Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Huntick Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Poole > Huntick Farm Caravan Park Reviews

Huntick Farm Caravan Park
Huntick Road
Lytchett Matravers
Poole
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH16 6BB
Tel: 01202 622222
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 31
Open: 01/04/2021 to 02/01/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 27 Reviews
                8/10 from 27 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Seanm1 1 review from this member

 Amazing campsite, lovely and quiet.

Shower facilities was great water always hot.

Lovely setting in the forest will definitely be coming back.

Not too far from Exeter and Dawlish Warren

Would highly recommend for a break away

Will not be disappointed 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dreamer36 10 reviews from this member

 We specifically chose this site because it was adult only but our 2 young grandchildren who live locally could visit during the daytime. The warden was very welcoming, there was no extra charge for our extra car. The toilet block was very clean.

A couple of negative points: the general state of the site and pitches seemed al little run down, nearly all the pitches were badly worn down to earth. In the rain we had to step out onto a muddy puddle.

There were lots of weeds in the hedges and grass, and it seemed neglected. It definitely felt more like a rustic certificated site, but it cost way more than one. The showers were quite weak and on a very short push button, you weren’t able to alter the temperature.

But overall, a quiet rural site which is worth coming to if you want to visit Poole and the Isle of Purbeck in the summer holidays! 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Beatsworking 4 reviews from this member

 We visited this site in mid-July having booked for 4 nights the previous day at a rate of £18. 50 per night including EHU and taking advantage of the ‘senior person’ early/mid season discount(!).

We don’t normally opt for EHU but there was only a semi-serviced pitch available and the price was less than we had paid during the previous 2 weeks without it. It was before the school holiday period but as this site only caters for adults of 16+ it was not really relevant but they do allow children visiting between 10am and 6pm.

We were met at reception by the very friendly staff and Hayley walked us to the pitch and shower/toilet/laundry block and apologised that it hadn’t yet been cleaned that day. It was spotless! There are a total of 31 pitches spread over 3 areas each formed by trees and hedges and backing onto field and woods.

We collected our classic 1970’s VW Camper from reception and parked up and erected the awning on our spacious pitch which faced south and west so ready for the evening sun. The next item on the agenda was to enjoy a nice shower having been unable to bring ourselves to use the facilities on the site we had stayed in the previous day. What bliss!

We found the phone signal (O2 in our case) and free Wifi very reliable on our pitch and it is reported to be available throughout the site.

The site is perhaps a little remote if on foot but within easy driving distance of the Poole/Bournemouth areas to the east and Wareham/Studland/Swanage areas to the south and many charming villages and small towns in between and to the north and west. We enjoy walking and taking advantage of local buses, tending to leave the Camper on site.

This not only saves problems packing up the camper and finding parking each day but also allows us to see so much more on the top deck as we are driven to our destinations.

We found a nice mile long walk through the woods to Lytchett Minster from where we could catch regular buses to Poole and Swanage, and points in between, and further afield.

There is a very nice ‘Craft Centre’ with a number of local Artisans offering their wares, and with some demonstrating their skills, along with a nice tea room, a mile from the site although this did entail a walk along a not-too-busy road but without any pavements. Obviously not a problem for those driving.

On one of our walks we went through another caravan and camping site in Lytchett Minster that appeared to be nicely kept but comprised row upon row of caravans and motorhomes, and a few tents, all rather close together and it made us appreciate even more the joys of the Huntick Farm site.

We attended the local Lytchett Minster and Upton Carnival on the Saturday along with what must have been almost the entire population of those villages and enjoyed the procession of floats and bands, etc. , and various displays for the grand cost of £1 including the catalogue. Something not to missed for any future people visiting when the carnival is on.

Huntick is a site to which we will definitely be returning in the future. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: NMonty 3 reviews from this member

 In the hectic end of May bank holiday and half term school break this place is an adults only oasis. Quiet, restful and friendly. The surroundings are a large paddock and 2 smaller ones with wooded areas.

The facilities were of a good standard, modern and clean. BE AWARE though as children are allowed to visit from 10am-6pm. So it is not a true adult only site.

In fact we were surprised to find a lone child scootering up and down the pathways at 9. 30pm! AND in the early morning the same child in pyjamas on her scooter again by the shower block! Obviously having stayed the night.

Apart from the lack of policing of the rules we found this site and the wardens 1st class. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Itomcrazy 2 reviews from this member

 We spent a week at this campsite last year. It was lovely, new toilet block/washrooms etc.

Laundry facilities & wash up space. So we went again this year, what a shame the loos were not cleaned during the week, one toilet out of order in the ladies and one urinal blocked up in the mens. The pong was not nice.

Also the hedges between the fields, had not been trimmed and stinging nettles were four feet high. I can only think they must have a problem with staff, but we will not be going back again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Heavymetalpirate 8 reviews from this member

 We picked this site for our summer holiday purely on the location, giving access to all the areas of Dorset we love to visit. We have in previous years camped in Purbeck, which is lovely, but you have 20 minutes drive just to get anywhere. No such issue here, so many places readily accessible.

Site easy to find on decent sized roads, with a fair sized place to park up and go to reception. Fabulous welcome, from our laid back hosts. Really relaxed feeling on site, yet nothing is too much trouble. Service very much with a smile.

On site facilities are fantastic. 3 decent sized showers, hair dryer, 2 sinks and 3 toilets. All kept immaculately clean.

The covered dishwashing area and laundry facilities were also kept very clean and tidy.

The pitches are a fair size, well laid out, flat and not over crowded.

We absolutely adore this site, it is an absolute gem, it's one of those places where you don't really want to shout too much about it because you want to keep it your secret so it maintains its magic. We love it so much, we have booked again for 2018. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Chris and Si 6 reviews from this member

 We booked in here for a few days rest after going to a festival. We were greeted warmly and shown to our pitch which was an ample size - there was no crowding.

Facilities inspection first - it was obvious that there had been a recent upgrade, they were very clean and again very spacious. 3 showers and 3 toilets in the ladies, good facilities in the gents (as reported by my other half). There is also a private unisex bathroom with shower, toilet, basin and baby change.

This would be suitable for elderly and disabled people - the only criticism is that there is a lip to the door which would be difficult to get over if in a wheelchair (this facility has not been marketed as being for disabled though). As this site seems to attract a wide age range, the older person may wish to have more privacy and use the unisex facilities.

Rain was forecast so we used our awning which prevented us driving out, so we took a taxi into Poole. This was £15 each way, so trips away would be expensive if no other means of transport. There is an hourly bus from Lytchett but it is not reliable.

There is about a mile walk into Lytchett but we did not take it because it rained and there was not a footpath along the road.

Free wi-fi is available but we did not use it as we have our own.

We cannot comment on the child friendliness as mine are all grown up, but my daughter when young, would have loved the swing and woodland beside the campsite.

We would return and have several friends to whom we will recommend. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: NanaPark 2 reviews from this member

 We spent a few days at this site and received a friendly welcome and were shown our pitch and water points and facilities.

The grass pitches are spacious. The showers and toilets are housed in 2 portacabins, with plenty of hot water from the push button showers. Facilities are very basic but clean.

The site is very quiet and peaceful, and local to Poole and Wimborne Minster. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scud1365 1 review from this member

 My wife and I wanted a nice peaceful friendly site to put our van through the summer. What a gem we found in Huntick Farm. Run by very friendly folk who cannot do enough for you.

The site is basic with clean functional toilet block and washing up facilities and is well maintained.

The site is positioned within a short distance of all of Dorset's treasures so is the perfect base for our country weekend retreat. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Granty578 2 reviews from this member

 I booked this site after reading some very positive reviews. What a fabulous site. Very quite and relaxing, lovely surroundings, no unit was intrusive, kept well apart. We loved the fact that the children had their own space in another field, (even though there was no children on site when we were there).

Dog friendly as well. Where ever you wanted to go in Dorset, this is the ideal base to be at. The people are so friendly there as well. Our dog had an accident at Poole harbour on the viewing platform, he cut his feet on the platform, even though it did not say 'unsuitable for dogs'. We told the camp site and warned them and to tell other dog owners, they went one better and reported it to the council.

We would recommend this to anyone who loves a bit of piece and quite and we would most definitely go there again. 


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Huntick Farm Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Huntick Farm Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Huntick Farm Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Poole      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3113 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement