Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Le Palombiere

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Poitou-Charentes > Les Mathes > Camping Le Palombiere Reviews

Camping Le Palombiere
1551, Route De La Fouasse
Les Mathes
Poitou-Charentes   (Browse area)
17570
Tel: 0033 5 46 22 69 25
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 5 Reviews
                9/10 from 5 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Berriow 53 reviews from this member

 We were back there in September 2016 and felt quite sorry for the family owners who have developed and expanded this site over many years. Of the 212 pitches just two were occupied and I think only three of the mobile homes were let. Just that. We had the whole of the land on the right hand side of the road through the site to ourselves. People ask on forums for large pitches - ours was about two hundred yards across, on firm ground, in sun or shade, under pine trees or in the open, as we wished. Yet some new members of this forum still find it hard to believe that you can really go to places like this after the school holidays end without booking. Motorhomes out number caravans by twenty or thirty to one in this part of France in September - they park up in the seafront car parks and only rarely go near campsites slightly inland like this one - hence the emptiness of all the sites in the area out of season.

The site swimming pool may or may not have been open in September - we didn't look. The site shop and restaurant were certainly closed at that time of year. The main toilet block was open and immaculate as usual - with individual indoor rooms containing shower, wash basin and WC all in one. The wi fi has been up rated since an earlier criticism so now there is a fibre optic link across the site - but it's expensive to pay for and use anything more than intermittently.

La Palmyre resort was equally quiet from Monday to Friday at that time of year - we walked alone on the town beach and found only one of the three waterfront restaurants open for lunch, but a sunny weekend brought the locals out. It's a lovely area in Spring or Autumn when the weather is good - cycling paradise of course there on the network of off road trails and paths. There are many sites in the area but we keep going back to this one. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TWjbd 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, friendly staff, very spacious pitch, great access to child friendly off road cycling (in a large forest).

It was approx 5 mile cycle ride to the beautiful long (uncrowded) beaches. Local towns again were easily accessible by bike.

Very limited drinking water points around site but thankfully we were quite close to one.

Lovely swimming pool but VERY COLD!

A SuperU supermarket was about 6km away by a main road. Not suitable for cycling to with small children.

Facilities:

There was a restaurant on site but we only used it for occasional portions of large chips (5) to have with our own meal. Staff operate a laundrette and small shop which offered the basic essentials.

Free Wifi was 70% reliable and covered about 30% of the site (surprisingly not the reception or toilet blocks!)

On the whole we had a really good stay here, and would definitely recommend, HOWEVER:

BE WARNED. Luna Park is a large VERY noisy amusement park and it is about 50 yards away. If you stay in the holiday season, expect to listen to people scream on roller coasters until the wee small hours, and if you take out a car in the evening, expect to sit in a traffic jam of people going to the park! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yreaddy 1 review from this member

 We have been to this site for the last 3 yrs we love it Karen and Anu are so friendly always willing to help we like the ambience it has the area is so easy to get around on a bike it's well worth a visit to the zoo also the market on a Sunday the restaurant on site is very good you have super u/ aldi and a Carrefour just up the road towards avert the beaches are not far to get to so all in all we had a great holiday 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jonnyclaret1973 31 reviews from this member

 My son and I have just returned from a 12 night stay at this site. It is possibly the best site I have ever stayed in. And is very child friendly. There were very few English families on the site as it was generally French and Dutch but it had a lovely family atmosphere about it and the site was generally quiet by 11pm

There are so many positives

The pool is great and spotless, the showers are spotless, the pitches are flat, the location is fantastic, the owners Karen and Arno are so friendly and helpful, all the on site activities are free the nearby beaches are beautiful and easily accessible by bike using the off road cycle paths. The restaurant with entertainment is great and the Tuesday night Hog roast is a must.

The not so positives

Everything has to be paid for in cash they don't accept bank cards

The shop could be better equipped however there is a shop at the campsite next door that is easily accessible

The free Wifi isn't great. It's slow and you need to sit next to the tree where the router is!

Perhaps there's just not enough showers as there were queues most mornings and evenings

I know it sounds like I'm being pickie but the owners are keen to improve the site and I have to justify not giving 10/10

Luna park across the road is well worth a visit and the Thursday night firework display is fantastic.

The zoo at La Pamyre is amazing however a little knowledge of the French language is required as there is no English translation

The nearest large supermarket is Super you which is a five minute drive away.

I would recommend this site to anybody. Both my son and I will be returning next year as we enjoyed it so much. Most families we spoke to had been many years in a row and we hope to see them all there again 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Berriow 53 reviews from this member

 We were there in early June 2012 when all sites in this area are very quiet, so it's hard to judge what this sort of site would be like in peak season. It is a big expanse of open parkland with scattered pine trees, without clearly defined pitches, and when we were there we had 50 metres between us and the nearest neighbours. Whether it becomes a case of stepping over inter-twining guy ropes in summer I don't know ! Static caravans and chalets are in a separate area from tourers. There are no tour operators with static tents.

The family who own the site (several generations)have gone to great trouble to develop the site, and take great pride in it. The toilet block was checked and cleaned several times a day and was always spotless. When we were there out of season the restaurant (it looked new) was closed, we drove to supermarkets for groceries, but ordered bread daily for collection from reception. The swimming pool on site is orthodox, rather than the fancy shaped ones with multi slides and flumes.

Luna Park funfair was quite close - there was no no noise problem in early June, but is it noisy on summer nights ? I don't know.

The site is one of several on the edge of the forest, all of it a protected zone, two or three miles from the sea, and for those with bikes there are miles of off road trails through the woods to the sea. We took the car - with a choice of the small resort of La Palmyre withh sheltered shallow beaches, or the Cote Sauvage with big surfing waves. There are on site activities, but frankly everyone really comes here for the coast.

We liked the campsite and the area very much. And with ACSI card rates out of season it's a bargain at that time of year. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Le Palombiere child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Le Palombiere have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Le Palombiere?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Camping Le Palombiere dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Les Mathes      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Poitou-Charentes

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, West Sussex 09/10 to 10/10
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Ardingly Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2758 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement