Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rectory Hill Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cley Next The Sea > Rectory Hill Certificated Site Reviews

Rectory Hill Certificated Site
Rectory Hill Barns
Holt Road
Cley Next The Sea
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR25 7TX
Tel: 01263 741138
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 Vans + Tents
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 33 Reviews
                8/10 from 33 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: JohnnyTwosheds 10 reviews from this member

Good site handy for Cley which is a short 10 minute walk away past the Three Swallows pub with a lovely beer garden. Holt is a little further away probably a 45 Min. Walk. Site is well away from road up a gravelled track and so is very quiet. 22 per night we paid in June/July so not unreasonable toilets and showers clean and hot water good. EHU included. Norfolk Wetlands Trust and salt marshes well worth a visit locally and Coast Hopper bus available regularly from Cley.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Milly08 8 reviews from this member

Lovely quiet and peaceful campsite. Facilities very nice and clean, however don't go for a shower when it is getting dark, the lights in the ladies is on a sensor and obviously goes off after a while. I was halfway through showering!

Though it was a little pricey for what you got. We were charged 25 a night for two adults two dogs, ( our caravan only weighs 750 k ) and a small caravan.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Phil and Mag 5 reviews from this member

Absolutely perfect site for us as lightweight campers travelling by bikes with small'ish tent etc in bike trailer. Friendly owners, very clean facilities, reasonable charges. It is a little bit outside Cley but we found the 25 minute walk to access local shops and bus stop to make use of the excellent Coasthopper service perfectly acceptable. There is so much to do in the area that we stayed 5 nights:)

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ianandgilly 21 reviews from this member

I think this review is slightly prejudiced by the atrocious weather we had whilst staying here - but I'd like to share some thoughts.

Agree 100% that the toilet facilities are inadequate. One loo and a queue in the morning - not good. The site is not particularly flat; we pitched on grass and despite using chocks the van was at a steep angle.

The site is not particularly close to the village or nature reserve and you have to walk on a fairly busy road for half a mile before there is a pavement. We did it in the rain and it was treacherous.

I didn't think this was great value for money.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Black tiger 2 reviews from this member

Liked the site - well laid out and in a good location.

Facilities are good but definitely need more than a single men's loo - basic stuff.

The hard standing was too coarse for my liking and punctured the ground sheet on our awning which became apparent in a wet North Yorkshire last week. And I love dogs, but some people are oblivious to their constant yapping which at times is unfair on others.

That aside we would return but probably to a grass pitch.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Carolinejms 1 review from this member

Just had a lovely few days at this really pleasant site. Very spacious - well-kept - great views over the fields. Very quiet - no road nearby. Good facilities - very helpful owner. Good location - pubs and places to visit nearby. We will be back!

Date of Visit: January 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul R T 13 reviews from this member

Living in Hertfordshire, the North Norfolk coast is one of our favourite destinations. We have previously stayed on CLs near Wells-next-the-Sea. However, our planned trip in January caused us to look for a site with hard-standings and Rectory Hill fitted the bill perfectly. The five hard-standings have plenty of space between them and look out over open countryside with just a view of the tips of the sails on the Cley windmill. There are water taps and 16A EHU points between the hard-standings. The site is well away from any road and is thus very quiet except for the owls, and the distant sound of the surf on a windy day. The heated toilet block has excellent showers plus an external dishwashing area and also a washing machine and drier.

Recommended visits in the area include Cley itself, Holt, walks in Sheringham Park (NT), and walks on the beach at Wells. There are also good local dog walks on Salthouse Heath.

We had a good meal at the Three Swallows in Cley, but were more impressed with the Kings Arms in Blakeney.

A great site for a winter get-away we shall be back.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: ShirleyHi 1 review from this member

We have used this site many times, and love it. The pitches are spaced well apart, 5 hard standings with electric, some grass with or without electric.

There are 2 shower rooms and 1 toilet each for male and females plus a disabled toilet.

There is a small laundry room with 1 washing machine and 1 dryer. With an information area.

Outside are the washing up sinks.

We love the peace and quiet there, views across fields and lovely sunsets. Wildlife around, pheasants, partridge, woodpecker, even Red kite once.

Nice touch is the picnic tables on the grass.

Wish there was wi-fi, though.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rocker 2 reviews from this member

Lovely campsite with very good leveled pitches. We camped two nights and really enjoyed our stay. Toilets and showers kept very clean with plenty of hot water. Barry the host very welcoming and chatty always ready to help and giving us tips on local trips-ideal places to do birdwatching(RSPB place near by) would love to revisit next year.

Peaceful place popular with bike riders.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Force8 1 review from this member

As people have said on here before, there's only one toilet and two showers each, for men and women, but saying that I never had to wait for either. There is also a disable toilet which can be used in emergencies. I found the site to be ideal if you want a quiet break or if you have young children, as they can run about without fear of hurting themselves or getting lost.

If you don't have any transport then be prepared for a good walk to the shops ect. It is only a mile or so to the shops but it's an uphill walk back. A pub called the 3 swallows is under a mile away, in the same direction as the shops, and does good food.

All in all a nice little site but the site shop is a hit and miss affair.

Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4116 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019