Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Strathfillan Wigwam Village

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Perthshire > Crianlarich > Strathfillan Wigwam Village Reviews

Strathfillan Wigwam Village
Tyndrum
Crianlarich
Perthshire   (Browse area)
FK20 8RU
Tel: 01838 400251
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Wigwams and Touring
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 10 Reviews
                8/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 107 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a couple of nights en-route to Oban. It's very easy to find and a convenient location for what we wanted.

We did phone ahead and book but have to say on arrival we found the reception completely disorganised with no record of our booking.

The good points: The tent field is large and grassy with loads of level space and good views South to the mountains. If you're here to climb Ben Lui, as I was, you can complete a fantastic walk and bag 3 Munroes. Superb! Don't worry about noise from the main road, railway lines or sheep. All three were surprisingly quiet.

Plenty of hot water and even heated towel rails in the showers but they are operated using old £1 coins, available from reception. (£1 = 8 minutes)

The less good points: Disorganised check-in, Soap dispensers empty in the wash rooms for both days (despite COVID-19) and the Wifi didn't work 


Date of Visit: March 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wbain6 1 review from this member

 Had a lovely couple of days up there in camper, wind rain sleet and snow never put us off,

Lovely location and facilities great,

Very welcoming,

Will be back this summer, thanks again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HannahsMenagerie 17 reviews from this member

 Stayed here as a one-night hop on the way north. Lovely big field to choose a pitch in and as there was only one other tent that night we were not crowded. Gorgeous views from the camping field with plenty of wildlife to watch, the strange scratchy noise at about 5am turned out to be birds landing on the tent.

Fire pits (wood bundles available from the shop) were scattered around the place and I suspect later in the year when the midges come out they are essential. The welcome was friendly and the shop small but well stocked with essentials that you might have forgotten, treats for while you are there and gifts to take back with you.

Also on site is a lovely little woodland walk with a waterfall and information boards for younger campers.

There were plenty of toilets and showers, although if every cabin, lodge and camping pitch is occupied you might have to wait. There is a little kitchen with plenty of hot water for washing up plus a kettle, microwave and table and chairs should the weather prove inclement. The weather when we stayed was lovely but a little cold, the tent and ground were covered in frost when we got up and the dogís water bowl was frozen over too!

You can hear the main road from the campsite but traffic levels drop at about 8pm and I donít remember hearing any road vehicles between 10pm and 6am. The surprise to me was that the whole site has a train line on both sides of it, we saw a couple of trains on both tracks but again nothing between 9pm and about 7am.

There was a group staying in one of the cabins who sounded to be celebrating a birthday but they did turn off their music and go indoors when 11pm came.

It does say that electric hook-up is available but I didnít look for any points as we donít use it, nor did I see any drinking water taps in the camping field.

Overall this was the most expensive site we stayed at over the two weeks, the £8 for me was cheaper than the other sites we stayed at but the £5 charge for the dog meant the combined cost per night was the most expensive. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mark Edwards 2 reviews from this member

 Great site, excellent value for money, clean with a very well appointed cookhouse and shop. Have camped and stayed in a wigwam - both great.

One slight fly in the (latest) ointment was a group of loud drunken middle aged Glaswegian oafs in the 2 wigwams nearest the campsite. Recommend either relocating the wigwams up in the main wigwam area or more vigorous enforcement of a post 11pm quiet site policy. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: JCockcroft 6 reviews from this member

 This is a brilliant site with excellent facilities. We stayed in one of the 'wigwams' and found them warm and comfortable. The access to full kitchen facilities with a TV area was a great advantage especially as the weather was rather wild.

The on site shop as a range of food available with some very different meats, unfortunately as the weather did not permit a BBQ we did not manage to sample anything. They also provide a range of ready meals which I would imagine are well received by those walking the West Highland Way.

There is plenty to do in the area especially walks and you can walk to a pub (2 miles 'ish) along the West Highland way.

Staff were very helpful although I found the site map a little confusing. It would have been helpful to be given a map on arrival rather then needing to go back to the reception to view it! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nick McP 9 reviews from this member

 My brother usually stays in the wigwams but this time he decided to camp and I joined him as I was travelling south on my motorbike. As this site is a couple of hours drive from Glasgow and Edinburgh, a lot of people visit for the weekend, from what I can gather for a few bevvy's and a good time. Nothing wrong with that, everybody had a good laugh. Toilet facilities were not that clean, probably due to my previous comment, they are obviously being used a lot more. Overall, great views and pleasant surroundings. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Margaret20 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night. Stag party occupying a number of wigwams, although apparently they had not identified themselves as such when they booked. Resulted in noise and loud music until early hours. Owner was sympathetic but did not take any real steps to address the problem.

Toilets and showers were not very clean and those facilities were showing their age and poorly maintained compared to others we sued during this visit to Scotland. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cogz07 1 review from this member

 Myself, wife and 2 girls recently visited this site and found it ideal not only for us but the girls loved it also, having great wee forest walks right outside your tent and having your own little fire for night time was great, wood can be purchased at the campsite store as can exotic meats for the BBQ

The famous green wells shop is only 5mins along rd to top up the beer if required

Highly recommended for all 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Baileys80 4 reviews from this member

 Good shop on site, helpful serious owner, we turned up without booking.

Excellent for walkers loads of walks in all directions!

Great views!

Nice room for washing up, seating.

Toilets would be good if they were cleaned, blood in sink and totally full of cranefly, my 7 year old refused to go in in the end!. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ay Drookit 6 reviews from this member

 My wife and I spent one night here en route to Oban. The site was pretty busy but not too noisy for all that. The pitches are fairly rough and ready with longish grass without any demarcation. Great scenery from any pitch.

This camp site is on the West Highland Way and so gets loads of backpackers/walkers. The shop is very well stocked with many unusual meats in the freezer. The toilets are a bit rudimentary and suffered a bit from high usage during our stay ie cleaning not done enough.

There is an on site campers kitchen which while we didn't use the cooking facilities was pretty busy. The down side to it is that its also the dish wash area and I felt the users of the cookers had taken over and sprawled their dirty pots and pans over the worktops making it cramped and awkward to wash our dishes.

All in all its a reasonable site but not for a long stay and not for someone who is looking for a very well kept site.

The nearest towns are Crianlarich to the south and Tyndrum to the north both of which have places to eat if not cooking for yourself.

This is an excellent area of Scotland and well worth a visit. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Strathfillan Wigwam Village child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Strathfillan Wigwam Village?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Strathfillan Wigwam Village dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Crianlarich      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Perthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2726 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement