite steep, which you will notice if you walk it back !

The site is pleasant enough but there could be improvements such as the grey waste drain (mentioned in another review ), the road surfacing in the site, the chemical waste point ( 1 only) and it's a dilapidated homemade 'box' with a lid at the top toilet block which is steep pull with a full cassette.

In addition, the toilet block has an open roof arrangement so that you see all the rafters and the huge amount of spider webs etc hanging from them above you as you shower. This area really should be cleaned at the start of the season.

There is a pub at the bottom of the steep lane (The Talbot ) but it wasn't doing evening meals till July 15th (Also shut last summer in another review ) and didn't let dogs inside but allowed them in the garden.

There is a reasonably regular bus service to Lyme near the pub but it stops around 7. 30 on the way back and not 7. 58 as the site info sheet says !

Lyme is fine and worth a visit but for motorhomers who don't drive the vans much, there are better choices in my opinion.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jane chris1 2 reviews from this member

Wonderful location with a lovely walk into Lyme Regis. Toilet block clean and hot water great. Pub just down the road which does a carvery and well stocked little shop on site.

We would also like to thank Adrian and Mike for assistance with our motorhome when leaving as would not have got home without you both so Thankyou.

Great area lovely site owners and will go again.

Chris and Jane

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kgwilly 3 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to this site, we had to go again as we were not only blown away by the beauty of Lyme Regis but were also really impressed with this site.

It does have a list of rules that both the campers and campsite adhere to and as a result it makes for a relaxing, happy and peaceful environment. There is a strict no noise rule after 11pm which is enforced by staff, meaning you can get a good nights sleep and wake up refreshed the next day.

The amenities are spotlessly clean and there is a good little shop on site selling all your basic needs. Staff are friendly and approachable and will go out their way to help you where needed.

This was our favourite campsite as a family and still is. Our adult children also rate this site and camp there regularly too.

The only thing to note is the ground is very hard so a mallet and good strong pegs are a necessity.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Outinthesticks 11 reviews from this member

We booked this site over the phone at short notice to be able to go to an open-air performance of 'The Tempest' in Lyme. On opening up the Hook Farm web-site, there was a flag saying that The Red Arrows would be performing on the same night, so that was a bonus, and a big step-up from many camping websites that only seem to be updated annually.

The access up Gore Lane is steep and narrow for a coachbuilt motorhome, but there are plenty of passing places and the entrance to the site is commodious. Booking in was straightforward and the site office has a good stock of essentials at 'normal' prices, including OS maps.

First impression on being shown to the pitch was the realisation that whoever looked at this steep field many years ago and decided it would be good for camping was inspired. The extensive terracing and landscaping means that pitches don't feel overcrowded and gives most campers a good view to the north and west. Although the site was well filled we had no problems with the spacious ablutions block. The facilities were clean and well maintained, and the 4 minutes you get for 20p in the shower seemed plenty.

Minor criticisms only:

1 - the wifi is good but pricey - we paid £7. 50 for 48 hours for 2 devices (especially galling as we then found our 3 mini device got a good signal);

2 - using the drive-over drain for grey waste involves parking your MH in such a way that access to part of the site is blocked;

3 - recycling doesn't seem to feature highly.

We used the nearby footpath into Lyme and found it a delightful half-hour or so's stroll. It's no use at night though, being largely unlit, but the walk back up the B3165 is not unpleasant. There is a bus service during the day. We had a drink at 'The Talbot', the nearest pub to the site, where the natives were friendly, but the kitchen happened to be out of commission for building works. No more needs to be said about Lyme itself, one of the most delightful spots on the south coast.

Altogether a splendid site and well worth making the effort of getting up Gore Lane.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Redhead67 5 reviews from this member

We love this campsite, friendly, well run - they actually enforce the 10pm quiet rule- and a proper place for considerate genuine campers. Showers are spacious and toilets clean and the 20p gives you more than enough time in the shower. A well stocked shop and friendly helpful warden made the stay easier. The dog exercise area is a lovely small woodland. This is one of my favourite sites after 15 years camping.

Previous     209 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Lyme Regis      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/02 to 09/02
In Glasgow - Over 200 companies will be showcasing their products and offering visitors show only discounts and offers. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3405 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020